We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Save
Share
195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
$325
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/25/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (419)
Room & Suite (98)
Dining (23)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located in central Vermont, just a few miles from Killington, Mountain Top Resort is the perfect 4-season escape from the every day. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, this secluded resort rests on 700 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). We offer a wide variety of year-round activities. Accommodation types include 36 lodge rooms/suites and Cabins plus guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays and vary greatly in size and style). Other amenities include a 'mountain modern' Restaurant & Tavern (both outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a spectacular view, hot tub, full service spa, sauna, fitness center, tennis court, hiking & mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snowshoeing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. Mountain Top Resort is an acclaimed destination wedding venue hosting weddings year-round.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Boating
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Tennis court
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
731Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 431
  • 182
  • 68
  • 28
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
TravelisHeaven wrote a review Nov 2021
Atlanta Ga167 contributions192 helpful votes
Best of the best in Anglers Retreat. We looked at many options in Vermont and are pleased we chose Mountain Top. No room service now...no robes in the room (we called upon check in and they called us an hour before check out offering them lol) but the view, the food in the restaurant, the vibe was great. We will definitely return once they offer room service again! So many hotels have offered room service straight through the endemic. Leaving it outside the door is acceptable if perhaps people feel unsafe still. We were there on a Monday, and think that was a lucky choice. It was quiet in a good way. Clay shooting was great! The lake is cobalt blue on a clear day. Highly recommend rooms with view. The cabins are probably great for those who aren't looking for a " lux hotel" experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear TravelisHeaven, Thank you for coming to visit us, and for taking the time to write your review! We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly apologize for the delayed response regarding robes. And we appreciate your patience regarding our restructuring of services due to the pandemic. We believe your mention was in relation to daily housekeeping service for rooms? (While we do offer a to-go dining menu, we have not historically offered 'food' room service). In addition to amenities (towels, toiletries, etc.) that can be left at each accommodations' door, we do also offer daily housekeeping 'upon request' (this is noted in the pre-arrival email, but we realize not everyone has the time to read through this...so we do our best to mention it again at check-in). We sincerely apologize that you weren't able to take advantage of this service. It is at no additional charge for our lodge rooms and can be easily arranged with a call to the front desk. Should you have the opportunity to visit again, we certainly hope the pandemic is well in our rearview mirrors...but if not, we would be happy to provide daily housekeeping service for you! We wish you a wonderful holiday season...and thank you again for your kind review. Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
Hal wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The staff was very accommodating, the views are fabulous, the horseback riding is wonderful, the canoe and kayaking on the gorgeous lake is amazing and the food was great As they say " what's not to like"
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 219halinau, Thank you so very much for your kind review. The team was thrilled to read it. We certainly hope you can make it back to visit us again - each season has something 'different & special' to offer. All the very best to you! Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
jim128 wrote a review Oct 2021
Santa Clarita, California47 contributions12 helpful votes
We were initially concerned that our room was in the basement next to the Laundry but in the end that turned out to be a blessing. While it didn't have the views that others had, it was quiet. This is a resort hotel and lots of weddings, parties and retreats are held there. We talked with another couple at breakfast and they said that those celebrating an occasion kept them awake. Wasn't aware that we had to make reservations for dinner, but a delightful agent took our names and called us shortly as someone else cancelled. Food was good, but it took a long time to come. I blame this on COVID and the difficulty that all businesses are having in the hiring process. Our waiter was a delight and tried his best to keep us in good spirits. Grounds are great for walking, and getting away to some nature, but this place is a long way from town so unless you are into gift shop shopping, its not a place to do that. I can see where this would be a wonderful ski resort in winter, but for us the fall colors met our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep, and not hung up on having a great view of the lake, consider...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Traveler2019 wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
We will be attending a wedding here soon. Our original plans were to stay the weekend. However, given the covid pandemic, we opted to change our plans and attend the outdoor wedding and not stay overnight to attend the indoor festivities. We had called the hotel 30 days prior to the event to inquire about their safety plans for large indoor gatherings, and were told they didn't have any. We asked for a full refund of our deposit and were told that since we were cancelling our room reservation 30 days from the event, they were entitled to keep roughly $250 of our deposit. The only reason we opted not to stay is due to the covid pandemic, and our wish to stay away from indoor gatherings. At the time of the reservation, things seemed to be improving, but the latest news indicates the opposite. Given the extenuating circumstance of a worsening global pandemic, we should have been given a full refund. Very disappointed by this lack of customer service. I do not recommend this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded Sep 16, 2021
Dear Traveler 2019, We take Covid-19 with the utmost seriousness and are taken aback by the misinformation in your review. We respect your decision not to travel at this time, however your accusations are unwarranted. Not having stayed at our resort, you have not experienced our Covid-19 protocols. Our guests, team members, partners and neighbors have been our top priority throughout. We abide by ALL Vermont state health & safety/Covid-19 guidelines (a state which has successfully achieved the country’s lowest caseload numbers by employing the most cautious of mandates and protocols). With state mandates relaxed since June, we have continued to go above and beyond state guidelines– this is evidenced by the information posted on our website’s home page and in our pre-arrival e-newsletter sent to all guests. In these we convey many of our covid-related health & safety protocols (including but not limited to the masking of team members indoors), and we follow-up on-property with actions such as posted signage reminding non-vaccinated guests to mask-up. Perhaps there was confusion regarding your question – as there are currently ‘no covid related state protocols for those traveling to/from Vermont’. In addition to our resort protocols (which are actively revised in direct correlation to covid caseload statistics and proven best practices), many of our wedding couples are insisting that all of their guests are vaccinated or provide proof of negative test prior to attending their wedding. Across the board we are doing (and have done) our best to ensure the safest environment – for everyone. For cancellations within 30 days (an agreement which is clearly conveyed upon making a reservation*) we have amended our policy for (and respect) those who are concerned regarding travel, by offering the additional option of crediting the full deposit toward a future stay. We work closely with resorts all over New England to ensure that our actions are in-line with best practices for our industry. If you were not satisfied with our attempt to offer additional options, than we apologize. However, stating that we have ‘no covid protocols’ is entirely inappropriate and untrue. Generally we do not respond to reviews in this way, however this is an incredibly important topic. While opinions on goods and services may vary - and therefore reviews play a very important role – you unfortunately have not experienced our resort - nor our protocols. This could be construed as utilizing a respectable travel tool (Trip Advisor) to express disappointment in our (amended to accommodate covid-related concerns) cancellation policy. Your disappointment in this respect, we regret. However misrepresentation of our health and safety protocols is unfounded. We are confident we will not only deliver a beautiful, but also the safest possible, event for the couple whose wedding you are attending. To protect everyone, we recommend that you wear a mask when in the presence of others at the event if you are not vaccinated. In general we recommend wearing a mask when indoors, in the presence of others and unable to socially distance. (*As stated in our pre-arrival documents, those exhibiting symptoms or who have been identified as a ‘close contact’ must contact us PRIOR to arrival so that alternative plans can be made. Those exhibiting symptoms while on property will be asked to leave immediately). If you have further questions regarding our Covid related protocols prior to the event you are attending, I very much welcome the opportunity to discuss this further in an effort to clarify any confusion. Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
yapmd wrote a review Aug 2021
NY629 contributions92 helpful votes
There is an activity center for guest and visitors. Booked horse riding trail rides, 1-2 hours. Did a walk trail then a canter one later that day. They no longer have the cross country course. This is more a wedding destination resort nowadays. Had lunch at the inn. It is located one floor below the inn entrance. The person at the front desk may be too busy to attend to us, so we made our way there. Lunch or tavern food OK, but cold drinks were welcomed. It was during the heat wave here. This is an isolated on the top of the hill location. Car a must! Apple or Goggle map will take you there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$341 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the mountain top hotel chittenden, the mountain top inn and resort, mountain top hotel
LOCATION
United StatesVermontChittenden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Baird Farm Vermont Maple Syrup (3.3 miles) and Chaffee Falls Trail (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kamuda's Country Market, The Country House, and The Wooden Barrel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Mountain Top Inn & Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mountain Top Inn & Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mountain Top Inn & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Stephen A Douglas Birthplace (9.2 miles) and Sanderson Covered Bridge (9.6 miles).