We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Real Xalteva In front of Iglesia la Merced, Granada Nicaragua
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$71
View deal
Booking.com$71
Travelocity$71
Priceline$79
Hotels.com$71
Agoda.com$71
Tripadvisor$71
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (173)
Room & Suite (32)
Videos (4)

About

#14 of 48 in Granada
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.8
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Hotel Real La Merced is truly a neo- classical mansion since XVIII century. The hotel better-known as Casa Zampieri still conserves its history and pink marble stair designed by the acclaimed Italian- architect Mario Favilli 80 years ago. Our guest will also enjoy the first pool in Granada located at the heart of the hotel. We feel honored as CEMEX Nicaragua named Hotel Real la Merced as the second best construction of the year 2015 only after Hospital Militar, at X Award– business category. Hotel Real La Merced offers 18 luxury rooms – double occupancy
Read more
Property amenities
Free private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
203Reviews9Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 159
  • 32
  • 6
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
snap2000CR wrote a review Nov 2021
Costa Rica66 contributions14 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights in a king junior suite with balcony. Large, comfortable room in a very nice small hotel. Perfect location in the center of Granada. The only caveat applies if you are a light sleeper. As others have mentioned, the church bells directly across the street start ringing about 6:30am. Personally, I'm a heavy sleeper but no way you're going to sleep through that. Is over quickly and didn't really bother me. However, the hotel neglected to mention that they had a large wedding reception booked for Saturday night. As it's a former grand home built around a central courtyard, you're VERY up close and personal with any booked events. They should really be more up front with information like that. It's a little awkward being in the middle of someone's wedding and it is obviously loud until very late. So if you're there with no booked event, it really is a great place!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Trek-Always wrote a review Mar 2020
Alpharetta, Georgia2488 contributions3221 helpful votes
The hotel is a recently converted mansion which is interesting and gives it a lot of charm. Across from the main cathedral. You can walk up in the cathedral to get a great panorama of the town. Great location. Nice room. Clean. Not very quiet -- street noise at night, and the roof makes noise if it is windy. This did not bother us a lot but we were aware of it early in the morning. Limited breakfast but adequate. The staff is very attentive and helpful. We would stay here again. If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Thank Trek-Always for writing this message. We would check the noise but we always have earplug available. Thanks and hopefully we can see you soon.
Read more
Eva v wrote a review Mar 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands5 contributions3 helpful votes
We came here to end our 2 week trip to Nicaragua, and we ended it in style. The looks of this hotel are stunning, expect a beautiful Spanish colonial style hotel with modern comforts. The bed is luxury, with a good quality soft matress and the room and utilities are clean. There is a lovely pool in the middle of the hotel, and because there is an open roof the sunlight comes through: perfect for a chill before heading towards the centre. Staff very friendly and professional, overall well worth the money!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Thank so much for being part of HRM Experience!
Read more
Jason K wrote a review Mar 2020
Seattle, Washington86 contributions19 helpful votes
Overall, our experience was positive, but there were definitely some negative aspects to our stay. The location is great. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke English well; they were able to book us a transfer to Ometepe and answer any questions we had. The common areas of the property are beautiful and the building is pretty well kept. Breakfast is provided for free, but it was underwhelming so we ended up eating a few bites and then going elsewhere. Unfortunately, while we were staying, they were renovating the room next to ours, starting at 7:00 am without any warning or asking us if we would be awake at that time (we didn’t want to be). Our bathroom was also in relative disrepair. The WiFi reception was spotty in our room but good in the property generally. Overall, our experience was positive, but there were definitely some negative aspects to our stay. The location is great. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke English well; they were able to book us a transfer to Ometepe and answer any questions we had. The common areas of the property are beautiful and the building is pretty well kept. Breakfast is provided for free, but it was underwhelming so we ended up eating a few bites and then going elsewhere. Unfortunately, while we were staying, they were renovating the room next to ours, starting at 7:00 am without any warning or asking us if we would be awake at that time (we didn’t want to be). Our bathroom was also in relative disrepair. The WiFi reception was spotty in our room but good in the property generally.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear 282jasonk, Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great time with us. Indeed , we are repairing our bathrooms for our guest but can assure not that early in morning , however , the 7:00am noise was coming from our neighbor construction and Granada as a colonial city, one special feature is everything is close and we can hear. We provide 5 breakfast option and our guests feedback had been positive. We apologize for inconvenience you had. Hope you come back to Granada and let us know Best
Read more
traveler2001074 wrote a review Mar 2020
Silicon Valley32 contributions10 helpful votes
This hotel looks great. It was renovated from a lovely home. But if you stay there you find it is shabby. Little things, broken tiles in the bathroom, toilet doesn't flush well, poor lighting. It is family run, but they are perhaps overworked.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: View of the cathedral is best, but noisy.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear Traveler20010074 Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you had , indeed the tiles are broken hence we are repairing all the bathrooms , lighting and look and feel. The days you came , construction was happening . Our staff and management are happy to to be able to have guest , so we assure we were happy to have you here. Please if you ever come back , let us know. Best,
Read more
cjmm1216 wrote a review Mar 2020
Orlando, Florida2 contributions1 helpful vote
This place is very close to main attractions of Granada. Beautiful colonial style hotel with outstanding service. Would definitely recommend and will use again. We choose the room with balcony that had an amazing view of the volcán Mombacho. Parking overnight is a couple of blocks up. It is not included.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Thanks for this amazing review. Hope you can come back soon!
Read more
jodiew1976 wrote a review Feb 2020
Vernon, Canada51 contributions14 helpful votes
Great location, clean, classy, large rooms! They didn’t have the room we had booked upon arriving but they quickly resolved to put us in a similar room. Unfortunately the restaurant closes early at times so be proactive when planning meals etc. The food was hit or miss, but the service was good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Thanks for being with us. We are trying to close on Tuesday Restaurant at 6pm. Normally, We open from 7 am to 9 pm the rest of the week, sorry for the inconvenience.
Read more
Ted S wrote a review Jan 2020
Calgary155 contributions50 helpful votes
The Real La Merced is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location in a fascinating city and we very much enjoyed our stay there. The only problem is that the rooms can be a bit noisy from street noise as is is at the corner of a busy road (busy being a relative term in a small city like Granada) and across from the church, which is a beautiful view, but one that rings its bells at 6:30 every morning. The building is very beautiful - a large old compound renovated to modern standards, with a beautiful courtyard and pool area. It is a pleasure just to sit in the courtyard or on the second floor and enjoy the space. There is a grand marble staircase and the lobby is pleasant. It was very airy and pleasant inside the courtyard, a very welcome break from the heat and business outside. There was a large urn of filtered water to fill your bottles with, which we really appreciated. The room was very nice - a large and comfortable bed, very nice bathroom with good amenities, good sheets and towels, a safe and a balcony. Ours overlooked the beautiful and 400 year old Iglesia La Merced across the street, which was always busy and had a plaza full of people, so it was very interesting just to sit on the balcony and watch the plaza of the church as people went about their lives. However, the church rang its bells every morning at 6:30 which woke us up. There is also a lot of traffic on the main street and even the cross street was busy with cars and pedestrians, so there is street noise. You are in a city and there are city noises, and since it is a small and very open hotel you hear all of it - car horns, traffic, sirens, hawkers, etc. This is not necessarily a bad thing, just be aware of it, most hotels in Granada would be the same or worse. The breakfasts in the restaurant were very nice. Same Tipica or eggs you get everywhere, but in a very pleasant space. We chose to sit at the window and watch the street life. Hawkers walk by and show you their wares, but they are polite and move on when you say no, and you can watch church plaza and the people going about their business. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. They were very concerned for our welfare and treated us very well. The location of the hotel was perfect for us - it is very close to the centre of town and you can walk to Central Park, the Cathedral or restaurant area in 5 minutes through interesting streets, but it is far enough away from the noise and business of these areas. We would not have wanted to stay near Central Park or Calzada Street - very noisy and busy - but it was great to stay a 5 minute walk away and go there when we wanted. Easy walk to historic sites, bank machines, lots of restaurants and coffee shops. We felt very safe in this area. Granada itself is a beautiful and interesting city to visit, full of culture and activity. We saw several religious processions and ceremonies and sat through a special mass at La Merced, even though we are not Catholic and could not understand it. The cemetery is fascinating, you should visit. Taxis everywhere and cheap if the hot sun saps your energy to walk. Granada is near to several excellent day trips, like Masaya Volcano, Mombacho and Las Isletas. Good restaurants and coffee shops, friendly people, safe and real life all around you, not just a tourist town.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene S, General Manager at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Thanks Ted. We really enjoyed reading your article. Thank for take the time and explain about our hotel and Granada. We are glad that you were happy with us even our neighbors can be loud but normally during the day. But Noice can start early with the bell tower but its part of our traditions. Thank for understanding. I am also fascinating reading your article twice.
Read more
Amandabossio wrote a review Jan 2020
Warren, Ohio13 contributions1 helpful vote
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was beautiful and clean. The bed was so comfortable. Air conditioning worked well which is a must in the Granada heat. The staff here was very accommodating, helping us to arrange transportation from the Costa Rica/Nicaragua border. The hotel restaurant has really delicious food and coffee drinks. The breakfast, which was included at an addition charge, was good. The pool was very refreshing and clean, nestled in the courtyard of this historic structure. I’d definitely stay here again and would recommend to others. Being in the heart of an old town, you do hear the hustle and bustle in the streets. I always travel with earplugs just in case, and got a great nights sleep. Staff was very friendly and spoke great English. We had a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene S, Manager at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Thanks Amanda. we are very happy with your comment, we work hard to achieve this kind of comment and our team feel grateful.
Read more
Jay Towers wrote a review Dec 2019
Managua, Nicaragua196 contributions67 helpful votes
+1
Nice location but very load street on both side of hotel. Horns and Church. Room had a bad smell when we open the door due to AC drains on the bathroom shower. See picture. Only one bottle of water. Pillow to soft. Hair Dryer dint work. Very Small TV. See picture 32”? Couldn’t sleep do to noise coming from from street and church in front of hotel. Horns and Bells. No security to watch car or secure parking. Restaurant with limited food. See photo. Pool needs attention. Tiles coming off and pool water cold as an Iceberg. See pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rene S, Manager at Hotel Real La Merced
Responded Dec 9, 2019
Dear Guest, we appreciate your attention to details and as we read your comments, we see your preference are different the our service. 1. Granada is a colonial city, hence the experience of what you described as noise is what make the city attractive, beautiful, entertaining and full of live and color but just in case our rooms has double doors (one glass room and other wood doors). Parking at a colonial city as you understand is on the street, we inform our guest of this upon arrival. You had the option for a private parking. our reception is open 24 hours so we always have someone putting attention to the cars (Not on the street). 2. Hair dryer have a safety button, if you had called at reception, we would have resolved it for you as you did with tv remote after your batteries died. 3. We offer an option of breakfast, its normal size enough for most of our Guest. If you want bigger options, we have open menu. 4. December is a nice Weather here in Nicaragua-pool is at local Temperature (Normally around 90F or 30 c). This is a personal preference and we understand. We have lost 15 small title in the pool, thank for looking into this details, we have to work on it. Our TV is 32 inches, you right. Nevertheless, we will look into all points mentioned and improve for future Guests. hope you have a great day.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$68 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NicaraguaGranada DepartmentGranada
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Real La Merced
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Real La Merced?
Nearby attractions include Iglesia de La Merced (0.2 miles), Catedral de Granada (0.2 miles), and ChocoMuseo Granada (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Real La Merced?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Real La Merced?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Real La Merced?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Real La Merced?
Yes, free private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Real La Merced?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tostometro Granada Nicaragua, La Frontera, and Bistro Estrada.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Real La Merced?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Real La Merced have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Real La Merced offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Real La Merced located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Granada.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Real La Merced?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Real La Merced offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.