We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Red Sled

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Red Sled
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016

Enjoyed our stay at the Red Sled motel. comfortable , very clean room. a relaxing swim in the open air pool . with extensive grounds and trout pond was the view from our window .the owners couldn't have been more helpful . we will be back next year . Can recommend to anyone

Helpful?
3 Thank ytrobinson
Willington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

First off... any positive reviews are probably posted by the owner or a friend. If the review is above 1 star ignore it! The rooms are NOT CLEAN!!! We had used soap in the shower from previous guests!!! There was toothpaste in the sink and hair every where in the bathroom. The carpet is old and disgusting and probably hasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Albert_19551955
John H, Manager at The Red Sled, responded to this review

The room these three large, hot, male, filthy, stinking hikers were shown, has two double beds and is central air conditioned as is the rest of the building. Three hours after renting the room they rang the bell demanding the air be reduced further!! we did so at the expense of our own comfort because we froze all night. The... More 

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

Beware! Scam artist of the Bait and Switch. We negotiated a price of $156 for two nights. When we got there he wanted $305, more than the internet! There are many hotels in town in that price range. Bugs and dirt in pool and the room was dank. No A/C that we could feel, and no screens. We actually argued... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JMFAM
John H, Manager at The Red Sled, responded to this review

Beware double scam. This person new what the rate for the room was and paid it. There is no price of $156 on the internet, nor is there $305. This gentleman checked into the room with his family then suddenly after consultation; returned and said the could not afford it!! funds were immediately returned. This is a bald faced lie. More 

ny
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Clean but old decor Needs updating.... but in a good location and easy to park by the door. The rooms are not large and with a family it is quite crowded. The price is average considering the location. No food items or coffee item for breafast but there are places to go that are not far for breakfast or dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank arl629
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
540 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

The reviews on this place are all over the place. Not sure what other travelers were expecting but this is just an older motel and not bad at all. Our room had been aired out and was clean, cheap and convenient. Yes it could be updated (but can't anything?) but then the rates would go up. Having a ROKU TV... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jen78703
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

Coming from the trail, we were looking forward to a clean bed and some R&R. John, the owner, was friendly enough and let us check in early. Very kind of him, though for a motel I thought the price was a bit high. $151 with tax. I thought this price was exorbitant when I saw the room. Lots of interesting... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Emmie_M_H
Redding, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

My daughter and I left. The room smelled musty, it was dirty with dead bugs in the bed. The windows were not able to be opened. The hotel said they could not give me a refund because I booked through Expedia which was a lie because when I called Expedia they said payment was made directly to the hotel.

Helpful?
5 Thank coreena d
John H, Owner at The Red Sled, responded to this review

This person had checked in and stayed one hour with an Expedia reservation before coming to the office and complaining about her allergies (which was the only complaint she had) and that the chemicals used to clean the room affected her. We explained that the same cleaning substances were used in every room and that the motel was full. The... More 

Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015 via mobile

Can't say how thankful I am to be staying at the Red Sled Motel. The owners, John and his wife, have been the nicest, most helpful people. The rooms are very comfortable and homey. We're hiking the Appalachian; John helped me get to and from a doctor, and made some good local dinning recommendations. We're staying another night to rest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mewart10
Whitehouse, Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

They charge an arm and a leg for a room that is outdated and uncomfortable. TV only got a couple stations with very poor reception. Staff didn't know how to operate TVs to get more channels. Air Conditioning unit didn't work at all, and none of the windows would open. It was like a furnace in there. No extras either... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mwietro
John H, Owner at The Red Sled, responded to this review

We are responding in kind to “Horrible”comments On the evening in question; a gentleman called us and asked for a hiking rate for one person, he was told the hiking rate for one but then added that there might be two persons, he was then informed that there would be $10.00 per person extra. Sometime later, two men came to... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

My hiking partner and I booked into the Red Sled to re-supply while through-hiking the Appalachian Trail and couldn't have received better treatment or met two nicer, more helpful people than the proprietors. The room was neat and clean and our laundry was done and returned promptly. Not only that but John, the proprietor, took us into Manchester whenever we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael F
John H, Owner at The Red Sled, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you. Good luck and safe travels on the remainder of your hike. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 15 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Taconic Kimpton Hotel
Taconic Kimpton Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#7 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Red Sled

Address: 2066 Depot St, Manchester, VT 05255-4464
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Price Range: $115 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Red Sled 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Red Sled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay