We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Stowe Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Stowe Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 346: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Comfy and Cozy Inn!! We plan to stay here after hiking from Mount Manfiled the mountain near downtown Stowe. So only one nice to stay there. So we don't expect the room we would stay only one nice. Lovely staff Thank you so much for upgrade the room. More comfy for us after long hiking.

Helpful?
Thank Js S
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was a little nervous when I booked my reservation with the Stowe Inn. I had read a lot of reviews where people had very poor experiences, but the person I was traveling with said that he typically stays here when in Stowe. Thus, I took a chance. Prices were very affordable for our one-night stay in October, so I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Allison E
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that you have a good stay with us hope to see you again soon. Also if you could go to our Ad visor Trip and put in a good review for us that would be grateful. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Be very careful: your reservation can be canceled without notification. We booked the hotel over the phone, four days before our trip. Everywhere else was booked, and I feel extremely lucky that they still have a room for us (although it's expensive, $219+tax per night). However, when I arrived, they told me I don't have any reservation, and they're booked... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Xiaodong W
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Xiadong W. We are sorry about your recent visit to our hotel. We did not have your reservation in our system when you arrived as we did not have a reservation with your name in our system at all. We did not charge your card as we were not able to find your name or reservation and suggested that... More 

Travelers are raving about these Stowe hotels

california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016

I was very disappointed with our stay at the Stowe Inn. We stayed in a large room on the ground floor in the main hotel. Not necessarily the fault of housekeeping due to lack of time to clean each room, but our room was absolutely covered with dust. The lampshades and lamps were absolutely filthy. I have asthma so was... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank sweetpea100
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your stay and if you could give us some feed back on what we could do differently for your next stay that would be really helpful. Also if you could please go to our adviser trip and put in a good review that would be really grateful. Thank you and hope to see... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016

we arrived at the Inn after a long motorcycle riding day. 4 people behind the desk and no one acknowledged our presence, not a hello we'll be with you or just hello. Absolutely no acknowledgement. After a wait, we were directed to our room. There were 2 working electrical outlets and both were in use for the alarm clock and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank dmman150
TheStoweInn, Front Office Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest. We are not sure why no one said hello to you. Our staff is always very friendly. We are sorry you did not like your salad. We did take off one of your salads that evening off of your bill as you are aware. $12 is an average price for a entree salad. Our shirley temple drinks do... More 

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Rude staff! Did not feel welcome at all! Got one set of towels the whole weekend. No turndown service. Their bar was closed at 8pm on a Sunday. Our air conditioner was so loud and barely worked. Aviod

Helpful?
4 Thank tanktatum
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your stay if you could let us know what we could or can do differently that would be really helpful for the next time that you come and stay with us. Also if you could go to our ad visor trip and give us a good review that would be grateful. Thank you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

Don't ever go to this place. This place is a scam. Your reservation doesn't mean anything. You paid for your stay here? Doesn't mean anything. You paid for your stay and all the taxes right here at the hotel? Doesn't mean anything. Me and my wife paid for our stay and paid the state taxes here at the counter and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Greg N
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel and that we were over booked so you had to go to another hotel hopefully the next time that you come it will be a lot different and also if could think of anything that we could of done better please let us know. Also if you could... More 

Bayfield, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We booked this Inn because it was recommended by AAA –and I have to believe that they assigned their rating based on the rooms in the Inn proper and not in the Carriage House Building behind which was where our room was. First of all, don’t book based on pictures because really, the images on the website bear no resemblance... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JLSBHC
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you stay was not a good experience and you could let us know what we could of done differently please do so we can fix it and make it a better experience for the next time for you. Also if you could go to our trip ad visor and put a good review... More 

Kirkland , wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

It started at check-in - the person clearly did not know what she was doing - we asked her if covered bridge were around - her response was a covered bridge was - it turned out to be a covered walkway. The "superior" suite was rundown, did not have a lock on the door, had gauges in the room, the... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Chester4709
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chester. We are sorry you felt the covered bridge across the street was only a walkway. The Town of Stowe rebuilt the covered bridge which has a charming river flowing underneath it. This is the first time I have heard that it was not beautiful. We did refund some funds on your 2 room main inn suite when you... More 

rocky point,nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2016

I booked through the hotel directly and was told that I would be given a King Deluxe room on the second floor in the main building. While I was on the phone making my reservation, the woman on the phone had me connect to the internet to show me the room that I would be staying in for 2 nights.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank CMXI
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest. We apologize that the room you reserved was not satisfactory. You reserved a motel room and we confirmed that the confirmation was sent to you and that this was the room you had reserved. We would have loved to have given you a room in the main inn which are our best rooms and have the updated furniture,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.0 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,707 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#6 of 25 in Stowe
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range: $72 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Stowe Inn staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
lancaster
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Stowe Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Fireplace room is very large with its own deck, but make sure to bring/buy your own firewood and lighter.”
 of 5 bubbles allisone805, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Try the second floor rooms towards the back of the property, views ample and easy parking and more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles NEKTraveler2016, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“Suites are large, updated and have fireplaces! Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 445JenniferR445, Sep 2, 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from this unit.”
 of 5 bubbles davidsW6402ZT, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“The lesser expensive rooms are located off the Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles ValerieS775, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay