We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shenandoah Manor Bed and Breakfast

325 Union Run, Lexington, VA 24450-6038
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
No booking options from our partners for this accommodation,
but there are similar options available. Contact accommodation for availability.
See available properties
Traveler (8)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Shenandoah Manor is located just outside Lexington, VA on 10 acres of rolling hills where you will experience art, beauty, relaxation and serenity. The Shenandoah Manor and Guesthouse offers you a choice of seven rooms for a comfortable stay, all of which have private full bathrooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
59Reviews0Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 48
  • 6
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The weekend art destination was a relaxing, informative wonderful experience. I did have to reschedule my weekend from last year due to a family illness and I have to say Nancy was more than helpful and accommodating in working with me to find a time that I could attend. I would recommend this to anyone interested in learning to paint or improve on your current skills. It is a fun, relaxing atmosphere and the house and grounds are beautiful. The food and art instructions are top notch and Nancy and Jan are terrific!
Read more
Response from nanbo24, Owner at Shenandoah Manor Bed and Breakfast
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks, Chris - was sorry to learn of the circumstances when you could not come last year, but glad we could find a time for you to come this year. You were a wonderful guest - keep painting. Nancy
Read more
I would not give this place any rating. There is no rating for the callous response I received from Nancy Boer when I emailed her to say that I had to cancel my reservation due to being diagnosed with a brain tumor and the immediate need for neurosurgery. With a cursory expression of regret, she explained that the deposit was non-refundable (which I could understand) and that if she was able to rebook my place, she’d send me the balance of monies I paid in advance. My hope for a humane and compassionate response was not to be. Instead it was a win-win for her and a total loss for me. I would NEVER consider re-booking, even if offered an alternate future date.
Read more
Response from nanbo24, Owner at Shenandoah Manor Bed and Breakfast
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hope Ratner, As my email response said, "I am so sorry you will not be able to join us - and very sorry to hear about the tumor. I hope everything goes well with the surgery." Your response was, "Thank you for your kind thoughts. It would be great if you can fill my space at this short notice. If not, I totally understand." Several days later I got your angry email of which I picked up the phone and called you immediately. You did not pick up, I left you a voice message to please call me back of which you sent another angry email. I would have liked to talk to you in person, but you refused to do that. Listed below is our cancellation policy that is on our website. We are happy to move you to another course at a later date (some people even come a year later), which is what most people do that have a medical issue arise (which happens frequently). You did not request that - you requested a full refund. BUT since I had several people request the dates you were signed up for and I had to turn them away since the session was full, I offered you a refund (less the non-refundable deposit) if I filled your spot, which you can see is not part of our cancellation policy. So I went over and beyond what we normally do - I’m not sure how that is not a humane or compassionate response. Cancellation Policy: Deposit always non-refundable. If cancellation occurs after the balance is paid 8 weeks prior to the course, there is NO REFUND, for any reason. We understand that last minute emergencies, illnesses or conflicts come up that cannot be controlled, and we are truly sorry, but due to committed expenses and limited spaces for our courses, we are unable to make exceptions. To protect from an unforeseen personal emergency should it arise, you might consider purchasing travel insurance (available through various sources).
Read more
What a fabulous experience! Wake up and take a walk around the beautiful property nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and then return just in time to enjoy a simple, yet delicious breakfast prepared by Nancy. Afterwards, attend a short class by Jan, an amazing teacher who teaches from a wealth of experience, wrapped up in humor and encouragement. After class, paint until lunchtime where you gather around the table outside and share your art and life with your fellow students who quickly become your friends. After lunch, it's back to painting under the watchful/helpful eye of Jan, until dinner, stopping now and then to watch others, perhaps taking a coffee (or wine) break with your new friends, then gathering together for a delicious dinner by Nancy, oohing and aahing over the dessert! Share your day and your art journey and then, paint some more, or relax until bed time (which was early for most of us) and dream away in the comfiest of beds. If you are into plein-aire, you won't find better places to paint than what you'll find right on property, or within a short walk or drive. You will leave rested, energized, and motivated to grow into the artist you desire to be!
Read more
Response from Nancy B, Owner at Shenandoah Manor Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun 6, 2019
Thanks, Judi - it was a pleasure to have you as part of the group. Keep painting!
Read more
Jan Willem and Nancy offer a stay that will make you want to return again. The Manor was beautifully decorated and their meals were above what I expected. If you are looking for art instruction, this is the place you need to go. If your looking for a peaceful getaway, it fits the bill for that too. I definitely want to be a return guest!
Read more
We stayed in the Main House with our friends and their two adult daughters. Our other friends stayed in the Guest House. The rooms were very comfortable and roomy. We had our own bathrooms which were large. Each of our rooms in the Main House had balconies. We had the option of visiting with one another in the living room downstairs, in our rooms or the balconies outside our rooms. The owners were very hospitable and answered any questions we had. Our breakfasts were very good and served timely. The B&B was in a great location- it was quiet and peaceful. The distance from VMI was a short drive away. We would stay there again.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaLexington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing