We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4800 Basin Harbor Rd, Vergennes, VT 05491-8521
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct and Save!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$429
Hotels.com$429
Booking.com$475
Agoda.com$475
Orbitz.com$429
Hurb$429
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (313)
Room & Suite (105)
Videos (2)

About

Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.3
Value
3.7
Basin Harbor is a 700 acre resort and boat club on the shores of Lake Champlain. Owned and operated by 4th generation innkeepers, we have over 130 years of exceptional guest service. Open for three seasons, Basin Harbor offers a peaceful retreat for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, unparalleled service and a dedication to excellent food, integrating Addison County's over 200 farmers and producers. Basin Harbor's diverse offerings accommodate family vacations, destination weddings, golf outings and corporate retreats. Our recreational menu include an 18 hole golf course with practice facilities, tennis courts, badminton, croquet, water skiing, boat rentals, kayaks, sailboats, power boat rentals and over 40 boat slips for overnight docking at the Boat Club at Basin Harbor. Our renowned Kids Camp offers comprehensive programming for ages 3-17. Visit Vermont's finest lakeside resort and boat club.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Canoeing
Golf course
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Fireplace
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Hotel links
Special Rate:Book Direct and Save!
506Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 255
  • 138
  • 54
  • 39
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
HonestOpinion wrote a review Sep 2022
Newton, New Hampshire11 contributions
+1
Went for a wedding for 3 nights. Wedding was absolutely stunning, views were gorgeous, and food was decent. We purchased the daily breakfast meal plan (buffet that wasn’t bad). Resort is approximately 50 minutes from downtown Burlington and we visited some breweries there each day as we rented a car. No Ubers come to the resort because it is kind of in the middle of no where, which is nice for peace and quiet but not if you’re looking to explore all Vermont has to offer and don’t have a car. We didn’t use any of the included resort amenities (except for renting a golf cart to get around resort which I highly recommend if you’re attending a wedding and are in heels, but if not, resort is walkable) because it being mid-September, the weather is cold. I’m not sure about the others but the cottage we stayed in was extremely outdated with stained carpeting and thick layers of dust on mini blinds. If you are into watching TV before bed, bring an iPad because there are no TVs in the rooms. Wi-Fi was strong in our cottage but extremely spotty around the rest of the resort. It was also a “duplex” cottage which was frustrating for the price we paid (very expensive). Overall, we made do with the facilities, because we could see the bride and groom must have had to throw down an exorbitant amount of money to get the wedding experiences we had there. Also to note, if you’re allergic to bees DON’T attend an outdoor wedding here. The bees were EVERYWHERE and I got stung in the hand during the ceremony and two days later, it’s still swollen. Overall I feel that if the resort re-did cottages to be new and modern, then experiences would be worth the price paid. I would not come back until cottages were redone and if I had to come for another wedding, I’d stay in a hotel in Burlington and commute into the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
hobojay72 wrote a review Aug 2022
Hoboken, New Jersey9 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
My family had a truly wonderful vacation at Basin Harbor. Our kids ages 7 and 9 loved every moment of the vacation. They had a great time in kids camp, where they met friends who they played with all week, they enjoyed swimming in Lake Champlain and jumping on the water trampoline and the lawn games. Our kids even learned to fish. My wife and I had great time playing tennis and exploring the property. The meals were wonderful especially the dockside dinner and the amazing breakfast buffet. I can't recommend Basin Harbor enough as a family vacation spot. It is such a wonderful sport for the whole family. There is so much to do that both adults and children will never be bored. One final note, the staff is unbelievably helpful and goes above and to help the guests. When we had a situation beyond our control, the staff was so helpful and allowed us to have a little bit later of a check out.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heidi Rumble, Sales at Basin Harbor
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are delighted that you had such a great stay. Families have long made new friends while vacationing here and some camp friends even have ended in marriages if you can believe that? We will hopefully look forward to seeing you again next summer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jetbeach wrote a review Jul 2022
Ashland, Massachusetts58 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
This was our second visit to Basin Harbor. We stayed three nights and wish we had stayed longer. Our cabin was amazing. Right on the water, giving us beautiful views morning and evening. Watching the sunset was a highlight! There are many activities to do at Basin Harbor both on the waterfront and with a golf resort but just being able to relax and sit in the Adirondack chairs throughout the property was perhaps the best. We hiked the Button Bay one morning, relaxed on the waterfront, played lawn games and ate in all the restaurants. Ardelia's brunch is decadent. The cinnamon rolls are out of this world and the omelette station did not disappoint. We also had a fantastic dinner eating outside of Ardilia's one night. This staff are truly amazing from the front desk to all the weight staff and the friendly people who open the door in an out of the main lodge. Basin Harbor transport you back in time!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Ardelia's is the best restaurant. If you'd like to cycle bring your own bikes. Bringing bug...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heidi Rumble, General Manager at Basin Harbor
Responded Jul 17, 2022
Thank you for this wonderful review. We will look forward to seeing you on your third visit and hope that you can stay just a little bit longer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David H wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Myself and my 2 adult kids stayed in Morningside 1. This is a building with 2 standard Hotel Rooms in it Units 1 & 2. None of the locks worked in #1 where we stayed, including the sliding glass door. Didnt feel very safe or secure. The bathtub was clogged causing us to shower in 4 inches of water for 2 days and we were only allowed 3 towels for the room and would have to exchange a token to get another at the front desk because they had a problem with people stealing the beach towels. Next they charged my sons card two times for a total of $80. If it wasn't for my nieces wedding i would never stay here! I would never recommend this place to anyone. It was like a Twilight Zone episode! The only redeeming quality is its on the Southern Shore of Lake Champlain.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Heidi Rumble, General Manager at Basin Harbor
Responded Jul 17, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the challenges you had with your accommodation. I do hope that these were brought to our attention when you were here so our team could have attended to them promptly. Many resorts do have a towel exchange program and it is something that we are trying this year. We are still learning from the process and appreciate feedback on how it can be improved. I also trust that your son reached out to our billing department to have the charging issue rectified. We hope you enjoyed your nieces wedding!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monatravel1207 wrote a review Feb 2022
Grand Isle, Vermont190 contributions37 helpful votes
Attended a family function. It was overpriced and overrated. View was stunning, and grounds were well kept. Everything was clean, and staff was efficient and helpful. However, the signage needs to be improved; it sells itself as a large resort but has almost invisible signs and directions. Food was not as good as expected.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Avaya109 wrote a review Oct 2021
Barcelona, Spain295 contributions141 helpful votes
This hotel needs a renovation. People comment that it feels like Dirty Dancing and perhaps that is because that was the last time it was updated. From poor quality beds, outdated furniture, poor air distribution, no secure wifi, etc. it felt like staying in a motel from the 60s. About our cottage, Mayfair 2: - It was a handicap room but the ramp did not have non-skid and it was very slippery - The beds were horrible, the queen was just mush, no support, and the twin bed was high off the ground and difficult to access, odd given this was a handicap room - The heat did not work properly, there was a draft by the door making the queen bed very cold and the heat on the floor boards made the twin bed very hot - Called 4 times to get extra blanket and extra soap, took two days to get that request filled - Bathroom design not practical, from no hooks in bathroom to hang towel to no privacy with sink outside We ate at both the restaurant and the dining hall. Both were average. Not many healthy options and very meat heavy on the menu. A plus if you like three different kinds of bacon at breakfast! The location and grounds are nice but the accommodations are really poor. If you expect a step above camping, this is fine but it's not really an upscale property.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Pennie Beach, Owner at Basin Harbor
Responded Oct 18, 2021
First of all, thank you for coming to Basin Harbor this fall. This is an historic resort, and will never resemble a chain property where each room is identical. Like many properties, we have struggled in the past couple of years, and have not had the resources to do needed upgrades in cottages. We are very sorry that Mayfair 2 did not meet with your approval, and that our team did not fulfill your requests for other items with alacrity. We aren't clear if you requested an alternate accommodation. We have received many compliments on the food this year in particular, and we regret that it was not to your liking. We were glad to see that you liked the location and grounds of Basin Harbor, and we hope that your visit to Vermont went well overall. We are grateful for your business. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meg M wrote a review Sep 2021
Austin, Texas5 contributions3 helpful votes
We recently returned from our 5th visit to Basin Harbor and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Pleasantview, which is right on the edge of the lake - amazing view! We enjoyed our two dinners in the main dining room and went to the Dock Dinner on our other evening, which was also delicious. We had the modified American plan (breakfast and dinners included). The breakfast is an amazing buffet with everything you might want, including chefs making omelets and other eggs cooked to order. We took one day trip to Middlebury, but we mainly enjoy relaxing on the grounds of Basin Harbor. We can't wait for our next trip!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pennie Beach, Owner at Basin Harbor
Responded Sep 25, 2021
We're thrilled that your fifth visit to Basin Harbor was wonderful! We are grateful for your continuing support, and look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daitokoro wrote a review Sep 2021
Princeton, New Jersey95 contributions40 helpful votes
A beautiful location, views of lake Champlain over the harbor are delightful. Families with young children and dogs made for a happy atmosphere. Food was good. As others have said, there is a wide range of quality with cabins and staff. Perhaps we were just unfortunate but front desk staff did not handle major issue we had appropriately. CO detector went off in our cabin in middle of the night, 1 am. Had to call for help from front desk and ended up standing outside at 2 am in our PJs. Then had to pack and move to different room at 3 am. During entire process we were made to feel we were inconveniencing staff. At check out we had to explain inconvenience to manager since we were not checking out from our original room. He seemed to know nothing of the problem and sleepless night. When absolutely forced to, he offered a cursory “so sorry for the inconvenience” as if this sort of thing was what one should expect when staying there? Don’t see that often in hospitality business.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If you are sent to cabin in poor repair be sure to speak up ASAP
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pennie Beach, Owner at Basin Harbor
Responded Sep 11, 2021
Thank you for choosing to visit Basin Harbor recently. We are very sorry that the CO detector in your cottage malfunctioned, and that our staff did not handle the situation well at all. We have coached the staff involved to insure better internal communication and proper concern for guests. We apologize for their lack of empathy. This is not the Basin Harbor way. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marawhitman wrote a review Aug 2021
West Hartford, Connecticut37 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Basin Harbor Club never disappoints! We left two days ago and already we can't wait to return. We stayed in Cliffside and also had a room in the lodge and also a handicapped cottage and they were all decorated beautifully and were very comfortable and lovely. We were a party of 8 and we enjoyed the activities- bingo and Family Feud and Karaoke. We learned pickle ball and love swimming in the heated pool and also at the lake. We took a boat ride and also did the history talk. Pennie was gracious and gave my Mother and I a tour of the property. Also the maple and chocolate icecream was yummy. The staff was amazing- we were blown away with the high level of customer service and enjoyed meeting staff from Kansas and Oklahoma, California, NY and VT. My daughter is vegan and the chefs went out of their way to prepare meals for her. It is such a pleasure to be able to spend time together as three generations. BHC is a resort that appeals to all ages. It is sooo beautiful to walk around the property and to see the gardens. We have already booked for next summer. Staying at a family owned resort is sooo special. The Beach Family reminds everyone to have a little fun everyday and we had a lot of fun our entire stay!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Each cottage is different but they are all special. Also the room in the lodge was renovated and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pennie Beach, Owner at Basin Harbor
Responded Aug 30, 2021
Thank you so much for bringing your extended family to Basin Harbor recently! It is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests "home" again. You certainly took advantage of all that there is to do here. We are grateful for your support, and look forward to welcoming you all back again soon. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
STEVEN S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Bad experience attempting to play a round of golf. After one day of rain, no golf carts allowed. Ok, how about a push cart - no push carts - we only have 10 total. Ok, here is our pre-paid receipt for a round with a cart - we will walk it and carry our bags - no, we need your credit card - we don't know how to use that receipt - even though we processed the same one last week with no issue...........more hassles from staff.............staff needs training in how to do their jobs and especially needs a course in proper customer service. We didn't feel welcome and won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pennie Beach, Owner at Basin Harbor
Responded Aug 30, 2021
We apologize for the difficulties you encountered at the Golf Course at Basin Harbor recently. The course has been operating under different auspices since 2020, not controlled by Basin Harbor, so we will respond to these comments in their stead. We understand that the Golf Shop staff was unable to verify the document that you showed them, as sometimes happens. We regret that their explanation seemed muddled, and we apologize. The course has been very wet from all the summer's rain, and electric carts have had to sit idle as a result. We are sorry the pull carts were all in use. Golf course management has coached staff on how to handle difficult problems. Thank you for letting us know about it. We value your business and hope you will return. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$363 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
basin harbor club hotel vergennes, basin harbor hotel, basin harbor resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club
LOCATION
United StatesVermontVergennes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Basin Harbor
Which popular attractions are close to Basin Harbor?
Nearby attractions include Lake Champlain Maritime Museum (0.4 miles), Button Bay State Park (1.1 miles), and Depot Theatre (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Basin Harbor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Basin Harbor?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Basin Harbor?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Basin Harbor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Basin Harbor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Mill Restaurant, Westport Hotel & Tavern, and Westport Yacht Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Basin Harbor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Basin Harbor?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Basin Harbor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Basin Harbor?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Rokeby (6.6 miles) and Octagonal Schoolhouse (7.8 miles).
Does Basin Harbor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.