We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We planned a three night stay, but had to leave after 2 nights due to sleep deprivation. The mattresses were horrible and we could not sleep either of the 2 nights, literally. Each was shaped like a bowl and no matter the sleep position, gravity would cause you to roll into the middle. They were noisy and jiggled around with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hgput17
Kate L, Owner at Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice things you said. I appreciated you telling me in person about the mattresses and the new ones are being delivered tomorrow. We apologize for the sleep quality we have never had a complaint about that room before. Now the problem is solved hopefully you will visit again and enjoy.

Plattsburgh, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We tried this restaurant while we were in Stowe. I had the Filet Mignon and it was the best tasting and tender filet that I have had in a really long time, and quite possibly the best I have ever had. The atmosphere was nice and the staff was friendly. I will definitely go back on our next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mtnman53
Kate L, Owner at Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge, responded to this review

So glad to hear you enjoyed your filet. We have changed our restaurant to be a casual bar and lounge with a unique hand crafted pub menu. Our new cozy apres ski approach compliments the casual cozy feel of our guestrooms. We hope you will stop in and try it out.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had such a great stay last weekend that we are headed back to the Hob Knobb next week! Its proximity to everything- town on the left, and Stowe Mountain Resort on the right, just minutes down the road, makes everything easier. The king beds are enormous, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Should you need anything during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolien B
Kate L, Owner at Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. It is always so nice to have such nice guests. So thank you!

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 21, 2016

If you're looking for a fancy hotel, this motel isn't it. But please, don't let that put you off. The Hob Knob Inn is an older motel style in. The room is large, clean, quiet with a balcony with stunning views. The staff are friendly, the breakfast is good! And the location is great :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheffield_S111
Kate L, Owner at Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge, responded to this review

Your words have put a smile on my face. This is exactly what we are and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed. Please come back and visit us again.

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

The Hob Knob Inn was a nice find in Stowe with much to do in the area. The rooms were clean and spacious and the area was very quiet for a good nights rest. This was about a half a mile from the Alchemist Brewery and 15 minutes to Waterbury. It sits right on the main drag that has many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arrowhuntr
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Reviewed October 24, 2016

The best thing about the Hob Knob Inn was the location, the beautiful scenery and setting and the size of our room. We stayed in the large building behind the main inn. Our room entered on the back side and we entered on the ground floor, but had a upstairs view and balcony. The room was very large and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhandersen2016
Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016

The Hob Knob is an older motel style Inn. Our room was large, clean, quiet with a balcony which looked down into the valley. Breakfasts included: hot porridge, muffins, cakes and toast. The staff and guests chatted in the breakfast lounge area to give the Hob Knob a friendly atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 432geoff
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewed October 13, 2016

The inn is on very very scenic grounds with ponds and lots of greenery. The breakfast room is extremely cozy and food is good. I loved the room with a small kitchenette and lots of space-even had a couch! Particular favorites are Mia and her companion dog who patrol the place! The people who own or work there are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George C
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed there for the night so we can wander around Stowe and hike Smugglers Notch. Stadium 17, the fireplace sweet farthest away from the Mountain Road. The room was well appointed and the king bed is extremely comfortable. The room has a tub large enough for two people and a small kitchenette. Barbara and her daughter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
Reviewed October 7, 2016

Perfectly clean. Wonderful lighting. The owners (wonderful dogs) and their people were so friendly and welcoming. The accommodations included: large sleeping and relaxing area; WIFI that worked (!!!); a well equipped mini-kitchen area -- including fridge, microwave, toaster, cutlery, dishes and glasses; a separate sink area from the bathroom; and, a spacious bathroom area. A separate area for hanging clothes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
3:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.4 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Road Resort
1.6 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,004 reviews
1.4 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#6 of 24 in Stowe
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hob Knob is a family owned and operated inn, bar & lounge. Built in 1937 as the first ski lodge in Stowe, the Hob Knob is now completely restored. All of our guestrooms and facilities have been recently renovated for a comfortable home like feel in an original ski lodge. Each nights stay includes a free continental breakfast in our lounge.With 20 spacious guestrooms on 10 acres of land, a walking trail, pool, hot tub, restaurant and bar, 2 ponds and a plethora of wildlife the Hob Knob is the perfect Stowe getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge

Address: 2364 Mountain Rd, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672-3363
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range: $104 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hob Knob Hotel Stowe
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge Stowe, Vermont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“It is an older hotel, which is it's appeal. We had a room on the very back and it was the perfect spot. VERY quiet and scenic!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgeC164, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure; they all seem to be great ...”
 of 5 bubbles heidif898, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“Had to use an actual key to get into the room.”
 of 5 bubbles W8171WCkarent, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“We really liked the upper floor of the upper building. No stairs, the rear parking lot has walk in convenience.”
  • Front of upper building from Balcont
  • The view from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles MamaLoca58, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
“Try the units near the pool, they look to be in better repair.”
 of 5 bubbles lintocso, Jun 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay