We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Washington Court House, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2016

I would not recommend this hotel! We are not extremely picky, but this hotel was dated and smelled very musty. The bed was not comfortable. We would not return as it was definitely not worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank Julie R
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay at Magnuson Hotel Covington for your recent trip through Covington, VA. Secondly, we are sincerely sorry the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay! Our staff works really hard to ensure that each guest room is neat and cleaned. I have also notified the General Manager of your notice... More 

Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Last year I gave a terrible rating to this hotel primarily due to poor management and service. This year I took my group back there after finding out is was under new ownership and management. The current team gets it right! Very pleased how they treated me and all of my group. Hotel is a bit old and dated but... More 

Helpful?
Thank dmwphoto
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel! We appreciate the fact that you have noticed the improvements that we have made to our facility! We still have a long way to go, but its with guests like who that give us the motivation to keep going. Thank you, Cary L. More 

1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I work for a big company and live in hotels half the year. I am accustomed to occasional issues at hotels but this place was just bad. We had reservations and showed up early. Didn't really expect to check in but sometimes it happens. We were told "sometime between 3 &4 we may be able to check in." So at... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrmuffmuff
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest! First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am sorry that you have a bad experience with us! You are correct, you should not have to search the hotel to find a clean room, the Guest Services Agent should know and they do, as well, the lady that you were referring this... More 

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

We were there during a local disaster and there were many work crews staying at the hotel. They seemed a little overwhelmed and some of the rooms were not ready, but the staff was working hard to accommodate their patrons. Nice outdoor pool and restaurants were close. Beds were not the most comfortable, but the room was clean.

Helpful?
Thank PennNationalRog
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and thank you for understanding the circumstances during your stay Its is because of you that we are successful! Sincerely, Cary Linkswiler More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2016

We had Room 137 it was in the back of the Hotel . It was quiet and it was very clean. The staff was friendly . We did have breakfast Saturday morning , better than average and the morning crew was nice. Check out was easy. No complaints.

Helpful?
Thank Z7919AIrobertm
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay here at Magnuson Hotel Covington! It is because of guests like that you we are successful! Have a beautiful day! Sincerely, Cary Linkswiler More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

First there was a bed bug disclaimer with the check in paperwork. The room had trash in it from a previous guest. There was hair in the sink and on the shower curtain. My electric door lock was broken so every time I needed to get in the room I had to get a hotel employee to let me in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Russell M
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Thank you for our stay at our hotel! We are sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory! Please feel free to contact the hotel to discuss this further. Thank you, Cary Linkswiler More 

Cameron, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

My family and I were arriving late on our trip to Virginia, and needed a place to stay before we met our hosts. We had tried a disastrous stay at the Relax Inn in Lewisburg WV, and needed a new place very quickly. This hotel definitely did it. We arrived at the lobby late. I described our situation and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sillywitness
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for staying with us! It is because of guests like you that we are able to be successful! Sincerely, Cary Linkswiler More 

Prince George, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2016

This hotel was awful. The only good thing I can say is the people working there were nice. I felt terrible for the poor girl working in the restaurant. Oh, and there is no carpet so you don't have to worry about smelly old, dirty carpet. The room we had was musty--bad. Smelled almost like sewage. Luckily I travel w/Clorox... More 

Helpful?
Thank KTHarrison
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that your stay with us was less than pleasant! We do try to ensure that every guest room rented is clean and presentable! Please know that we are looking into ways to better improve the quality of our hotel and the guest experience! Thank you, Michael Keyser, GM More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in late March as part of a business trip. Friendly owner and staff took excellent care of our needs. Nice room. Did not hear any noise from the bar that other travelers had mentioned. Excellent food.

Helpful?
Thank Power S
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2016

only bright spot was check-in. The staff was friendly and efficient, but other than that the place is in need of repair and better management. Toilet valves leaked and thus the toilet tank continually filled throughout the night. About every 15 minutes you would hear the LOUD filling of the tank. The restaurant...don't even go there. Never used my breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank robswnl
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
17.0 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4,363 reviews
2.0 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
16 reviews
19.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
40 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Greenbrier
The Greenbrier
#1 of 1 in White Sulphur Springs
2,315 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Address: 820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Price Range: $124 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Mountain View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quieter nights!!”
 of 5 bubbles JustSaying1991, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great. No worries there!”
 of 5 bubbles lorijok2015, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Wanted to say this place was hard to find at night...stay on 2nd floor, does have an elevator”
 of 5 bubbles backcreekvalleyy2016, Aug 17, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in this hotel!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles KTHarrison, Jun 13, 2016 | Read review
“ONLY take rooms on back side of hotel...and not the one next to the laundry service area.”
 of 5 bubbles robswnl, Apr 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay