We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hartness House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hartness House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 266: English reviews
Start your review of Hartness House
 Click to rate
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Hartness House for 3 nights in February 2017. The interior was beautifully restored, classic Victorian charm. I stayed in the Kingsley Room. The room was quaint! Very clean. The bed was comfortable. I noticed other reviews mentioned "chipped paint" and rustic "touches" as a negative. I came to the Hartness House completely expecting to find, old,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole S
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We appreciate your positive review very much! We try very hard to help make every trip here, a memorable one! We hope you will please come visit again for another great stay here at the Hartness House.

Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

Very pricey for what you get. Menu was not all that good. Pizza was over cooked and greasy. Salad was 10.00 and very small. Bar seats are not comfortable at all. We were there one night when they had music. The space is pretty small for live music

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kimstir
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, positive or negative, it helps us learn what needs to be fixed.

Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

We had a quick, but lovely stay at the Hartness House. The suite was very quaint, clean, and we enjoyed the gas fireplace. Kathy and her staff were great and very accommodating. We will absolutely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole M
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Hartness House, we definately try and make every guest as comfortable as possible! Please come join us again soon!

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

We are a local couple looking for somewhere different to go. We decided to try the tavern at the Hartness House after hearing great things about it. We sat at the bar. Lisa the bartender was very accommodating. The food was wonderful. The music was good. Nick the chef even came out of kitchen and talked with us. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! We hope you will join us again for another great stay here at the Hartness House!

Niskayuna, New York
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Arriving at the Hartness House was quite lovely. A crisp October fall day. Lots of foliage and an old Vermont Inn. As I entered the creaky floors were part of the charm. As I looked around I could see a very dated and not so kept up foyer. Chips in the wood, paint in need of a fresh coat. Tattered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We apologize for the problems you encountered in your room, we appreciate any and all feedback you may have, during and after your stay. Please don't hesitate to email us and let us know what could be done better for a next time.

Salem, MA
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

Peaceful, historic a great experience! Food was great, peace and quiet, and the tour of the grounds was great, secret tunnels under the house great job! Well be back yearly the tavern was closed off season but overall very nice

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank salemnighttour
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The tunnels are definitely a conversation piece here at the Hartness house inn. We hope you will return again soon to come and enjoy our newly renovated restaurant and enjoy a nice cocktail and a meal!

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed October 30, 2016

Evidently the tavern has recently been re-done and re-opened. We enjoyed a casual meal there on a Thursday night with a talented guitar player performing (loud in the small place). The menu offerings were a little different but tasty. All the patrons knew each other - we were the only out-of-towners. Before dinner, Zachary gave us a fascinating tour of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Piccadilly8
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are very glad to see how much you enjoyed your time here with us! Zach will definitely know how much you folks appreciated the tunnel tour! We hope you will come again and enjoy another awesome stay here at the Hartness house! The music is something we wanted to try for the month of October, we are very glad...

Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Stayed in main house (Mary's room). Room was a bit dated but overall ambiance and interesting features of the inn more than made up for it. Tunnels under the inn were very interesting, bar was quite nice and got to use the telescope in the observatory. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wbp44
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of the older style mansion rooms, we hope you will come back again soon and share another great experience here with us at the Hartness House! Take the telescope for another whirl!

Livonia, Michigan
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

The house was formerly occupied by Governor Hartness and when you walk in the front door, it looks very inviting. Unfortunately, most of the rooms (including ours) have been added onto the back and are ordinary and somewhat dated. Breakfast is included (which we could not tell from the website), but did not start until 8:00, which was too late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and hope that next time we are able to take care of any concerns you may have had during your stay. Please don't hesitate to come to our front desk and voice any concerns you have!

Wallingford, CT
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

Went to Vermont for an overnight stay. Found this place and decided to give it a try. The staff is super nice especially the chef Nick. He's a jack of all trades. He was behind the bar, in the kitchen, waited on us at breakfast, and gave us a tour of the telescope tunnel. We had dinner and breakfast (breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paninimom
HartnessHouse, Frontdesk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are very happy to see such a positive review, thank you very much for the kind words, we definitely try and make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. Our new chef has definitely brought his own flare and style to the Hartness House, so we are glad everything was to your liking! Please do come and join us again...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
10.3 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Weathersfield
The Inn at Weathersfield
#1 of 2 in Perkinsville
228 reviews
6.7 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
466 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hartness House

Address: 30 Orchard St, Springfield, VT 05156-2612
Location: United States > Vermont > Springfield
Price Range: $105 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartness House 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hartness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartness House Hotel Springfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hartness House staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hartness House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stick with the main building, not the wings. We were on the third floor and when going upstairs we saw some pretty rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Krioux48, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the Mansion, it is not that much more and well worth it!!”
 of 5 bubbles mindiegem, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“get upgraded to the main inn rooms if you can”
 of 5 bubbles floridatravelerssss, Jul 31, 2016 | Read review
“Dont go there”
 of 5 bubbles Ilovelucy417, Jun 26, 2016 | Read review
“Book Early !”
 of 5 bubbles D5161QEjeffl, Jun 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question