We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4800 Basin Harbor Rd, Vergennes, VT 05491-8521
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 05/21/2021.
Lowest prices for your stay
$229
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (282)
Room & Suite (92)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Basin Harbor is closed for 2020. Thanks to all our guests and staff for a great season! See you in May 2021. Basin Harbor is a 700 acre resort and boat club on the shores of Lake Champlain. Owned and operated by 4th generation innkeepers, we have over 130 years of exceptional guest service. Open for three seasons, Basin Harbor offers a peaceful retreat for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, unparalleled service and a dedication to excellent food, integrating Addison County's over 200 farmers and producers. Basin Harbor's diverse offerings accommodate family vacations, destination weddings, golf outings and corporate retreats. Our recreational menu include an 18 hole golf course with practice facilities, tennis courts, badminton, croquet, water skiing, boat rentals, kayaks, sailboats, power boat rentals and over 40 boat slips for overnight docking at the Boat Club at Basin Harbor. Our renowned Kids Camp offers comprehensive programming for ages 3-17. Visit Vermont's finest lakeside resort and boat club.
Read more
Room & Suite (92)92
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Canoeing
Golf course
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Fireplace
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
490Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 248
  • 138
  • 50
  • 37
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
safinns wrote a review Jan 2021
Hingham, Massachusetts1 contribution
Basin Harbor is an amazing place - there are activities for all- swimming, boating, golf, hiking, endless biking and walks - can be as strenuous or relaxing as you choose-- there is no competition at Basin Harbor! Time for families to do there own thing and then come together for amazing dinners. Laughter is all around. Just bring a book and watch the lake go by or gear up for a workout- your choice! The staff is wonderful and available to make sure everything is great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: They are all good - we don't spend a lot of time in our rooms - there is too much to see...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
LVMomofboys wrote a review Aug 2020
Long Valley, New Jersey14 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I will admit, we were hesitant about going anywhere during the pandemic, but are so glad we did. We didn't want to miss our friends (we travel with other families) and our annual fun trip! Sure, things were different ~ the Main Dining Room was more casual, the flowerbeds were not all planted (my personal enjoyment), multigenerational families we were accustomed to seeing every year were not there....but the family and staff of BH clearly thought about the details and did everything they could to make our 14th consecutive visit comfortable and enjoyable. All staff wore masks and observed protocols, and the guests wore masks too. It is easy to socially distance on this beautiful property. The change of scenery to the beauty of BH and Lake Champlain was a welcome respite and let us forget the world for awhile. KUDOS and a huge thank you! Well done.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Some cabins are more centrally located ~ choose based on whether you want to be short distance,...
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Fox, General Manager at Basin Harbor
Responded Aug 16, 2020
Dear LVMomofboys, We are so glad that you decided to keep your tradition of visiting Basin Harbor alive this year, despite the events of the world around us. Thank you for taking the time to review your 14th visit on Tripadvisor! It is wonderful to hear that you felt comfortable and safe, and that our staff and other guests are adhering to new protocols on a consistent basis. We are glad that you could forget the world for a while, and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. We can't wait to see you for your 15th stay! Kind Regards, Jamie Fox General Manager
Read more
Joie A wrote a review Sep 2020
New York96 contributions49 helpful votes
We've gone there for years, starting with my kid's great-grandmother, when Dorothy Draper first decorated it. It is a bit of Dirty Dancing, WASP style. I love the fact that you still have to dress up for dinner ~ men wear jackets and ties, etc. Also, by some miracle, someone in our family always wins on Bingo night. B.T.W., our family calls the place Bacon Harbor because of the endless and perfectly cooked bacon at breakfast. And, then there is lobster night, the best night of the week!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: There are no TV's in the rooms....you might actually have to read a book!
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Fox, General Manager at Basin Harbor
Responded Sep 29, 2020
Dear Joie A, Thank you for your review, and for being a loyal Basin Harbor guest for many years! We are definitely the perfect escape for families. We love how you have coined us "Bacon Harbor" - our culinary team will be very proud to hear this. While some of our traditions, such as dinner in Ardelia's (jacket and tie optional), and our Bingo nights were suspended due to COVID this year, we have high hopes that they will return for the 2021 season. We can't wait to welcome you back! Kind Regards, Jamie Fox General Manager
Read more
Bud K wrote a review Sep 2020
Winchester, Massachusetts30 contributions4 helpful votes
This was our first but not last time here. Great self contained classic resort on Lake Champlain. Check in was easy and efficient as was as all the Covid adjustments they made. Felt Covid resistant the whole 3 night stay. Called for a golf cart ride for all three dinners at the Red Mill and walked home. Had awesome service from Chris the bartender and Nash the server. Menu was varied enough for us. Had an unbelievable cottage basically on supports right over the water. Yeah, it is old, 86 years I think our cabin was. You don't stay here if your are afraid of the woods or expect the Four Seasons, they are cabins. They start you with a supply of firewood, if you run out just dial 1 and they'll deliver more. Everything on property is walkable including golf which we did one day. They tell us that the course is being maintained by locals during the pandemic. We couldn't tell the difference. Course is flat, wide, and longish, especially with the wind off of Button Bay. Good deal for $25. Only negative for us is that they allow dogs, I have nothing against dogs, it's the owners. There was dog sh$@ everywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Fox, General Manager at Basin Harbor
Responded Sep 28, 2020
Dear Bud K, Thank you for your wonderful review of the stay you had with us at Basin Harbor - you really summed up the experience perfectly. During these challenging times it is great to hear that you felt comfortable with our COVID adjustments, and I love the term "COVID resistant" - that has certainly been our goal! Nash and Chris are exceptional - thank you for recognizing them; I am glad you had a chance to interact with them during your stay. It sounds like you were able to experience many elements of a Basin Harbor visit - we are so glad to hear you enjoyed it, and look forward to welcoming you back. Your feedback regarding dogs and their owners is important - we will be more diligent about our approach to this moving forward. Thank you again! Kind Regards, Jamie Fox General Manager
Read more
NSE wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
We booked our stay at Basin Harbor after searching for a relaxing vacation spot where we could bring our dog. This trip was for our mini honeymoon, so we were looking for a quiet and cozy spot to unwind. The resort's website looked great and the dining choices seemed excellent. However, the dining options were reduced to the Fall menus a few days after we booked our cottage, which was disappointing. It would have been nice to have had a heads up at the time of booking that options would be limited during our stay. Upon arrival, we saw that the resort grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The gentleman at the front desk was extremely helpful when going over the resort map and explaining the dining and activity options. He handed us a little treat box for our dog - nice touch, Basin Harbor! We got to our 1 bedroom cottage and were instantly disappointed. The living area and bathroom were old and run down. The thermostat fell off the wall when we turned the dial and the handle on the coffee table drawer was hanging off. The cottage was clean, but cleaning can only do so much for a shabby space. I called the front desk to see if there was another available cottage we could stay in but unfortunately, there weren't any others available. It's very disheartening that we paid a lot of money for something so low quality. We could have stayed in a luxury hotel for the amount we paid! The website says that each cottage is unique, so its a gamble as to what you're going to get. You'll pay the same price (depending on view) and will either get a beautifully updated cottage with a fireplace as shown on the site, or a basic cottage. We took that gamble and it did not pay off. A suggestion for Basin Harbor is to include pictures for each cottage on the website so guests can choose which cottage they book. Lodging aside, our stay at Basin Harbor was fine. We ordered takeout twice during our stay- dinner from the Red Mill and breakfast the next morning. Items were missing from each order. Our dinner was missing our 2 sodas and breakfast was missing the sides of potatoes. We went to the lounge for sushi one night, and that was outstanding! The bar service in the lounge was excellent as well. A shining spot of our trip was the staff. Everyone we encountered was wonderful and really friendly. We were sent a bottle of champagne after they learned it was our honeymoon! It's unfortunate we didn't have the best experience here, but I can see why the resort has many great reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Fox, General Manager at Basin Harbor
Responded Sep 22, 2020
Dear Meander27199224063, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough and candid review. We truly appreciate the feedback. I am glad that you found many highlights of your stay, but disappointed to hear of the experience you had with your cottage. As you indicated, while clean is important, it is just as important that your accommodations be in good repair and up to date. I am very sorry that this wasn't the case. We will address the maintenance issues and also work on ways to better convey the variety of accommodations that we offer. If you would be willing to reach out to me directly, I would like to know more about which cottage you were in and do what I can to rectify your disappointment. Thank you, and again, please accept our apologies for not providing an exceptional experience in all areas of your stay. Kind Regards, Jamie Fox General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
basin harbor club hotel vergennes, basin harbor hotel, basin harbor resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club
LOCATION
United StatesVermontVergennes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Basin Harbor
Which popular attractions are close to Basin Harbor?
Nearby attractions include Lake Champlain Maritime Museum (0.4 miles), Button Bay State Park (1.1 miles), and Depot Theatre (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Basin Harbor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Basin Harbor?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Basin Harbor?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Basin Harbor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Basin Harbor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Mill Restaurant, Westport Hotel & Tavern, and Westport Yacht Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Basin Harbor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Basin Harbor?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Basin Harbor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Basin Harbor?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Rokeby (6.6 miles) and Octagonal Schoolhouse (7.8 miles).
Does Basin Harbor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.