We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tides Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Tides Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 498: English reviews
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

With baby #2 on the way, we decided to have an adult getaway for the weekend! We had an amazing time. There is SO much to do. I wish we could have stayed longer. From the pool, to beach area, to water activities, to the bikes, to live music at night, one could never be bored. The food on site... More 

Helpful?
Thank alc9b
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been in the travel business for over 25 years I know it is difficult to make everyone happy so I do not complain lightly. I have known about The Tides Inn for many years as a top rated resort. Imagine my disappointment when I found that there was a mouse in my room which kept me up all night... More 

Helpful?
Thank brcrow33
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

I am obviously disappointed with the outcome of your visit, we exchanged 3 very cordial emails on the Friday morning and you respectfully refused a room move which was not a good option for you on the Thursday evening., We did all we could to remove the offending mouse and indeed tried to provide a level of compensation to you.... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I went to the Tides for some rest and some fun without our children. We had a great time! It was very nice, maybe not luxury, it's not the Plaza hotel in terms of luxury but it was great. We rode a jet ski, which was fun and we did make a reservation. The girls who lead... More 

Helpful?
Thank Macaria S
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Nice title. I am glad you had a good time, couples massage are very doable but just need to be arranged in advance. Brooks will be very happy to hear of your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Grodon Slatford General Manager More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's hard to review the Tides because there are some things so amazing and yet others that are so disappointing. I've gone with my family and friends to the Tides, 4 times over the course of 6+ years. Overall we do love the Tides, but for the cost (after foodt/taxes) we aren't sure if it's worth continuing to go there... More 

Helpful?
Thank kcbestbest
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your input and I am always disappointed when we have not shown our best. starting with rooms we have a limited number of pet friendly rooms as we consider half a dozen pets sufficient at any one time, have a feeling if you had a King with Sofa bed we actually allocated you a suite with balcony but... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Want to start off with the fact that the location and views are outstanding. We couldnt believe we had never been there before! The valet and bike rental staff were so warm and welcoming. We had a great dinner our first night and enjoyed the views and the live music. The outdoor area was packed and we waited twice for... More 

Helpful?
Thank LuvzTrav10
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always difficult to know exactly how to react to potential tropical storms, the storm track was changing wildly about 4 days out over a path nearly 400 miles wide, The property remained open throughout and as expected the storm did not get closer than about 15o miles, we experienced winds of about 15... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an amazing time at Tides Inn this past weekend (9/10). Staff was very friendly checking in. The hotel was very clean and the room was well kept with a gorgeous view! Sat by the pool, used the complimentary afternoon and biked around town the next morning. Will definitely come back!

Helpful?
Thank Morgan J
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Come back and see us again soon. Gordon Slatford General Manager More 

Accokeek, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I just returned to Maryland after having a wonderful weekend in Irvington, VA celebrating our anniversary. We stayed at The Tides Inn, and this was the third time we stayed there. Their customer service is unbeatable! I love dining at the resort's Chesapeake Restaurant, and we saw an employee who worked there for 30 years! We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee A
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

So glad you had fun and enjoyed your stay. We have a simple motto, "Create memories by exceeding expectations" I think we did. Gordon Slatford Generasl Manager More 

Mid Atlantic
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a special place! This is our second visit to the marina at The Tides. The first time was for one night only (way too short) and our four-night stay this year was still too short. We could stay a week or more next time--it's easy to feel right at home and stay awhile. The resort looks even better than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Momma23boyz
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

I love to read reviews which are inclusive and consider all parts of the resort, this provides a balanced view of the entire experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Gordon Slatford. General Manager More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Tides Inn on August 25 & 26 while visiting the area for a research project. I have family in the Lancaster County area, and never stayed at the Tides Inn until this weekend. If only I had known! The Tides Inn is a hidden gem in the Northern Neck. Nestled on the waterfront, there is so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your well thought out and inclusive review. I do hope you will allow me to assist you in writing your novel, I love writing and it would be my pleasure to talk with you and perhaps feed you some ideas. Gordon Slatford General Manager More 

Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time visitor at the Tides Inn. Outstanding setting and service. Minor glitch in reservation was promptly resolved with the GM and his staff. Food was excellent. lots of activities. wonderful view. A superior resort experience.

Helpful?
Thank eab111
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you had a great stay. Your comment about our interaction is important, To all of our guests future past or present, please talk to us, we do what we do because we love to make people happy and it is our pleasure to go the extra mile if needed, Do not wait until after your stay,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (171)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
19.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 480 King Carter Dr, Irvington, VA 22480-2008
Location: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Price Range: $191 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay