We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
68 Fairfield St, Saint Albans, VT 05478-1728
E-mail hotel
Hotels.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (6)

About

Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.6
Value
4.1
This property has identified as Women-owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
Back Inn Time is an Historic, Award Winning Small Elegant Hotel in the heart of Historic Saint Albans. Creature comforts abound among modern amenities and architectural splendour unparalleled in this century. The First Class Bar and Luxury Appointments along with Amazing Cuisine make any stay exceptional. Your Full Breakfast consists of local and organic ingredients whenever possible. Plush robes make your lazy time extra indulgent. Dinner available by reservation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Boating
Hiking
Skiing
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish
83Reviews3Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 64
  • 6
  • 5
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Chuck and Carol H wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions
Adorable well maintained bed and breakfast. You can tell KarenMarie has a passion for what she does. Unfortunately, a younger couple made her evening sleepless by not communicating how late they would be coming in. If you see their review, please disregard it. KarenMarie is a fine propietor.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenMarie Peltier, Owner at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast
Responded Oct 23, 2022
Aww! So sweet of you to care! Thanks for staying with us and enjoying this wonderful place. We hope to see you again in the future! Bon voyage!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Over50andSR wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Property's Favorite Review
Just stopped here for one night to break up a long drive. The location was very convenient to both the highway and downtown St. Albans. We found the owner very accommodating and went out of her way to get us settled in after a long drive. The facility is charming with many gardens and places to relax. Our room was large and well decorated with period furniture and had a en-suite bath which was very clean and with plenty of hot water. The room was very quiet and had air conditioning which wasn’t needed. Breakfast was first class and all homemade with fresh fruit and juice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenMarie Peltier, Owner at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast
Responded Aug 16, 2022
Thanks for telling others about your experience at Back Inn Time. We're so glad that you had a great stay and we're grateful for all of the details that you noticed and appreciated. Bon voyage!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill A wrote a review Oct 2022
Woodbridge, Virginia29 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
The Back Inn Time is a beautiful B&B in St Albans, and the owner, KarenMarie, is a wonderful hostess. The Inn is cozy, clean, and very welcoming. The rooms are lovely with great attention to detail for the guests. The breakfast was homemade by KarenMarie and, as my husband told her, was a work of art rather than a meal. We enjoyed walking around the town and driving down to the bay. All in all, it was an amazing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenMarie Peltier, Owner at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast
Responded Dec 2, 2022
Thanks for writing a review, Jill. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast! The area is really wonderful--so glad you found that to be true! Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CCM wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
I flew up from SC for my class reunion. I rode my bike often by that house when I was growing up when it was still a private residence. What a treat to finally see inside! While I wasn't there much due to the busy weekend, it was a comforting cocoon to return to. Innkeeper KarenMarie is not a novice to the B&B world. She whips up unbelievable healthy breakfasts. She is friendly, kind, and knowledgeable. She gets you started on your path to wherever you are headed for the day. All of the staff were wonderful. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenMarie Peltier, Owner at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast
Responded Oct 10, 2022
Thank you so much for your review. We enjoy it when our guests enjoy all that this beautiful mansion has to offer and the pains we take to be sure the food is top notch and comforts are also.. I personally would like to thank you for booking directly on our website (instead of through a third party,) for the best pricing and most helpful communication. It really helps us to do our job to the best of our ability. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reed C wrote a review Sep 2022
Cromwell, Connecticut2 contributions
The Inn is wonderful. It is clean, very near the center of town, the innkeeper and staff are cordial. I would recommend this place without hesitation to family and friends. Close to the bike paths which we enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenMarie Peltier, Owner at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast
Responded Sep 19, 2022
Thanks so much for enjoying your stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trisch E. wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
How can a stiff old Victorian in a small mill city manage to be welcoming, gracious, interesting and relaxing? We were there only overnight but owner KarenMarie made us feel at home. The house restoration was thoughtful, combining authentic detail and up to date conveniences. The gardens - really only a small yard but seemed much more private - were beautiful and full of blooms. The breakfast tasted decadent but turned out to be surprisingly healthy. Walk downtown for your choice of eateries; wander around varied 19th-20th century buildings and a nice park; listen to the church bells as you head back to peace and quiet in a bed with world-class linens. Couldn't ask for more!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenMarie Peltier, Owner at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast
Responded Aug 29, 2022
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are so happy that you enjoyed all of the finer elements we have to offer--including our world class bedding! Our gardens ae indeed an oasis in the city, with plenty of space for each guest to have some privacy in different comfy nooks, or on a covered porch, or the massive deck. It's wonderful that you could take the time to appreciate all that Saint Albans has to offer. We're so happy you felt at home and enjoyed your stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary B wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Back Inn Time is in near town square in St. Albans. Very convenient for restaurants, shopping, and sight seeing. Accommodations were very nice. Room was clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable. Lots of indoor and outdoor space to sit and relax. Cable TV in one of the living rooms. Owner is an excellent chef and served sumptuous breakfasts with lots of coffee! We went to St. Albans to go bicycling and this proved to be a great place to serve as home base for us for a few days.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Most rooms have a bathroom in the room. Some rooms have private bathroom adjacent to the room in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenMarie Peltier, Owner at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Gary, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed hosting your stay and are particularly happy that you enjoyed the food and all the spaces here. Looking forward to seeing you in the future. Happy bicycling until then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Back Inn Time Bed and Breakfast is a definite must stay in St. Albans. This lovely B&B is a charming home way from home for us. Owner, KarenMarie, made us feel taken care of the moment we arrived to the time we said our goodbyes. The gourmet breakfast (local artisan fare) is hearty and delicious. The lush gardens offer many inviting outdoor spaces to unwind and relax. KarenMarie’s knowledge of the area and its offerings helped us to fully enjoy our experience. And the beds are fantastic! Back Inn Time is a jewel!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenMarie Peltier, Owner at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast
Responded Jul 25, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Janet. I am so happy that we made you feel comfortable and at home. I look forward to seeing you and David the next time! Thank you for booking directly on our site, being such courteous guests, and enjoying the inn. Folks like you make this place even more enjoyable.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
7bogey7 wrote a review May 2022
La Mesa, California133 contributions67 helpful votes
We (two couples) stayed here from April 21 – April 27. Subsequent to our stay, I had posted a very negative review. After lengthy dialogue with the owner, I agreed to delete the posting. The owner is going through a very difficult time following the loss of a loved one and admits to being very stressed. I will only comment on the Inn itself. Hotels.com lists many amenities that are not available (close to beach, restaurant, spa, sauna, room service). These amenities should be removed from the website. We stayed in the Grace Room and the Lovejoy Room. Both rooms are very small. There is no place to open a suitcase. The larger rooms are much more expensive. We each ran out of hot water while showering. PROS: Great location – walking distance to many restaurants and Taylor Park CONS: Very small rooms, lack of hot water, lack of luggage/storage space. I suggest anyone wanting to stay here should book through the property website as opposed to Hotels.com, TripAdvisor, Booking.com, etc. I cannot recommend this property. There are much better accommodations at the Hampton Inn (city center) and La Quinta.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Make sure to book one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenMarie Peltier, Owner at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast
Responded May 15, 2022
Once in a blue moon we encounter a group that has an agenda and won't let us in on it while we can be of service. You know the kind, they pride themselves on being picky, err "discriminating". Having been in the industry for decades and owned three stellar B&B's, I have seen it happen on occasion. "Bogey" and his best friend "Guide" are two such guests. They booked through third parties many months ago, and began calling me directly shortly thereafter with specific requests and questions. They were here during a festival weekend and we were very busy, however, we kept asking them if there was anything they needed. At the last minute they wanted to change rooms, but we were sold out. I had previously recommended to them that the rooms they chose were not my favorite recommendations for longer stays since they were our smallest rooms--but budget was apparently a factor in their decision. Upon arrival, after a cancellation, I took the opportunity to show them a larger room and offer a discount for their length of stay. However, I was assured that they were "just fine" with the rooms they chose and there was no issue. This pattern repeated itself daily as we inquired as to their needs and attempted to accommodate them. We had no idea they were just being passive aggressive and gathering intel for their Bogey & Guide "public service." I use the term public service loosely since they claim that is why they have now decided to post false reviews. Originally we had a discussion and they agreed that they should have addressed their concerns while they were here and while it was within our power to correct the situations they perceived. They claimed that they completely understood and would not leave reviews. Hence my description of their behavior as passive aggressive. When asked if our dining service options would be available while they were here we explained that we had just had a death in the family and therefore we would not be serving anything other than wine/beer & cheese boards, and breakfast as per usual. We are always closed in the winter and usually reopen in early spring, However due to the situation we had just reopened for the season that very week. There are multiple restaurants within walking distance. Unfortunately, we also had covid running through the community and therefore we were very short staffed due to people being exposed or having covid and therefore unable to work. Each day I checked with them personally and explained the situation, and each day they told me they understood the unusual situation. We are close to beaches as well. They never opted to take advantage of our spa services (sauna, massage,) or even inquire about them. There are multiple day spas within two miles as well. We offer the highest quality stay in northern Vermont--upscale linens and European down comforters, no offensive perfumes or odors, a fine selection of wine, cheeses, beers, ciders, and champagne, organic foods prepared fresh, and the run of almost all of this beautiful historic Victorian manor. These two couples took full advantage and seemed (pretended?) to be quite happy about it while here. You can imagine our dismay when we discovered that they were not honestly addressing us when we tried so hard while they were here. I sincerely wish Bogey & Guide well, although I have a feeling this type of thing follows them around, and at their age (they bragged openly about being over 80 every day,) I am sure they are content in their self-appointed roles as public servants. I appreciate the recommendation to book directly with us as that is the best way for us to manage guest expectations and pass along the best price as well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guide562130 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Sorry to say that I can only give this business a single star. The proprietor was pleasant and the breakfasts were delicious. However, the rooms were extremely small, no closets to hang cloths, cramped bath and shower and no locks on the doors. When I asked about securing valuables, was told that guests who stay at B&B's do not steal or wander into other rooms. The bill was so confusing that I finally gave up trying to have it explained to me. Probably the highest I've paid for a room at a B&B Six nights was $ 1,362. I am very sorry to have to give such a poor review but I would appreciate getting this feedback if I was considering staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenMarie Peltier, Owner at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast
Responded May 16, 2022
"Guide" (a self appointed title which I have come t o understand is meant to confer an air of authority to this guest,) stayed with his friend, "Bogey" and their wives in April for a festival weekend and beyond. He actually claimed to understand his bill when I went over it with him--he was at first confused because he and his friend switched rooms upon check-in and each room is priced according to amenities and area, so the pricing was different from his original reservation. I took great pains to go over it with him when he waived the printed version he travelled with in my face at 9:30 PM, many hours after he checked in. After two times going through the folio, he told me he completely understood. I had no reason to question his honesty at that point in time, so I believed him. The amount above is not accurate either. Guide never asked for a place to store valuables, he asked a bout a key. Had he expressed concern for storage I would have happily accommodated him. Being that this is a B&B in a historic Victorian manor, many rooms do not have closets per se, however there are features for hanging clothes and hangers are provided as well. In Guide's room there were two places for hanging clothes in addition to two bureaus. Every day we inquire of our guests to see if there are any issues we can assist with. Every day we were told things were "great" or "fine". Guide & Bogey exhibited extremely passive aggressive behavior by contacting me after the fact to complain (maybe to get money back?) but did not complain while here. Given their manner of ganging up on me after the fact--I responded to an email from one and got scathing responses from the other, back and forth--but not addressing my questions and desire to accommodate them while they were here, I'd say that this review is probably just more of the same passive aggressive nonsense. ...From a grown man hiding behind a fake name. (If you would like more information about these unpleasant guests see my response to 7bogey7's review.) Let the reader take note.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$219 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesVermontSaint Albans
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BACK INN TIME BED & BREAKFAST - Prices & Reviews (Saint Albans, VT)

Frequently Asked Questions about Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Saint Albans Museum (0.2 miles), The Eloquent Page (0.3 miles), and Shooters Saloon (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mimmo’S Pizzeria & Restaurant, Jeff's Maine Seafood, and Twiggs Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Saint Albans.
Does Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Back Inn Time Bed & Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Saint Albans Museum (0.2 miles).