We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal El Momento

Save
Share
Calle el Arsenal 104, Granada 0010 Nicaragua
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (94)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (15)

About

#8 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 400 yr old Colonial House in the heart of Granada and a 2 min walk to Calzalda St. There is a bank on the same street and the others are less than 1 min away. We have a beautiful garden in the centre of the house with the bar, cafe, spa and all rooms surrounding it. We have used local artists and furniture makers to keep with this style of house.All privates have free Wifi, cable tv and secure safes.The dorms have lockers for all bags.All the bathrooms have new tiling , the beds are new with new mattresses.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
340Reviews6Q+A47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 218
  • 97
  • 16
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
MLtravel_dude wrote a review Apr 2018
12 contributions31 helpful votes
The upside is that it is only a couple of hundred meters from Parque Central, Calle La Calzada, restaurants, bars, banks, street money changers, etc. Breakfast was to be had for a good price of only 2 USD. I think some of others got nicer rooms and had a much better experience. Mine was really hot with a noisy fan (either sleep with the noise or with the heat), and a small window above head height which gave some natural lighting, but also provided plenty of noise at 5:30 AM as the garbage truck came through, and the school children across the street an hour later. The water situation in the mornings (not the fault of the management unless they want to invest in a second small overhead water tank) was a bit irritating, leaving only one shower for many occupants without private baths. Unlike many of the other places I have stayed till then, the hotel charged for it, albeit a small 12 cordobas (a mere 0.38 USD, and avoid the need to walk to the supermarket and more plastic waste.) I got what I paid for. It wasn’t a bargain, but I don’t think they were in the least unfair in any way. I give the overall experience an average 3 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from christian j, Owner at Hostal El Momento
Responded Apr 20, 2018
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and we are disappointed as nearly all your complaints are from things outside of the hostel premises. The room you had is the cheapest in the hostel but we will look at the fan as we had not previously been told about it until now or when you checked out otherwise it would have been changed immediately as we have other fans, in situations like this we really wish guests would ask and not wait until they have left, this way you would have had a better nights sleep and I am sure you would have felt much more satisfied. Your window can close which meant you would have not heard the garbage truck pass for those couple of minutes. We do explain to all guests when they check-in about the city wide water problem, the city is currently work on this and the project will take a year as all the hotels have been complaining, we have one large water tank but another water tank would not make a difference, there are 5 showers and 7 toilets in total in the hostel and we are a small hostel Many hotels do not charge for water as they use tap water to refill their bottles, we do not and as you can see the fee is very small and this price is also for a large bottle, a small bottle is only $0.12.
Read more
BackpackingBakers wrote a review Feb 2018
London, United Kingdom183 contributions16 helpful votes
Ok so firstly imagine a dolls house where if you lift the roof you can see the rooms segmented but they have no ceilings, this is exactly that. We had a private room backing onto the street which is opposite a school so you do hear loud school kids and street noise from early on. If you’re extra lucky you’€™ll get the bin collection street team at 5.30am like we did. Of course having no ceiling on your room allows you to hear all the other rooms and what goes on. The communal area is nice with plenty of places to chill and good WiFi. Decent happy hour prices and pretty good breakfast. No hot water. Also good location, in walking distance from pretty much all to see. Overall, good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from christian j, Owner at Hostal El Momento
Responded Mar 1, 2018
As we have already been in contact with this guest we will make this response for others who maybe reading this. We have 5 different rooms that are close to the street but if you look through our 6 year reviews we have not had a comment on trash collection because this is not normal, we have one review regarding the school about 4 years ago, again because this is not an everyday occurrence. Majority of our reviews do explain that we are a relaxed,quite hostel. The private room this guest chose is the cheapest and they were given a description twice before arriving. Our website, 3rd party websites and emails are very clear in explaining the different types of rooms so a guest can choose before arriving and why we recommend not to just look at the price. We can only manage expectations if guests read what we offer before arriving. This guest does contradict the review a little by explaining it is good value for money. As all hostels in Granada we do not have hot water but not really needed as it is a hot city.
Read more
alexm262 wrote a review Feb 2018
New York524 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
This hostel is excellent! It is very quiet and peaceful, has a terrific and rather large garden with papaya trees and tropical plants, hammocks and sofas around the garden. We stayed there twice during our trip to Nicaragua, in two different rooms, and both rooms were huge, comfortable, clean and pleasant. As others wrote, it is not a party place and even its small bar near the garden is very peaceful and quiet. The location is excellent - just 200 meters away from the Central Park and Cathedral. And finally, a very helpful and friendly staff. Thank you, Fatima and Chris!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 (private bathroom) and 4 (shared bathroom - plenty of them and very close...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
lalacrunk wrote a review Nov 2017
29 contributions10 helpful votes
I got the private room with bathroom with my boyfriend and we were impressed for the cost ($25/night), which seemed fair compared to other places in other towns we’ve stayed in in Nicaragua. Clean with a fan, even a small flat screen TV, and overall not too much of a spring break party vibe. They have nice hang out areas and seem to have good security. Good central location. We only stayed one night. Only complaint was the water pressure, which they warned us about. They said it’s best in the morning. Tried washing my hands in the sink in the afternoon and no water came out. A couple hours later it came out with not great pressure. Since it was only one night we didn’t bother even showering there due to the pressure issue. Still thought it was a well run hostal for the price!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
ACE wrote a review Nov 2017
Toronto, Canada100 contributions1 helpful vote
The location is fantastic in my opinion. On a small side street away from the noise. It's not a party place, although the common areal lent itself to wonderful gathering and merriment in the evenings. As others have mentioned, the shower in my private room lacked pressure but this is a common problem in Granada, especially in the morning. Staff is up front and advaise you of such when you check-in. You get used to it :) Chris, the owner really aims to satisfy his customers and as others have mentioned, communication between owner/staff is commendable. I had some minor issues which were tended to immediately.... I mean immediately. Chris had arranged an MGA airport pickup with his driver. The courteous driver was waiting for me with a sign, as expected. No hassles, no worries. Choices for breakfast are limited but for US$1... no one will complain. Happy hour drinks are a great deal. They're a great idea as they cause folks to meet and get to know each other. This was my experience. I definitely recommend El Momento :) Thanks again Chris and staff!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: private room was small-ish and hot... but floor fan helped. With ear plugs, I was set for the night.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
NicaraguaGranada DepartmentGranada
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hostal El Momento
Which popular attractions are close to Hostal El Momento?
Nearby attractions include Mombacho Cigars (0.3 miles), Catedral de Granada (0.1 miles), and ChocoMuseo Granada (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hostal El Momento?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hostal El Momento?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hostal El Momento?
Conveniently located restaurants include Café de las Sonrisas, Bocadillos - Tapas Kitchen & Bar, and Pita Pita.
Does Hostal El Momento have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hostal El Momento offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hostal El Momento located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.08 miles away from the center of Granada.
Are there any historical sites close to Hostal El Momento?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Railway Station (0.3 miles).