We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Chalet High Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Chalet High Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Shenandoah Valley and stayed at the Chalet High Resort Unit #14 at the end of August 2016. The 3 bedroom condo was a little outdated but clean, comfortable, and on the golf course. The pool was closed for renovations and the check-in office was a bit down the road. You had to drive to the office to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank lusha20
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

Our unit #68 was a little outdated, but very clean and spacious. We knew that the indoor pool was closed ( we were informed of this) but disappointed that there was not an outdoor pool. We were given a pass to Lake Laurel for our week stay. The lake had water activities that our grandchildren ages 17 & 9, enjoyed.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
Milan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

We were in chalet 28. Big place, clean towels and sheets. Only while having a shower and trying to have a bath we discovered that hot water running from faucets was brown and full of filth. Five calls to reception didn't solve the problem and nobody came to check. Look at photos.

Helpful?
2 Thank laurellandpa

Travelers are raving about these Basye hotels

East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
184 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

Not impressed by this resort. Unit is old and shows a lot of wear. Gravel parking lot was uneven. Pool was closed. If you want a vacation out in the country with nothing to do this will be ok. I will not return.

Helpful?
Thank budv
JDBanks5, General Manager at Chalet High Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest response. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. All incoming guest were informed of the closing of the indoor pool due to renovation till Oct 1. Our records indicate that this was emailed to you and a VM left on your phone at time of booking. This is also listed on the... More 

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Resort was very nice, very quiet. We stayed in a 2 bedroom and it was nice and spacious. The inside does need some updating but was purely cosmetic, nothing that disturbed our trip. They provide everything you could need as far as cooking and whatnot but they should let you know that after you use some of the paper product... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kellyprincess
JDBanks5, General Manager at Chalet High Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review of your stay. We do hope that we can service you again in the future. On the check in sheet that you are given at the counter and on our web sites, it does state that we supply you with a starter kit of paper goods and soaps. We will look into a third... More 

Quinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

This is an older resort so, it's not perfect but our unit was very clean and that's the most important thing to us. We were in unit 40, two bedroom. I think the regular price is $129.00 for Memorial Day weekend but we found a $97.00 special on Travelocity. That's $97.00/night for an apartment/townhouse...great value, especially if you have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Krackah
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

A winter and golf resort. Not so much to do in MAY. Zip line good but $52 per. No outdoor pool Over 30 miles to Skyline Drive. 15 to nearest grocery store. The location bothered our allergies inside the condo, so we stayed only 5 of 7 days. There are mountain bike runs if that is your thing. Do not... More 

Review collected in partnership with Veterans Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank pepr1959
JDBanks5, General Manager at Chalet High Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for an honest review of Chalet HIgh. We are sorry that you were not %100 satisfied with your stay. Our offer in a previous email still stands. With your allergies, you may like to come back during the winter time when then pollen count is not as high. It is our goal to satisfy every guest, every stay,... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

This place was chosen by a new family member, and she made a great choice for us. The cost per room was no different from a hotel room, and the nearest hotel is at least 20 minutes away. My rental was #59, a 3 BDR, 2 1/2 bath on the Bryce Resort Fairway. The kitchen was complete with full-size fridge... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mscarol81
JDBanks5, General Manager at Chalet High Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for an honest review of Chalet HIgh. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you many more times in the years to come. Thanks, JD More 

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

Frankly, I never heard of Basye, and don't know about the Chalet High company, but since I have a week of vacation with my kids and Interval International give me a nice decent coupon for a getaway, I give it a try. Indeed, it surprise me that even area are so remote in the mountain (nearest shop need to drive... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chubb332016
JDBanks5, General Manager at Chalet High Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for an honest review of Chalet HIgh. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you many more times in the years to come. Thanks, JD More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

When we first walked into our unit, we were a little disappointed when we compared it to other timeshares we've stayed in because it was somewhat dated. However, the longer we were there, the better we liked it. All the furniture was very comfortable, including the beds; it was extremely spacious; the towels were large, fluffy, and there were plenty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
JDBanks5, General Manager at Chalet High Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for an honest review of Chalet HIgh. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you many more times in the years to come. Thanks, JD More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basye
0.0 mi away
Senedo Springs by EVRentals
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 stars 859 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
21.9 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Chalet High Resort

Address: 1345 Orkney Grade, Basye, VA 22810
Location: United States > Virginia > Basye
Price Range: $90 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet High Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Chalet High Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay