We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Green Mountain at Fox Run

Save
Share
262 Fox Ln, Ludlow, VT 05149-4416
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (48)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (5)

About

#1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Ludlow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Meeting rooms
Self-serve laundry
154Reviews9Q+A44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 136
  • 9
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ELIZABETH T. wrote a review Apr 2019
Orlando, Florida1 contribution12 helpful votes
After spending considerable time on their website and looking into airfare, I could not get to their reservations page. After emailing them, someone responded with "after 45 years the owners have retired and Green Mountain is closed". The person who is taking emails then said they are trying to get something else going and will contact me. They should have this on their website so people don't waste their time! So glad I didn't book the airfare!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
8 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
gepdas wrote a review Feb 2019
Alburgh, Vermont18 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed there with my daughter last summer and had a fantastic time. I was very sad when I learned that it was closing The staff was incredibly helpful. The environment was calm, the views of the nearby mountains were breathtaking, the food was healthy and wonderful
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Helpful
Share
Rita wrote a review Jan 2019
New York City, New York2 contributions8 helpful votes
Every time I attend Green Mountain at Fox Run's Program, I gain new insights and techniques that take me to a better level of living. The place is stunningly beautiful in a rustic, low frills kind of way. You are able to focus on what really matters at this Program. The non-diet approach is one of the only of it's kind and really works. The focus is on healthy living and sustainable weight loss. good bye yo yo dieting forever. Your life will 100% be made better by a visit here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Megan P wrote a review Jan 2019
8 contributions1 helpful vote
I went here and found it to be a rip off for the money spent. The lodge rooms and facility was old and it showed. The food was very healthy and good. The lectures were a waste of time and boring. The classes were basically designed for older and slow moving people. If you are younger and strong, think again before coming here. I didn't need to learn how to get up out of a chair or how to walk so I don't pull a muscle. This place doesn't speak of calories or talk anything about portions or food. They basically say eat what you want but be "mindful". It's annoying. Additionally, the weights are rusted in the gym, the tiny sauna is rickety and has sheet rock pieces inside. The rooms that you get are small and the bathroom is even smaller. How three people can room together in there is beyond me. I just was so disappointed with the place and the lack of activities for someone a bit younger. If you are looking for a place that feeds you healthy meals and gives you multiple pointless lectures every day with minimal intense exercise and no talk of calories, food, portions, or what food to stay away from or better ones to eat.. then this might be for you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from ShiriTMac, Manager at Green Mountain at Fox Run
Responded Jan 21, 2019
Dear Megan…. Thank you for your candid comments on our program. First, let me begin by saying that I’m disappointed that the program didn’t meet your expectation, but having operated for over 45 years, working with many women around weight and health issues, I realize we can’t be all things to all people. As a result, and upon your request, we elected to work with you. We think that was only fair. You’re correct – we don’t count calories or weight here, and we pride ourselves on that. Our program has served thousands of women seeking an alternative approach to weight loss than traditional diet and fitness program and the many reviews here on TripAdvisor are testimony that our approach meets and often exceeds the expectations of many women. These are women who have attended these other programs and have to come to understand that weight struggles are more than about losing weight. Since our inception over 45 years ago, we’ve been recognized as the first ‘non-diet’ program in the country. We would never portray ourselves as a traditional or diet program. We’re an active program, providing a mixture of fitness, behavioral and nutrition workshops, that have been time-tested and proven over our 45 years. I’m surprised you found the program fitness not adequate and found the lectures unhelpful. One of the most consistent comments we receive is the caliber and quality of the professional team that delivers our program, fully credentialed, licensed and most importantly, caring. I wish you would have shared your concerns with us quickly, before you left after only 3 days; we could have made a difference. I’m delighted that you found our culinary piece to your liking. Also, as a Vermont ski lodge, we’re continually in the midst of updating the facility. I agree, we’re not fancy, luxurious and don’t present ourselves as such. But the one thing women remark about is the homey feel of Green Mountain, often calling it their home away from home and the exceptional cleanliness of the whole facility. Our housekeeping get continually ranked at 100% by guests and most recently received the highest score from the State of Vermont. I wish we would have had to chance to work together, but respect your decision that our program wasn’t for you. I wish you great success in your weight and health efforts and hope you understand, our response to your concerns and decision to leave was respected and had our full support.
Read more
Margaret L wrote a review Sep 2018
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States11 contributions8 helpful votes
I'm halfway through my second one-month stay at Green Mountain at Fox Run (GMFR). I first came in 2013 when I retired. I was looking for a re-set and I got it. Like many (most?) American women, I have concerns about my weight. GMFR offers a comprehensive program addressing weight in the context of heath-supportive living. The program includes information on eating, movement, and self-care through classes and experiential activities. The food is delicious, varied, balanced, and ample. It is a principle at GMFR that no one should be hungry. The fitness team knows how to modify any exercise for specific needs: they helped me protect my bad shoulder while building strength in my biceps and triceps. The activities beyond the beautiful, hilltop setting include visits to the Vermont Country Store, pottery painting and knitting lessons in nearby towns, swimming at the Okemo Mountain spa, walks along country roads, horseback riding, and other seasonal outings. Massage and Reiki are offered on-site. The clinical staff includes registered dietitians, licensed therapists, and certified fitness instructors. There is always someone to talk with about issues or concerns. You can learn about the philosophy of GMFR on their website and through their presence on most social media platforms. My strongest recommendation: when I'm here, I feel cared for, safe, and encouraged.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shiri M, Manager at Green Mountain at Fox Run
Responded Sep 14, 2018
Thank you Margaret. We're so glad you're 'getting it' - understanding and internalizing the program. Mostly, we're so glad you feel cared for, encouraged and safe, that is of the utmost importance to us. Thanks again, Shiri
Read more
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
green mountain at fox run hotel ludlow
LOCATION
United StatesVermontLudlow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Green Mountain at Fox Run
Which popular attractions are close to Green Mountain at Fox Run?
Nearby attractions include Buttermilk Falls (1.6 miles), Okemo Mountain Resort (1.4 miles), and Green Mountain Sugar House (1.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Green Mountain at Fox Run?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness center, and free parking.
Is parking available at Green Mountain at Fox Run?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Green Mountain at Fox Run?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mojo Cafe, Homestyle Hotel Inn & Restaurant, and The Downtown Grocery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Green Mountain at Fox Run?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Green Mountain at Fox Run?
Many travelers enjoy visiting President Calvin Coolidge State Historic Site (8.3 miles), Calvin Coolidge Homestead (8.3 miles), and Upper Falls Covered Bridge (8.9 miles).
Does Green Mountain at Fox Run have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.