We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7696 Sam Snead Hwy, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Hotel direct offer!Enjoy a Splash of Summer!
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (1981)
Room & Suite (436)
Videos (1)

About

#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
3.7
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Visit The Omni Homestead Resort in Hot Springs, VA and experience natural hot spring pools, a full-service spa, 2 golf courses and a waterpark. Enjoy tennis, zip line tours, lawn games and nightly movies at the cinema. Our hotel rooms and suites are airy and refined, with perks like fireplaces, living rooms, and private porches. Our Virginia mountain resort combines southern hospitality and elegant charm. Built in 1766, The Omni Homestead Resort has been a premier destination for vacationers and U.S. presidents alike since the 18th century. Whether you're looking for a golf getaway at one of the nation's most historic courses or a family adventure filled with horseback riding, skiing or kayaking, we've got you covered. Browse our exclusive hotel offers and start planning your stay. Plan your dream wedding at The Omni Homestead Resort surrounded by friends, family and the beautiful Allegheny Mountains.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Archery
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Hot tub
Lazy river
Pool with view
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Game room
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Tennis court
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Enjoy a Splash of Summer!
6703Reviews83Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,535
  • 1,596
  • 871
  • 466
  • 235
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
drjay3344 wrote a review May 14
Washington DC, District of Columbia14 contributions4 helpful votes
My fantastic experience started when I checked into my hotel. Katie Holloway was amazing. She took the time to find a room that was going to be the best possible experience for me. She was very nice and extremely welcoming. She had to orient me to this very large resort and even gave me a couple of free drink tickets!!! The rest of the staff at the Omni Homestead are also fantastic.It’s not just beautiful and has so much history but it’s the people that work there that make the experience memorable. I highly recommend this resort!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Gwin, Other at The Omni Homestead Resort
Responded 6 days ago
drjay3344, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Omni Homestead. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff. We will be sure to recognize Katie and hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
bwest57 wrote a review Jul 2021
South Carolina63 contributions48 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I am shocked at the few negative reviews of this beautiful, historic hotel. It is breathtaking. Sitting on the front porch or in the grand hallway is so relaxing. Allegheny Springs is fun and enjoyable for all ages. I’ve only done day passes to the spa to try the hot springs. All of the activities are great. We’ve always been given a beautiful room with the most comfy beds. We love it so much that we are purchasing a home within walking distance. Don’t miss this gem.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Logan Olds, Guest Services / Front Office at The Omni Homestead Resort
Responded Aug 2, 2021
bwest57, thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! We are thankful for your continued loyalty to The Homestead and look forward to seeing you in the neighborhood!
Read more
jlambbluff wrote a review May 3
Fredericksburg, Virginia22 contributions25 helpful votes
The renovation is overdue but I understand- couldn’t be done during the height of the pandemic and ensuing supply chain and labor challenges. Expect worn carpets, peeling wallpaper, peeling or scratched up paint, torn screens on the windows, etc. This grand dame needs a great deal of TLC- understandably-she’s mature! I hope the renovation is as extensive as it needs to be. That being said, I was kind of underwhelmed by a lot- food, some of the team. The bellman Andrew was fantastic as were the gentlemen at valet parking- not so much for most of the others- maybe just burnout or fatigue? If you are wanting a really nice experience until the renovation is completed, I’d opt for The Greenbriar. Also, the floors at the restaurant at the golf pro shop at Cascades probably haven’t been vacuumed in about a month. Should have walked out- it was really bad!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Gwin, Other at The Omni Homestead Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
jlambbluff, thank you for taking the time to respond with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We value constructive feedback as a direct way for us to understand where we are in line with guest expectations and more importantly how we can improve. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and will be sure to recognize Andrew. We hope to welcome you back to enjoy our newly renovated resort!
Read more
Susie S wrote a review Apr 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Good experiences: * My husband had a great experience at the spa with his masseuse Tatiana. * Food at Jefferson Restaurant was good. * We enjoyed the onsite billiards tables, cornhole, fire pit etc. * Shooting range staff were very kind and helpful. Bad experiences: * Had a sore lower back and got the Treasure the Moment couples massage package with Swedish massage but the masseuse massaged only shins down and upper chest upwards. No hips, lower back etc. * Bell man was not careful with our luggage on the cart and a hat fell off and was lost during transport to our room. Luckily someone found it on the floor and turned it into to lost and found. * Jefferson pools were closed. An Easter activity was cancelled without any communication, and the scheduled Movie Night was removed per the same. Zip lines are closed with no eta of reopening. The website had kayaking listed as opening in April and when April came they changed it to say May with no warning. * Experience center has absolutely no coordination. We made reservations for 4 for Archery and they had overbooked it, so there were not enough ranges available for everyone and we were forced to double up and share. There wasn't enough room on the shuttle either, and they had us stand even though there was no bar available to hold except the door. * Room shampoo and conditioner belong in the trash, it's worse than what you get at the dollar store, seriously. * Half the games in the game room were out of order
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo and conditioner. Make sure you're the first person in the shuttle because...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Gwin, Other at The Omni Homestead Resort
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Susie R, hank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We were disheartened to see we fell short in a number of areas. Service above all else is what we take most pride in. We hope to have another opportunity to show you what we do best, provide memorable overall experiences!
Read more
bisleen wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The Homestead Spa is by far the best spa I’ve been in. The staff makes this place special! My husband and I spent hours in the natural hot spring pool. It felt fabulous on a cold winter’s day. The food and drink service were spot on!! I can’t wait to return
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Gwin, Other at The Omni Homestead Resort
Responded Apr 18, 2022
bisleen, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our spa, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Elizabeth S wrote a review Apr 2022
Free Union, Virginia261 contributions112 helpful votes
Classic charm, personal service and renovation is in the works! I have been going to this wonderful hotel since 1978, and since then there have been several changes of ownership. Current manager has improved the service, and the little things like fires in the lobby on a chilly day, afternoon tea served with care, music from a live piano player, all add up to a charm and elegance that override some of the little things like worn carpet, grunge in the public areas and needs for updated plumbing and heating in the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Be prepared to share entrees in the Jefferson bar and grill, rooms in the old wings are charming...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Gwin, Other at The Omni Homestead Resort
Responded Apr 14, 2022
R1649LOelizabeths, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. As you may have noticed, we are in the process of a $120 million, property wide renovation and the restoration of our historic façade is well underway. In the coming months, work will begin on our guest rooms, meeting rooms, public areas and restaurants. All of these exciting improvements are scheduled to be completed in 2023. We hope you will return again soon.
Read more
Courtney M wrote a review Apr 2022
Wilmington, North Carolina30 contributions4 helpful votes
We went for a work conference and had a great time! The hotel organized fun events for us, and the staff was very nice. Sharon with Housekeeping was exceptional, and very personable. The hotel was clean, and I loved the tea and cookie hour. Thank you to the staff for a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Gwin, Other at The Omni Homestead Resort
Responded Apr 14, 2022
courtneym734, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Susan E wrote a review Mar 2022
Fryeburg, Maine7 contributions1 helpful vote
THE GOOD PARTS 1. They have an old-fashion dial thermostat that is simple to use and does not blow air in your face like the newer ones. 2. The beds are comfortable. 3. There is a walk-in closet with a sink and mirror and then a closet with hangers and a safe. 4. There are acres and acres of asphalt paths to walk on and they have an outhouse way out in the fields. I think they should add more outhouses like the one I came across. I found dozens of lady bugs stuck inside and think there should be a small window that could be cracked to let them out and to provide ventilation. 5. They have a historical tour that's offered every morning and covers different parts of the building where they explain what all the pictures are about. (They should post the schedule for this so the front desk staff does not have to tell everyone) 6. The spa has both a steam room and sauna and heated chairs with movies of waterfalls. THE BAD PARTS The only Sulphur spring at the hotel is a pond with rocks on the floor that are slippery with algae and with algae floating around on the surface. People enjoy this anyway. For the price we pay, they need to install modern-day Sulphur water whirlpool tubs both indoors and outside that are either fenced off or walled off for privacy. Other resorts have been offering this for a long time at a fraction of the price they charge at the Omni. I was privately repulsed by sharing a pond with no water circulating in or out and that had algae floating around and where people seemed to think nothing of it. The bath tub in my hotel room did not even come up to my knees. It was very shallow compared with what some other hotels offer. The requirement to let the staff do my laundry was condescending and an invasion of my privacy. I'm not disabled and do not need this level of assistance. I have a special set of rules I stick to when I wash my clothes and I have no reason to trust someone who I don't even know. They really need to add a guest laundry along with a place for whirlpool tubs hooked up to the Sulphur springs. I found not refrigerator or microwave in my room. I like taking the stairs more than the elevator and this is partly for exercise. The stairs need to be swept every day from top to bottom. The first day, I found them so filthy, it was making me itch every time I used the steps. The next day, I found them swept, all but the lowest level. The bottom floor of the stairs should not be left filthy. There is no sidewalk or walkway to the parking lot which is up the hill. My cel phone from U.S. Cellular does not work at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Gwin, Other at The Omni Homestead Resort
Responded Apr 1, 2022
granddaughterofagnes, thank you for taking the time to share both your positive experiences as well as thoughts on areas for us to improve. We will be discussing your concerns with our management team for review. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
bluejeanfood wrote a review Mar 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania640 contributions210 helpful votes
Had a great time here with family and friends over a long weekend. Can't beat how family friendly the ski and snow tubing area is along with the endless amount of activities that you can partake here. The spa was wonderful with all the options and the thermal pools, indoor and outdoor pools, ice skating, Jefferson Restaurant was delicious, everyone we ran into was above and beyond friendly. The location has a lot going for it, amazing history, and a certain charm from the past. A few things to be aware of though. The place is old. Things are not as modern as most places American tourists are used to. I put it in the category of European resorts. They are having a huge renovation in progress so I'm sure lots of rooms will be updated, but just be aware before you arrive. Things are pricey for everything at the resort especially food. Good news is the town is just a 2 minute walk and you can get almost anything you want there for half the price or drive a little bit and explore some other things and areas like we did. I've read comments of rooms being $700-800 a night for some people. I booked close to a year in advance and it was around $300 a night. I think $300 a night is a decent value for what you get and age of the room and condition of the place since everything else is an add on expense. Not sure if worth $700-800 a night if add on services area not included. I've been to full blown 5 star luxury for $700-800 a night with some having services included and this is not that level. It is a great place, you just have to manage your expectations and make the trip enjoyable to you. I can only say what I had and what I had was an enjoyable time that had fabulous service at every turn that was family friendly and the family left happier than when we arrived even with the few flaws.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Gwin, Other at The Omni Homestead Resort
Responded Mar 15, 2022
bluejeanfood, thank you for taking time to provide a detailed review of your experience with us. We value constructive feedback as a direct way for us to understand where we are in line with guest expectations and more importantly how we can improve. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Susie D wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We went bc it was highly recommended by friends but it was THE worst resort that cost greater than $800/night. I thought the front desk wasn’t helpful or friendly - they assumed we should know how to get anywhere. Just like the responses to the comments here - it was mostly surface level - “sorry you feel that way - please visit us soon.” The food service was horrible. First ones there but took over 40 mins for food to come while the food was mediocre at best but very expensive. The rooms were just awful. Very old - from 1980s… when we turned on the fan it made clanking noises so we had to turn it off and bear with the noises of the paper thin wall - I mean if I can’t drown out noises bc what should be normal fan is making worse noises, I don’t know what to do. The bathroom was disgusting. The spa was ok but one of the sauna room was broken. It was really annoying. But I would say, the activities there were reasonably priced except for putt-putt. Really run down - surprised they even charged for such run down activity. Overall- not worth the price. Not worth the drive. There are better services and better resorts in VA than here.. don’t waste your money!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Gwin, Other at The Omni Homestead Resort
Responded Feb 22, 2022
852susied, thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We were disheartened to see we fell short in a number of areas. Service above all else is what we take most pride in, and I would love the opportunity to discuss your visit in more detail. If you have a moment to contact me you may reach me at amy.gwin@omnihotels.com.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$443 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the homestead hotel hot springs, homestead hotel hot springs, homestead va, homestead hot springs virginia, homestead hot springs va, homestead resort hot springs
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaHot Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
483
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Omni Homestead Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Omni Homestead Resort?
Nearby attractions include Bacova Beer (0.2 miles), The Sparrow's Nest (0.1 miles), and Laura's Boutique (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Omni Homestead Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Omni Homestead Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Omni Homestead Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Omni Homestead Resort?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Omni Homestead Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Les Cochons d'Or, Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill, and Jefferson's Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Omni Homestead Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Omni Homestead Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Hot Springs.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Omni Homestead Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Omni Homestead Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Omni Homestead Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Homestead (2.5 miles).