We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8 Church Street, Dorset, VT 05251
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (85)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (10)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Gracious lodging, gourmet dining, fine wines & great spirits - all trademarks of Vermont's oldest continually operating inn. Nestled on the green in a picturesque Vermont village,The Dorset Inn has offered traditional New England Hospitality for more than 200 years. 26 uniquely appointed guest rooms & three room luxury suites featuring fireplaces & whirlpool bathrooms. The Wine Spectator awarded restaurant serves dinner nightly. A long time favorite with locals, the Tavern offers microbrew & unique beers, extensive single malt scotch & Irish whiskey list & wide array of cocktails & aperitifs. From the quiet getaway to the outdoor adventure vacation...skiing at Bromley & Stratton, shopping Manchester's designer outlets, hiking & biking on local trails, golfing, kayaking & canoeing, antiquing, perusing museums...all these activities and more are located within minutes of The Dorset Inn.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Pool / beach towels
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Spa
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
333Reviews4Q+A95Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 247
  • 51
  • 18
  • 8
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robert L wrote a review Oct 7
Springfield, MA19 contributions16 helpful votes
Inn is Set in the middle of nowhere (thousands of acres of woods nearby), but Half the rooms are literally 15ft from the highway. We left after first night with no sleep and NO refund on remaining night. Room had no thermostat to set a temperature for heat, so you are either too hot or too cold. Cheap $5 foam pillows, and cheap uncomfortable mattresses. Rooms are small. Website has very limited information on the rooms. You basically have the comfort of motel 6 at $500/night. Dont ever stay here, since management only cares about TAKING YOUR MONEY. (I am a guest and frequent traveler at over 200 nights per year at hotels). We left to stay in Manchester and had a wonderful stay at Hampton Inn for less $, and amazing guest experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Poor Management
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorset Inn, Owner at The Dorset Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Mr Long, We are sorry there was a misunderstanding. Our policies are clear and documented. We wish you and your wife the very best. Best, The Dorset Inn
Read more
Mark W wrote a review Jul 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina186 contributions46 helpful votes
We had a reservation for four we were 10 minutes late call Dan to let them know Sat down and a foretop that was basically obstructing the entrance to the dining room Asked for another table received some attitude and she said they could probably accommodate us within 20 minutes. There was a table that was open in the restaurant which we asked if we could sit at the comment was no that’s reserved. When is the bar we’re about to get a drink waiting 20 minutes to sit down nurse another table and we asked if we could sit there no that’s reserved. Bottom line is if you’re not from there you ain’t getting in there!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorset Inn, Owner at The Dorset Inn
Responded Jul 29, 2021
Hi Mark, I apologize that you were not happy with the four top table we sat you at to begin with. It is not often that we have specific tables requested in the main dining room, however the tavern is typically booked a few days in advanced. The night of your reservation the first table you asked to move to was specifically requested for a birthday reservation, and the tavern was booked solid. I apologize that we were unable to move you right away, however we were just waiting for two tables who had paid to leave. Within minutes of you going to the bar, both those tables became available. When I had went to let you know the table was getting cleaned & reset for your party, the hostess had to inform me that you unfortunately left the restaurant already. We are very fortunate to be as busy as we are, and we do our best to accommodate all requests. Best, Brianna Restaurant Manager The Dorset Inn
Read more
brenda f wrote a review May 2021
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts6 contributions
Many inns can match the charm, serenity, history, and physical accoutrements of the Dorset Inn...but their friendliness is exemplary! The staff was universally and sincerely pleasant, helpful and engaging...and could not have been more eager to make our stay memorable. It was truly a distinction, and one which is based on two decades having been in the hospitality business. The culinary staff is the under-recognized attribute, and the meals were exemplary. Kudos to all the Dorset Inn team. Brenda
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
sandyl50 wrote a review Apr 2021
Rockport, Massachusetts12 contributions25 helpful votes
Lovely old inn, in a charming Vermont village with the main street lined with beautiful, antique houses. The inn is lovely and the area is beautiful, close to Manchester, VT. We had our first indoor dining in over a year in the inn's tavern on St. Patrick's Day which was excellent. The Dorset Inn staff was very kind and helpful. Reality was how all of us have been affected by the pandemic, and beginning to move forward to recovery hopefully.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Explore640227 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
We had a wonderful stay at the Dorset Inn. The room was updated, beautiful and clean. Dinner was excellent in the pub by the fireplace. Each staff member was very friendly and willing to help. Breakfast was included in the rate, but was served at the Dorset Bakery a short walk away. It was also a very charming place with great food and we very much enjoyed chatting with the ladies working there. We can't wait to go back!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$213 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dorset hotel dorset
LOCATION
United StatesVermontGreen MountainsDorset
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Dorset Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Dorset Inn?
Nearby attractions include North Meadow Farm (4.5 miles), H.N. Williams General Store (0.6 miles), and Merck Forest & Farmland Center (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dorset Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Dorset Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dorset Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dorset Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Dorset Inn Restaurant, Inn at West View Farm Restaurant, and Barrows House Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Dorset Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Is The Dorset Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Dorset.
Are pets allowed at The Dorset Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dorset Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Norcross-West Marble Quarry (1.5 miles).
Is The Dorset Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.