We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
401 Western Ave, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-2741
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$136
Priceline$136
Hotels.com$136
Agoda.com$136
Orbitz.com$136
Travelocity$136
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (93)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
"Vermont's Friendliest Inn," nestled in the heart of Vermont's Northeast Kingdom. Forty-six spacious, newly renovated guest-appointed rooms & suites, outdoor seasonal heated pool, beautifully landscaped courtyard, private balconies, poolside rooms..
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Hiking
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
Indonesian
288Reviews2Q+A51Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 97
  • 83
  • 58
  • 27
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Megan S wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
If “0” or “negative numbers” were a choice that would be what I would pick. My husband and I planned our honeymoon road trip to a T and had made a reservation for one night at the Fairbanks Inn in St. Johnsbury, VT. We called around 8:45pm to verify that it would be okay to show up later due to being delayed in driving. The front desk person stated yes (the front desk did not ask about reservation or confirm anything… because that would be considered customer service). We arrived at 11:14. Showed our reservation, gave ID etc. they proceeded to say they did not have our room. The front desk called the manager, Chris, on call and claimed it was cancelled. My response was “by who?” Because it was not me and as I showed the person up front, I had my reservation with number. They proceeded to say they had no rooms available and could not do anything for us. For Vermont, in the middle of the fall, finding a place was near impossible. After my husband and I left the hotel and desperately tried calling every single hotel/motel/overnight stay facility within an hour we found out every single place was booked or the front desk did not answer. Once again at this time it was nearly midnight and some locations closed their front desk at 10pm. We went to a local gas station and spoke with a police officer about the situation. His response was that it did not shock him that everything was booked it was parents’ weekend at the college and also with the fall foliage brought many tourists. The officer was nice and tried assisting us with a place to stay but was unsuccessful due to everything being booked (we already knew that but really appreciated the help). So unfortunately, we had to sleep in our car. From the conversation from the front desk person and manager it was very sketchy and sounded like they “gave away” our room because we had the charge still on our card the night morning. I have never been so disappointed in a hotel like this before in all my travels. Do not go here unless you are a gambling person who is willing to chance not having a place to stay. Two days later: After the above incident occurred (this was originally posted on google reviews), I called my credit card company and spoke with them about the reservation. My husband and I had used our CC company points to reserve this room. First, the automatic operator asked if I was calling about my reservation at Fairbanks Inn on October 8, so clearly, we still had a reservation that was available. Second, when I got on the phone with a customer service representative, they stated the reservation was open and not cancelled. So- the manager on the phone when we went to the hotel and the front desk clerk lied. They claimed the reservation was cancelled on 09/20 and on 10/10 it was not cancelled but was “completed” since it was posting the date of reservation. Thoughts of what occurred: The front desk/ hotel probably overbooked and then proceeded to lie about the situation instead of being honestly and trying to assist or make their mistake right. Then if I did not call my credit card company about the points- we would have lost all our points because WE DID HAVE A RESERVATION! So, this place I would NEVER EVER suggest anyone stay at.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairbanks Inn
Responded Oct 15, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know about this. First and foremost, I would like to express my regrets for your reservation and the misunderstanding that occurred. I will look into your complaint right away, and if the investigation reveals that our employees have made mistakes, appropriate action will be taken against them. Please accept my heartfelt apologies once more, and thank you for informing us of the situation. We would love to make things right if you give us another opportunity! Truly, ES – Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Timothy J wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Just got an email saying they canceled the night I had reserved a month ago because there are a bunch of rooms being worked on. Well if it was a scheduled project shame on you. I would not recommend this place to anyone. The so called manager says the owner is the only person above her and when I asked for his number she was rude and told me she wasn’t going to give me his/her number and that there was nothing she could do. I have no other options so I have to cancel our trip. Thanks Fairbanks. First trip my wife and I planned in many years. Not happy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairbanks Inn
Responded Oct 15, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing us your concern. I am really sorry that your reservation was cancelled due to the construction made for the improvement of our property. It is not our intention to cause inconvenience, please accept my sincerest apology. We hope that when the work is finished, you will allow us to accommodate you and your wife with the best lodgings we can offer. Regards, ES - Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Teresa wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
I traveled to St. Johnsbury with my mom and my brother from 8/29 to 8/31. We live in upstate New York, so this was a good 3 and a half-hour drive or so for us. So, when we finally arrived we were hoping to get right into our room and relax. Well, that wasn't the case. We got there at around 2 pm because that's what the website listed for the check-in time. Well, my mother went to check-in and was told that the check-in time was actually 3 pm. So we had to sit in the crappy parking lot and do nothing until our room was ready. We finally get the keys to a room and open it up only to realize that the room hadn't been finished yet. So, we went back down to the front desk and were informed that she gave us the wrong room key and number (she also ignored me when I asked 3 times where the bathrooms were). So we were moved rooms. Thankfully, the room was fairly nice, unlike the outside of the building. However, our AC only worked the first night so thankfully it was only about 75 degrees out, and our toilet would spend about 2 hours filling up its tank every time it was flushed, so that was fun to listen to in the middle of the night. Aside from that, not only does the check-in time on the website need to be updated, but so do the pictures. The place is much more run-down looking now. The pictures are definitely old. We also saw that they had a pool and expected it to be open, but it was not. The room was good enough, but the website, as well as the staff, need to be updated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairbanks Inn
Responded Oct 15, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. Please accept my apologies if our hotel has ever fallen short of your expectations. I will informed our management to update our website to avoid misconception about our property and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will still choose our property for consideration on your future trips! Regards, ES - Guest Relations Manager
Read more
VermontDave1 wrote a review Aug 2021
Vermont1 contribution
Pool was closed. AC in the room didn’t work AT ALL. (The poor maintenance guy was nice enough and looked super frazzled) Did I mention it was 90+ degrees out? Included “breakfast” was literally individual yogurt containers in a bowl of ice. That’s it. Period.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Good location but that is literally it.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairbanks Inn
Responded Oct 15, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey on your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your input. If our hotel ever failed to meet your expectations, please accept my apologies. I have promptly informed our management with your concern about the AC to ensure that maintenance team will fix it right away. Again, I am sorry and we thank you for letting us know your thoughts about our hotel. We are looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Truly, ES- Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Matt M wrote a review Aug 2020
Barnstable, Massachusetts7 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed at the Fairbanks Inn on 8/15/20. The reviews of the hotel were good, great appealing pictures. I arrived to a dirty parking area with plywood and misc items out side. I reserved a king on the courtyard. I was told by the clerk my room was changed. I asked why and he dodged the reason. I was moved to a parking lot room with cars and people hanging out. When I expressed concern to the manager, Drew, he said "there is nothing he could do." He just did not care, he had my $138 and that's all that mattered. Do not believe the pictures on the web site. This place looks and is nothing like they say.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Go some where else
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairbanks Inn
Responded Aug 17, 2020
Hi mattmA976OM, I apologize on behalf of everyone at Fairbanks Inn. Please know that your situation was an exception. As you can see on other reviews, we are known for taking ownership and caring deeply about our customers. We can’t fix the past but you have my personal commitment to improve. Until then, please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of everyone on the team. Sincerely, RP - Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fairbanks hotel saint johnsbury, fairbanks motel saint johnsbury
LOCATION
United StatesVermontNortheast KingdomSaint Johnsbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairbanks Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Fairbanks Inn?
Nearby attractions include Fairbanks Museum and Planetarium (0.4 miles), St. Johnsbury Athenaeum (0.3 miles), and Catamount Film & Arts (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairbanks Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Fairbanks Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairbanks Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairbanks Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairbanks Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kingdom Taproom, Pica-Pica Filipino Cuisine, and Anthony's Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairbanks Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Fairbanks Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Saint Johnsbury.
Are pets allowed at Fairbanks Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Fairbanks Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Greenbanks Hollow Covered Bridge (4.7 miles).
Is Fairbanks Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.