We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Real Xalteva In front of Iglesia la Merced, Granada Nicaragua
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!25% off room rate
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (173)
Room & Suite (28)
Videos (4)

About

#11 of 45 hotels in Granada
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Hotel Real La Merced is truly a neo- classical mansion since XVIII century. The hotel better-known as Casa Zampieri still conserves its history and pink marble stair designed by the acclaimed Italian- architect Mario Favilli 80 years ago. Our guest will also enjoy the first pool in Granada located at the heart of the hotel. We feel honored as CEMEX Nicaragua named Hotel Real la Merced as the second best construction of the year 2015 only after Hospital Militar, at X Award– business category. Hotel Real La Merced offers 18 luxury rooms – double occupancy
Read more
Room & Suite (28)28
Full view
Property amenities
Free private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:25% off room rate
202Reviews9Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 159
  • 31
  • 6
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Trek-Always wrote a review Mar 2020
Alpharetta, Georgia2,359 contributions2,991 helpful votes
The hotel is a recently converted mansion which is interesting and gives it a lot of charm. Across from the main cathedral. You can walk up in the cathedral to get a great panorama of the town. Great location. Nice room. Clean. Not very quiet -- street noise at night, and the roof makes noise if it is windy. This did not bother us a lot but we were aware of it early in the morning. Limited breakfast but adequate. The staff is very attentive and helpful. We would stay here again. If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Thank Trek-Always for writing this message. We would check the noise but we always have earplug available. Thanks and hopefully we can see you soon.
Read more
Eva v wrote a review Mar 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands5 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We came here to end our 2 week trip to Nicaragua, and we ended it in style. The looks of this hotel are stunning, expect a beautiful Spanish colonial style hotel with modern comforts. The bed is luxury, with a good quality soft matress and the room and utilities are clean. There is a lovely pool in the middle of the hotel, and because there is an open roof the sunlight comes through: perfect for a chill before heading towards the centre. Staff very friendly and professional, overall well worth the money!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Thank so much for being part of HRM Experience!
Read more
Jason K wrote a review Mar 2020
Seattle, Washington87 contributions18 helpful votes
Overall, our experience was positive, but there were definitely some negative aspects to our stay. The location is great. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke English well; they were able to book us a transfer to Ometepe and answer any questions we had. The common areas of the property are beautiful and the building is pretty well kept. Breakfast is provided for free, but it was underwhelming so we ended up eating a few bites and then going elsewhere. Unfortunately, while we were staying, they were renovating the room next to ours, starting at 7:00 am without any warning or asking us if we would be awake at that time (we didn’t want to be). Our bathroom was also in relative disrepair. The WiFi reception was spotty in our room but good in the property generally. Overall, our experience was positive, but there were definitely some negative aspects to our stay. The location is great. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke English well; they were able to book us a transfer to Ometepe and answer any questions we had. The common areas of the property are beautiful and the building is pretty well kept. Breakfast is provided for free, but it was underwhelming so we ended up eating a few bites and then going elsewhere. Unfortunately, while we were staying, they were renovating the room next to ours, starting at 7:00 am without any warning or asking us if we would be awake at that time (we didn’t want to be). Our bathroom was also in relative disrepair. The WiFi reception was spotty in our room but good in the property generally.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear 282jasonk, Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great time with us. Indeed , we are repairing our bathrooms for our guest but can assure not that early in morning , however , the 7:00am noise was coming from our neighbor construction and Granada as a colonial city, one special feature is everything is close and we can hear. We provide 5 breakfast option and our guests feedback had been positive. We apologize for inconvenience you had. Hope you come back to Granada and let us know Best
Read more
traveler2001074 wrote a review Mar 2020
Silicon Valley31 contributions10 helpful votes
This hotel looks great. It was renovated from a lovely home. But if you stay there you find it is shabby. Little things, broken tiles in the bathroom, toilet doesn't flush well, poor lighting. It is family run, but they are perhaps overworked.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: View of the cathedral is best, but noisy.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear Traveler20010074 Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you had , indeed the tiles are broken hence we are repairing all the bathrooms , lighting and look and feel. The days you came , construction was happening . Our staff and management are happy to to be able to have guest , so we assure we were happy to have you here. Please if you ever come back , let us know. Best,
Read more
cjmm1216 wrote a review Mar 2020
Orlando, Florida2 contributions1 helpful vote
This place is very close to main attractions of Granada. Beautiful colonial style hotel with outstanding service. Would definitely recommend and will use again. We choose the room with balcony that had an amazing view of the volcán Mombacho. Parking overnight is a couple of blocks up. It is not included.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Thanks for this amazing review. Hope you can come back soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$55 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NicaraguaGranada DepartmentGranada
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Real La Merced
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Real La Merced?
Nearby attractions include Iglesia de La Merced (0.2 miles), Catedral de Granada (0.2 miles), and ChocoMuseo Granada (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Real La Merced?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Real La Merced?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Real La Merced?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Real La Merced?
Yes, free private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Real La Merced?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tostometro Granada Nicaragua, La Frontera, and Café de las Sonrisas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Real La Merced?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Real La Merced have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Real La Merced offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Real La Merced located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Granada.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Real La Merced?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Real La Merced offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.