We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Save
Share
195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
$350
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Official Hotel
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$350
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (419)
Room & Suite (98)
Dining (23)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located in central Vermont, just a few miles from Killington, Mountain Top Resort is the perfect 4-season escape from the every day. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 700 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). We offer a wide variety of year-round activities. Accommodation types include 36 lodge rooms/suites and Cabins plus guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays and vary greatly in size and style). Other amenities include a newly renovated Dining Room, Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a spectacular view, hot tub, full service spa & salon, sauna, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. Mountain Top Inn & Resort is an acclaimed destination wedding venue hosting weddings year-round.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Internet
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
728Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 429
  • 181
  • 68
  • 28
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Traveler2019 wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
We will be attending a wedding here soon. Our original plans were to stay the weekend. However, given the covid pandemic, we opted to change our plans and attend the outdoor wedding and not stay overnight to attend the indoor festivities. We had called the hotel 30 days prior to the event to inquire about their safety plans for large indoor gatherings, and were told they didn't have any. We asked for a full refund of our deposit and were told that since we were cancelling our room reservation 30 days from the event, they were entitled to keep roughly $250 of our deposit. The only reason we opted not to stay is due to the covid pandemic, and our wish to stay away from indoor gatherings. At the time of the reservation, things seemed to be improving, but the latest news indicates the opposite. Given the extenuating circumstance of a worsening global pandemic, we should have been given a full refund. Very disappointed by this lack of customer service. I do not recommend this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded Sep 16, 2021
Dear Traveler 2019, We take Covid-19 with the utmost seriousness and are taken aback by the misinformation in your review. We respect your decision not to travel at this time, however your accusations are unwarranted. Not having stayed at our resort, you have not experienced our Covid-19 protocols. Our guests, team members, partners and neighbors have been our top priority throughout. We abide by ALL Vermont state health & safety/Covid-19 guidelines (a state which has successfully achieved the country’s lowest caseload numbers by employing the most cautious of mandates and protocols). With state mandates relaxed since June, we have continued to go above and beyond state guidelines– this is evidenced by the information posted on our website’s home page and in our pre-arrival e-newsletter sent to all guests. In these we convey many of our covid-related health & safety protocols (including but not limited to the masking of team members indoors), and we follow-up on-property with actions such as posted signage reminding non-vaccinated guests to mask-up. Perhaps there was confusion regarding your question – as there are currently ‘no covid related state protocols for those traveling to/from Vermont’. In addition to our resort protocols (which are actively revised in direct correlation to covid caseload statistics and proven best practices), many of our wedding couples are insisting that all of their guests are vaccinated or provide proof of negative test prior to attending their wedding. Across the board we are doing (and have done) our best to ensure the safest environment – for everyone. For cancellations within 30 days (an agreement which is clearly conveyed upon making a reservation*) we have amended our policy for (and respect) those who are concerned regarding travel, by offering the additional option of crediting the full deposit toward a future stay. We work closely with resorts all over New England to ensure that our actions are in-line with best practices for our industry. If you were not satisfied with our attempt to offer additional options, than we apologize. However, stating that we have ‘no covid protocols’ is entirely inappropriate and untrue. Generally we do not respond to reviews in this way, however this is an incredibly important topic. While opinions on goods and services may vary - and therefore reviews play a very important role – you unfortunately have not experienced our resort - nor our protocols. This could be construed as utilizing a respectable travel tool (Trip Advisor) to express disappointment in our (amended to accommodate covid-related concerns) cancellation policy. Your disappointment in this respect, we regret. However misrepresentation of our health and safety protocols is unfounded. We are confident we will not only deliver a beautiful, but also the safest possible, event for the couple whose wedding you are attending. To protect everyone, we recommend that you wear a mask when in the presence of others at the event if you are not vaccinated. In general we recommend wearing a mask when indoors, in the presence of others and unable to socially distance. (*As stated in our pre-arrival documents, those exhibiting symptoms or who have been identified as a ‘close contact’ must contact us PRIOR to arrival so that alternative plans can be made. Those exhibiting symptoms while on property will be asked to leave immediately). If you have further questions regarding our Covid related protocols prior to the event you are attending, I very much welcome the opportunity to discuss this further in an effort to clarify any confusion. Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
yapmd wrote a review Aug 2021
NY629 contributions92 helpful votes
There is an activity center for guest and visitors. Booked horse riding trail rides, 1-2 hours. Did a walk trail then a canter one later that day. They no longer have the cross country course. This is more a wedding destination resort nowadays. Had lunch at the inn. It is located one floor below the inn entrance. The person at the front desk may be too busy to attend to us, so we made our way there. Lunch or tavern food OK, but cold drinks were welcomed. It was during the heat wave here. This is an isolated on the top of the hill location. Car a must! Apple or Goggle map will take you there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Happiness258626 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Went to the restaurant with 6 people. Food was average. The special was lobster ravioli, could not find the lobster. Food came out with one meal undercooked. It happens but the manager blamed our guest. Wished she just cooked it properly, but no it is our fault. No apology, won't go back, and cannot recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded Aug 13, 2021
Dear Happiness258626, We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your experience, and that we did not deliver on your expectations - nor our service goals. While the lobster ravioli (a local Vermont brand) has a smoother filling (not chunks of lobster) - we have found that they have been well received. But, clearly this was not what you were expecting. And the fact that the wellness of your meat dish (we presume a steak or burger) was not cooked to your desired temperature is something that we should have corrected immediately. I would be happy to talk to you about this further, please feel free to reach out. In the meantime, we are working with our teams to respond to customer feedback via a response more in keeping with our brand values - and the effort to not only meet your expectations, but exceed them. Sincerely,
Read more
R&R wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We reserved a luxury lodge room with 2 queen beds to sleep 3 for my wife and I and our 14 year old daughter. At check in they gave us a key to our room. They gave us a room with only one bed, no sofa sleeper. We returned to the front desk assuming they would apologize and correct their mistake. No apology, they gave us a key to another room up two flights of stairs (no elevator) with two small full beds. Too small for my wife and I to share one bed and my daughter in the other. The third trip to the front desk they admitted they gave someone else the room we had reserved and they had no others that would sleep 3 available the first night. We drug our luggage up the 2 flights of stairs to the room with two small beds as they didn’t have anyone to help us with luggage. My wife and daughter tried sleeping together in one of the beds. It didn’t go well. My daughter ended up spending the rest of the trip on the small couch with no sofa sleeper. It amazed us that they didn’t admit their mistake and apologize when we first checked in. The worst encounter the whole visit was a boat trip around the lake. We were told a guide would tell us about the lake and point out wildlife. Worst boat trip ever. The guide showed up late. Walked right past us to the boat. We told him we were there for the 1:00 tour. He didn’t introduce himself. He drove the boat like he had a chip on his shoulder. He didn’t say a word. Didn’t look at us. Didn’t show us anything. I asked him a simple question. He seemed to have no idea about anything. I called the front desk to see if we could leave a day early. They said we would have to pay full price for all the days we reserved. I asked to speak to a manager. They hung up on me. The lone bright spot for their service was when the spa let my daughter have a manicure on short notice. This is the first time I have reviewed a hotel or anything and we’ve traveled all over the world. Hope I can save someone from the same expensive strange experience we had.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded Aug 6, 2021
Dear RalphR 498, Our first response is always to thank each guest for writing a review – this is no different - Thank you. We can, of course, not apologize enough for the inconveniences during your stay. It is no excuse, but like most businesses, we are currently working with many new team members, and while our hearts were in the right place (you were given a clearly unsuitable complimentary room upgrade and your original room was unfortunately re-booked), our actions caused inconveniences that were completely avoidable. In looking at your record, it appears the last night’s stay was satisfactorily rectified, but please do not hesitate to reach out to me if we can discuss this further. All of your comments have been shared with our teams and are incredibly helpful training tools. The reminder to assist with luggage (a service we do offer, and should have executed for you immediately), the importance of looking at the ‘needs’ of the bedding configuration before issuing a complimentary upgrade, the requirement to ‘come out of one’s shell’ when conducting a guided tour around the reservoir… All of your feedback is legitimate. Clearly we did not meet your expectations, let alone exceed them. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you at our resort at another time to prove that we are worthy of the generally exceptional feedback we receive from guests. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
jg2203 wrote a review Jul 2021
New York City, New York105 contributions92 helpful votes
The MT resort is beautiful and our room was very nice. I can’t say our stay was bad but it wasn’t great either. It was fine . The hotel seemed to be taken over by weddings. The staff said all the weddings cancelled last year were moved to this yr so they have over 150 this yr. our waiter the first night seemed to be just generally annoyed that he had to wait on us. He never came back to check on us. The housekeeping staff was suppose to replace our towels and throw away the garbage. They did neither and it took several calls to get the needed towels. Luckily I booked our horseback riding and clay shooting about 2 weeks before arriving. Otherwise you could stay there and not be able to do either. The horse riding was fun. The instructor for the clay shooting was ok. I expected the food to be great. It was ok but def not great. The breakfast buffet was very basic. THe first nights dinner was good for all but me (I got sick from my fish). The hostess in the restaurant and the more jr staff seemed very friendly and helpful. All in all it was fine but nothing special.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Khele Sparks, General Manager at Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Responded Aug 6, 2021
Dear jg2203, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. And thank you for the compliments you paid to our resort. Of course, we were disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with your visit. We are indeed a popular destination wedding venue. As a 4-season venue, we host a number of weddings throughout the year – and we are very proud of our expertise in this area. However, we also work very hard to ensure that these events do not impact the stays of our non-wedding guests (and vice-versa). The size of our resort (+700 acres) helps us to deliver on that - and we hope that any events going on during your stay were not an inconvenience to you. As you noted, and thank you for bringing this up, we do highly recommend booking all activities in advance. We attempt to give priority to guests staying with us, but cannot always guarantee it at short notice. This is why our private beach, kayaks/canoes/paddle boards, pool/hot tub, fitness center, tennis courts, disc golf, sledding and lawn games are available exclusively to overnight guests. However we do welcome day visitors to partake in our paid programs such as equestrian, clay bird and skiing. We apologize for the delay in receiving fresh amenities (towels) during your stay – and thank you for your patience. We were experiencing delays with deliveries from our linen supplier (due to the staffing issues that are affecting businesses country-wide), but thankfully this has been rectified. There were a few days when shipments arrived later in the day and therefore delivery to accommodations was not as prompt as we strive to achieve. We would like to hear more about your dining experience (both the service and your dinner concerns) and would be grateful if you would reach out to us. As follow-up to your comment we have quadruple checked all of our food handling steps in order to ensure there is no concern. This is certainly an area we treat with the utmost seriousness. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Khele Sparks
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$341 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the mountain top hotel chittenden, the mountain top inn and resort, mountain top hotel
LOCATION
United StatesVermontChittenden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Baird Farm Vermont Maple Syrup (3.3 miles) and Chaffee Falls Trail (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kamuda's Country Market, The Country House, and The Wooden Barrel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mountain Top Inn & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mountain Top Inn & Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Stephen A Douglas Birthplace (9.2 miles) and Sanderson Covered Bridge (9.6 miles).
Does Mountain Top Inn & Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.