We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Mountain Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Black Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 88: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel/motel is a real find. It might not suit everyone but the rooms/ bathrooms were spotless The beds were comfortable and all the amenities you could want were provided. Pool was clean and lovely sun trap. The owner/manager was so accommodating- she provided everything we needed and that includes a fantastic breakfas

Helpful?
Thank JenandPatrick
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The motel is family owned and very personable. a Lil Outdated, but clean! and the air conditioner in our room was new and kept our room very cool. Self service breakfast was included but the owner is so so sweet so made all our waffles for us and had home baked muffins as well as other breakfast items, Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank robbuck61
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Black Mountain Inn with four other families. We were attending the Green River music Festival and it happened to be a rainy weekend so we spent more time at the hotel then usual. Property is dated, a little musty. New carpets in the rooms. The beds are small. Bathrooms have been updated, but are tiny with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette L
Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wasn't sure what to expect when I walked in. The woman at the front desk was very friendly. My room was on the 2nd floor - don't think they have an elevator. This is motel where entrance to rooms is on outside. Floor on second level was creaky but a surprise when I opened the door. Immediately inside was... More 

Helpful?
Thank WeChooseTravel
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. Customer service here is paramount and we make certain that all our guests are welcomed in a friendly and sincere manner. We strive to provide a level of customer service that is atypical in our price range. You are correct, no elevators here, our building has exterior access where you can park... More 

Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed overnight for a function in Keene. the front desk woman was very friendly and helpful. the breakfast offered hard boiled eggs, make your own waffles, muffins, cereal, bagels, juice , coffee and she( i forgot her name) was on hand if you needed anything. the pool looked clean and inviting but we did not have time to use... More 

Helpful?
Thank yankeefan13
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you would return when your travels bring you back to Vermont, as you found a clean, comfortable room at a good value! Our rooms are well appointed, clean and the breakfast is full of variety. As you noticed, we are in the midst of several upgrades including furniture, bedding,... More 

Billerica, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

We stayed at the motel a couple of weeks ago. It is very outdated, room smelled musty, floor was creaky and it was very noisy. The pool was in need of repairs. Many tiles were missing and there was even a broken one on the ground next to the steps that could have cut someone. There were several rowdy teen... More 

Helpful?
Thank ReneHou
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are disappointed that you did not have a positive experience, but some of the issues you experienced were not completely in our control. We are an older property and you will find some creaks in the floor boards, it is part of the way the wood in an older building settles. The carpet, however... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brattleboro hotels

Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

i stayed here for 5 weeks while working as a travel nurse, I was alone with 2 dogs and I was nervous.. this motel was very welcoming and had such a family environment, I felt very safe and my room was clean , the bedding was clean as well as the bathrooms and the rest of my room, The entire... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelly B
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your warm and kind words about our property and staff. The entire staff has enjoyed the time you and your pooches spent here and it does our hearts good to know that you felt at home here. We want all our guests to feel safe, comfortable and welcome. The housekeeping staff are prideful young woman... More 

Ayer's Cliff, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

I booked this motel online (not directly with hotel) as was traveling alone and didn't want to pay more than necessary, yet be safe. Being familiar with the area, I wanted to enjoy venturing the funky shops downtown yet also be in a clean room that offered me a good night's sleep, refrig, micro, quiet environment, firm mattress, good linens,... More 

Helpful?
Thank suzi d
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and pointing out how well appointed our guestrooms are. We have carefully considered our guest rooms for comfort, cleanliness and function. We are happy to hear that we fit the bill for your needs. Our staff is available 24 hours for your convenience and safety, and as you stated, we are all happy to be... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

Good place to stay. 3 of us like staying at Mom-n-Pop places not chains and this one was perfect for us. Large rooms, everything clean, comfortable beds and friendly personnel. Breakfast was included with plenty of choices (bagels, fruit, cereal, waffles, etc.) Parking right in front of the door which is something we like. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank griffin22016
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate that you make an active decision to seek out businesses that are local, family owned operations, not large corporate investor chains. It is means so much to have that support. We do our part to ensure that our property offers all that our guests' need, at a price they can afford, and... More 

Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

The Black Mountain Inn is a great place to stay whether it's just for overnight or a vacation in the Brattleboro area. The motel rooms are large and well appointed the beds were comfortable. There is also a microwave, coffee maker and mini refrigerator in the room. All the rooms have been renovated and nicely decorated. Tina and Monica were... More 

Helpful?
Thank BRPeters
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amzing review of our inn. We have put in an enormous effort into decorating our room with respect our locale and history and have appointed out guest rooms with useable amenities as you pointed out. We want our guests to have the comforts they expect from chain hotels, but with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 11 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just yards from Interstate 91, Route 5 and 9 intersection, we are in the heart of the tri state area and gateway to beautiful Vermont. Our rooms have been renovated recently and are well equipped with microwave, refridgerators,free wifi,32 inch LED TV's with several great channels including HBO and Cinamax. We also feauture Evergreen rooms-with water and air filtration. Our continental breakfast is also free and includes bagels and cream cheese, fresh fruit,and hard boiled eggs. We are an outstanding value and strive to provide our guests clean and comfortable rooms with thought and care. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Mountain Inn

Address: 959 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-9048 (Formerly America's Best Inn Brattleboro)
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Price Range: $75 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Black Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brattleboro Best Inn
Best Inn Brattleboro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay