We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Topnotch Resort

Save
Share
4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
travelup.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (308)
Room & Suite (249)
Pool & Beach (87)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 06/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 25 hotels in Stowe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Horseback riding
Ski rentals
Skiing
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Makeup services
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1,207Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 746
  • 252
  • 126
  • 51
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Happy Valley Traveler wrote a review Apr 3
State College, Pennsylvania19 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited Topnotch for 5 nights culminating on Easter Day. The staff was lovely, the food was overall very good but there were things that really disappointed us. The property is well maintained and clean but it has become very dated in some aesthetics and facility grade. The TVs are outdated. For $199/night every room should have a smart tv in order to stream our services as we would like. Huddling around a laptop doesn't cut it today. Heating/Cooling - very temperamental. Room overheats easily with independent fan unit. Fan in bath - terrible. Moisture problem in the bath and as a result, peeling paint and worn wood on the back of the bathroom door. Also, very noisy pipes while showering. Coffee maker - Keurig style but much smaller portion cups and therefore, European style coffee mugs. At a time when COVID robs us of in lobby coffee stands, in room coffee has to be a focus. We robbed coffee from the spa most mornings like the other guests. Spa services - Upon ARRIVAL there were only 2 25 min massage appointments available during our 5 night stay. That does not represent a serious spa environment and if there are staffing issues, we should have been notified in advance with an option to preschedule. The fitness center is outstanding. Well appointed and immaculate. The pool - needs major renovation. Crumbling wall tile. Rusted metal around the hot tub waterfall. No instructions for operation of indoor hot tub and no staff working to ask. Roost - the only restaurant operating during our stay due to COVID. Limited menu and not cheap but we ate here 3 times during our stay. Again, staff was wonderful, especially Brian at the bar. CRAZY that with limited bar seating, they allow children (with parents) to sit at the bar instead of paying adult customers - while there was plenty of table seating for families. As a result, we went elsewhere on two occasions. We enjoyed fish tacos, salads, burger is outstanding. Chicken on one salad was really tough and sent back. Entire facility needs painted. We would return but call to ask about these much needed facility upgrades first. Great staff. Owners need to reinvest to maintain the reputation it has and great personnel on-premise.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: First floor is same level as fitness/spa/pool access. Probably best with kids. 3rd floor was quiet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Topnotch Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Topnotch Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello K6240LGkarena, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are working diligently at ensuring the preventative maintenance is at the forefront of the offseason as we begin to return from such a challenging time in our industry. I'm sorry to hear we missed the opportunity to encourage you to book in advance for any special services from spa to tennis and dining. The challenges set forth by covid do limit the availability of these services during higher occupancies and also in part due to the precautions we take to ensure guest safety. As a result, we always try to remind guests booking services early is always a good idea. We certainly know the value of the team we have in place and their dedication to making your experience one to remember. Please feel free to reach out to us directly prior to a future stay as we will make every effort to ensure this stay is an outlier of any you will have with us in the future. Warm Regards, Jeremy Fraize Rooms Manager
Read more
nay574 wrote a review Mar 2021
Plainville, Connecticut1 contribution1 helpful vote
I’ve stayed here in the past and always loved my experience. This time my room was changed due to a non working shower. The next room the drain didn’t work so we stood in our shower water ankle deep until we got out. The main restaurant the flannel was no longer open which was a huge disappointment. The hot tub was filled with children so both my husband and I were unable to use it. The staff was friendly and the food was generally good with the exception of one meal. It wasn't at all a five star resort experience like I’ve felt we had in the past. Sorry top notch we won’t be back anytime soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Topnotch Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Topnotch Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello nay574, I'm sorry to hear that we fell short on this experience. Covid presented us with new service dynamics that did not allow us to have both restaurants open universally at times. During specific holidays we offered a special Chef's plated dinner at a fixed cost that was incredibly well received, but we understand the ambiance in Flannel holds a special place for many. We did endeavor to ensure the menu selections in the one full time venue (The Roost) does include a variety of upscale entrees that are traditionally served out of Flannel. I'm also sorry to hear that your room and pool experience was met with challenges as well. We are always sincere in our efforts to address any challenges immediately, we value your patronage and never want a customer to leave feeling underwhelmed. Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your sentiments about this experience and I hope at some point in the future you will in fact offer us the opportunity to make amends when the pandemic has receded and we have all of our amenities at your full disposal to enjoy. Kind Regards, Jeremy Fraize Rooms Manager
Read more
bernscarp wrote a review Feb 2021
South Burlington, Vermont1 contribution
My family had a 1-night getaway at Topnotch during our teenager's school break. During our short stay, we thoroughly enjoyed the pools, hot tubs, gym and spa (my daughter got a teen manicure that was really beautiful and not even that expensive!). The staff is super friendly and accommodating, and everyone has a great time - including (especially?) our dog!! It seems that the hotel website doesn't provide too many details or photos of the gym facilities. This place has an awesome gym with loads of cardio and strengthening equipment!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Topnotch Resort, Owner at Topnotch Resort
Responded Feb 27, 2021
Hello Bernscarp, We are pleased to hear that the stay met all expectations. Don't forget as we transition from winter to spring and summer all the outdoor activities in our surrounding area that add the incredible opportunity to enjoy the beauty of Stowe. Perfect for the whole family...(especially the dog!) Cheers, Jeremy
Read more
Phyllis wrote a review Feb 2021
Boston, Massachusetts11 contributions12 helpful votes
Very expensive for a bare bones experience, rooms without any charm, very noisy through paper thin walls, staff I encountered were not helpful, one woman raised her eyebrows at me when I asked for towels to be brought to the firepit to dry off the chairs. Front desk was unfamiliar with the concept of holding our bags after we checked out the last morning. We wanted to ski and come back for them, I had to speak to more than one person to arrange this and was treated like I had asked them to assist in draining a boil.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Topnotch Resort, Owner at Topnotch Resort
Responded Feb 25, 2021
Hello, Perlamino - Thank you for taking the time to talk with me on the phone about your stay, and I am happy that we were able to come to a resolution. I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon. With kind regards, Matthew Wheeler General Manager
Read more
leighahayward wrote a review Feb 2021
Boston, Massachusetts2 contributions4 helpful votes
So disappointed by my stay. - Coffee maker did not work - Television did not work - Front desk staff was unresponsive - The rooms are outdated to the point where it is impossible to justify the cost - Towels were covered in yellow stains - Spa prices should be more transparent and listed along with services - Front desk refused selling a bottle of soda water, initially saying it was because it was illegal after 10pm, then admitted it was because they didn't know where the soda water was kept. I was told I would have to wait for the next person to start their shift instead of this person even attempting to look for soda water. - No one at the front offered to help with bags. - Front desk phoneline was often not answered - I was told by the front desk that I could push my check-out to 1pm so that I could shower/sleep after an early morning - five separate staff members entered my room before 1pm. I felt extremely uncomfortable and was not able to shower/sleep. - Room phone did not work the majority of the time. - Hotel phone number extensions were not listed anywhere in the room - I had to call from my cellphone. - Showerhead pressure was extremely weak. Shower itself was was hard to use - the handle would constantly get stuck. - At the spa I had booked a 25-minute facial (was told this was the only option available). Was then charged for a 50-minute facial, which I did not realize until checking my bank statement. Will have to follow-up about this. Complete lack of communication during treatment - not the same quality of service that I have experienced elsewhere. Spa front desk was not able to answer the questions I had about products and overcharged me for services. General lack of hospitality overall was disappointing. 5-star prices for a 1-star experience. - While in the jacuzzi others did not adhere to Covid compliance and got in with me - I had to leave several times within 15-minutes. - Quality of food is TERRIBLE. French fries were great - everything else I ordered was so bland (burger and tacos were particularly bad). I did air complaints to the front desk and they removed the "resort fee", which was not nearly enough given how unfortunate my stay was. Randy was very kind. There was also a young female server at The Roost (unfortunately did not write down her name) - she worked the morning of 2/21.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Topnotch Resort, Owner at Topnotch Resort
Responded Feb 25, 2021
Hello, Leighahaward - I am very sorry to read about the cascade of missteps with service, and the challenges with the room that you experienced during your stay - these are not what our team endeavors to provide. I know that our team has reached out to you, and I hope to have the opportunity to talk with you personally - and to be able to correct your experience. With kind regards, Matthew Wheeler General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$223 - $722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
topnotch hotel stowe, top notch at stowe, top notch spa, top notch resort
LOCATION
United StatesVermontStowe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Topnotch Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Topnotch Resort?
Nearby attractions include Remarkable Things at Stowe Craft (3.2 miles), Stowe Recreation Path (1.4 miles), and Smugglers Notch State Park (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Topnotch Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Topnotch Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Topnotch Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Topnotch Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Topnotch Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Butler's Pantry, Stowe Bee Bakery & Cafe, and Harrison's Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Topnotch Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Topnotch Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Topnotch Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Topnotch Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Topnotch Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tea at the Governor's House (9.1 miles).