We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
18 Main Street, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$169
Fully refundable before 04/06/23
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$169
Fully refundable before 04/06/23
Vio.com
$147
Hotels.com$169
Travelocity$169
Priceline$169
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (612)
Room & Suite (965)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 25 hotels in Stowe
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in our famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool and massage services.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Poolside bar
Game room
Hiking
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Ski school
Skiing
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English
2210Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,509
  • 527
  • 128
  • 30
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jennifer S wrote a review Mar 24
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed in luxury king suite. Beautiful room. Snowed a lot and walkways were kept clear all the time. Jacuzzi and fire pit were great. The Whip restaurant is very good. Location in town great. Cafe and general store within walking distance. Great inn!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Exceeding expectations is always our goal at The Green Mountain Inn, Jen, and your fantastic review made our day! Thank you for highlighting our spectacular accommodations, cozy amenities, excellent dining, and ideal setting in the heart of Stowe. We enjoyed hosting you and we hope you'll make plans to relax with us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KenC1971 wrote a review Jul 2022
Boston, Massachusetts125 contributions16 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed at the Green Mountain Inn in June for 6 nights, and chose it based on the location and reviews. It's right in the middle of everything, with shops and restaurants within walking distance, including the one on site. If you're going for a drive, you're easily connected to wherever you're going. If you're on foot/bicycle, there's plenty of wandering to be done close by. The inn has several classes of rooms, and can cater to solo travelers, couples, families of 4 or 6 (suite/apartment style options). Our room was clean, and comfortable, up on the top level of the main inn (room 244). - It should be noted that the elevator stops on the lower, 1st, and 2nd level, and this room, along with room 243, require going up a flight of somewhat shallow stairs from the 2nd level. It was fine for us, but is just something to keep in mind, if you have any troubles navigating stairs, especially while carrying luggage. There's no assigned parking spot for the rooms, but it was not an issue during our stay, we always found someplace in the lot pretty easily. The area is quite safe, too, so we had no concerns about our vehicle. Housekeeping was on call, which was fine with us. There were dispensers in the bathroom for shampoo/body wash/conditioner/hand soap/lotion, but we had brought our own. I do like the decision by more and more hotels to move away from the little bottles for each guest, and the waste of plastic. The bed was comfortable, and the 2 TVs had enough channels for us to watch at night. We didn't use the coffee maker, but it takes pods, if you're bringing your own. The mini fridge is the dorm cube size, and worked fine for drinks. There's also a safe in the closet that can fit most laptops. I got a DSLR with a lens attached in there without a problem. It's a standard 4 digit code that you choose to lock it, like there are at most resorts. There was a hair dryer and iron/ironing board, and a charging station on both sides of the bed. We did not want for outlets, that's for sure. There was one potential issue with the charged amount vs. the booked amount that we did not notice at the time of checkout. But, once we had compared the two, and contacted the inn, it was taken care of within minutes of leaving a message. (Thank you, Tyler!) We didn't get to try the restaurant, but can say that the staff that we encountered around the inn were a perfect slice of what Vermont is known for. For a hotel with as much variety as this one, it really did feel like a B&B. When in the area again, this would be our first choice for where to stay, and our recommendation to anyone we know who is visiting Stowe.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn
Responded Jul 9, 2022
We want to thank you for taking a few moments to share your comprehensive thoughts about your recent experience at The Green Mountain Inn! It's wonderful to hear that our comfortable, well-appointed accommodations allowed you to unwind and relax and that our spectacular setting in the heart of Stowe provided for easy exploration of our charming town. Our team works hard to offer exceptional hospitality and we can't wait to celebrate your terrific praise with them. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon for another unforgettable getaway!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Char L wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
High price, shabby rooms and very, very cold. No hot tub working. The restaurant breakfast went down hill and out of pocket very high priced. Under the new management since COVID the place is lousy. Stay else where you business will be appreciated. Very unpleasant experience for a stay in Vermont.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't stay at the Green Mountain Inn. The new management is hopeless when it comes to customer...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn
Responded Feb 2, 2023
It is surprising and deeply disappointing that your experience was not reflective of a typical stay with us. Please know that complete satisfaction is always our goal and we wish we had the chance to address your concerns directly. We invite you to reach out to our General Manager at (802)253–7301 to further discuss your experiences. Our team will review your feedback and we hope to have another chance to change your impression of us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheMitt wrote a review Jan 2023
Orlanda fl170 contributions67 helpful votes
Located in the heart of Stowe Village on Rt. 100, the Green Mountain Inn is an historic hotel reeking of cuteness and charm. Our second-floor room in the main building was recently redecorated and in perfect shape. Being on the front face offered an attached seating area to monitor all village activity on Main Street. A nice feature for a winter stay was the variety of common seating areas, some with fireplaces, in the main inn. Rooms other than first floor were easily accessible by elevator. One request would be for luggage carts of some kind. Linens and bedding are all very good. Plush robes provided. Breakfasts were ample in selection and quality. Dinner in The Wip was very good and highly recommended. Diner for two with limited alcohol was $100 with tax and tip. Staff was largely helpful and friendly, particularly the gents at the front desk. Would expect to return here at the next opportunity. Our thanks to all for a great stay! Parking is tight, even mid-week. Easy access to Mountain Road and Mt. Mansfield.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Street facing rooms offer plentiful street noise. Heated outside pool and hot tub open year round.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn
Responded Feb 2, 2023
What a joy to read about your experience with us! We're delighted that our cozy, welcoming property surpassed your expectations, and that our fantastic location in the heart of Stowe provided you with opportunities for exploration. Thank you for your helpful feedback and perfect score. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon for another relaxing stay at The Green Mountain Inn!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joseph s wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
Celebrated another year in Stowe at the Green Mountain Inn. My girlfriend and I stay here for our anniversary and annual boarding trip to Vermont. We love the simplicity of the town, as there are many places to visit within walking distance of the property. We also love the warm hospitality that we are greeted with each and every year. This year was especially nice as the front office attendant, Rye, made sure our stay exceeded our expectations. Thank you for your card and for making our memories that much better with your kindness. Whip Bar & Grill has the best bread and we always look forward to our drink at the bar (usually playoff football is on) and our meal after a long day on the mountain. Again there are plenty of places to dine but it's a combination of the people and quality that keeps us coming back. It has provided a level of comfort you can't buy. Plenty of parking throughout the property. Never had an issue. Walk to the shuttle that takes you right to the mountain. We end the trip with a massage! Susan and Holly, cheers; you made the 6hr drive back home pain free! Don't forget to stop at the store, we love the nostalgic vibes and old school candy! Ben and Jerrys on the way back or the Cider Mill can't go wrong.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn
Responded Jan 21, 2023
Some of our guests at The Green Mountain Inn become like family, and it's always a delight to welcome you both for a special, memorable getaway! We love knowing that our convenient, charming accommodations, top-notch dining, terrific location, and warm, personal attention continue to make you feel right at home. Rye will be thrilled that you mentioned their caring service. We are already looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JPLEdit wrote a review Dec 2022
New York City, New York58 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
I spent two nights at the Green Mountain Inn this past October. The Inn exceeded my expectations. It's continently located right in the heart of Stowe, with numerous attractions within walking distance. The staff was friendly and responsive and the Inn was well maintained. The room, their Luxury Family Suite, provided adequate space; complete with its own fireplace, hot tub, shower, and a separate bedroom with two twin beds. As for parking, the Inn offers up plenty of parking with multiple parking lots. While the front lot did fill up each evening, there was plenty of space in the adjacent secondary lot. I had dinner at Whip Bar & Grill one evening. The food was great and the service was top notch. I had breakfast each morning at the Inn with similar results. Overall, it was a great stay. I visit Stowe each fall around this time and found this location to be the best overall value so far.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Book well in advance for the best room selection.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn
Responded Dec 13, 2022
Earning your five-star score means the world to us! Thank you for taking a moment to share your lovely feedback for The Green Mountain Inn. Our team works hard to provide a welcoming, comfortable experience and they will be delighted by your praise. It's terrific to hear that you enjoyed our convenient setting and delicious on-site dining. Please think of us when you return to Stowe next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roger F wrote a review Nov 2022
The general manager, Ken Biedermann, promised to meet with me to resolve an issue. He set three separate times, and ditched all three of those times without notice and without explanation. He then proceeded to hide from me for the next two weeks. Ignored my numerous calls and messages for weeks in hopes that I would finally give up. Which I did. That’s his strategy for dealing with you. Wearing you out and hoping you’ll go away. Awful person.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn
Responded Nov 22, 2022
Thank you Roger for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely regret that we missed the opportunity to assist you, and we apologize for any disappointments you experienced. We do not have you registered as a guest and ask that you contact Jewel Mason, General Manager, at 802-253-7301 so that we can speak with you and better learn about your experience. We hope to hear back from you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caribbeantraveler91 wrote a review Nov 2022
Pennsylvania1181 contributions257 helpful votes
My husband and I traveled to Vermont for our 25th anniversary. We stayed two nights at the Green Mountain Inn. We loved everything about this inn. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and it was quiet. If I had one small complaint, it would be the tub/shower. It can be difficult getting in and out. I think it would be more challenging for older guests. The hotel offered off-street parking and was right on the main street of Stowe; therefore you could browse all the downtown shops. We had dinner at The Whip, and could not stop raving about our meals. Everything was fabulous, from the charcuterie board to the steaks. Our waitress was also amazing. We did have breakfast at the inn, one morning as well, as it was very good. We adored this inn, and will definitely stay here again, the next time we visit Stowe.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn
Responded Nov 15, 2022
What an honor to know that we were included in your special anniversary getaway! Thank you for taking a moment to share the highlights of your stay with us, including our roomy, relaxing accommodations, fantastic location, and excellent on-site dining at The Whip Bar & Grill. We appreciate your feedback about the tub, and as our rooms all offer unique views and features, when you return, we hope you'll be fully satisfied with the accommodations. We're already looking forward to your next visit to The Green Mountain Inn!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marilynn Hirashima wrote a review Nov 2022
Maui, Hawaii2 contributions
This hotel exceeded expectations. The staff members were friendly & helpful. The room was beautiful with fireplace & jacuzzi tub. The restaurants on site were very good. It is also right in town so that you can just walk out the door and start shopping and sight seeing yet we did not find it noisy at all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn
Responded Nov 15, 2022
There is nothing we love more than hearing from happy guests, and your perfect score has made our day! Thank you for sharing your kind remarks about our excellent service, relaxing accommodations, and convenient setting in the heart of Stowe. We hope it won't be long before we're welcoming you back through our doors at The Green Mountain Inn!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael T wrote a review Nov 2022
Nipomo12 contributions5 helpful votes
Having stayed in Stowe several times before, we had always admired the Green Mountain Inn and had decided to stay at this iconic hotel. We thought we had booked a better than average room, arrived to a brusque receptionist and were sent to a room in the back building. It was dark and dated, in need of refurbishing with a tub'shower very difficult to navigate (no, we are not physically challenged). Positive notes, Whip Grill is excellent and the location is perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn
Responded Nov 10, 2022
Although we're happy to know that our excellent on-site dining and fantastic setting pleased you, Michael, it's disappointing that other details of your stay fell short of expectations. Our goal at The Green Mountain Inn is complete guest satisfaction and had our team been made aware of your concerns, we would have made every effort to resolve these issues or provide accommodations that better met your needs. Please allow us a second chance to make a better impression.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$167 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
green mountain hotel stowe, green mountain resort, green mountain stowe
LOCATION
United StatesVermontStowe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
104
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREEN MOUNTAIN INN $131 ($̶1̶7̶4̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Resort Reviews - Stowe, Vermont

Frequently Asked Questions about Green Mountain Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Green Mountain Inn?
Nearby attractions include Remarkable Things at Stowe Craft (0.09 miles), Laughing Moon Chocolates (0.1 miles), and Shaw's General Store (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Green Mountain Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Green Mountain Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Green Mountain Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Green Mountain Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Green Mountain Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Butler's Pantry, Harrison's Restaurant & Bar, and Whip Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Green Mountain Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Green Mountain Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Stowe.
Are any cleaning services offered at Green Mountain Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Green Mountain Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Green Mountain Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tea at the Governor's House (9.5 miles).