We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 533: English reviews
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The resort was very nice and the staff extremely helpful. The horse riding centre was excellent and the horses very well behaved. What spoiled it for us was the large wedding on our last day. For breakfast we were placed in the small tavern area to make way for wedding guests in the dining room. The wedding guests then proceeded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin B
Ledgewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

All I can say is that you will love this place!!! Spring, Summer, Winter or Fall. The Inn and surrounding areas are beautiful. Food is excellent, a great place for adults and children alike. Hiking trails, waterfalls , horse rides . And so much more!!

Helpful?
Thank egm8646
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Mountain Top Inn for a 25th anniversary getaway (we did the "Moonlight in Vermont" romantic getaway package). We had visited the inn almost 30 years ago and were looking forward to returning. The room we had was an upgrade - the only room with a balcony, and a big improvement over the room we had years... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terry D
Bosotn. MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice resort. But definitely not 5 star resort. Rooms are clean but ours smelled like creosote and they did nothing about it. Breakfast buffet exactly the same every day. Property offers activities which are good but the trails are really not for hikes they are cross country trails. When we asked for information for he's on the are nobody helps... More 

Helpful?
Thank tita58
Sergeantsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been going here off and on for 50 yrs. Use to be a quaint inn with a magnificent location with a spectacular view of the Chittenden reservoir. Still has the location and the view, but the Inn has morphed into a marriage destination. Has lost some of its charm. Nevertheless the accommodations are very nice with many modern touches... More 

Helpful?
Thank bob6927
MountainTopResort, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bob6927, Thank you for visiting us (again) and for taking the time to write a review. We couldn't be more proud that you have chosen to visit Mountain Top from time to time over 50 years! Certainly you've witnessed our evolution as you mentioned. The Inn quite literally was launched in the early stages of 'modernity' with our founder... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I took my wife here for two nights, to escape, unwind and relax. All three were certainly accomplished! The hotel has beautiful views. Words and pictures just can't describe! The hotel offers an extremely peaceful disconnect from the fast paced life we all live these days. Just plain old peace and quiet. Internet is slow and spotty, but for us,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jtand2
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once we drove up the winding roads from Stowe we immediately fell in love with the resort. Majestic views, amazing food, breathtaking wildlife, and immaculate grounds all amount to the fact that we immediately booked our wedding for The Mountain Top Inn. We are beyond thrilled to work with such a friendly group of people for our big day.

Helpful?
Thank Matt B
hinthinthint
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place in VT. Not inexpensive. Pillows are hard as a rock. Cheap. We complained and they had no feather anywhere. For a high end inn, the importance of nice pillows should be taken seriously. Breakfast (included) was good but pancakes were on the buffet and cold. Real maple syrup of course but cold pancakes is a buzzkill. Beautiful pool... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hinthinthint
MountainTopResort, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear hinthinthint, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We were saddened that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We have indeed chosen down alternative pillows in order to ensure a hypoallergenic environment for all guests, but we completely appreciate that each one of us has our preference. And we can't... More 

Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently got back from a beautiful mountain top outside wedding June 16th to 17th (Yes, a weekday wedding!). We didn't stay in the Main Inn part. We stayed in one of the many very lovely homes called Greystone. We had our own built in swimming pool, outside hot tub, inside hot tub in the master suite bathroom, sunk in... More 

Helpful?
Thank qtparties
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

2nd time visitor, Food is slightly higher priced than other locations in area but in my opinion worth it. All our choices were great, salads to steaks. Would recommend. Seems to get busy on a nice night, I would call for reservations. Outside seating is a sweet choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank v1960t
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

338 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (271)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Woodstock Inn and Resort
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737
Location: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Price Range: $222 - $796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay