We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Priceline$118*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$126*
$118*
Great Deal
$126*
$126*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
See the most recent reviews
Showing 205: English reviews
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed April 27, 2015

Motel is nice but "must" place adequate signs as one approaches the lower entrance to indicate the "Trucks and busses park at large lot, not here. Entrance just west between the Shell Station and the Taco Bell". Another Sign just ahead of the Shell station pointing in and reading something like "Trucks and busses for the Best Western enter here"...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan K
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We have had several problems with the parking situation since Taco Bell was established but do have signage entering the hill right past Burger King, as well as in the upper lot area of our hotel! We do hope that this is more visible and easily accessible during...

Manassas, VA, United States
Reviewed April 19, 2015

I again travelled to Covington, VA and again chose the Best Western, Mountain View. I was again, not disappointed. It is the best place for the price. The staff was very cheerful, professional and helpful. The food was good too.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you! Thank you for your patronizing our hotel again! We hope to always provide great service you and all of our guests! Sincerely, Cary Linkswiler

North Carolina
Reviewed April 6, 2015

The room hadn't been cleaned properly. The trash had not been emptied. There was hair all over the shower and sink. And the microwave did not work. Front desk would not give me a different room. I was told there was "nowhere else to put" me. The best they would do was to have maintainence bring me a different microwave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krisbkatt
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that you had such a bad experience at our hotel! We unfortunately did not have another room available to move you, and we did try our best to fix the situation as soon as we were notified! We have spoken to our Housekeeping Department and are in the process of implementing a Second Check program...

Englewood
Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

Somewhat confusing to enter. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Shower was nice. Awkward to get in and out of bathroom as it is really small and you have to stand between toilet and shower or behind the door to open. Not enough room to be standing in a comfortable position to exit the bathroom. The lounge was loud as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that you were inconvenienced at our hotel here recently! We are trying really hard to upgrade our hotel and create a 100% satisfactory experience for our guests! We understand the size of the bathroom is challenging and are working on ways to try and improve that area specifically! We hope that you will again return...

Reviewed March 31, 2015

You know when you walk in a lobby you know that you want to stay. Nice lounge area with fireplace. Mountain view restaurant and bar tucked in the back open till 2am. Cozy rooms frig and microwave. Personal wake up call from live person

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Starr G
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a great compliment to our hotel! We are working very hard to provide100% customer satisfaction and seeing reviews such as yours gives us a great push in a positive direction! Thank you, Cary Linkswiler

Ama, United States
Reviewed March 24, 2015

Hotel was clean. Maintenance could be better. The tub faucet was leaking at a stream not a drip. Thermostat on heater did not work had to get up all through the night to turn on and off the heating system.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel! We noticed that some items were not satisfactory to your stay and would like to look further into the situation! If you could please email bestwesternfd@gmail.com with the room number that you were in, we want to make sure that all areas of our hotel are 100% Cary Linkswiler

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed February 15, 2015

Honestly, the hotel scene is Covington is extremely sparse. It gets even harder when only TWO of the hotels within 10 miles allow pets :( Thankfully, Best Western let us bring our four legged girl along with us. So the Pros: It was me, my girlfriend, and her two sisters all in a suite with two full sized beds on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ismith93
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel! Listing the PRO's with the CON's definately lets us be able to make sure we are taking care of all areas of our hotel! We pride ourselves in knowing that we allow all family members to stay, that being our 4-legged furbabies as well! We hope to see you again...

Princeton, Indiana
Reviewed February 9, 2015

My wife and I was very tired since we drove all the way from Illinois. We wanted to stop and regroup. The front desk clerk was nice but the hotel was the worst I have ever encountered by Best Western. I was not aware of the poor quality as outside room doors. Dusty, bed had hair, room was very cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cris J
CovingtonLodging, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that your experience here at Best Western Mountain View was not up to par! We have been working really hard to upgrade all of our guest rooms, and we truly do take the cleanliness of a room seriously! I can assure you that the housekeeper did not intentionally knock on your door, but I will...

Appomattox, United States
Reviewed February 6, 2015

Gotta be honest, the hotel choices in Covington are pretty limited. I've stayed at the Best Western Mountain View several times over the last 15 or so years. Although I don't get to the Covington area very often, Best Western Mountain View is my hotel of choice in Covington.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom J
CovingtonLodging, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a nice compliment to our hotel! We enjoy having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you the next time you are traveling through Covington, VA. Thanks again, Cary Linkswiler

Navarre, United States
Reviewed January 4, 2015

Found the hotel staff to be very helpful. The property is pet friendly and there are a number of dining options and points of interest nearby. Upon first arrival, entry to property is somewhat clumsy due to geographic location, but from that point on no problem. We stayed three nights and actually found the location convenient. Will stay there again...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Earl S
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a positive review of our property! We are working very hard to improve what needs improving and its with guests like you that we find we are doing an okay job at getting the improvements done! Thank you, Cary Linkswiler

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
17.0 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4,814 reviews
2.0 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
16 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
41 reviews
21.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
207 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Address: 820 E Madison St, Covington, VA 24426-6352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Price Range: $124 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Mountain View staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Mountain View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Pick up travel hotel coupon magazines at rest areas. The hotel is priced at 4 star hotels, but is nowhere in that catagory.”
152KarenT, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Quieter nights!!”
JustSaying1991, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great. No worries there!”
lorijok2015, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Wanted to say this place was hard to find at night...stay on 2nd floor, does have an elevator”
backcreekvalleyy2016, Aug 17, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in this hotel!!!!”
KTHarrison, Jun 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Priceline
$118* /night
View Deal
Travelocity$126
Orbitz.com$126
Hotwire.com$126
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates