We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn Victoria

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (130)
Dining (25)
Room & Suite (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 8 B&Bs in Chester
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
5.0
Value
4.8
An elegant Victorian Inn located on the village green in Chester, where you'll find great restaurants and fascinating shops. We have nine romantic guest rooms and suites all with Queen or King bed and furnished with beautiful antiques. Each room has a private bathroom, (some with Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub) with quality toiletries, fluffy towels and guest robes. But best of all is the warm and genuine "Royal" welcome to your "Palace" in Vermont.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Books, DVDs, music for children
BBQ facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Game room
Hiking
Skiing
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French
580Reviews3Q+A88Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 559
  • 9
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sharon M wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions
+1
We felt cared for and pampered during our stay at Inn Victoria! Dan and Penny made us feel like family. Everything was comfortable and clean. The breakfasts and cookies were simply outstanding. Thank you! P.S. We were even greeted with a double rainbow!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Cote, Owner at Inn Victoria
Responded Oct 18, 2023
Fabulous! ....so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Penny's breakfasts are a rave for sure! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful post. Hope to C U back soon. God Bless Penny & Dan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul D wrote a review Sep 2023
Chesterfield, Virginia3 contributions
Dan and Penny took the reins of this inn some 10 years ago, and have generously doled out kindness and generosity for the entire time is my guess. Our experience was great and we really enjoyed the breakfasts not only for the tasty and fresh food, but also for the friendly assistance Dan found the time to help plan our days adventures. the rooms were clean,comfortable and charming. We discovered the best triple cream Vanilla bean Greek yogurt and the magic it created when served with fresh fruit. My tea-snobbish wife discovered a new fantastic English Breakfast tea much to her pleasant surprise and the coffee was awesome for the rest of our foursome. I can't say we found all of their bric a brac adornments to our liking, but that did not diminish the joy of our stay. Great food, comfortable beds, and warm and helpful hosts are the ingredients for a good B&B. Highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Settle in and enjoy!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Cote, Owner at Inn Victoria
Responded Sep 30, 2023
Soooo happy you enjoyed your visit with us and the region. We are truly blessed to live in such a beautiful area. The food....yes indeed.....and the 40 different varieties of tea! Truly the best! Thanks for taking the time to post a note. God Bless Penny & Dan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DKB863 wrote a review Aug 2023
Glenwood, Arkansas239 contributions73 helpful votes
The 5 star rating is deserved and certainly earned. When you meet the owners, Dan and Penny, you will understand why this place is the #1 B&B in Chester. I have never seen more hospitable folks. Breakfast was a 5 star meal. You fill out a paper menu the night before. Main house living room was comfy and had everything you need. Comfortable chairs on front porch and lawn. I asked about a washing machine and they offered to do my laundry. Actually, they insisted, said, 'it our job." We stayed across the street from main Inn in the loft above bookbindry. Bed was very comfortable. Constructive criticism: shower was very small, electric plug in bathroom is old school and hair dryer won't plug in it. This loft sits close to street and you will get some street noise. The air conditioner will drown out most of the street noise. Stairs are steep, be careful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Cote, Owner at Inn Victoria
Responded Aug 11, 2023
Thank you both for the wonderful note! We dearly appreciate that you liked the room and location so much that you extended your stay by an additional nite. We love what we do and appreciate your recognition of that. Thank you for taking the time to write a note. We look forward to your next trip to New England...there is much to see and experience in the region! God Bless Penny & Dan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FamilyTravel wrote a review Jun 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed at Inn Victoria on my first night of the “Vermont Inn to Inn Walking” tour. Dan and Penny are so welcoming and are very gracious hosts. I enjoyed this inn - my room was very clean and well appointed. As a part of our 4-night tour, dinner and breakfast were included. The meals were generous, well prepared and delightful. It was quiet at night and I enjoyed having the patio door ajar listening to the rain. Every request was efficiently and warmly accommodated. Thank you Penny and Dan!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Cote, Owner at Inn Victoria
Responded Oct 8, 2023
Our dear appreciation for your note....we love what we do and you nailed it!....thanks! Thanks for taking the time to post. God Bless Penny & Dan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeff S wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
I really was hoping for more after reading all the reviews. We stayed in the Prince Alfred room which was obviously not level and kind of musty. Wood smoke smell in the room and hallway. The windows were open when we arrived so perhaps just coming in the windows. We stayed in 3 B&B's on our trip and this was the most expensive and the least comfortable and least enjoyable. Breakfast was blah. The 3 small pancakes were good but the bacon was only about 1/2 inch wide after being over cooked and was hard and crunchy. Honestly, we felt ripped off when we left. People were smoking on the front porch and you had to walk through the smoke to get to your car. Parking was out front of the hotel with traffic only a foot or two away. Many tractor trailers going by depending on the time of day. There were extension cords everywhere in the room and one section of the wall was open. The one positive note is that the owner was very gracious and friendly. We will not be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Cote, Owner at Inn Victoria
Responded Apr 9, 2023
Thank you, jeffsG5494QC, for taking the time to post a note six months after your stay with us. We work hard to achieve high ratings and truly enjoy what we do. We do make mistakes and appreciate hearing about them immediately so that we can fix them for you. In the 14 years we have owned Inn Victoria, we have made a ton of mistakes; personal & timely feedback is dearly helpful. Breakfast is a 3 course, home made, all you can eat delight....99.9% of our guests rave about breakfast. Had we known you were dissatisfied with the size and texture of the bacon, we would have gladly made changes for you. Yes, from time to time the neighbors or our own garden fire pit, may migrate smoke into open windows; and is likely the cause of what you describe. Cigarette smoking anywhere on the property is prohibited.....so sorry someone on the front porch was smoking the day you were here. We have been lax in holding to that standard for the front porch; your post has prompted us to be more diligent at holding guests accountable. Inn Victoria is an historic property in the center of a quintessential New England village. Yes, parking is on the street, to the rear of the building in a quiet lot with EV hook-ups for electric cars, and at the village green....lots of choices. Because the property is 175 years old, not all of the floors are as level as one would find at a modern box hotel. The character of your room is indeed beautiful; sporting a fireplace, gorgeous antique furniture, a modern clawfoot tub, separate modern rain shower, above counter sink with high quality antique looking hardware. This is indeed a special room, and at the time, in the process of doing a small renovation hidden behind a chair near the fireplace area. The extension cords are actually power strips with GFCI and surge protectors which provide your computer and phone hook ups with protection from electrical surges.....a nice amenity. We dearly appreciate your desire to share these concerns with us, had we known the day you were here we could possibly have made some changes for you. Thank you God Bless, on this Easter Sunday morning Penny & Dan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lyndsey H wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
We had high hopes for this place considering the price and good reviews. The host was not helpful as far as the blow up hot tub functioning. She also walked into our room at 9 AM without knocking AND the door was locked. She unlocked the door without permission and DID NOT even bother to knock. I was in my underwear and my significant other was woken up frantically out of a sleep. Barely an apology then we felt rushed to leave. Mind you check out isn’t until 11AM. I found this unsettling and completely inappropriate. Not worth the cost. Also had a musty /smoke smell in the entire building. Slept terrible. And when we first arrived we found one of the 2 beds in our room had all the pillows taken off of it and piled up on a chair. I brought in my own pillow because I was not positive they had been properly cleaned?? Uncomfortable experience overall. Unfortunate as this place could have potential with more effort put in from staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Cote, Owner at Inn Victoria
Responded Apr 8, 2023
Thank you 877lyndseyh for taking the time to post this note. So sorry your stay was uncomfortable. As you know we have owned Inn Victoria for 14 years and are blessed to have received in excess of 560+ exceptional reviews in that period of time, largely due to following customer service standards that we established years ago. For example: Room entry is accomplished only through an initial knock and a repeated knock if no response, then entry with careful attention to potential guests that may indeed be in the room. This is standard practice in the industry, world-wide. Because Bonnie did not hear a response after the second knock, she entered. As you know there is a small hallway directly upon entry and she only saw one of you, a quick apology and exit was appropriate. Such a circumstance is not intended to cause harm, nor embarrassment...it is industry best practice to assure the safety of our guests as well as the housekeeper. Use of the hot tub....Bonnie offered you access to the hot tub even though the room did not come with access to it. That hot tub is a "softub", reserved for the two rooms directly accessing it from the first-floor deck. Bonnie gave you access as a measure of customer service....above and beyond your room's amenities. The tub does not require directions, as it is an automatic circulating "Softub". The smell you noticed was from a smoker who broke the house rules, as this is a non-smoking property. We were not able to discover the smoker until the next morning. The pillows you found off of one bed and placed onto a chair was indeed a housekeeping error and were simply left on the chair during the cleaning of the room and not placed onto the 2nd bed as should have been....sorry! I am glad you had the forethought to bring your own pillow! Raising the specter that perhaps the pillows were not clean is not a fair statement. Each of these concerns could easily have been talked through with us and resolved immediately had you told us. You had our personal cell number and we requested you to call us if you had any questions or concerns during your stay....I learned of these concerns through your post today and not afforded the opportunity to make changes for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
eileenda9 wrote a review Jan 2023
Worthington, Massachusetts38 contributions2 helpful votes
We loved our 3 nights at Inn Victoria. Penny and Dan were excellent hosts, paying attention to our needs and yet giving us as much privacy as we wanted. The Inn is beautiful....you could spend an afternoon perusing the common rooms and the antiques adorning them! Breakfast was scrumptious. Coffee, tea and afternoon cookies set out every day. Our hosts were well informed of all activities nearby and sent us off in the direction for some fantastic snowshoeing on freshly fallen snow. They know this area so well and can recommend whatever you might be craving or desiring to explore!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: We loved the Princess Alice room, though facing the street, very quiet-much romance and character...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Cote, Owner at Inn Victoria
Responded Jan 23, 2023
And what a wonderful weekend it was...indeed. This week we have an incredible amount of beautiful snow that you would love to have had. So in addition to the 40 different varieties of tea, home made cookies, great antiques, 3 Thomas Kinkade paintings, and two hosts that LOVE people...we now have access to great skiing, horse drawn sleigh rides, and awesome snowshoeing.....winter has finally arrived! Thanks for taking the time to post such a great note.....can't wait for our return! God Bless Penny & Dan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
M P wrote a review Jan 2023
Albany, New York39 contributions6 helpful votes
Penny and Dan were outstanding hosts for our New Years Eve murder mystery visit. From the moment we met them they declared that while there we were "family" and they treated us as such. The Room we stayed in (Princess Alice) was clean and comfortable and quite inviting. Both Penny and Dan worked so hard at preparing meals and at facilitating the evening of the murder mystery - and an earlier scavenger hunt. The only negative associated with our visit was that we had to leave! We wanted to stay even longer but we had to return to the "real world". We thoroughly enjoyed our all too short escape and figuring out who the mystery murderer was (for which we received a prize). If you are looking for a lovely escape, Inn Victoria is a place to consider. Dan and Penny are wonderful hosts. Review written by my murder mystery character "Ford Escort". 1/1/23
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Cote, Owner at Inn Victoria
Responded Jan 8, 2023
LOLOLOL....ok, Mr Ford Escort, you are amazing! Love your post and dearly appreciate that you took the time to do so. The Murder Mystery was indeed a blast. We'll be doing another for the new Years Eve weekend 2023-24. Hope you can joins us again! The two of you did a GREAT job with your parts! God Bless Penny & Dan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Miriam A wrote a review Sep 2022
New York City, New York3 contributions
We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely cozy inn, with two common room full of antiques, a front porch and a lovely garden to hang out in. Our room, one of the smallest in the inn, was comfortable.The breakfasts were wonderful. We were there 3days and each day, we were treated to a fresh fruit dish, a home made breakfast pastry and a delicious breakfast entree, made from or served with local ingredients. We’re not tea drinkers, but we were tempted to try one of the 40 varieties of tea they have, served in tea pots. The inn is also very convenient to the center of the village and to other local villages like Grafton and Weston. But what made the inn special were the innkeepers themselves, Penny and Dan. They were both friendly and warm and took time from their busy schedules to help us decide on day trips or just to chat. We would definitely stay there again when we are in this lovely area of Vermont again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Cote, Owner at Inn Victoria
Responded Jan 8, 2023
Wow.....what a nice post. We dearly appreciate you taking the time to do so. We LOVE what we do, and have been doing so for 13 years....Inn Keeping is a wonderful life. You blessed us with your stay, thank you. Can't wait for your return. God Bless Penny & Dan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jsliwa29apex wrote a review Sep 2022
Lancaster, Massachusetts57 contributions47 helpful votes
my wife and i stayed one night as part of the inn to inn hiking tour which i suggest you try and thoroughly enjoyed it here. dan and penny are great hosts who are very cordial and have a great sense of humor.the food is very fresh and tasty and you don't leave hungry.the inn reflects its historical past and is full of interesting things to look at. would definitely stay again and highly recommend !! thanks again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Cote, Owner at Inn Victoria
Responded Sep 6, 2022
WOW....what a testimony! Thank you so much. YES, the Vermont Inn to Inn Walking Tour is a home grown walking experience that is loved by thousands!....take a look at our latest Ad in Yankee Magazine! Thanks so much for taking the time to share a post. God Bless Penny & Dan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chester area.
PRICE RANGE
$393 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn victoria hotel chester
LOCATION
United StatesVermontChester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INN VICTORIA - Prices & B&B Reviews (Chester, VT)

Frequently Asked Questions about Inn Victoria
Which popular attractions are close to Inn Victoria?
Nearby attractions include Sage Jewelry and Gifts (0.1 miles), DaVallia Gallery & Boutique (0.1 miles), and Sharon's On The Common (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn Victoria?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Inn Victoria?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Inn Victoria?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn Victoria?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn Victoria?
Conveniently located restaurants include Country Girl Diner, MacLaomainn's Scottish Pub, and Southern Pie Cafe.
Is Inn Victoria located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Chester.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Inn Victoria?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn Victoria?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Fort at No. 4 Open Air-Museum & Historic Landmark (Seasonal) (8.6 miles) and Eureka Schoolhouse and Baltimore Covered Bridge (6.7 miles).
Is Inn Victoria accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.