We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$750
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Hotels.com
$750
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Official Hotel
$445
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$750
FindHotel$527
Trip.com$527
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (419)
Room & Suite (87)
Dining (29)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
Located in central Vermont, just a few miles from Killington, Mountain Top Resort is the perfect 4-season escape from the every day. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, this secluded resort rests on 700 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). We offer a wide variety of year-round activities. Accommodation types include 36 lodge rooms/suites and Cabins plus guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays and vary greatly in size and style). Other amenities include a 'mountain modern' Restaurant & Tavern (both outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a spectacular view, hot tub, full service spa, sauna, fitness center, tennis court, hiking & mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snowshoeing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. Mountain Top Resort is an acclaimed destination wedding venue hosting weddings year-round.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Boating
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Tennis court
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
740Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 436
  • 182
  • 71
  • 29
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
AdventureTraveler60 wrote a review Jul 2022
41 contributions26 helpful votes
I had never been to Vermont (I know, what took me so long) and I wanted a place that had horseback riding, kayaking, swimming etc. Boy did I hit the jackpot with Mountain Top Inn & Resort. Everything was fantastic! I stayed in one of the cabins - so clean, modern and peaceful and a few steps away from the barn and activity center. Went horseback riding 4 days in a row, took advantage of the kayaking, swimming, pontoon boat and delicious meals. The staff is absolutely fantastic across the board. I literally sent an email to the General Manager because I didn't want to omit any of the names of the staff who were so kind, welcoming and friendly during my visit. The food was absolutely delicious and the outdoor dining with the gorgeous views is the way to go! I don't even know where to begin with food: the mac and cheese, cold sesame peanut noodles, pad thai, creme brulee, pulled pork, burger with bacon jam and the list goes on and on. Quick recommendations: If you're interested in horseback riding, definitely try to reserve before you arrive as the trail rides fill up pretty quickly. I also found out that Ubers do not run very frequently in that area and I was lucky to find Middlebury Taxi (Marv) who was reliable and professional. I took the train to Rutland Vermont from NYC and Mountain Top Inn & Resort is located about 20 minutes from there. I cannot recommend Mountain Top Inn & Resort enough. I had a wonderful time and am already considering going back up there in the winter. Special thank you to the staff who made my getaway so magical!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deeksha G wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The Mountain Top Inn and Resort made our wedding magical. We had a complicated and involved wedding with 3 days of Hindu and Jewish ceremonies. The inn helped us with the planning and made everything run seamlessly. Chelsea helped me plan every detail for over 2 years. She kept track of every single email, answered every question, made sure everything was organized and in one place. She also made adjustments to the seating/food/decor at the last minute, a week before the wedding, which I really appreciated. Gayle did the decorations for us and she was incredible. We had ceremonies across 4 different locations at the Mountain Top Inn and Gayle made every single one of them look magical. Taylor, our day of co-ordinator was incredible. She came to have a meeting with us on her day off. She ran around personally delivering welcome bags to every guest. She worked tirelessly for us, starting at 8 or 9 am and going till well past 10 pm. Everything was seamless because of her. I was so relaxed at the actual wedding and able to enjoy myself because I knew Taylor was handling every detail. Our guests raved about all the staff at the inn (bartenders, waiters, shuttle drivers). They were all very friendly and helpful and willing to go above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy. Would highly recommend the Mountain Top Inn for any wedding!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Dear 296deekshag, Thank you so very much for choosing to have such a special occasion with us. The entire team is proud to have been a part of it. We shared your kind words with them - which of course put huge smiles on everyone's faces. Being able to deliver the magic the 2 of you (and your friends & family) were hoping for, is what keeps us going. We couldn't be more appreciative of your review. We hope you will make it back some day for a visit and we wish you the most wonderful life together! Thank you again. Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
Safari746441 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The rooms are in need of a redo and a good thorough cleaning. Ours was a deluxe room bur it was very small and poorly furnished with no room for a guest to be organized. The lack of cleanliness and dust was our main gripe. Also an old,noisy and dirty air conditioner which we needed to use to block out noise.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Dear Safari746441, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As mentioned when we spoke, we are equally disappointed that you did not enjoy your room. I certainly thank you for bringing this to my attention and giving me the opportunity to address your concerns. I hope you found the solution agreeable. For general information, your luxury room was 410 sq. ft. (which is on avg. 20% larger than comparable room classes at standard hotel chains). Your room was outfit with a full closet, en-suite bathroom, desk, 2 sitting chairs, dresser, 2 side tables and a sink/coffee maker alcove. This is comparable to all of our luxury rooms. Our suites, however, would offer our largest room option. We sincerely appreciate your comment regarding the AC filter, as pollen this year has been the most abundant we have ever encountered and our housekeepers are now diligently cleaning the filters multiple times per week to stay on top of the issue. We certainly hope you enjoyed the other elements of your stay, including the wedding you attended. We know, and appreciate, that our offering at Mountain Top is very unique. While this is primarily what sets us apart from other resorts, we do realize that our non-cookie-cutter approach may not be for everyone. We do our best to describe all aspects of our property (through photos & words) so that guests may choose a stay that most suits their needs & preferences. Our goal is for all of our guests to thoroughly enjoy their stay and we sincerely regret that this was not the result in your case. Wishing you the very best, Khele Sparks
Read more
Bertha V wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I think this place is trying be something it’s not. It’s a nice resort, with clean rooms and beautiful views. Stick to the bar menu and you will be fine. We ordered from the expensive dinner menu and it’s just not worth it. For example, their salmon was not fully cooked and served cold. The rice was supposed to be jasmine rice but it was just tasteless white rice. The mango chutney sauce was cold and clearly out of a jar. This should not be worth $30. We were told to see the employees at the activity center for advice on our hiking. The young man had no clue about the hiking trails. We asked him about a possible trail 3-4 miles in length. He called his boss who told us to “walk the fire road until we decided to turn around.” Really? Do not come for the tennis court. It is in disrepair.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Very busy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Dear Bertha V, Thank you for staying with us recently, and for your feedback. We certainly wish you had more thoroughly enjoyed your stay. In looking into your dinner complaint, we were pleased to be informed that our team had addressed the preparation of the salmon (both with you & in our kitchen) on the spot, and our Chef wanted to share that the Mango Salsa – is indeed house-made. We aren’t sure if it is a good or bad thing that you thought it was a commercial product. Good in that commercial products tend to be widely appealing, but not ideal in that our team invests a lot of time & takes much pride in their many house-made items. We were also able to confirm the correct rice was served – jasmine rice. We regret that you didn’t find it aromatic enough. We’ll certainly consider other brand options moving forward. Our hiking & walking options definitely vary greatly. Our 60km of xc ski/snowshoe trails (which are mapped for guest use) are one option for hiking – keeping in mind that we are on top of a mountain and much of the terrain can be challenging. Some of the easier trails are also used for our horseback trail rides. For those looking for a shorter ‘walk’ (e.g. 1.5 miles), our beach road is a great option – but also descends & ascends the mountain in the process. And for what we understood you were looking for (a +3 mile walk), the fire lane leading into neighboring Green Mountain National Forest and departing directly from our resort grounds, can be an versatile and usually pleasing option. Not too challenging, but certainly offering the distance and woods, wildlife, etc. that many are looking for. And as you pointed out, not a loop, so doubling back is necessary. We regret that you did not find this option to be suitable. We were pleased to hear that the team member you spoke with, who was not as familiar with the trail options, did reach out to find the information for you. We do have wonderful news to share about the tennis courts. After much delayed scheduling & rescheduling during the pandemic, our vendor has promised that we are a top priority on their calendar and our new surfacing (& fencing) will be complete in July. We thank you for pointing out your concerns during your stay and for giving us the opportunity to provide further information regarding the circumstances and future improvements. Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
sask wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We attended a family wedding at the Mountain Top this past weekend and thought the place was fantastic. The staff was attentive and the wedding planners were so accommodating. We had dinner the night before the wedding at the Tavern and it was delicious. The Barn where the receptions was held was decorated with lights, curtains and ivy, it was stunning. Would highly recommend for a wedding venue. Many family members rented the houses and they were happy with the accommodations and cleanness. Thanks for a wonderful weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded May 2, 2022
Dear letsgo1112, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and meals and the wedding! We're sure the couple whose wedding you attended played a large part in choosing the decor for the reception in the barn - and as always we are thrilled to work with our couples to bring their wedding dreams to life! Thank you again, and please come back when you get the chance! All the best, Khele Sparks
Read more
rachvdberg wrote a review Mar 2022
Stowe, Vermont10 contributions4 helpful votes
We just stayed at the Mountain Top Inn and Resort for the second year in a row. We hope it becomes a yearly tradition. We love how remote the resort is with everything you need right on site. We ate multiple times at the restaurant, lounged in our rental house and spent an afternoon as a family cross country skiing. We also loved hanging around the main lodge which is very cozy and has a ton of great board games. The atmosphere is classy but relaxed at the same time. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. If you find time to get off the property, be sure to visit Sugar & Spice for at least one of your breakfasts!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded May 2, 2022
Dear Rachvdberg, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your kind words! We had shared this with the team and they were thrilled for the feedback! Enjoy your summer and we hope to see you again next winter! Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
brunsfhg wrote a review Jan 2022
NYC32 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed at Mountain Top for a wedding this past weekend. We had a great time and the ,location was beautiful. Friday night was a reception in the Tavern and it was a great time. The servers could not be more attentive and helpful. Saturday was the reception at The Barn. Everything about the event was excellent. Our room had exactly what we needed with a fridge and hairdryer so we were happy with the amenities! I would highly recommend this resort for an event or just getting away!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Maggie M wrote a review Dec 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
I echo what an earlier reviewer said—beautiful facility, lousy amenities. No coffee in the room; really crummy towels; I can hear everything the guy in the next room is saying (which means he can hear me). And it’s not cheap. We’re here for a wedding and it’s pricey with the discount. Oh and their refund policy, even during covid, is horrible and almost unethical. But the place itself is lovely and I certainly understand why it was chosen for a wedding.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded Dec 18, 2021
Dear Maggie M Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for joining us for the wedding. We wanted to respond, as we did to the review you mention, regarding amenities at our Resort and to ask if you could reach out to us directly to identify the room in which you stayed so that we may look into sound proofing needs. If it is a sound proofing issue, we cannot alleviate it for future guests if we do not know which room it is. And we truly regret that you did not mention this while staying with us so that we could do our best to remedy the situation on-the-spot. We also regret that you did not know that we offer coffee makers & related supplies for guest rooms upon request. This practice is due to an abundance of feedback from guests who are not comfortable with food prep items being left in the rooms 365days/yr. Delivery is quick and easy and we are happy to offer this service. Our refund policy is in keeping with best practices of a majority of hotels and resorts in New England and nation-wide – especially during Covid. Guests traveling (during Covid, or any other time) should be aware of and - equally as important - comfortable with the cancellation policy to which they are agreeing. Cancellation policies are not a penalty against the guest. They are based on a resort’s ability to re-book a room canceled at short notice. In our case, due to our remote location and our nature as a destination wedding venue, rebooking is highly unlikely. Our policy for general cancellations throughout covid (and still current as of today, 12/18/21) has reflected the option for guests to use their deposit toward a future stay rather than forfeit it. This is a fair and accepted approach during a very difficult time for all. We certainly wish you the very best. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you enjoy your travels in the coming year and beyond. Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
Tlmunro wrote a review Dec 2021
41 contributions23 helpful votes
Beautiful facility with inadequate amenities. Our “upscale room” had no microwave or coffee maker. 2 kleenex in box. Cobwebs on ceiling. Have to call and ask for clean towels or to have trash emptied. No daily room service-make your own bed!Terrible soundproofing- very noisy. 3 floors and no elevator. Desk staff was rarely at desk. Food was just fair.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded Dec 18, 2021
Dear TImunro Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We regret that you were not satisfied with your stay. If you would be willing to contact us directly, we would greatly appreciate knowing which room you were in so that we can measure the sound proofing concern you mention. We always recommend that guests share their feedback with us while still on property in hopes of remedying any concerns on-the-spot and ensuring the stay is most enjoyable. We certainly apologize for the Kleenex oversight and cobwebs are inexcusable – definitely not to our standards. We do however connect with resorts all over New England on a biweekly basis in terms of current practices and you will find that most are not offering daily housekeeping. This is a direct response to guest feedback regarding comfort levels during the pandemic. Like us, a majority of resorts are offering a replenishment of amenities (towels, soaps, etc. and trash removal) upon request. We do also offer full housekeeping services in lodge rooms upon request as well. These details are shared through as many communications as possible prior to guest arrival (including the pre-arrival email), as well as during check-in. But thank you for giving us the opportunity to mention it again here on Trip Advisor. We do also offer microwaves and coffee makers upon request as well. This is also due to covid and a preference expressed by guests to not have food prep appliances in rooms 365/days/yr. Delivery is simple & easy and we are happy to accommodate. Due to the ‘evolution’ of our 1940’s building, with multiple levels and ‘through traffic’ on the main and 1st floors only - there is unfortunately no effective location for an elevator. Because of this, we do our best to accommodate guests not wishing to use the stairs by placing them on our main level. We are lucky that our resort is unique in many ways. But please be assured that service and amenities are two things that we are not willing to sacrifice in terms of quality. Feedback such as yours is always helpful as we continue our efforts to maintain our quality standards. We thank you for staying with us and wish you the very best. Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
TravelisHeaven wrote a review Nov 2021
Atlanta Ga169 contributions201 helpful votes
Best of the best in Anglers Retreat. We looked at many options in Vermont and are pleased we chose Mountain Top. No room service now...no robes in the room (we called upon check in and they called us an hour before check out offering them lol) but the view, the food in the restaurant, the vibe was great. We will definitely return once they offer room service again! So many hotels have offered room service straight through the endemic. Leaving it outside the door is acceptable if perhaps people feel unsafe still. We were there on a Monday, and think that was a lucky choice. It was quiet in a good way. Clay shooting was great! The lake is cobalt blue on a clear day. Highly recommend rooms with view. The cabins are probably great for those who aren't looking for a " lux hotel" experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded Nov 22, 2021
Dear TravelisHeaven, Thank you for coming to visit us, and for taking the time to write your review! We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly apologize for the delayed response regarding robes. And we appreciate your patience regarding our restructuring of services due to the pandemic. We believe your mention was in relation to daily housekeeping service for rooms? (While we do offer a to-go dining menu, we have not historically offered 'food' room service). In addition to amenities (towels, toiletries, etc.) that can be left at each accommodations' door, we do also offer daily housekeeping 'upon request' (this is noted in the pre-arrival email, but we realize not everyone has the time to read through this...so we do our best to mention it again at check-in). We sincerely apologize that you weren't able to take advantage of this service. It is at no additional charge for our lodge rooms and can be easily arranged with a call to the front desk. Should you have the opportunity to visit again, we certainly hope the pandemic is well in our rearview mirrors...but if not, we would be happy to provide daily housekeeping service for you! We wish you a wonderful holiday season...and thank you again for your kind review. Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$403 - $998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the mountain top hotel chittenden, the mountain top inn and resort, mountain top hotel
LOCATION
United StatesVermontChittenden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Baird Farm Vermont Maple Syrup (3.3 miles) and Chaffee Falls Trail (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kamuda's Country Market, The Country House, and The Wooden Barrel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mountain Top Inn & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Stephen A Douglas Birthplace (9.2 miles) and Sanderson Covered Bridge (9.6 miles).
Does Mountain Top Inn & Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.