We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
511 Liberty Hill Rd, Rochester, VT 05767-9540
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (110)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.7
Value
4.5
GreenLeaders Gold level
Our farmstay on a Vermont working dairy farm features fresh local foods served family style dinner and breakfast. Rate includes dinner, lodging, full breakfast, and plenty of farm activities. We offer year round accommodations for families, friends, small groups. Farmstay offers 7 guest bedrooms and 4 bath. Spacious lawn for games and relaxing and easy access to the dairy farm to visit the cows. Hiking and biking trails start at the front door. Fresh local foods served family style are a signature of the farm. Enjoy year round activities in the fields, forest, and river. We are open with reduced occupancy and limited availability in compliance with the best COVID 19 protocols. Our family and employees are all fully vaccinated. We are working diligently to clean and sanitize to protect everyone. We welcome all who are COVID cautious, respecting the challenges at this time.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Polish
95Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 83
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
BreannaM wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I absolutely loved staying at Liberty Hill farm with Beth and Bob. Vermont is a beautiful state that has so much to see and do. But more than that, staying at Liberty Hill was magical. The nightly dinners were a highlight, the food is beyond delicious and the conversations with new friends also visiting were my favorite memory. Beth is a welcoming host, extraordinary chef and superb tour guide as she gave me the best ideas for things to do, see and not miss. Staying at Liberty Hill feels more like going to stay with family. The generosity this family shares with each guest for every stay is unheard of in these times. I could not recommend a visit to Liberty Hill more and I haven’t even mentioned the cows! The whole experience was absolutely wonderful, memorable and I would go back today if I could.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Kennett, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Oh, thank you so very much for your kind words!! We love sharing our home and farm with folks!! Please do make sure you come back and stay with us again!! With gratitude for your friendship! Beth, Bob and family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim E wrote a review Jul 2022
20 contributions
+1
We were welcomed to Liberty Hill Farm with open arms by Beth and Bob, what an amazing experience. This is a working dairy farm and they let you experience as much as you would like. Beth's cooking is tip notch, everything that she made was delicious. Thus is truly a "farm to table" experience. All of the vegetables are local and she uses all Cabot dairy products as they use her farm to supply them. The Inn is always kept immaculate. We met the other 2 families staying there when we arrived and immediately enjoyed chatting with then over dinner. We spent the evening on the porch with another couple taking in the beautiful scenery. We were included in the July 4, parade which was lot of fun. We also met their son, Daughter-in law and grandchildren as well as every worker on the farm. They all answered every question we had with pleasure. I honestly can't say enough about the hospitality and kindness offered by the whole family. This was an amazing experience for us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Kennett, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Responded Aug 6, 2022
It was our delight to have you celebrate the holiday here at the farm with us! Thank you for your kind words!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carlos A wrote a review Jul 2022
Miami, Florida7 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed at Liberty Hill Farm for 4 days in June 2022. The place, the people, the food, the activities...they are all well above average. We felt so welcomed. It is a great place to experience nature outside of the crazy city life. My daughters could not stay away from the animals and my wife wanted to move in. If you are looking for a working farm vacation, you will not find a place better than this. We are going back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Kennett, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Responded Jul 3, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words. We truly loved having your family here and look forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Resort298593 wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
This was the best weekend trip ever. If you love cows and baby calves, this is the perfect place to visit for at least a weekend. The B&B was very clean and cozy. Beth’s meals were homemade and scrumptious and the best part of all was getting acquainted with so many cows and babies on this working dairy farm. I was able to feed a baby and milk a cow!!!!! The tour with Asha was very informative and we learned so much. You were free to roam the farm and visit the cows and babies whenever you wanted, which was quite often for me. I love cows more than ever and am having “Cow Withdrawals” since I’ve been home. I would definitely recommend Liberty Hills Farm to anyone who has a love for farming and COWS ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There is no TV in the room so bring a book if you’re a night owl
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Kennett, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Responded May 31, 2022
We are thrilled that you had such a great time! Thank you for Loving our cows!! Can't wait to have you visit again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill R wrote a review Oct 2021
Sebastopol, California52 contributions41 helpful votes
My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at Liberty Hill Farm in the middle of a two week leaf peeping tour through New England. We booked the farm stay as a break from our usual Bed and Breakfast routine. I have very mixed emotions about the experience. Here's the pros and cons: LOCATION: The farm is located smack in the middle of Vermont, which is to say nowhere. It was a good location for leaf peepers as it is an easy drive to anywhere in the state - Woodstock, Stowe, Lake Champlain... If there is color in Vermont during the time of your stay, you can reach it in an easy drive from Liberty Hill Farm. However, nowhere can also feel a bit isolating when dinner is served at 6PM and there is nothing at all nearby between 7PM and bedtime except dark and the smell of dairy cattle. Bring your own entertainment and be sure it's a quiet pastime. HOSPITALITY: The farm is run by Beth and Bob who are both warm, friendly and accommodating (and Bob has a great dry Vermont sense of humor!) And if you are lucky you will also meet their extended family, including their beautiful and sweet grand children whom we thoroughly enjoyed. It's really an exceptionally nice American farm family. But you are literally living with them. You share their bathroom and shower. There is no real common space for the guests that is not Beth and Bob's space. It is a level of intimacy that is not always welcome. LODGING: Our room was large and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom down the hall (was also the laundry room) shower downstairs (next to the dining area) comes complete with Beth and Bob's tooth brushes on the counter. It is really, really quiet at night. The windows in the house do not seem to open, maybe this keeps the dairy smell out and the synthetic maple smell in, but it also made our room stuffy and hot. Overall, the level of cleanliness in the house was not up to typical lodging standards - but then this is clearly not you typical lodging. FOOD: There is really a lot of it. Most of it is not very good. The proteins in particular were seriously overcooked. For the third dinner of our stay we had roast beef that had clearly been overcooked days before (and I assume frozen in the interim?) and reheated for us. I could not help but think of old cartoons where the characters had eat their shoes. It was seriously bad, impossible to chew and, if not for the sour cream horseradish sauce, would have had no flavor at all. The pork roast on night one was also very dry and the salmon on night two was overcooked as well. The sides at dinner trend toward casserole type veggies and starches, some of which were pretty good. It should be noted that wine is not allowed in the house. There is a small fridge where guests can keep their adult beverages but you will drink them outside and only water, tea and coffee are served with meals. It is harder to do a poor job with breakfast so it was OK, but remarkable only in its quantity. IN SUMMARY: We did get to feed a calf which was cool. But Liberty Hill Farm is not for everyone. I gave it an average rating because I still haven't decided if it was for me. But I'm pretty sure I will not be back in an attempt to find the answer. Plus, it seemed seriously overpriced compared to other options.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Kennett, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Responded Oct 30, 2021
Thank you for your kind words about our family. I recognize that staying with a farm family was a unique experience for you. We are not a hotel and restaurant. We offer a working farm in rural Vermont. We feel blessed to share our way of life with others but understand that what we offer is not for everyone. Thank you again for your kind words about our family.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lifeisatrip4me wrote a review Aug 2021
298 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
What a wonderful experience for the whole family. My 11 year old daughter met a couple new friends and they were able to explore the farm, feed the baby calf’s bottles, try milking a cow, climb up into the huge hayloft, swing on a tire swing, play in the river, play card games, and snuggle some adorable kittens. This is what childhood is all about. My daughter spent all her time outside. She didn’t even miss her iPad. She never wanted to leave the farm. And let’s talk about Beth’s food. OMG! I couldn’t stop eating. The fresh rolls, the delicious cinnamon rolls, the amazing chicken, the fantastic casseroles. There was a ton of food and every single last thing was spectacular. At dinner all the guest sit around the table and talk. It was like the days gone by. We all sat around and told stories and forgot about the time. So many interesting people and great stories. We had some of the craziest conversations and laughed so hard. But what makes Liberty Hills Farm so magical is the family. You truly feel at home with family the second you walk in the door. Beth has such an innate ability to connect to everyone and then find a way to make all of her guests connect to each other. Bob is such a hard worker but never minds to stop and talk to you. Aisha(sorry if I misspelled your name.) is Beth and Bob’s daughter-in-law. She is so down to earth and warm you instantly feel like you’ve been friends forever. And she has some of the cutest and best behaved children I’ve ever seen. And finally, Lisa comes in to help with all the millions of chores in the house. She isn’t an employee or a maid that never wants to be seen. She’s like family. She fits right in and makes you feel like your home. Honestly, this family is truly amazing. For those people who left no so amazing reviews I’m so sorry they didn’t take the time to really experience Liberty Hill Farm. Because this bed and breakfast isn’t about the decorations or the furniture or even the amazingly cool cows. The true experience is connecting with people and slowing down the pace of life and eating great foods while having great conversations with new friends. Thank you Beth and Bob for reminding me of what life’s really about. It’s about connecting to others.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Kennett, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Relationships, family and food--that is what we are all about! Thank you for recognizing our values and enjoying your time here!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liz H wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The owners are personable, accommodating, and caring. They were very knowledgeable about their craft as well! The food was excellent. There's plenty to do besides the cows, but the cows are wonderful to be around. You can pretty much create your own schedule day by day and help out with farm chores, or go for hikes, visit cute little nearby towns, and more. We will definitely be going back!! (highly recommend bringing your own boots but there are also boots there)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Kennett, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Responded Jul 20, 2021
It was wonderful to have you here! Thank you for making us the destination for your birthday trip! See you next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ronichas wrote a review Jan 2021
Glen Cove, New York36 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
I went with family for a tour of the farm. It was awesome. I got to milk a cow and feed a 2 day old calve. It was chilly and a bit icy on the grounds. Seeing all the cows get milked, seeing the milk being tested was also so interesting.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Room Tip: The farm tour was great. The Inn was closed due to Covid.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Kennett, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Responded Feb 24, 2021
Thank you for your enthusiastic interest in our farm even on a cold winter day! We would love to have you visit us again anytime!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wendy K wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
From start to finished wish we never came. Nothing like advertised. I understand it is a working farm but if it is meant to be friendly and interactive it is not. In the middle of no where with chained and caged cows. Nothing to do inside or out. Uncomfortable furniture for what little there was in the room. Nothing hearty or exciting about the meals. Certainly not something you would expect on a dairy farm. Salmon and rice, no bread or dairy. Not even milk, only water offered to drink! McDonalds does a better breakfast. Can’t believe I paid $300. for a couple for one night for that. Save your money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Kennett, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Responded Nov 12, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our farmstay. Farm life is definitely not for everyone but rest assured our cows are happy and healthy. We hope you find a place that suits your interests and expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PJR42 wrote a review Jun 2020
Miami, Florida114 contributions26 helpful votes
My 4 year old had an AMAZING time feeding a baby calf. We enjoyed sledding in the pasture behind the farm and being able to go walk around and just sit and enjoy the serenity. The food is top notch! You feel as part of the family while you're there. Beth and Bob are so much fun and their daughter-in-law gives the most amazing tour! Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Kennett, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Responded Jul 24, 2020
Thank you for your kind words! It was wonderful to have your family visit us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United StatesVermontRochester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Liberty Hill Farm Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Liberty Hill Farm Inn?
Nearby attractions include Green Mountain Trails (4.6 miles), Stone Revival (4.2 miles), and Big Town Gallery (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Liberty Hill Farm Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Liberty Hill Farm Inn?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Liberty Hill Farm Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Liberty Hill Farm Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Backroom, Rochester Cafe, and Sandy's Books & Bakery.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Liberty Hill Farm Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Polish.