We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
46 Lareau Farm Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$100
Hotels.com$100
Tripadvisor$100
Vio.com
Etrip
Orbitz.com$100
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (38)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (10)

About

#9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.6
Value
4.6
Nestled on the banks of the scenic Mad River, the historic Lareau Farm Inn is a 13-room bed and breakfast serving fabulous farmhouse breakfasts featuring local farm-to-table cuisine. Our property is also home to American Flatbread, a wood-fired pizza restaurant. Mountain bike trails, hiking and swimming are only steps away!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Romantic
133Reviews0Q+A24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 94
  • 21
  • 8
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Elizabeth L wrote a review Sep 2022
Tampa, United States2 contributions
WARNING: I booked at Lareau Farm Inn through HOTELS.com but later discovered the listing gave inaccurate mileage information (distance to Middlebury from the farm). Once I found the error Lareau Farm refused to reimbursement the cancellation fee. They make you pay for their error- even if that error is costing you 50% of the cost of the room. Despite the misinformation, they will say they are so sorry but you still have to pay. I discovers the misinformation more than a month before the reservation giving them plenty of time to rebook the room. Hotels.com specifically stated that the hotel is responsible for the decision to not fully refund the room despite the misleading information (making you think the hotel is closer to the town than it really it is) - the customer shouldn’t be left holding the penalty for changing the reservation. Shameful greed. Horrible customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gayle G wrote a review Aug 2022
Williston, Vermont4 contributions
My daughter and son-in- law were recently married at Lareau Farm. I cannot say enough about how wonderful everything was. My daughter who grew up in Vermont wanted to show off the best of Vermont at her wedding and Lareau Farm did not disappoint. The property is so beautiful from the quaint inn, to all the beautiful flowers throughout, the ceremony site, the Mad River that runs through the property all provided for an amazing backdrop for an amazing day. Helen, the wedding coordinator helped make my daughter's dream wedding come to fruition. She and her staff worked tirelessly to make everything happen without a hitch. She worked with all the vendors to help everything run so smoothly that all we had to do was enjoy the Wedding which we certainly did!!!!The staff in the Inn were wonderful and took care of everyone all weekend with wonderful breakfasts to getting what ever we needed such as safety pins to put everyone at ease. The Wedding night food was fantastic and folks have been raving about the pizza and Vermont Paella ever since. The lawn games and firepit were a huge hit especially at night when first time guests to Vermont could not believe the stars. We booked Lareau Farm over a year and half ago and it was wonderful to see the constant improvements to the venue; it just keeps getting better and better. In my mind Lareau Farm may be just the perfect place in the Mad River Valley to get married. Thank-you, thank-you Lareau Farm for all that you do.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vlapinta1 wrote a review Aug 2022
Toms River, New Jersey126 contributions79 helpful votes
We just came back, and wish I could do it all again. I Wouldn’t change a thing! We rented the entire inn for my son and daughter in laws wedding. The choice of breakfast each morning was amazing. Everything was so fresh and delicious. Amazing is all I can say. Helen, their wedding coordinator, was an angel, and helped my daughter in law and son throughout the planning process. She was right there the day of the wedding as well. We had American Flatbread cater the wedding. Their pizza is amazing, but I have to say the Paella stole the show. Everything was delicious from the charcuterie board and apps at the cocktail hour, to the pizza, salad and paella for dinner. The setting for the wedding is beyond beautiful. We lucked out with the weather. Beautiful blue skies. Nighttime was so pretty with all the stars in the nightsky. The fire-pit was a big hit after dark. We had @125 guests and everyone agreed it was the best wedding they ever attended. This event brought 2 families together and people from California, the Midwest, Florida, New York, NJ, Boston, Vermont, and Canada. Thank you for helping us all create lasting memories
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kasia Geiger wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
My boyfriend and I and our puppy turning 1 this weekend were so excited when came across this inn. They were pet friendly and close to skiing. Yesterday I attempted to call the inn 10+ times throughout the day and never got an answer. They had a message machine and I left a voicemail, but never got a reply. I wanted to ask if they could accommodate a late check in on Monday b/c we had so much we wanted to do in the area. I waited the entire day and got no reply. I then resorted to email and asked if someone could give me a call back. Instead, I got an email back saying they were available by email. By the time I asked if we could check out late on Monday, the room was taken by someone else. I was waiting to book in order to have my question answered and with the late reply, the room was gone. We were going to celebrate and also celebrate our border collie puppy's first birthday. They have no more rooms that we can bring him too. Not to mention I had to reach out to the general manager in order to get any answers in the first place. Even after that I had to call back a second time because no one got back to me. We are so incredibly disappointed and saddened that we will not be able to travel to Vermont this weekend with no pet-friendly places to stay. We are very sad. The lack of communication on the end of the inn cost us our entire trip.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mugie wrote a review Aug 2021
25 contributions7 helpful votes
Beautiful on the outside. Average on the inside. We arrived went to check in and found an envelope with my name on it. In it was our key and a letter telling us directions to our room. We went up and found our room had not been cleaned yet. I went down to the desk and pushed the button they had near the desk for help. I waited a long time and no one came. I started to look around. I noticed there were people coming in for an event. I finally found someone about ten minutes later. I approached her and told her the problem. She apologized told me it would take half an hour to clean. I asked her if she had an other rooms with a king bed available. She told me no. We waited for our room. When it was supposedly cleaned we went up to it. Noticing that there were three empty rooms with king beds with no one In them. We figured maybe people were coming in later. We checked the sheets. There were black stains on them. The sink looked like it had not been cleaned. There was toothpaste splater on the wall and mirror. I went down to try to find someone again. Pressing the bell again, walking all over again. Waiting. Finally I went into the resturant and they told me the women in charge left but that I could call the number on the paper that was left for me. I tried calling it. No answer. As I was looking around I saw the women who supposedly cleaned our room. I found out later she was the innkeeper. She was walking around outside taking photos of the event that was going on there. I approached her and told her about the stain. She was very rude when she said " I just changed them." I took her up and showed it to her. She said " I'll change it". She did change it but the sheet she put on it had another stain on it. She seemed to be more interested in taking photos of the event than taking care of the people staying at her inn. Later that night we realized that all three other rooms with the king beds were still unoccupied. So a four star place with dirty sheets, dirty room and rude innkeeper. I don't think so.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Alyssa Taxin wrote a review Mar 2021
Jersey City, New Jersey1 contribution
Stayed here with my husband for a long weekend at Sugarbush. The inn was charming and the staff was great. The only issue that I could see some people having is that there wasn’t a TV in our room. Shoutout to Helen for having a gluten free breakfast complete with muffins for me everyday. Can’t wait to come back next winter!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kaleigh M wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
From the first time we visited Lareau, we could feel that it is a very special place. When you live in Vermont, you get pretty used to being charmed by adorable old homes, historic barns, sprawling fields, and beautiful views. Even with us being as spoiled as all of that, Lareau struck us as a truly magical and essential “Vermont” place and we knew that we wanted to get married there. In what was undoubtedly the most bizarre and stressful wedding year of our generation, the incredible folks at Lareau allowed my partner and I to have a celebration that felt truly authentic to us, safe, comfortable, and festive. From the initial planning stages, to the re-planning, to the second re-planning, Helen and Dave were communicative, thorough, detail-oriented, and supremely flexible. Helen knows what she is about with wedding planning; she guided us through the process with professionalism and warmth, not missing a beat despite all of the hurdles. On our wedding day, Helen was a subtle guiding presence helping us to stay on track and on schedule with the various components of our celebration. Dave created and executed a beautiful picnic menu for us that our guests gushed about for the rest of the summer. We are so grateful to the both of them, and all of the other staff members at Lareau, for the way in which they make their guests feel welcome, at ease, taken care of, and at home. Lareau is such a special place, and I can’t recommend their inn and event spaces highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Taylor M wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
It is difficult to find the right words to describe how absolutely perfect the Lareau Farm Inn and its team of incredible people were for our wedding. When we began looking for a venue we knew we wanted something relaxed, scenic and fun. Lareau Farm is that and so so much more. We planned the wedding from a state away, so our ability to meet in person was very limited. Luckily for us, Lareau has Helen who is their innkeeper and event coordinator. Helen is so kind and so helpful in keeping plans on track and without making it feel overwhelming. What we didn’t know until we actually got there though was that not just Helen but their whole team is absolutely wonderful! They made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Oh! And the food – the food is AMAZING!! I still dream about the apps. We did a buffet for dinner with chicken and pulled pork, then late night flatbreads to end the night, which was a huge hit with our guests. We are so grateful to have had such an amazing wedding experience. I could go on and on, but ultimately – if you’re thinking this might be the spot for you, I can assure you it is!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
brittany9287 wrote a review May 2019
boston, ma2 contributions2 helpful votes
When we decided to get married in the Mad River Valley, we immediately knew that we wanted our food to come from Lareau Farm Inn. We have been fans of their flatbread pizzas for years, and we are SO thrilled with the decision to include them on our wedding day. Helen was fantastic to work with and made us so excited for the big day. We booked the mobile oven to cook on location and it was fabulous. Everyone raved about the pizza and salads, as well as the passed apps (my dad still always talks about the bacon-wrapped dates). The entire process was a breeze and the food just felt “like us.” Can’t recommend booking the mobile oven enough!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Neletele wrote a review Mar 2019
4 contributions2 helpful votes
I love places that are low key and unassuming. At Lareau Farm we just drove up, walked in, took our shoes off like the sign requested, found our key waiting for us in an envelope with instructions on how to find our room and shared bathroom. Granted it was Sunday night and we pretty much had the place to ourselves, but it could not have seemed anymore like home. On top of that, if you're hungry Flatbreads is connected next door so you don't even need to travel for food and drinks. The restaurant was busy but a pleasant stop at the bar with a good beer list solved that short wait. Breakfast (included with the room fee) the next day was wonderful, tasty and home made. Skiing is a very short drive away too. Lareau Farm Inn was all we needed to make for a perfect ski break so I'd highly recommend a Sunday-Monday combo if you want to avoid the crowds.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HelenB4691, Manager at Lareau Farm Inn
Responded Apr 11, 2019
Thanks so much for your review, We hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
country inn waitsfield, waitsfield country inn
LOCATION
United StatesVermontWaitsfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAREAU FARM INN - Updated 2022 Prices & B&B Reviews (Waitsfield, VT)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lareau Farm Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Lareau Farm Inn?
Nearby attractions include Sugarbush Resort (3.9 miles), Mad River Glen (0.7 miles), and The Big Picture Theater & Cafe (1.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lareau Farm Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lareau Farm Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Lareau Farm Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lareau Farm Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peasant, American Flatbread, and The Hyde Away Restaurant.
Is Lareau Farm Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Waitsfield.
Are pets allowed at Lareau Farm Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Lareau Farm Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Round Barn Farm (1.2 miles), Waitsfield Covered Bridge (1.2 miles), and Pine Brook Covered Bridge (3.2 miles).