We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Comfort Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
6639 Forest Hill Ave., Gloucester, VA 23061
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Comfort Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
va
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. We were very hesitant staying here based on the reviews that we read on here. We were very surprised upon arrival. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, pool looked clean, did not spell of smoke, breakfast was the same as Hampton Inn, and staff was friendly. Give it a chance!

Helpful?
Thank familyoffourVa
Barco, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked Three nights for a Drag Boat race up in Mattaponi. There were 8 of us with 4 rooms total June 17 > 20. Saturday evening June 18 around 11:30 all hell broke loose. A BIG Group was down in the eating area raising all kinds of Noise. Staff did absolutely nothing until calls were made. Then it started up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bud C
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

We had an nice stay for 2 nights in a room with a king bed. The rooms are large, but didn't seem to have enough furniture (only two chairs, neither of which worked for the table/desk). We had a room overlooking the front entrance and the sun came blazing in the afternoons making it very hot (there was a heat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annalida500
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Staff were extremely nice & welcoming. Check in and check out were easy. Our room was just OK - some weird stains on the bedskirt, but the sheets and blankets seemed fine. Water pressure in the shower was good. Breakfast was sort of the standard free breakfast - nothing special, but some hot food. Outdoor pool, didn't have time to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jlk9r
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

This motel looks good on the inside and outside but gives you the bare minimum. It is in a good quite location. If the outside was older it would be an econolodge. The price is high and sleeps good but they give you poor soaps and shampoo. Breakfast is lame and the breakfast hostess will eat with you at one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank michaelbQ8296UM
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a candid review. We are glad that you found our location quiet and convenient. As a fifteen year old limited service property, we take great care of keeping the hotel looking fresh and clean. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

I stay every weekend almost and I love it! Easy check in/out and I love booking through Trip Advisor it makes the booking very easy and sometimes you may even get a better price! The beds are nice/ nicely made. The service is pretty good also. Love my stay

Helpful?
Thank Katelyn D
Hardy, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

I don't like to give negative reviews, but this Comfort Inn has earned it. Let me offer three positives: the staff were courteous, check in was fast and efficient, and the beds were comfortable. Upon check in we had to sign a statement that we could be charged if we smoked in the non-smoking room. What a joke. When we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at Comfort Inn Gloucester. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations during your recent visit. I have shared your comments with the department heads to ensure we handle these situations. Again, thank you for your time... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

I knew it was not going to be good from the moment we opened the door to our "non-smoking" room because it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke and room deodorizer..so the staff knew about the cigarette odor. I found a BIC lighter on the dresser and handed it to the desk clerk when we checked out after only one night.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JamesMWilsonMD
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the staff I apologize for failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay. Unfortunately, we can not control guests who smoke in non-smoking rooms. We do try to clean it and remove the smoke to the best of our ability. I referenced our log books and your folio and did not see anything stating... More 

Rochester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

The stink in the rooms is brutal. I was first given a smoking room - when I complained, the person at the front desk lied and said I requested a smoking room. When I showed the email confirmation of my reservation there was some hemming and hawing but they eventually gave me a non-smoking room. It stunk too but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank SCtNY
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our reservations come through by the person making the reservations. When making reservations by another entity other than the front desk or Choice Central, 9 ties out of 10 the reservation will be entered into our system by them and will be a smoking room. These rooms are non cancelable, non changeable nor refundable. I am happy to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

Just spent the weekend here with my wife. We were in town for a wedding. We were happy to leave. We arrived late after traveling over six hours. We had booked a non-smoking room with a king bed. The first room we were given had a distinct smell of smoke after we walked in despite my being sick with sinus... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VAbeachgoer
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, On behalf on the entire team, I do apologize for the roach found in your room. Upon notification, the Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper where called to the room after vacating it and took care of your concern. We do not treat finding a roach dead or alive lightly and appreciate you letting us know. We do hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
24.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
12.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
19.4 mi away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chesapeake Bay RV Resort
Chesapeake Bay RV Resort
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 6639 Forest Hill Ave., Gloucester, VA 23061
Location: United States > Virginia > Gloucester
Price Range: $87 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Gloucester
Comfort Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Comfort Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay