We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Gesundheitszentrum Baerenhof

Traveler (20)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (5)

About

#27 of 36 hotels in Bad Gastein
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Barenhof enjoys a peaceful yet central location, enthroned on the high plateau of Bad Gastein at 1100 m above sea level: The mountain lifts and Felsentherme spa resort are both within easy reach, just a few minutes’ walk away. The views of Gastein Valley and the imposing alpine world of Hohe Tauern National Park are beyond compare. But don’t just take our word for it – come experience it all for yourself! Barenhof Hotel & Health Center features 130 guest rooms, a restaurant, the Felsen Cafe with terrace, the “Barig Spa” wellness oasis, a fitness room and gym, a health center with an experienced team of physicians and therapists, 24-hour on-call doctor, Gastein spring water at the hotel, the “Barig schon” beauty studio, as well as e-bikes and Nordic-walking poles to borrow, discounted admission to the Felsentherme, and a sunny terrace with panoramic views.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Spa
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast Available
Golf course
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Shuttle Bus Service
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family

Location

Full view
85Good for walkers
Grade: 85 out of 100
30Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
9Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
40Reviews
0Q+A
2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 9
  • 13
  • 10
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel is close to the main station and ski area/gondola. However, being there with a fairly big group of 12 children (most of the 9 years) and 13 adults, we experienced a dreadful service in the reception and bar. However, the personel in the restaurant was really sweet and helpful. The reception "took care" of the children by putting them into the gymnastic room in the 3. basement floor, having one person there to keep them down there in the cellar - without telling the parents. The bar is everything but cosy, unfriendly service and closing at 10 p.m. at some of the evenings. Even though we asked where we could hold a birthday celebration for one of the kids and were directed to the entrance area (and bought all drinks and alcohol from the hotel bar) we were during the celebration asked to leave and go instead again to the 3. basement- which we did not anyway. At the last evening the reception called by phone (!) one of our families while sitting in the restaurant and asked for paying the hotel bill now, even though the family stayed at the hotel the whole next day with plenty of time for paying.The food is of middle quality and the breakfast not adequate and not diversified at all. For sure there is a very heavy acoustical problem over the whole hotel which makes it absolutely impossible in the reception/bar/restaurant and even very small swimming pool area to talk without developing a lot of noise. But the children were told not to "communicate" via tablets and phones, therefore, the noise level was sometimes horrible but we cannot prohibit the children to talk and have fun. Furthermore, the only place with (bad) WiFi is the reception, which makes it even more difficult for everybody.
Read more
Response from Monika W, Manager at Hotel & Gesundheitszentrum Baerenhof
Responded Mar 12, 2018
Dear Sailingnina, thank you very much for your feedback and pointing out the pros and cons from your point of view. We emphasise that we are not a family hotel which takes care of the children during the stay! We ususally do not offer kids animation. Due to the fact that during this period many families with kids enjoyed their holidays in our house we decided to open our gym room to get the children a chance to enjoy themselves. We informed the parents we could find about the new option. We even organized an animator for the following days - without any extra charge. Many of us are parents ourselves and know what kids desire. We know they want to have fun and talk. So we tried our best to give them enough space AND to protect the requirements of our other guests. Since we are a hotel with health center we guarantee our guests quiet nights. Therefore our bar closes at 10 p.m. For your birthday celebration we offered a room with private atmosphere on the fourth floor. Our service staff already had to prepare the Felsencafé for dinner therefore we could not offer this location. Due to organisatorial reasons we beg our guests to pay the evenings before departure. This handling makes the check-out more relaxed for our guests and staff. We feel sorry about the timing of the information. We hope you understand also our point of view and would appreciate to welcome you soon!
Read more
We stayed 4 nights, friends with teenage kids, we had everything we needed. Very close to gondola, train and ski bus station, shops, restaurants, thermal spa. Beautiful view from our rooms' terraces, comfortable beds, good food, friendly staff, nice swimming pool and spa, ski storage, nice lobby caffe. No wi fi in rooms, but they were just changing it. Hotel with homy atmosphere.
Read more
Response from Monika W, Manager at Hotel & Gesundheitszentrum Baerenhof
Responded Mar 12, 2018
Dear Sandra S, thank your for taking time to share experience from your point of view at our place. We are glad that you loved your stay. We hope you will come back again!
Read more
My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week during the new years and it was amazing! The hotel is in a great location with the gondola about a 5 min walk just across the street! Nearby is the thermal baths, eurospar, and a few nice shopping and food places. You can also walk 10 min down the hill into the valley to the city center, waterfall, and shopping. Our stay included breakfast, lunch, dinner, which were all very tasty and delicious. Every room in the hotel has a view of either the slopes or the valley. Only downside might be no WiFi in the rooms and TV in the rooms only have 5 English channels which are mostly news. I would very much recommend staying here other than hotels down the hill near the centrum because its a perfect walk to the mountain which would not be so fun walking from down the hill up every morning!
Read more
Stayed here during a ski vacation. Good food and wellness. Close to the lifts and old town. Very nice sauna and relax facilities. You can store your ski boots heated. Nice personell and service. Made our Christmas stay.
Read more
This hotel has a fantastic view of Bad Gastein and the valley. It is i a climb from the city center and from the ski lifts and the train station. Nice, service mindes staff in beutiful Austrian dresses. Breakfast is ok, not super due tio week coffee and watery juice. Nice pool and sauna facilities. Sauna is pleasantly hot. Minus for lack of wi-fi in hotel rooms, only in lobby. Nice and clean rooms however.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$134 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsSalzburg RegionBad Gastein
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing