We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Save
Share
11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
$110
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (110)
Dining (28)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 03/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Updated 03/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 21 hotels in Fairfax
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Travel with confidence at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks. Awarded AAA's Best of Housekeeping 2021! Our modern hotel provides an unparalleled location near George Mason University, Fair Oaks Mall and Inova Fair Oaks Hospital. Explore the dynamic Fairfax County, then kick back in our spacious rooms and suites. Our luxurious bedding, ergonomic workstations will make you feel at ease. Enjoy access to our Concierge Lounge, serving complimentary breakfast, when you upgrade to our club-level accommodations. Indulge in delicious Southern cuisine at our 703 Bar + Kitchen. When you're in need of on-the-go snacks and beverages, visit The Market. Need to host an event? We offer 13 sleek event spaces for your unforgettable wedding reception or business convention. Serve a meal during your special occasion when you utilize our catering services. Before your hotel stay is complete, have a heart-pumping workout at our 24-hour fitness center. Whatever inspires your stay, rest and recharge at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
337Reviews16Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 156
  • 107
  • 38
  • 24
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
BradyCalma wrote a review Oct 16
San Francisco10 contributions11 helpful votes
FILTHY AND UNSANITARY - ZERO PROTOCOLS FOR BREAKFAST I had intended to let this pass as I was under the impression that my late arrival/check-in would be accommodated with no penalty, this after a chat with the front desk via the app. To my surprise and chagrin, my credit card was charged a fee, and upon confirming with the front desk the night before my departure, I was told that “policy requires that I cancel before 24 hours of arrival.” Policy also requires that food be handled in a sanitary manner, extra precautions be taken to avoid the spread of Coronavirus, and tables be cleared and sanitized after use. I reminded the front desk staff of the poor conditions from this morning’s breakfast and asked what policy governed the hotel’s IRRESPONSIBLE and ABSOLUTELY UNSAFE CONDITIONS. I was appreciative when I was led to believe that the front desk would accommodate me when I initially messaged them asking for leniency re: my travel situation. I am very disappointed that was not the case. I asked the front desk to reverse the late arrival charge and overlook my late arrival due to circumstances out of my control in the same way that I gave the hotel staff grace for what were unacceptable eating conditions for hotel guests. Note: this is a self-serve breakfast buffet, and the hotel was hosting what seemed to be a girls soccer league - imagine the hectic environment and just how unsanitary it could all become. *food was not covered *milk was not iced or refrigerated *cutlery were being used to handle different breakfast foods *pieces off egg in the meat trays and vice versa *tables not bussed or wiped down; it got so bad that guests were bussing their own trays to the bar *this is a hotel that does NOT require their staff to wear masks, even their dining and food employees!!!!! FILTHY, FILTHY, FILTHY We all need to make “policy” exceptions as we work together to make hotel stays safe again, but when management of the hotel is unwilling to reverse a charge even after a guest arrives AND stays an extra night, you better believe that they better be on top of their game. Drive the longer commute and stay in DC where protocols are stricter. The hotel manager, Zach Kennedy, asked if I had proof of the front desk confirming they would waive the fee, but when I looked at the chat in the app, it was conveniently deleted. When I replied to the hotel manager via email that it was conveniently deleted, no response. He should be held accountable for the gross violations of Covid protocols!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ron Barnhill, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you BradyCalma for sharing your observations and providing such detailed feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. We will review your encounters with the team and use it as an example for further training. We will also review our policies and procedures with each team member and ensure a re-train is completed. We strive to adhere to all CDC, local and brand guidance for our operating procedures and sanitary requirements. Thank you again for sharing and we will work diligently to improve. Regards
Read more
katlyngerken wrote a review Sep 2021
Madison, Wisconsin260 contributions55 helpful votes
The hotel property is beautiful and clean and conveniently located. The fitness center is large, there is an on-site restaurant, and it's close to lots of shopping. We, however, had an issue with the service. When we checked in, their system only showed us for one night when we were supposed to be there for three (I had the confirmation email to support this). The front desk attendant added two more nights for us at a reasonable rate. When we came back from a long day on the road to our room on the third night, our key cards didn't work. A third room had not been added as originally stated. We had to go down to the front desk and add this room. The room itself was also very warm and humid, despite our efforts to get the air conditioning working. I would be hesitant stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ron Barnhill, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Responded 3 weeks ago
katlyngerken, I wanted to reach out personally and apologize for the experience that you had while staying at the Fairfax Marriott. We take guest services very seriously so it is very concerning to me that what you experienced was far from our goal of exceeding expectations. I will share your experience with the team so we can learn from it and not make the same mistakes in the future. Thank you for your feedback and again, I sincerely apologize.
Read more
JMUFES wrote a review Sep 2021
Forest48 contributions11 helpful votes
The only downside to this place is getting to it, with all of the construction nearby, but once you're there, it's great! Quick, friendly check-in, nice big rooms, great bar area with personable bartender...I'm not a big fan of NOVA, but this hotel made me feel more at home and I will definitely be a repeat customer, for the next few years at least while my son is at GMU.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ron Barnhill, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Responded 5 days ago
JMUFES, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad you found the check-in quick and friendly and the bartender personable. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Read more
Chris W wrote a review Sep 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Turned out to be a little further awaay from where we wanted to be, but the hotel was fine. Clean and updated. Good service. What we didn't like: the glass shower door would not stay closed and insisted upon rolling back 6 to 10", allowing water to sneak out onto the floor. I didn't look closely enough when I booked. I thougth that breakfast was included. What it actually said was "breakfast available". So, when we went down the first morning, there was the breakfast buffet...only it was $16,95 per person. For two nights we would have had to spend almost $70 for both of us. Not going to happen. Most places we stay at offer a decent free breakfast. Other than that, everything was fine. Just read the fine print.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Be prepared to eat breakfast at Ihop...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ron Barnhill, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Responded 5 days ago
chriswA8449PK, We truly appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We are glad you found the hotel clean and the service good, We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area again soon, we will be delighted to have you as a guest once more.
Read more
dcheney101 wrote a review Jul 2021
WashingtonDC3 contributions
Not sure how this hotel received a high rating. Checked in yesterday. Room was in disrepair, with torn curtains. Front desk gave us another room. This room had door locks which were broken; wallpaper which was stained and patched; toilet water on floor in bath, and heavily damaged and chipped bath tub. As a Marriott member, not used to this. Checked out immediately.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Please avoid hotel until updates and repairs made.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ron Barnhill, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Responded Jul 15, 2021
dcheney101, I wanted to reach out personally and apologize for the experience that you had while staying at the Fairfax Marriott. We take the guest experience very seriously so it is very concerning to me that what you experienced was far from our goal of exceeding expectations. I have shared you feedback with our Chief Engineer so he can address these issues. Thank you for your feedback and again, I sincerely apologize. In Hospitality,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott fairfax fair oaks mall hotel fairfax, fairfax marriott
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaFairfax
NUMBER OF ROOMS
316
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Which popular attractions are close to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks?
Nearby attractions include Escapology (0.4 miles), Fair Oaks Mall (0.2 miles), and Fairfax Corner 14 + Xtreme (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coastal Flats, Ozzie's Good Eats, and The Cheesecake Factory.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Blenheim (3.3 miles), Ratcliffe-Allison-Pozer House and Pozer Garden (2.9 miles), and Fairfax County Court House (2.8 miles).
Is Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.