We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 197: English reviews
Stem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

To start I will say the room was very clean, with fresh towels and sheets. In my opinion when one hotel buys another, the new owners should "erase" evidence of what the hotel use to be. Information provided in the room was a typed sheet from the management of the Best Western. The rooms, while clean are very, very dated.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carpe2014
Logan, West Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family stayed there on 8-18-2016thru 8-20-2016. When we checked in the staff was very friendly. We went to our room and was very disappointed, the floors were so nasty we wouldn't even think of taking our shoes off and the room smelled very musky, the air conditioner wasn't working properly so we asked for a room change but they... More 

Helpful?
Thank tinazms

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Avoca, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is a clean, friendly and budget friendly hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to find out how wonderful it was. I was a little skeptical based on others opinions, but my personal experience says otherwise. This is the place to stay if you are in this area.

Helpful?
Thank Lori Jo K
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is owned by the same place we originally stayed at, Americas Best. We had our grandson with us and after spending many hrs at the West Virginia State Fair, it was pushing 1am and we had to find some place to sleep. The room was much nicer than the other hotel. No nasty carpet on the floor, though... More 

Helpful?
Thank backcreekvalleyy2016
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We just checked into the room about an hour ago. The room is moist and damp...even the toilet tissue has a damp feel to it...and the floor is wet by the door. Other reviews say to stay on the back side because of the noise up front. Well, I guess you choose noisy or damp because we are in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are sorry that your stay with us was less than pleasant! It would help tremendously to know which room it was that you had a problem with so that we do not have the same problem again! Unfortunately, sometimes we do not know that there is an... More 

Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First, know that this hotel is not visible at street level; you must turn off the main road to drive up the hill to reach it. Signage at this turn is small and easy to miss. This is an old, outdated Best Western. All doors open to the outside.The room was clean but had the cheapest of everything. The toilet... More 

Helpful?
Thank WhiteCatWriting
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your most recent stay! It is only from the guests perspective that we know where we need to improve and what we are doing well! I have noted your review with our management team. Although there is no way to make the bathroom larger, we are looking... More 

Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in passing by... We will NEVER stay here again. The front staff lady was rude. When we were asking questions about room she acted like it was a complete inconvenience to her! There was some sort of party going on, it was so loud in the lobby well after midnight. When we got to the room, it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank RLBmom
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had these inconveniences during your most recent stay with us. We would like to know a little bit more about your stay to determine who checked you in and also who cleaned your room. could you please call the hotel directly and ask to speak with Joann or email the hotel at magnusonhotelcovingtonva@gmail.com. We are... More 

Washington Court House, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I would not recommend this hotel! We are not extremely picky, but this hotel was dated and smelled very musty. The bed was not comfortable. We would not return as it was definitely not worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank Julie R
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay at Magnuson Hotel Covington for your recent trip through Covington, VA. Secondly, we are sincerely sorry the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay! Our staff works really hard to ensure that each guest room is neat and cleaned. I have also notified the General Manager of your notice... More 

Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

Last year I gave a terrible rating to this hotel primarily due to poor management and service. This year I took my group back there after finding out is was under new ownership and management. The current team gets it right! Very pleased how they treated me and all of my group. Hotel is a bit old and dated but... More 

Helpful?
Thank dmwphoto
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel! We appreciate the fact that you have noticed the improvements that we have made to our facility! We still have a long way to go, but its with guests like who that give us the motivation to keep going. Thank you, Cary L. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I work for a big company and live in hotels half the year. I am accustomed to occasional issues at hotels but this place was just bad. We had reservations and showed up early. Didn't really expect to check in but sometimes it happens. We were told "sometime between 3 &4 we may be able to check in." So at... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrmuffmuff
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest! First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am sorry that you have a bad experience with us! You are correct, you should not have to search the hotel to find a clean room, the Guest Services Agent should know and they do, as well, the lady that you were referring this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
25.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 4,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 5 in Covington
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Covington
4.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Address: 820 E Madison St, Covington, VA 24426-6352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Price Range: $110 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay