We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 553: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I attended a wedding here a few weeks ago, and let me first say we love Vermont. It is a state that has so many amazing virtues and beautiful vistas so we were so looking forward to a weekend in the green mtn. State. I also travel a lot and stay in a wide range of places... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank T F
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your visit to our resort was such a disappointment. Although we are committed to creating a positive Vermont experience for all of our guests, it sounds like we definitely fell short with you. Each of the reviews posted are shared with the staff so that we can learn from them and make changes whenever... More 

Newtown, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband, two young daughters and I stayed at the Mountain Top In July 1-4th. The Inn is beautifully appointed with a "lodge style" decor. The rooms are each unique - we stayed in two different rooms and both were a good size, very nicely decorated with gorgeouse views of the mountain and lake. There is a retaurant and tavern... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank KKD_Newtown
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your great review and details of the many things you enjoyed about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We are happy to see that your visit was enjoyed by everyone in your family. Your comments will be shared with our staff and in particular the Chef. Needless to say we are pleased to hear... More 

Western, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Mountain Top Inn for a mini-vacation. Not only is the resort a great place for couples but we found it perfect for couples with different ideas of relaxation. The resort offered so many options, we discovered that we could enjoy our separate activities as well as time together. Further, we saw no... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Tom917
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Your explanation of "Something for Everyone" is certainly appreciated. Thank you for detailing the many ways couples can enjoy the Resort, separately and together. It sounds like with the many activities and dining options offered at The Resort, you and your wife found plenty to do throughout your stay. And the ultimate compliment is that you will make it a... More 

Montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our first time staying at the inn. After our 3-day stay, I have to agree with most of the comments provided by the other reviewers (great location, great staff, nice facilities, etc.). My only negative comment has to do with the Saddle Brook C cabin. We were warned that the cabin was rustic and not as luxurious as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank roadgirl
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that your cabin experience was the one negative aspect of your visit. I have reviewed your specific comments with maintenance and housekeeping so that we can begin to make the recommended upgrades to the cabin. We appreciate that you took the time to... More 

Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our second year staying at the beautiful Mountain Top Inn and resort. We have decided it will be a yearly get away vacation spot for us.This year our entire family came which includes 4 grandchildren. The beautiful pool and inviting hot tub with their spectacular view are so relaxing. The beach area is private and has plenty of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your high recommendation! We are pleased to hear that your second visit to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort was what you anticipated and that our added amenities in The Barn made for an even more enjoyable stay. Your description of our resort as a family vacation destination is certainly appreciated, as well as your... More 

New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family recently stayed at MTI and were pleasantly surprised by everything we encountered. I cannot rate the location, staff and amenities highly enough. The best part of the resort is definitely the location. Located in the mountains, every view is spectacular. More amazing is the Reservoir that the resort sits above. Not only does it complete the landscape, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate the many areas you highlighted as being the reason you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for providing so many details for future guests to consider when planning a vacation. We all look forward to seeing again soon. Most sincerely, Khele Sparks General Manager More 

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Everything is "ok", but certainly not what one would expect, and definitely not for the $. Room not made up at 2:00pm when I return to get ready for a wedding. When I turned down the bedspread that night, the sheets and pillows were in the same crumpled mess I left them, just covered. Huh?

Helpful?
Thank Bernadette112
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations of a Vermont inn. It is helpful to know the specifics of your disappointment, as you detailed, so we can discuss with the appropriate department(s) where we fell short. I can assure you that your photo is not representative of our standards and management will be taking action to... More 

Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This resort was a real surprise for us. When we arrived we were assigned Room 213. It is right down the hall from the lobby and has a spectacular view of the Vermont mountains and the lake that is close to the property. The room was spacious with a king sized bed. There was a kitchenette and a big bathroom.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frogman71
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell other travelers how much you enjoyed your stay at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We appreciate all of your feedback; in particular your comments regarding the tub and breakfast. We will be sure to share your feedback with all our staff as a means of improving the guest experience... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a two night stay at the Inn great food friendly workers and a lot of activities to do. We went on a trail ride through the woods again great workers all friendly and helpful horses were great considering my boyfriend had never been riding before. The staff were very helpful as we were new to... More 

Helpful?
Thank monica u
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive review of your stay with us. We shared your comments with our staff; in particular the staff at the Equestrian Center who made your first experience on horseback so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again next year as The Mountain Top Inn & Resort becomes your "annual getaway" vacation spot! Enjoy... More 

Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had to cancel my reservations a full 6 weeks ahead of my reservations and they required me to pay a 10% refund fee from my reservation total. Although I just now found this policy on their website, I don't recall being told about it at the time of the reservation. They also told me that if I had to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank suzanne2319
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you had to cancel your reservation with us, as we know how disappointing it is when we are unable to take a trip that we have planned. As you mentioned we detail our cancellation policy on our website and it is stated on the confirmation letter that our guests receive; we will make every effort to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

366 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (299)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Woodstock Inn and Resort
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Location: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Price Range: $335 - $929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay