We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Tides Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Tides Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 520: English reviews
Clifton, VA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

"With Koko" is key for this review. Koko is our little Morkie and this is the first time we took her with us on a trip. Being a brief getaway and being that the Tides Inn is Pet Friendly, it was a real good opportunity. The Tides Inn is indeed pet friendly. Starting with a bowl of water and another... More 

Helpful?
Thank 69dude
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice view, but... Not all rooms have a balcony, despite the GM's false assertion in another message. He is either lying or ignorant. Room 211 certainly does not have a balcony. The bed is nice but barely fits inside the room. The bathroom is inferior to an Econolodge. Front desk clerk was rude. We tried to check in at 2:50... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay c
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Oh dear. I do wish I had had the opportunity to speak with you wile you were here, I am sure we could have resolved matters. As your comments are at polar extremes to our other reviews I had a look at your review profile and you have been equally disparaging about each place you have visited. Your insults to... More 

Wytheville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is our get a way the week prior to the Thanksgiving holiday. Lovely. Incredible service. Delicious menu. Wonderful water views. They have a warm and welcoming staff. Great spa experience. Perfect for couples getting away from the businesses of work.

Helpful?
Thank PatFarrellCoach
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful location. Stunning sunset views. Attentive staff. Northern Neck was a wonderful fall destination. Excellent meal with exception service by waiter Clovise and anniversary song by talented host. Very special.

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary. I am glad we were able to make this a memorable trip for you, we look forward to welcoming you back. Gordon Slatford General Manager More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
311 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here 2 nights in late fall when the weather was warm and sunny. The outside dining area has a spectacular view of a cove off the Rappahannock River. We had an amazing breakfast and sunset drinks here. They have fire/propane pits to enjoy after dark and keep you warm. They have numerous activities that are included in their... More 

Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel560
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had fun and we have refinished tubs and caulking since your visit. Fall can be a delightful time to visit this area and check out a few wineries during the day. We look forward to welcoming you back. Gordon Slatford General Manager. More 

Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the tides in after the peak season. It was a lovely visit. The tides Inn is a beautiful venue. We did have an interesting problem of a fire alarm at 3 AM. We all a evacuatedthe building and eventually were allowed back in after it was discovered that it was a water leak into the fire alarm system.... More 

Helpful?
Thank WilliamA56
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I apologize again for the little whoopsie in the night with the fire alarms. This is very rare but every hotel will get its wake up call at some time and in our case it came at 3.00am. Our first priority is life and limb and we ensure no risk to anyone before we... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Tides Inn is well worth your time to visit. I have only been there for an overnight stay on several occasions, and have enjoyed it both times. looking forward to when I can stay longer. The Executive Suite was very nice. The Restaurant staff was courteous, the chef very knowledgeable, and the wine selection was outstanding. The grounds were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kat P
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your visits' to the Tides and yes, you are right, all the rooms reflect the same décor and standards although views do differ (Mind you there is not a bad view from anywhere on Carters Creek.) We often have a third night free offer available which may be the perfect... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, nice property, friendly staff. Room had a lot of issues: running toilet, old towels, dust etc. Food in restaurants was mediocre. Lunch near pool was similar to fast food place. Lunch in main restaurant was disappointing. Soup was cold, crabcake was too salty, fish over oily. Overall it is overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank GalinaBern
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed by aspects of your stay. We do have different styles of operation in different places and yes the poolside snack bar is designed as such and a popular venue for light eating between swimming and boating. I will pass on your comments to our chef re salt although we... More 

Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent accommodations, staff, grounds, etc. One of the most meticulously maintained resorts I have ever visited. Everything is clean, in good repair, and attractive. The restaurant was excellent as well. The staff really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. There were a number of activities available as well, our favorite being a Guy Fawkes Day celebration... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amidelamer
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

We are always looking for ways to improve and for reasons to have celebrations. I admit my English heritage did guide me to celebrate Guy Fawkes night on Nov 5th and this delighted a number of British visitors at that time. You never really know what we may be celebrating on your next visit. My staff and I thank you... More 

Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely early fall weekend away. It was our first visit to The Tides Inn and it will not be our last! It was a relaxing weekend with great service and food. There is a ton of activities on season and chill weather and relaxation off season.

Helpful?
Thank Chesire
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Log fires will be burning from now on. Also the cooler weather is leading to a great rockfish run in the Chesapeake. Yes we have fresh local rockfish on our menu and it is wonderful. Gordon Slatford. General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

242 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (186)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
308 reviews
19.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
198 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Location: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Price Range: $190 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Tides Inn staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Kahala, Hawaii
3 months ago
Warrenton, Virginia
over a year ago
Kahala, Hawaii
5 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Tides Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“For dog owners, room 175 or less is good. I think the upper floors in the same building would be even better (for example, 275, 375, etc)”
 of 5 bubbles 69dude, 1 week ago | Read review
“Just have a drink and enjoy the view.”
 of 5 bubbles 294jayc, 1 week ago | Read review
“both times I stayed, I enjoyed my room. I don't think there is a bad room in the place.”
 of 5 bubbles katp779, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“A number of the rooms have a water view (river) which is very attractive.”
 of 5 bubbles Amidelamer, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The hotel charges extra for a creek view, so just a view of the parking lot and driveway unless you pay more”
 of 5 bubbles F1918PBandrews, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay