We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Applewood Inn, Llama Trekking & Cottage

Traveler (29)
Room & Suite (6)
Pool & Beach (4)

About

#9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
36 hilltop acres of woods and pastures surround Applewood Inn and Cottage, providing 365 degree views of the Blue Ridge and Alleghenies. Three Inn rooms all have queen beds, fireplaces, private baths, whirlpool or hot tub and private porches. All rooms are pet friendly and two will accommodate extra persons including children 8+. One of these is a suite sized room that will comfortably sleep four with in-room refrigerator, coffee maker and bar sink. A full hearty whole grain breakfast is included as well as complimentary snacks and beverages. Wonderful patios and gardens surround the inn along with a full sized in-ground swimming pool. In addition there is a two bedroom delux cottage that sleeps 2-5 persons. Perfect for honeymoons and families with young children with or without pets. Activities include swimming, hiking, fishing in Buffalo Creek, bird watching and exploring all the attractions of the Lexington area, including Natural Bridge, the Virginia Safari Park, the Virginia Horse Center, Washington and Lee University and two wineries and much more.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hot Tub
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
86Reviews
51Photos
0Q+A
18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 61
  • 14
  • 5
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Spacious room with a screened in porch as well. Pet friendly. Owners were very nice and knowledgeable about the area. Excellent, heart healthy breakfasts. Very quiet location. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing stay.
Read more
This is a lovely locally owned Bed and Breakfast Inn, and the two bedroom cottage was perfect for us and our two teenagers to have a place to land after exploring the Lexington area, a quiet getaway with walking along the river or the hills. Fully stocked cottage that we could
Read more
Response from applellama, Owner at Applewood Inn, Llama Trekking & Cottage
Responded Apr 4, 2019
Thank you so much for choosing us and for the kind words!
Read more
On a four week road trip with my dog the east coast I had the extraordinary pleasure of staying at Applewood Inn &Trekking. I cannot say enough about this bed and breakfast and the owners. This is the real deal! I decided after two weeks on the road to stay off the beaten path.
Read more
We spent 2 nights with our family of 6 in 2 rooms It was a very secluded house, so peaceful, perfect for us to relax after days of hiking. We were able to use the pool and the barbecue, a plus for us. Our hosts were delightful and always doing their best to make our stay better.
Read more
Response from applellama, Owner at Applewood Inn, Llama Trekking & Cottage
Responded Jul 20, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed having having you!
Read more
When I stay at an AirB&B, I really don't expect much more than a place to stay. Given the price of Applewood Inn, I was pretty disappointed for a few reasons: We arrived late and they checked us into the Blue Ridge Room. I had mistakenly thought that it had a hot tub, but
Read more
Response from applellama, Owner at Applewood Inn, Llama Trekking & Cottage
Responded Jun 22, 2018
We are very sorry that your experience staying with us was not what you had expected. I would like to address a few of the issues you mentioned. First, it is surprising to me that you took any comment about seconds at breakfast as disparaging. We are delighted when people take seconds and commend them for their hearty appetites. It is never meant as a criticism. We eat with guests because that is what most of our guests want and it is never a competition for food. We have on occasion gone without to make sure there is enough, but more often than not there is lots left over. I am not sure what we did to give you these impressions but will continue to do our best in anticipating guests needs and are sorry that we did not meet yours. We should have told you in advance that the pool still had a lot of chlorine in it to try to clear up the cloudy water. However, we rarely have anyone go in the pool until Memorial Day Weekend and never advertise that it is open until the very end of May. I think that the web site has said the trek is an hour and a half for some time now. Because we are down to only three llamas, and they are either aging or have some other problem, we have had to shorten treks. I will check the website and correct the time to an hour, give or take. It still has been $15 per person for an hour trek, as we have not increased the fee for nearly ten years and our costs have gone up considerably. Again, sorry to disappoint, and we will make sure that future guests get the correct information.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaLexington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing