We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$208
Hotels.com$208
Travelocity$208
Traveluro$211
FindHotel$208
Priceline$208
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (53)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (73)

About

#13 of 26 hotels in Stowe
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
4.1
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 15-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous Coconut Chicken, Shepard's Pie, Clam Chowder, Chefs Salad, and much more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Canoeing
Hiking
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Skiing
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
547Reviews3Q+A85Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 159
  • 216
  • 109
  • 39
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Redpandachicago wrote a review Mar 2022
Chicago24 contributions47 helpful votes
Excellent value, close to the mountain and restaurants, clean and warm. Even more Importantly the people that work there are helpful, friendly, and honest. I left an Important item in the room and they found it and mailed it back to me within 3 days. Definitely going back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Carrie Nourjian, Owner at Commodores Inn
Responded Apr 2, 2022
Thank you for choosing the Commodores Inn. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back again someday soon again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Read more
Danielle R wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
The Commodore Inn is in need of extensive repairs and updates. The place is falling apart, filthy, and clearly neglected. Peeling wallpaper, carpet stains, rusted and busted heat vents, mismatched paint cover-ups, hair in the bathtub/shower….it is all gross. Do NOT go into the pool or hot tub as they have not been cleaned or treated properly. We got into the hot tub and immediately realized it was covered in slim and the filters were completely covered and black from hair and gunk buildup. We immediately got out and showered. The BIGGEST issue, however, was how we were treated last night. Around 11:15pm we were awakened by someone ENTERING OUR ROOM. I yelled out hello?!? and they quickly shut the door and left. About 15 minutes later we were woken up yet again, but this time by a woman banging on the door screaming at us to come out and leave the room or she was calling the cops. My husband quickly got up, in a state of confusion and disbelief, only to be threatened and screamed at more to get up and out. Once dressed, he opened the door to find a small elderly hotel clerk escorted by whom we assuming was security. My husband was completely calm, but this lady was furious. He walked down to the lobby with the two as she told my husband we were not to be in the room as our stay was only for one night and again, if we didn’t leave immediately she was calling the authorities. She then clicked around on the computer to discover that we were in fact booked for 2 nights and the previous check-in clerk put us in the hand written “books” for only 1 night AND in a different room than written. Talk about WILDLY bizarre and inappropriate. Hard to fall back asleep after being woken up like that and treated so poorly. The next morning we asked for a manager to call us, but still no word from The Commodore. I want my money back from this dirty, unwelcoming place. NEVER going back and I hope no one else does either.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Carrie Nourjian, Owner at Commodores Inn
Responded Apr 2, 2022
We are so sorry about this unfortunate situation. This should have never happened and was very inappropriate. All parties have been spoken to about this. It was a big mistake and we apologize. I have already tried to respond to your review two times and unfortunately for some reason my response never saved. I know at this point management has spoken to you directly to apologize and refund your money. We apologize again for this situation. This is not something that we take lightly.
Read more
Kala W wrote a review Nov 2021
Denver, Colorado37 contributions50 helpful votes
Hotel is walking distance from many restaurants. It was the cheapest hotel deal that I could find that wasn't a motel and had about a 4 star rating. It is a pet friendly hotel and there were some stains on the carpet, but I generally just know hotel carpets are not that sanitary so this was something that was known as a possibility. Couldn't get the bubbles to work in the hot tub, but pool and hot tub were nice temperature, though some hair and such floating around, as expected in public pool/hot tub. The staff had told us upon check in about someone breaking into some rooms previously, which made us feel "really safe" haha, but nothing shady happened during our stay. Staff was nice, town was cute.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Went in the off season and was nice quiet hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carrie Nourjian, Owner at Commodores Inn
Responded Dec 4, 2021
Thank you for choosing the Commodores Inn and for taking the time to write us a review. We certainly appreciate your feedback. Thanks you for letting us know of your concerns. Rest assured that these have all been dealt with. We are happy that over all you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
MASOLA91 wrote a review Oct 2021
United States45 contributions41 helpful votes
We won't be staying at the Commodores Inn again. Check in was odd, chiefly because the front desk person (no mask, it's still a pandemic) was coughing all over the place and didn't seem too worried that she was handing us our keys, paperwork to sign, etc. Grant it, there was a partial glass partition but no way should she have been the first person you meet in the hotel. It was apparent that she felt the same way. I get that businesses are working with skeleton staffs right now, but still. Making your first time guests feel a tiny bit welcome would have gone A LONG WAY here. The hotel room was spacious, had a coffee maker and a refrigerator and was very quiet. I heard that there is a nice restaurant and indoor and outdoor pools on the property. That being said, the guest rooms need an overhaul. Everything is very dated, overused and the water pressure for the shower is non existent. During check out, the front desk person refused to print an invoice for us, saying, 'You got a copy of your invoice when you checked in, why can't you use that?" and was argumentative when asked again for a copy of the final invoice. They need to do better. Sorry, Commodores. I wanted to like you but three strikes and you are all the way out.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carrie Nourjian, Owner at Commodores Inn
Responded Oct 13, 2021
Thank you for choosing the Commodores Inn and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We have gone over all of your concerns with of our front desk staff. We do not require masks for those who are vaccinated but we do require everyone to use the proper method when they need to cough or sneeze. We have also made sure that they know how to print out invoices. We apologize that you had this experience. We totally agree that no staff member should ever be argumentative or defensive.
Read more
Jared R wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
We stayed here on the 16th 8/16/21. Tgere was limited staff. Very pleasant. The room was very clean and comfortable. The restaraunt was not open, but tge staff durected us to a great place fir breakfast on Tue. The price was only $10more than our stay 2 years ago.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Carrie Nourjian, Owner at Commodores Inn
Responded Oct 11, 2021
Thank you for choosing the Commodores Inn. We are happy that over all you enjoyed your stay. The Restaurant is now open. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again someday soon.
Read more
Mary S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were greeted by the owners and from then on it was downhill. Our room had stained carpets, rusted radiator in bathroom, black mold on the ceiling, wallpaper was peeling and painted over in spots. If that wasn’t enough the water turned brown. The explanation was it was rainy weather. They had replaced the tub units which I think they thought constituted renovation. The restaurant, bar, and indoor pool closed. The staff spent their time out behind the hotel smoking and on their phones. Don’t waste your money on this old, rundown, unkept hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carrie Nourjian, Owner at Commodores Inn
Responded Aug 19, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We certainly appreciate your feedback and will act to improve upon all of your concerns as best as we can. We have been renovating the restaurant and bar for the past four months. A very reputable chef in town is taking it over and is planning on opening very soon. Thank you for letting us know your concerns about the staff smoking. This is definitely something which we will address. Due to the pandemic we have been waiting for parts to be shipped to get the indoor pool up and running again. Thank you again for expressing your concerns.
Read more
Carissa M wrote a review Jun 2021
Chicago, Illinois6 contributions4 helpful votes
Stowe is a great town --- which is the exact opposite of the Commodores Inn. The website advertised an indoor and outdoor pool, a restaurant bar and grill. What it did have was a pond out back that made the flies and mosquitos jump and flock over all or any guests sitting outside. The outdoor pool was full of algae and hadn't been clean in awhile. The indoor pool and sauna that was advertised as open was closed. The Restaurant bar and grill that was advertised on their website was also closed. The rooms were super hot, with mattresses that were super lumpy. The blanket and bedspreads had cigarette holes in them. And on the second floor they had a community vacuum for the guests to use to clean up their own rooms. What made the whole experience even worse is the indifferent staff. No empathy for the pool or restaurant being closed, no care when we notified them that the soda machine had the wrong sodas in the wrong spaces. Don't Stay if you can. If you do stay. hopefully you will meet Will. He was the only good thing about this hotel. He cares - unfortunately we met him on our way out.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carrie Nourjian, Owner at Commodores Inn
Responded Aug 19, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not see on our website where it states that the restaurant, bar, indoor pool, Jacuzzi , saunas are temporarily closed. The Restaurant and Bar are opening very soon with a new chef owner who is very reputable in town. We certainly appreciate your input regarding the staff. We agree that lack of empathy is totally unacceptable. We are certainly brought this to their attention. We will do our best to fix all of your concerns. Again we are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay.
Read more
DaneRunner wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Don't believe what you read in their description! The "inn" is old and could use some sprucing. The building is dank and musty smelling. The door has an actual key--not a problem, but you get the gist. The linens: bed and bathroom smell like old dryer sheets. There are no tissues in the room--and for an inn supporting cold weather sports, tissues for guests are a must. The heating is variable and unreliable: the heat when set on high only got up to 70 and then the air kicked in to cool the room down to 64. In order to get the heat on again one has to turn the lever down then all the way up again. There is no restaurant, no bar....and I get the covid restriction, but when their site states "free continental breakfast" there's nothing---nothing prepackaged--nothing. I asked about coffee--yep they have that--not good and a sign asks for $1 donation!! (Fortunately there's an Irving gas station/store a very close walk away that sells Dunkin.) There's a fridge in the room, but no microwave--that's in the lobby near the awful coffee. My 3 nights stay mid-week cost $340. I will not return. I would not recommend this facility.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: I've got nothing to recommend here.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carrie Nourjian, Owner at Commodores Inn
Responded Mar 9, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. We apologize that there were no tissues in the room. I have let the housekeepers know of that concern as normally they put tissues in all rooms. Sorry that the heat seemed not to be working correctly. Maintenance has checked on that issue as well. There is a whole write up on our website about there being no food including breakfast and no extra amenities at this time due to COVID. We apologize that you did not see it. So sorry that you did not like the coffee. Regular guests do not have to pay for coffee. That sign was for those who are here on an 'extended stay' as it said on the note. There are 2 microwaves in the lobby for anyone to use at any time. We are in the process of a big renovation in our dining room and bar. The plan is that it will reopen in June. Thank you again.
Read more
corinne353 wrote a review Oct 2020
Augusta, Maine56 contributions47 helpful votes
We stopped here during a fall (covid friendly) birthday trip. We were warmly welcomed at the front desk. Our dog was warmly greeted (and even got a cookie). The room was comfy and spacious. It is a little dated but clean and well maintained. All the staff we interacted with were very friendly. We are looking forward to our next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Carrie Nourjian, Owner at Commodores Inn
Responded Oct 20, 2020
Thank you for choosing the Commodores Inn. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
Dennis M wrote a review Mar 2020
Sewell, New Jersey15 contributions18 helpful votes
A very pleasant place with a very accommodating staff. Upon our arrival we were met by the owners and escorted into the decorated lobby. The meals were buffet style with a good variety of selections. The broccoli and cheddar soup was outstanding. Room accommodations were pleasant with an abundant of towels. The location is perfect if one wants to enjoy the flower, fauna, and New England attractions like maple syrup. We will be going back again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn
Responded Mar 8, 2020
Thank you for choosing the Commodores Inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back again someday soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$148 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
commodores hotel stowe
LOCATION
United StatesVermontStowe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Commodores Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Commodores Inn?
Nearby attractions include Remarkable Things at Stowe Craft (0.8 miles), Moss Glen Falls (3.8 miles), and Stowe Recreation Path (2.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Commodores Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Commodores Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Commodores Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Commodores Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Butler's Pantry, Stowe Bee Bakery & Cafe, and Michael's on the Hill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Commodores Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Commodores Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Stowe.
Are pets allowed at Commodores Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Commodores Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.