We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grey Fox Inn & Resort

Orbitz.com$103*
View Deal
#15 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersGold level
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 339: English reviews
Start your review of Grey Fox Inn & Resort
 Click to rate
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Property was clean and a quiet location - enjoyed the Dutch pancakes at the restaurant - rooms were a bit small but adequate for 2 people - we had a late check-in and didn't find our keys until we drove around the building and went back in a second time trying to figure out how to check in and get...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendahJ4042YI
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a couple on nights at the Grey Fox Inn. The room was clean, large and quiet, and there was even a balcony. There's also a nice swimmingpool, laundry facilities and convenient parking. We liked it there. Only small snag is the restaurant, the Dutch Pancake Cafe. Breakfast was not too interesting and slightly overpriced. Apart from that, we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkaas_705348
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overnight stay; arrived late and arrangements were made for a key waiting for me (no front desk staff overnight). Room was well appointed and comfortable including coffeemaker. Convenient parking, no elevator

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank llong_727101
Charles Town, West Virginia
Reviewed April 17, 2017

This inn is very comfy, clean, and walking distance to great restaurants. I had the best breakfast of my life here. They have these skinny Dutch pancakes that are to die for. I was there in the off season, so we didn't see the staff often, but I have no real complaints. I would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank meganf367
Rutland Ma
Reviewed April 11, 2017

The Grey Fox was a great place to stay for our events of the weekend. We were nervous when told the hotel was sold out to a lacrosse group, but we never heard them. Don't miss the Harvest Market across the street if you are looking for a quick breakfast. the the Pancake Restaurant was wonderful to sit down and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleendI5148PQ
Nicole P, Front Office Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Harvest Market across the street. I am especially please that you enjoyed the Dutch Pancake Cafe. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We...

Margate, kent. UK
Reviewed April 6, 2017

having read a number of review sites I was a little concerned when booking this property for a two day ski break in March 2017 and this was furthered by the front desk clerk telling me that the restaurant was not going to open that night and probably the whole weekend However I was pleasantly surprised on going into my...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N2794UKdavids
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed April 4, 2017

Staff was pleasant and friendly. The room was clean. We enjoyed the convenience of the location. It is an older facility. The rooms do need updating/renovation, beds were overly firm/hard, amenities & temperature control could be improved. We stayed in the main building and it is obvious that they used to allow smoking as the ceilings still have yellow tinge....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank FirstTimeVisitorToVT
Wilmette, Illinois
Reviewed April 2, 2017

Great location and nice average place to stay. Basic accommodations, nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Hot tub and sauna not working properly and staff is not available in evenings to address such issues. We loved breakfast at the Dutch Pancake house, my son said they were the best pancakes he has ever had!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALS8658YN
.New Hope
Reviewed March 28, 2017

I have stayed at Grey Fox Inn twice and found the rooms to be very clean and the staff welcoming and helpful. The location is great for accessing shops, restaurants and bars on the mountain road, also, for accessing the bike path or mountain bike trails at Cady Hill. The only complaints I have are that the bar was not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank henrietta2017
Nicole P, Front Office Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Henrietta, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and taking the time to write a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the accommodations, as well as the shops, restaurants, bars, and Stowe Recreation Path on Mountain road. I am sorry that the bar was not open and I hope that we can accommodate you again in the near...

Atkinson, New Hampshire
Reviewed March 26, 2017

This was our first time staying here. We were impressed! Room was clean and comfotable. Hot tub hit the spot after skiing. Our only regret, we wished we could have stayed another night! :) We'll be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois N
Nicole P, Front Office Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Hello Lois, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We take pride in trying to provide guests with proper amenities and exceptional services to make their stay enjoyable as possible. we hope to be able to accommodate you again in the future. Sincerely, Nicole...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
5.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.0 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mountain Road Resort
0.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grey Fox Inn is in a prime location in Stowe right on Mountain Road within walking distance to Stowe Village and five miles from the Mt Mansfield ski resort. The Little River runs through the far end of our 7½ acre property as does the popular Stowe Recreation Path. The “Rec Path” used by walkers and bikers alike is a 5 ½ mile long paved trail that winds from Stowe Village along side the Little River. Skiing & Snowboarding – A significant winter attraction is skiing at Stowe Mountain Resort. Just 5 miles up Mountain Road. Mt Mansfield skiing is accessible via the free shuttle service or by car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grey Fox Inn & Resort

Address: 990 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4629
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range: $114 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Fox Inn & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grey Fox Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Fox Hotel Stowe
Grey Fox Inn And Resort
Grey Fox Resort
Grey Fox Inn & Resort Stowe, Vermont
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stowe
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Grey Fox Inn & Resort staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
new england
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Grey Fox Inn & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We liked room 1 which is located just off the lobby with a side view of the trees.”
VernonBirdman, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“I like the building connected to the restaurant for a cozy breakfast”
Andes71, Jan 5, 2016 | Read review
“The top floor has a very pretty view.”
michaelsT1823NE, Jan 3, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the Mountain View Building actually face Mt. Mansfield”
dougiesisters, Sep 16, 2015 | Read review
“Check out the restaurant Chop down the road... they've got good food and good music. Gayle liked her salmon dish.”
orpahw, Jul 21, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Orbitz.com
$103* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$106
Hotels.com$103
Hotwire.com$103
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates