We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
36205 Snake Hill Rd, Middleburg, VA 20117-3645
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (243)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (39)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Updated 07/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant in Middleburg, Virginia, is a luxurious country inn and French restaurant in the heart of Virginia's wine and horse country. Drawing inspiration and purpose from its location on 265 acres of rolling hills and farmland, the Restaurant at Goodstone provides its guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience. The luxury country inn offers 18 elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites in six distinctive dwellings, including the Carriage House (main building), Dutch Cottage, French Farm Cottage, Spring House, Manor House and Bull Barn Cottage. Other amenities include Goodstone's country spa, wine cellar dining room, horse-themed Carriage House bar, exquisite heated pool set beneath the Wisteria-covered facade of the Old Mansion, and working farm. Goodstone Inn & Restaurant offers the charming ambiance of an 18th century country estate with the convenience, luxury and service expected by 21st century guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Meeting rooms
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Hiking
Fishing
Massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
351Reviews5Q+A93Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 278
  • 42
  • 19
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Josh Finkelstein wrote a review Jun 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia312 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
It was a true pleasure staying and dining at the Goodstone Inn and Restaurant for our 6th Anniversary. The food and wine was spectacular, the accommodations were romantic, and the grounds were beautiful, with a pool and hot tub that overlooked a beautiful vista and farm. However, we wish to extend a special acknowledgement to the extraordinary service of the entire hospitality team. They were thoughtful enough to grant us a one night stay with a tasting menu, as a substitute for an additional night, one of the only properties in the entire region that was so accommodating. The staff always had a smile on their face and were gracious to help at every moment of our stay. This has been one of the finest experiences we’ve ever had, and we’ve been to a few places. We look forward to our return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Leigh, Owner at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Responded Jun 28, 2021
Thank you very much for such kind words and positive feedback about your recent stay at Goodstone Inn and Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed spending your 6th Anniversary here with us. We do very much appreciate your recommendation to share on Tripadvisor. It will be our pleasure to welcome you in the future ~ to celebrate once again.
Read more
bragghouse wrote a review Jun 2021
Montclair, New Jersey155 contributions121 helpful votes
We cant say enough about the wonderful warm service. We stayed in the Bull Barn which was a perfect walk to the main building, best shower ever and plenty of room to spread out. Quiet (other than the fun animals outside) . We took the hike around the property which was lovely, important (for us) that we took the provided walking sticks, lots of ups and downs and mud and walking over water. We somehow missed the 1/2 way cut through, it wasn't well marked, so you may want to ask. A great tour from Tony of the property and also enjoyed speaking with Gordon. The only area for improvement we saw was actually the restaurant, which surprised us. The service was just a bit off for both dinners, not as polished as we expected, although friendly. The entrees were good, but the same sides (taking advantage of seasonal ingredients) became repetitive. Meats night two were both overcooked. Great wine list. We would definitely return to try it again once covid is a distant memory.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
jeffmarine51 wrote a review Apr 2021
New York City, New York2 contributions
Every aspect of our recent stay at the Goodstone Inn was top-notch. The French Farm house provided a perfect combination of privacy and common space for our group of 6. The quality and selection of cuisine at the restaurant was outstanding, and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating -- particularly in helping us to identify and arrange interesting activities on the estate itself, as well as in the nearby Middleburg area. Great meals, hikes, tours, winetasting. A 3-day weekend was not long enough -- we'll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
passportazul . wrote a review Apr 2021
4 contributions5 helpful votes
Beautiful property but poor service and so-so accommodations. Room reeked of wood smoke. Later I (stupidly) lit premade fire, nice at first until oh wait! fire alarm goes off. Then we call “emergency” number, person asks us whether fire alarm is hard-wired or battery-powered. Wouldn’t the hotel know that? Hotel then said oh right, fireplace needs to be serviced. Then why’d you leave a pre-made fire ready to be lit? Phone did not work in room, staff shrugged in response. Oh well. “Oh yeah, phones have been glitchy” they said. Promised to fix phone. But didn’t. We asked room to be serviced when we left for the day, front desk said ‘ok’ yet housekeeping left giant pile of trash, didn’t make beds or clean anything. Oh well. (Apparently this is due to COVID, but ok, you need to communicate that to guests when they check in or - preferably - beforehand.) Also, why’d you say you’d service the room if you weren’t going to? Front desk staff is chilly and unhelpful-minor requests felt like asking for a kidney donation - you have to negotiate because there’s obvious reluctance to help. It’s really weird. Goldstone manages to make you feel like an unwanted houseguest. For $600 a night. Weird fluorescent lights in rooms. Not exactly romantic. Rustic is cool, but many other places do it better, and for a lot less money. It doesn’t seem like there’s a lot of care or thought applied to anything. Shame, because it’s a beautiful place that we’d come back to otherwise.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Leigh, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Responded Apr 25, 2021
First and foremost I’m sorry we didn’t provide you with the experience you were anticipating. I appreciated you taking the time to chat with me today and I hope my response was sufficient to hopefully have you come back in the future.
Read more
Dac22903 wrote a review Mar 2021
Charlottesville, Virginia4 contributions7 helpful votes
The grounds at Goodstone are beautiful. The restaurant is also gorgeous and the food was delicious. But, there were several disappointing aspects to our visit. We stayed in the Mare Suite which was ok, not great... the heat did not work terribly well and the room and bathroom were not as well appointed as we would expect at this price point. We also were frustrated b/c several things were not told to us in advance: 1. that there was no housekeeping service b/c of COVID 2. That there was a tip added to the breakfast which was included in the room cost. The service was inconsistent- the women who worked here were uniformly helpful but the men not so much... At a less expensive property, I would say the service was fine but at this price point not so much. They said there was a spa but there were no details about services in our room and they said you ha dot reserve 48 hours in advance. One other odd thing, they asked when we reserved and when we arrived at dinner whether it was a special occasion which it was but nothing happened... In short, especially in cold weather where you can't use the pool etc.. that we felt the room charge was too high for what we got...
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: not sure....
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$284 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
goodstone inn & restaurant hotel middleburg, goodstone inn and restaurant
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaLoudoun CountyMiddleburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include National Sporting Library & Museum (2.1 miles), Gallery On Madison (2.1 miles), and The Christmas Sleigh Inc (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, King Street Oyster Bar Middleburg, and Goodstone Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Oatlands Historic House & Garden (8.0 miles), Aldie Mill Historic Park (6.3 miles), and Mount Zion Old School Baptist Church (8.1 miles).
Is Goodstone Inn & Restaurant accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.