We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn at Round Barn Farm

Save
Share
1661 E Warren Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-7127
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (217)
Room & Suite (140)
Dining (50)

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Waitsfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Located on 245 acres of mountains, meadows, and ponds lies this romantic Vermont Inn, a four season vacation retreat for lovers of the arts, history and the outdoors. Friendly and caring Innkeepers at this Waitsfield VT Inn welcome you to enjoy all the comforts of home with none of the demands. Individually decorated guest rooms have been designed with attention to the details that matter. Come experience incredible hospitality at this lovely Warren bed and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
352Reviews5Q+A73Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 299
  • 34
  • 14
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Elizabeth P wrote a review Nov 2020
Baltimore, Maryland150 contributions35 helpful votes
Our stay was booked well in advance of COVID. We decided to escape and went anyway as a 1 night deposit had been held. We were thoroughly aware things might not be typical of what the Inn normally provides. In some way, it falls down to price and expectations. The room was well well over $300 a night and it was hard to have no contact, no housekeeping, very limited services. We want very much to support businesses open during COVID but full price of nearly $400 was hard. The setting is gorgeous. We spent a lot of time outside enjoying the pond and the birds. The breakfasts were fantastic given the limitations. Missing were the welcome cocktails and snacks and other pluses that are normally provided. A big negative is that the rooms do not have Keurig coffee makers, microwave or fridge as shown on many booking sites. They are all in the basement, several floors down. A few paper coffee cups were there but never restocked. We saved our paper cups, reused them many times. No lids to carry the hot liquids up floors. Sweeteners were also not restocked . Admittedly the expected 'services' were gleaned from booking sites as the Inn website leaves a lot to be desired. It needs to be updated and made more encompassing. So it feels bad to leave this rating but it is important for those traveling to have a realistic idea of what they might face . So it is a gorgeous property and a fascinating building which I wish we had seen in better days and better service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Donahue, Owner at The Inn at Round Barn Farm
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences while travelling during the recent COVID pandemic. Our normal high level of service will resume when we reopen in May 2021. We hope to have a chance to serve you during non-pandemic conditions, please feel free to reach out to us so that we can show you our much more typical hospitality. For our part, it's worth noting that communications detailing our COVID precautions and service modifications are sent several times prior to guest arrival and most, if not all, of the items outlined in your review were clearly explained as modifications in those communications due to state regulations. We're sorry that you were dissatisfied, we would be pleased to discuss this with you at your convenience.
Read more
Juan H wrote a review Oct 2020
5 contributions6 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at The Inn at Round Barn Farm for 4 nights in mid October. It was the highlight of a 12-day trip to Vermont. The setting is just splendid, with beautiful vistas out of every window, plenty of nice little towns around and many outdoor activities. The Inn is a beautiful place, owned by the kindest people and tended to by caring staff. We stayed at the Joslin Room (a complimentary and much well received upgrade), which is a gorgeous room, highly recommended. We definitely look forward to returning soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
LeonMart wrote a review Oct 2020
Pensacola, Florida45 contributions27 helpful votes
The inn is in a spectacular location for scenic beauty. The grounds and beautiful surroundings are second to none, and I could have been content to just sit out back all staff was very polite and helpful. We stayed in the Terrace room which is on the ground level in the back of the inn, tucked away next to the common area with a billiard table and big screen television. The decor and quality of the room is 3 star at best, and is not reflective of the room cost $240.00 per night. I would not recommend staying in that room because we could hear every creaking footstep, cough, music, and conversation of the guests staying in the room above us. I found it very disappointing that the inn did not offer a daily hot breakfast. The owners took a number of COVID-19 protocol measures which included reducing the available rooms to ensure social distancing, utilizing a self check in process, mandatory masks, and enhanced cleaning. All understandable, but with the reduced number of guests, serving a boxed continental style breakfast every morning was an unnecessary precaution especially when considering the Tucker Hill Inn and 1824 House and Barn, both also in Waitsfield serve a daily hot breakfast. I received the email informing me of the boxed breakfast just a week prior to my stay which made it too late for me to cancel without losing my $358.06 deposit. I know this sounds very nitpicky, but one of the joys of staying in these historic inns for me is waking up to a delicious hot breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do NOT choose the Terrace Room. Ceiling above is paper thin.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Donahue, Owner at The Inn at Round Barn Farm
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your pandemic travel experiences. We will be returning to our normal high level of service once we reopen in May. It is good to know that you did receive the communication clearly outlining the precautions we were taking. We are sorry that you felt that you were unable to express your unhappiness with our proposed breakfast service prior to arrival - we would have happily made arrangements to apply your deposit to a future non-pandemic travel date. While our breakfast did contain a hot, freshly prepared element each day, it is not the breakfast we are most known for. Modifying our breakfast from tableside service to a boxed breakfast containing freshly baked and prepared items including a hot entree was heartbreaking for us. We are also aware that other properties in Waitsfield did not modify their service. We felt that preparing breakfast and cleaning dishes in our kitchen that is open to and in close proximity with the dining room/guests was not safe for guests nor was it safe for our team, as safety was indeed our first concern. We chose instead to prepare your breakfast in our closed commercial kitchen in the barn where we could control all factors. This necessitated modifying the breakfast items and delivery. Again, we thank you for choosing the Inn at Round Barn Farm and hope that you will give us another chance in non-pandemic times to make this up to you.
Read more
Oneswtworld wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions
+1
My wife and I returned to the Round Barn for our anniversary during July 2020 and were so happy we did— the owner and staff took smart precautions for making it a safe visit (our first and only lodging we’ve used since the pandemic) and with just as much warmth and luxury as our prior, more typical, stay. Their careful attention to detail was present as ever, and we enjoyed delicious breakfasts and snacks, the beautiful grounds, and perfectly appointed room. A perfect way to get away in these challenging times!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Tazwetzel wrote a review Jan 2020
Champaign, Illinois15 contributions2 helpful votes
This vacation trip was awesome. The service and food at the Inn was spectacular. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the scenery was beautiful. Would highly recommend for rustic and relaxing trip. Great ski areas in surrounding small villages with great dining experiences. Area has no chain restaurants or shopping.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$239 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the inn at the round barn farm hotel waitsfield
LOCATION
United StatesVermontWaitsfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn at Round Barn Farm
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn at Round Barn Farm?
Nearby attractions include Sugarbush Resort (4.6 miles), Mad River Glen (1.7 miles), and The Big Picture Theater & Cafe (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn at Round Barn Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Inn at Round Barn Farm?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inn at Round Barn Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn at Round Barn Farm?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peasant, American Flatbread, and The Hyde Away Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Inn at Round Barn Farm?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inn at Round Barn Farm?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Round Barn Farm (0.04 miles), Waitsfield Covered Bridge (1.5 miles), and Pine Brook Covered Bridge (2.9 miles).
Is The Inn at Round Barn Farm accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.