We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High Bank Peasants Cottage

Badarinath Road | Tapovan, Rishikesh 249201, India
Traveler (24)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Away from the busy town of Rishkesh, High Bank Peasant's Cottage is located 3 kms upriver in Tapovan. Peacefullly situated on the High Banks, the property overlooks the surrounding moutains & river Ganga flowing through the town of Rishikesh.All the main ashrams and the tourist areas of Laxman Jhula & Ramjhula are in 10 minutes walking distance from High Bank. One of the authentic Yoga - Sattya Yoga is taught to the residents at High Bank. High Bank Peasants Cottage is part of the Adventure Travel company - Garhwal Himalayan Explorations, which will not only handle your Trips in Rishikesh but will take care of your travel to and from Rishikesh. Come & experience the ture Himalayan Hospitality and richness of India.......
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Spa
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Paid Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Contact
Badarinath Road Tapovan, Rishikesh 249201 India
See all nearby hotels
77Reviews
3Q+A
17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 45
  • 16
  • 8
  • 1
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed a week. It was my second visit. The hotel is good, clean and comfortable and the people are pleasant. The breakfasts are exceptional. There are lovely gardens My complaint is about booking through Agoda. Last time I did not book in advance but just turned up at the
Read more
The cottage is a great place to stay. Clean rooms, quiet, air-conditioned and the staff is very accommodating. It's also walking distance from restaurants and shopping. I stayed here before and after my teacher training to rest up for my travel to and from home.
Read more
I did my 200 hours yoga teachers training there and this was an unforgettable life changing experience for me. Rajee and Seema are the owners and were two of my teachers and I must say I am forever indebted to their knowledge, their support, and their generosity. I had three
Read more
I have a talent for living well and always find the best place locally quality price speaking but India is getting the best of me! The place is a mess, floods when it rains, have to use the trash can filled with water to flush the toilet, refrigerator broken, sheets with blood
Read more
Response from Yogada A, Manager at High Bank Peasants Cottage
Responded Aug 11, 2018
This lady has chosen our place after hunting the entire area for a day. She has not only chosen the room but negotiated a price of INR 893 per night for the room which is normally 2999 + 18 % Taxes. We agreed to the old lady as she can live comfortably and this is little low time due to monsoon rains. Yes it rained heavily in last 4 -5 days with strong winds due to which some water drops seeped in below doors for which the staff cleaned it instantly. Yes there were electricity cuts but all the rooms are supported with battery back ups. As the guest house is on the edge of the reserve forest and due to the heavy rains the some ants took the shelters below the doors of windows for which mild repellents were sprayed every time the staff cleaned. In times when many of the towns world over are flooded with no food and electricity and where roads have become rivers, the weather is not some thing which is in our hands. she was talking to me every day but not even once she complained, we would loved to upgrade her to new room. As far as payments are concerned all the payments are upfront always and specially for long bookings that too with almost 70 % discount. After words we have told her that if she not liking it at all, she can find a better place with full refund of her payments. She then realised that this is still the best and most peaceful place in the area. Any way full refund was made of her payments to give her full liberty to choose whatever she like the most. we are a guest house controlled by highly qualified people who do not work for money and our team would have gone out of to prove the point of being the best in the area.
Read more
This is more of a Yoga Retreat than a resort/ hotel. However our stay here for 2 nights was more than comfortable. there was hot running water, the rooms and bathrooms were spacious and clean. however the rooms need a bit of updating . The breakfast was adequate and served on
Read more
Previous
hello, my name is Michael Eldan, from the Netherlands. I arrived in India on 17th of jan.2018, and went to Combatoire Ashram, with Sadhguru. he was not there at the time. After security at the gate I finally was allowed to enter. At the registration office they did not know anything about my arrival, despite my reservation. 17 hours travel by plane, train, waiting etc.. I was hungry, and very tired. They cold not even afford to serve me some food. I was so frustrated with this personnel, that I took my passport back, and left to NewDelhi. view days later I decided to go to Rishikesh. Arrival at Rishikesh was a great experience. After getting to know Rajeev, from Sattya Yoga Ashram at High Bank Peasants Cottage, I experienced a warm and a pleasant welcome. The best so far ever in India. I have been to India 8 times now, and this was the best. very warm family, and the food the best in the world. The knowledge of this teacher, Rajeev Tewari, was very good and well educated in Yoga science. I have been in the field of Yoga for more than 40 years, and this was extraordinary knowledge. To me a new door to higher knowledge had just been opened. The welcome to his family and food was for me a sign, that I should have been going to this place, instead going all the way to Coimbatore. Facilities and accommodation were a 5 star to me, and friendly and caring people. The Yoga, despite my yoga past and teaching, has been adding a new dimension to my path of walking towards the light. I would like to recommend this place to anyone going to Rishikesh, and ignore all the billboards about who is the best Guru, Yoga teacher etc.., and where you get the biggest diploma. For me looking forward to return this year to stay in the same place. Thank you Rajeev and wife. Will be back.
All you need to know about yourself, awareness, and higher knowledge, you find in Rishikesh. remember the bigger billboards, the less they teach you, and prices are very high. At Sattya Yoga, yoy learn more than I ever did in the 40 years of my Yoga career.
0 votes
hello, my name is Michael Eldan, from the Netherlands. I arrived in India on 17th of jan.2018, and went to Combatoire Ashram, with Sadhguru. he was not there at the time. After security at the gate I finally was allowed to enter. At the registration office they did not know anything about my arrival, despite my reservation. 17 hours travel by plane, train, waiting etc.. I was hungry, and very tired. They cold not even afford to serve me some food. I was so frustrated with this personnel, that I took my passport back, and left to NewDelhi. view days later I decided to go to Rishikesh. Arrival at Rishikesh was a great experience. After getting to know Rajeev, from Sattya Yoga Ashram at High Bank Peasants Cottage, I experienced a warm and a pleasant welcome. The best so far ever in India. I have been to India 8 times now, and this was the best. very warm family, and the food the best in the world. The knowledge of this teacher, Rajeev Tewari, was very good and well educated in Yoga science. I have been in the field of Yoga for more than 40 years, and this was extraordinary knowledge. To me a new door to higher knowledge had just been opened. The welcome to his family and food was for me a sign, that I should have been going to this place, instead going all the way to Coimbatore. Facilities and accommodation were a 5 star to me, and friendly and caring people. The Yoga, despite my yoga past and teaching, has been adding a new dimension to my path of walking towards the light. I would like to recommend this place to anyone going to Rishikesh, and ignore all the billboards about who is the best Guru, Yoga teacher etc.., and where you get the biggest diploma. For me looking forward to return this year to stay in the same place.
0 votes
"Try to keep avoid the corner rooms above the road."
"Room with the 180 degree view on the Ganga"
"The Dlx and super dlx rooms are great value to your money. You can go to the terrace and make your own tea any time free."
"we know some rooms and they are all cosy...view to garden or to Ganga"
"Last floor (best view)"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
$38 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
high bank peasants cottage hotel rishikesh
LOCATION
IndiaUttarakhandDehradun DistrictRishikesh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing