We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Inn a bit outdated located at the outskirts of the town. The rooms are very basic, with bathrooms quite small. The rooms are need of refurbishment and upgrading because some solutions are now obsolete. The support of the managers is anyway ready. The owners directly manage one of the best restaurants in the area and great breakfasts and superb dinners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigbang56
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

It is a work in progress as I call it and the money pit :( We are working on the rooms as fast we can - we are sorry that you were unable to have an updated room. The bathrooms however will remain small can't change the floor plan much. Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the...

Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Karen the owner with her husband Adam is a friendly whirling dervish cooking,cleaning the rooms ,landscaping and waiting on tables . We had a lovely stay in room 4 with two excellent meals on beautiful nights on the deck of their excellent attached restaurant. The location is close to town but quiet the room was clean and comfortable and was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill G
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Yes room 4 has a very large bathroom with 2 full size beds. We are happy that you had a great stay and we look forward to you returning next year. Thanks, Karen

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a very nice and affordable place. It has a back lawn area with chickens and vegetables that ends up in your dinner. The food is wonderful and fresh. Karen gave us great local tips and was very friendly and inviting. It felt like we are guests in someone’s home. We had the steak and hamburger plus the house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barak M
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. I hope that you stay safe in your country. Thanks, Karen

cleveland oh, United States
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed there in July on the way to Maine and they were so helpful. We arrived way late and they made sure that we had access to our room. The place is so charming ,really nice retro feel. the prices are reasonable and our room was lovely. it felt like home and I am looking forward to staying there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John C
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

THANKS!!!! We are thrilled you enjoyed our place and we look forward to meeting you again. Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. Thanks, Karen

New York City, New York
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my first trip to New England and Vermont. I usually stay at brand name chain hotels but i noticed that there are very few chain hotels in Vermont. B&B are more popular in this area. Also the prices are skyrocket for B&B and motels. I am more familiar with west coast and it is unusual for me to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank yashmi
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I do apologize for the confusion with your reservation and you are correct 12 is a bit smaller than 10. However the rates are the same for all the queen size rooms and rooms with two full size beds, rates vary between the king size rooms for good reason. However, we are thrilled that you had an ejoyable experience and...

New York
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Conveniently located hotel in a beautiful environment. However its facilities are rather worn-out and its management showed a very bad service attitude. Definitely bad value hotel, would not recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AlecNewYork
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

same man as August 22nd review

Athens, Greece
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed 1 night at this convenient, but rather tired motel. Manchester is a great town, in a beautiful environment and great outlet shopping. At check out, we were requested to pay for breakfast, although we had booked including breakfast. This situation was poorly handled by the management, which left us feeling uncomfortable. Overall, a disappointing experience. There are plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marinopoulos
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Sir you booked a room using booking.com for 2 people including breakfast - you requested a cot upon arrival (which you weren't charged for) - you showed up for breakfast and ordered off the regular menu instead of using the prepaid menu for 2 and you expected breakfast to be free for all five of you. We contacted booking.com and...

Reviewed August 12, 2013
Google Translation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FERNANDO G
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Manchester, Vermont
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with my son, daughter In law and 2 grandchildren...we were visiting my brother & sister in law who have lived in Vermont for 30 years. We loved our accommodations at the Stamford Motel....the beds were so comfortable....rooms clean and the convenience of having a restaurant on the premises was great....we had breakfast at Nipper's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gemini551
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review we look forward to seeing you again. We aim to offer nice, neat rooms at an affordable price - glad it worked out. Thanks, Karen

Chicoutimi, Canada
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed there on our way to Mount Equinox and did not expect too much because of the low price. We were pleasantly surprised! The room was clean and was cozy. The bed was firm and comfy, the air conditioning worked perfectly.The only thing I would suggest is to get rid of the carpet. Then it would be perfect. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georges_Payne
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and thanks for the thought on the carpet. It is actually only a few years old but I will say that you are right and that is a project for this spring. Thanks, Karen

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

229 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
560 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
225 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Price Range: $102 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Stamford Motel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“It appeared to me that all rooms had the same great view”
car277, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“ask for the larger suites on second floor”
Ted4Pats, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“Best room was upstairs with double beds..”
sweber7305, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in room one, on the end, and it was very quiet.”
taylorlynn58, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 is closest to Nipper's Cafe”
KellyfromKY, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question