We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Basin Harbor Club

Certificate of Excellence
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
4800 Basin Harbor Road, Vergennes, VT 05491
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Basin Harbor Club
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

When we first arrived, we were in awe of the beauty at Basin Harbor Club, but even when we first walked into the reception area, we noticed the scent of mold. Thinking it was maybe just that room, we proceeded to our room, but later that evening found mold in the bathroom with a rat trap under the sink. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank awesome_advisor123
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor Club, responded to this review

As owners, there is nothing more frustrating than learning six months after the fact that guests had issues during their stay. We are sorry these guests felt that the lobby and their room/cottage had an odor of mold. This past summer, there were weather issues that sent mice indoors here and there (in the countryside, sometimes these things happen). We... More 

Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

I visited the hotel during a wedding in September. It was a great experience. The grounds and facilities are wonderful. Lots of space to walk, run, and swim. Parking is a cinch. The restaurants onsite are great. While there is a wide range of rooms at this hotel, our room in the main building seemed a bit old and tired.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry H
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor Club, responded to this review

How nice that this guest enjoyed his visit, the property, and the food. The rooms in the Main Lodge are slated for upgrades. It is an historic building, so the rooms are the smallest on the property. Thank you for letting us know that you'd return. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

This place is right out of the movie Dirty Dancing. It's old, in the mountains and even has a big ballroom with wood floors. We were initially put in a room that was converted attic. The slanted roof made it seem even smaller than it was. It's a great location, but too much seemed to be in need of an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GustavioB
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor Club, responded to this review

Basin Harbor is an historic hotel, and a (very) few rooms are in buildings with sloping ceilings. Some people like them, but, as this guest pointed out, s/he isn't one of them. We gather the guest was moved to a different accommodation. We aren't everyone's cup of tea, and we're sorry that this guest didn't like the resort. It is... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

I would NEVER recommend this property for any occasion! From the preplanning phase, to the arrival and execution of the supposed plan it was one huge headache after another. Basin Harbor clearly does not know how to deliver a quality hospitality product! The “resort” is in need of major updating and the rotted wood, worn fabrics, sloppy service, and lack... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wbgt
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor Club, responded to this review

We thank this guest for her candid feedback and also for taking the additional time to speak with us this week about her recent experience at Basin Harbor Club. No one day is the same in the hospitality industry and we work each day to uphold and improve upon our operation. There are many moving pieces and we sincerely apologize... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

This resort is like a throwback to the 1950's in a good way. It reminded me of the resort in Dirty Dancing. Main clubhouse with dining - pretty decent food for dinner and an excellent breakfast buffet. We stayed in one of the many cozy, little cabins around the property with one bedroom, a wet bar area, and a fireplace... More 

Helpful?
Thank geogiraffe
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor Club, responded to this review

Many guests say that we remind them of Dirty Dancing! Fall is a lovely time of year, as these guests discovered. If the lake is too choppy for a kayak, the resort offers excursion rides each day for an hour-long cruise out on Lake Champlain. Come back soon! Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

We had the five course meal and every bite was perfect. How can you make a perfect meal better? Pair each dish with wines selected for you by sommelier Joss Vandal. Truly one of the best meals we've ever eaten. It's a bit out of the way, but make night of it and stay in one of HBC's cozy cabins.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor Club, responded to this review

Basin Harbor's wine tasting dinners are a not-so-secret indulgence with a growing group of fans. This guest is right that spending the night is the perfect end to a wonderful meal! Thank you for joining in on the fun. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host More 

Schroon Lake, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

We came back for another golf vacation, and once again, were delighted with the ambiance, the service, the wonderful breakfast buffet, and, the exquisite cottage where we stayed. The golf course is immaculate, the lake views are stunning, and the genteel nature of the surroundings harkens back to a bygone era.

Helpful?
Thank douggherlone
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor Club, responded to this review

Fall is the perfect time for a golf getaway at Basin Harbor. We're delighted that this guest chose to return for another visit. We're happy that you enjoyed your golf experience and the resort's food. We look forward to seeing you again next fall. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host More 

Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

My stay was part of a two-day offsite for work, and I stayed in the family's original lake house. Despite its age, it was wonderfully maintained, updated and upgraded. My private bedroom on the second floor had a beautiful marble bathroom, along with a working air conditioner (it was beastly hot and humid that week!), resulting in a calm, cool,... More 

Helpful?
Thank KDeegs423
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor Club, responded to this review

There's nothing like a relaxing location for a productive meeting. How nice to know that you enjoyed your room, the food, the meeting room, and the overall atmosphere at Basin Harbor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host More 

Danville, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

My organization makes two trips a year to Basin Harbor. It is the perfect spot-quiet, well-equipped, comfortable, great food and lots of space for thinking and being together. I love that it is family owned-you can feel the very personal hospitality. I think the breakfasts are incredible!

Helpful?
Thank Vtsid
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor Club, responded to this review

How fortunate Basin Harbor is that your organization visits twice each year! We're so glad that the ambiance and facilities make your getaways successful. Thanks for letting us know! Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

Because our visit last year was so enjoyable, we returned this year. I can't say enough about how much we love Basin Harbor. We booked in time to get a cottage on the water. Edgewater is a studio with a excellent view from the porch. It was clearly recently renovated and in beautiful condition. The bed is very comfortable and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sevenvth
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor Club, responded to this review

Thank you for telling the world how much you enjoyed your second visit to Basin Harbor! Many guests do bring bikes, and they are also available to rent, as they make it fun to get around while getting a bit more exercise. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergennes
20.2 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 15 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
15.9 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#6 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 15 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
17.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay