We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Tamarin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Tamarin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is just old and dated, I was here for 1 night before I fly home and it just wasn't pleasant. Food gross, AC terrible, no water in my room. Cold beer was good can't complain there. After several calls regarding the water I went to see for myself what was going on, and nothing was happening. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew G
Surrey
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Had a pleasant week here in October. Fantastic location right opposite a very scenic public beach. Great pool, surf-themed bar, plentiful good food, spa and a very basic tennis court. Comfortable rooms with good air con. The Hotel has its own in-house Surf School though I did not see any waves higher than 2 feet the whole week. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GBBBontheroad
Alexandre B, E. Marketing Department at Hotel Tamarin, responded to this review

Hello gbAndrew, Thank you for choosing Tamarin Hotel for your holidays and for writing a review of your stay. We're happy to read that you had a pleasant time with us, even though waves were not really high (due to weather conditions). As our group (Veranda Resorts) has bought the hotel recently, we have planned to improve the bandwidth and...

Sao Filipe, Cape Verde
Reviewed September 4, 2016

The hotel was full in July With people from La Réunion, but we managed to have a room for two nights. It was very simple, with no light in the bathroom... But fine.... staff was great, particularly a lady at the bar. Nice place for a family stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kokra M
Rose Belle
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Hotel tamarin is a cosy motel. The room is pleasant. Service: Good. Staff at your disposal. Food: Tasty. Restaurant is well reputed since we noticed non-residents coming for lunch. Cleanliness: Good level. Overall: Good place to be. Beware the swimming pool is very deep!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nitish M
Rivière du Rempart, Riviere du Rempart, Mauritius
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Had been there for one night only as we were touring the southern part of the island and just needed a cozy place to settle in for the night with our two little kids. Great welcome, indeed a cozy atmosphere. We really enjoyed the a la carte dinner with the best breadfruit soup i have ever tasted. Loved the dishes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neelum N
Las Vegas
Reviewed June 18, 2016

If you are looking for a get away from a busy life, thats the place. It is all simple and the staffs are helpful and friendly. Special mention to the reservations lady, the malagasy spa therapist and one waiter who was really helpful during breakfast. (Sorry, we cant remember the names). The cons is the very limited item used for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KCLasVegas
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Been there for the day package. First impression: hotel looks like a bungalow, old dated furniture - not modern at all. Was given welcoming cocktail on arrival. Baggage boy didn't bother to take our bag. Pool looked clean on the surface but there was accumulated dirt at the bottom, which only showed when diving. Lunch service at restaurant was good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank capscody
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile

Great little hotel for the price. Exceeded our expectation from reviews we saw. Welcome drink on arrival & escorted to room. Room itself is very 70s 80s retro style and clean. Most furniture were in good condition. Wardrobe could use some TLC. Amenities available were very satisfactory such as a mini bar, safe, hair dryer, laundry service, etc. Spa session...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neeraj D
Grand Baie
Reviewed February 8, 2016

Good moment, Deal through Marideal very good service The hotel need a good fresh renovation, the room is very very old, The service is excellent and all staff are very friendly and hospitable Very good service at the Spa. Big Thanks to all the staff. Specially to Chef Noor and Gilbert.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Guylene E
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

Not a bad looking place, opposite tamarin main beach.. Nice big pool.. Worst restaurant service and food ever, was so disappointed. Rooms are average looking, beds are good and firm.. Toilets looks abit aged and wished toiletries were offered in shower. The best moment was the spa, we had the couples massage and that was perfect no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ajmalonly
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (115)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarin
0.4 mi away
Tamarina Golf & Spa Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#1 of 3 in Riviere Noire
384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#2 of 17 in Flic En Flac
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,044 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa
#9 of 17 in Flic En Flac
522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Spa
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarin

Address: Tamarin Bay, Tamarin, Mauritius 90921
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Tamarin
Price Range: $99 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamarin 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tamarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarin Hotel
Hotel Tamarin Mauritius
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Tamarin staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Tamarin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid seaview rooms unless you have earplugs”
 of 5 bubbles GBBBontheroad, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the pool area are good.”
 of 5 bubbles NeelumN, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors have more privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles Zu_Explorer, Aug 16, 2015 | Read review
“rooms on first floor are better...better view”
 of 5 bubbles 729stephang, Feb 9, 2015 | Read review
“Ground level, by the pool”
 of 5 bubbles teeloo, Nov 13, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay