We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newport City Inn & Suites

444 East Main Street, I-91 Exit 27, Newport, VT 05855 (Formerly Newport City Motel)
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Newport City Inn & Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spur of the moment stay. Found this gem. Staff is welcoming. Rooms were up-to-date and spotless. Well equipped with kourig for a fresh cup of coffee. This property is a fixture in Newport. There is a self-serve breakfast room where Guests can help themselves with the complimentary breakfast. Will stay again when next in the area. There is also a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Passepareverywhere
Uncasville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

We love this inn; always clean plus has a wonderful indoor pool, a complimentary breakfast room and a beautiful spot in the Northeast Kingdom! The Brown Cow for breakfast is just a short walk away if you prefer a larger breakfast. Nice stores to shop in on the beautiful main street and awesome views of Lake Memphremagog. Try it, you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smily2015
Samantha C, Manager at Newport City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are happy to know you enjoy your stay with us! More 

San
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

Clean and appears to be fairly new. The TV was small and poor quality picture. There was no mini fridge. The bathroom was so small, there was only a sink without any counter space. We had a king size bed, but only one side had a nite stand. There was a chair by the other side of the bed. No... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda R
Samantha C, Manager at Newport City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your room. The Echo Lake room does not come with a fridge/micro combo, however there are several outlets throughout the room, including behind the nightstand. I see that you do not intend on staying with us again, but if you change... More 

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

We stay here every time we are in Newport, this time our reservation was written for the wrong evenings. The staff apologized for the mistake and gave us a much nicer room for the same price, for two nights. They couldn't have been nicer.

Helpful?
Thank Keith H
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

Stayed one night while visiting friends in North Troy. It's a basic, no-frills motel: clean, mini fridge, Keurig with 4 free k-cups, free simple cold breakfast. Bathroom is tiny..toilet and shower only...sink is in the bedroom. Walls are thin and can hear people next door rolling over in bed during the night, talking in the morning and outside while loading... More 

Helpful?
Thank questionqueen25
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Newport City Inn in Newport VT. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The have a pool and hot tub. The hot tube wasn't working the first night. However, was fixed the next day. The rooms are clean. The size is average. Our bed was a little hard. My sister said hers was great. The have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walker051014
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

The motel is easy to find. The rooms, although a bit small and Spartan, were immaculate. The A/C worked very well. The toiletries are nice. The pool and the hot tub (both indoor) were very welcome. The free breakfast is no great shakes (carb heavy and packaged), but "The Brown Cow" restaurant a block away is worth the walk. Prices... More 

Helpful?
Thank MoreThanTourists
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

Newport City Inns and Suites is a mediocre place to stay. While the rooms are okay, the front desk staff needs a lesson is customer service. The wifi in our room was less than adequate, there is NO elevator for anyone with a disability, the vending machines did not work. It was a total disappointed over all.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
Samantha C, Manager at Newport City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have had issues with our free wireless service and have continually been in touch with our Wireless Technician and ISP to improve wireless service. We have added multiple access points throughout our property, unfortunately some rooms still are not receiving as good of signal as other. We do have... More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

The rooms are pleasant and clean but customer service in non-existent. They advertise wifi but unless you're near the office you can't get it. There is no elevator and they refused to change our room to the first floor. The front desk clerk kept saying she could not do anything because the owner was not there. They all need a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eloise F
Samantha C, Manager at Newport City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we appreciate the positive feedback as well as constructive criticism. We have had issues with our free wireless service and have continually been in touch with our Wireless Technician and ISP to improve our free service. We do have 2 handicap rooms at our property as well as an... More 

Harrison, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

The Newport City Inn is an okay place to stay, the rooms are clean but are not spacious. There isn't a refrigerator or microwave in the rooms but there is a coffee maker. The rates are decent. Furthermore they have free secure Wi-Fi, though they seemed to be having router problems when I was there. The front desk staff is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Roger92071
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
15.2 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
23.4 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
14.8 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
Jay Peak Resort
#1 of 4 in Jay
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#5 of 6 in Sutton
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
17.7 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ayer's Cliff
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
21.8 mi away
Auberge Agnes Horth and Bakery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay