We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4800 Basin Harbor Rd, Vergennes, VT 05491-8521
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 05/24/2022.
Lowest prices for your stay
$420
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/26/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$420
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (293)
Room & Suite (96)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Basin Harbor is a 700 acre resort and boat club on the shores of Lake Champlain. Owned and operated by 4th generation innkeepers, we have over 130 years of exceptional guest service. Open for three seasons, Basin Harbor offers a peaceful retreat for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, unparalleled service and a dedication to excellent food, integrating Addison County's over 200 farmers and producers. Basin Harbor's diverse offerings accommodate family vacations, destination weddings, golf outings and corporate retreats. Our recreational menu include an 18 hole golf course with practice facilities, tennis courts, badminton, croquet, water skiing, boat rentals, kayaks, sailboats, power boat rentals and over 40 boat slips for overnight docking at the Boat Club at Basin Harbor. Our renowned Kids Camp offers comprehensive programming for ages 3-17. Visit Vermont's finest lakeside resort and boat club.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Canoeing
Golf course
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Fireplace
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
500Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 252
  • 138
  • 52
  • 39
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Avaya109 wrote a review Oct 2021
Barcelona, Spain257 contributions128 helpful votes
This hotel needs a renovation. People comment that it feels like Dirty Dancing and perhaps that is because that was the last time it was updated. From poor quality beds, outdated furniture, poor air distribution, no secure wifi, etc. it felt like staying in a motel from the 60s. About our cottage, Mayfair 2: - It was a handicap room but the ramp did not have non-skid and it was very slippery - The beds were horrible, the queen was just mush, no support, and the twin bed was high off the ground and difficult to access, odd given this was a handicap room - The heat did not work properly, there was a draft by the door making the queen bed very cold and the heat on the floor boards made the twin bed very hot - Called 4 times to get extra blanket and extra soap, took two days to get that request filled - Bathroom design not practical, from no hooks in bathroom to hang towel to no privacy with sink outside We ate at both the restaurant and the dining hall. Both were average. Not many healthy options and very meat heavy on the menu. A plus if you like three different kinds of bacon at breakfast! The location and grounds are nice but the accommodations are really poor. If you expect a step above camping, this is fine but it's not really an upscale property.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Pennie Beach, Owner at Basin Harbor
Responded Oct 18, 2021
First of all, thank you for coming to Basin Harbor this fall. This is an historic resort, and will never resemble a chain property where each room is identical. Like many properties, we have struggled in the past couple of years, and have not had the resources to do needed upgrades in cottages. We are very sorry that Mayfair 2 did not meet with your approval, and that our team did not fulfill your requests for other items with alacrity. We aren't clear if you requested an alternate accommodation. We have received many compliments on the food this year in particular, and we regret that it was not to your liking. We were glad to see that you liked the location and grounds of Basin Harbor, and we hope that your visit to Vermont went well overall. We are grateful for your business. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host
Read more
LVMomofboys wrote a review Aug 2020
Long Valley, New Jersey14 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I will admit, we were hesitant about going anywhere during the pandemic, but are so glad we did. We didn't want to miss our friends (we travel with other families) and our annual fun trip! Sure, things were different ~ the Main Dining Room was more casual, the flowerbeds were not all planted (my personal enjoyment), multigenerational families we were accustomed to seeing every year were not there....but the family and staff of BH clearly thought about the details and did everything they could to make our 14th consecutive visit comfortable and enjoyable. All staff wore masks and observed protocols, and the guests wore masks too. It is easy to socially distance on this beautiful property. The change of scenery to the beauty of BH and Lake Champlain was a welcome respite and let us forget the world for awhile. KUDOS and a huge thank you! Well done.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Some cabins are more centrally located ~ choose based on whether you want to be short distance,...
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Fox, General Manager at Basin Harbor
Responded Aug 16, 2020
Dear LVMomofboys, We are so glad that you decided to keep your tradition of visiting Basin Harbor alive this year, despite the events of the world around us. Thank you for taking the time to review your 14th visit on Tripadvisor! It is wonderful to hear that you felt comfortable and safe, and that our staff and other guests are adhering to new protocols on a consistent basis. We are glad that you could forget the world for a while, and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. We can't wait to see you for your 15th stay! Kind Regards, Jamie Fox General Manager
Read more
Meg M wrote a review Sep 2021
Austin, Texas4 contributions3 helpful votes
We recently returned from our 5th visit to Basin Harbor and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Pleasantview, which is right on the edge of the lake - amazing view! We enjoyed our two dinners in the main dining room and went to the Dock Dinner on our other evening, which was also delicious. We had the modified American plan (breakfast and dinners included). The breakfast is an amazing buffet with everything you might want, including chefs making omelets and other eggs cooked to order. We took one day trip to Middlebury, but we mainly enjoy relaxing on the grounds of Basin Harbor. We can't wait for our next trip!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pennie Beach, Owner at Basin Harbor
Responded Sep 25, 2021
We're thrilled that your fifth visit to Basin Harbor was wonderful! We are grateful for your continuing support, and look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host
Read more
Daitokoro wrote a review Sep 2021
Princeton, New Jersey93 contributions35 helpful votes
A beautiful location, views of lake Champlain over the harbor are delightful. Families with young children and dogs made for a happy atmosphere. Food was good. As others have said, there is a wide range of quality with cabins and staff. Perhaps we were just unfortunate but front desk staff did not handle major issue we had appropriately. CO detector went off in our cabin in middle of the night, 1 am. Had to call for help from front desk and ended up standing outside at 2 am in our PJs. Then had to pack and move to different room at 3 am. During entire process we were made to feel we were inconveniencing staff. At check out we had to explain inconvenience to manager since we were not checking out from our original room. He seemed to know nothing of the problem and sleepless night. When absolutely forced to, he offered a cursory “so sorry for the inconvenience” as if this sort of thing was what one should expect when staying there? Don’t see that often in hospitality business.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If you are sent to cabin in poor repair be sure to speak up ASAP
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pennie Beach, Owner at Basin Harbor
Responded Sep 11, 2021
Thank you for choosing to visit Basin Harbor recently. We are very sorry that the CO detector in your cottage malfunctioned, and that our staff did not handle the situation well at all. We have coached the staff involved to insure better internal communication and proper concern for guests. We apologize for their lack of empathy. This is not the Basin Harbor way. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host
Read more
marawhitman wrote a review Aug 2021
West Hartford, Connecticut36 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Basin Harbor Club never disappoints! We left two days ago and already we can't wait to return. We stayed in Cliffside and also had a room in the lodge and also a handicapped cottage and they were all decorated beautifully and were very comfortable and lovely. We were a party of 8 and we enjoyed the activities- bingo and Family Feud and Karaoke. We learned pickle ball and love swimming in the heated pool and also at the lake. We took a boat ride and also did the history talk. Pennie was gracious and gave my Mother and I a tour of the property. Also the maple and chocolate icecream was yummy. The staff was amazing- we were blown away with the high level of customer service and enjoyed meeting staff from Kansas and Oklahoma, California, NY and VT. My daughter is vegan and the chefs went out of their way to prepare meals for her. It is such a pleasure to be able to spend time together as three generations. BHC is a resort that appeals to all ages. It is sooo beautiful to walk around the property and to see the gardens. We have already booked for next summer. Staying at a family owned resort is sooo special. The Beach Family reminds everyone to have a little fun everyday and we had a lot of fun our entire stay!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Each cottage is different but they are all special. Also the room in the lodge was renovated and...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pennie Beach, Owner at Basin Harbor
Responded Aug 30, 2021
Thank you so much for bringing your extended family to Basin Harbor recently! It is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests "home" again. You certainly took advantage of all that there is to do here. We are grateful for your support, and look forward to welcoming you all back again soon. Sincerely, Pennie Beach Fourth Generation Host
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
basin harbor club hotel vergennes, basin harbor hotel, basin harbor resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club
LOCATION
United StatesVermontVergennes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Basin Harbor
Which popular attractions are close to Basin Harbor?
Nearby attractions include Lake Champlain Maritime Museum (0.4 miles), Button Bay State Park (1.1 miles), and Depot Theatre (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Basin Harbor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Basin Harbor?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Basin Harbor?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Basin Harbor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Basin Harbor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Mill Restaurant, Westport Hotel & Tavern, and Westport Yacht Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Basin Harbor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Basin Harbor?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Basin Harbor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Basin Harbor?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Rokeby (6.6 miles) and Octagonal Schoolhouse (7.8 miles).
Does Basin Harbor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.