We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Black Mountain Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Black Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms we stayed in had recently been updated. Loved the colors and decor. The outdoor pool was well kept. The best part of this hotel were the people who own and run it. They were amazing!! They went over and beyond to accommodate us. And the breakfast spread was awesome. She even made home made muffins and doughnuts to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you loved our place as much as we do. The guestrooms are updated with new carpet, furniture, artwork, lighting with additional outlets for all your electronic devices and flat screen TV's. Our outdoor pool is cleaned regularly and a great way to enjoy the summer sun! Customer... More 

Rockaway Park, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you need a quick, inexpensive stop over in Brattleboro suitable for family and fur family, this place is it! While the accommodations are not luxury standard (so!), we appreciated the care and effort by the owners/staff. Breakfast is basic, lovely and the homemade chocolate mini muffins were a quaint, charming touch. We didn't use the pool, (no time), but... More 

Helpful?
Thank AliKase
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. You hit us on the mark, we are not a fancy upscale accomodation, but for the price point and in Brattleboro, we are so happy to hear you feel we are an excellent value with clean, comfortable rooms and a great continental breakfast. And yes... our muffins are homemade by a lovely woman on... More 

Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first time staying at this hotel. We come to Brattleboro vt several times a year and have tried just about every hotel. They are either too pricey, or the pits. We where happy with the rate we had.we where on the second floor and very surprised by the large size of the room. King bed. Very clean,... More 

Helpful?
Thank catcoffey
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback and wonderful review of our inn. We have a warm, welcoming family environment here-we are not run by corporate investors or large chains. Here, we try to offer our guests a clean, comfortable room at competitive price point in the Brattleboro area. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed having your cup of... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Saw on TripAdvisor and was unsure how place would be but it was a very cute hotel/Inn. Definitely could tell they have made updates and breakfast was nice too. The lady is also super nice too who manages Inn. All and all its a nice place for price and to get away for night :)

Helpful?
1 Thank grmp10
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed the property. We are a family run place and take great care in regards to upgrades, amenities and breakfast. We try to provide the best in customer service and a warm ambiance at a great value. We are glad to hear we were a nice night... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel/motel is a real find. It might not suit everyone but the rooms/ bathrooms were spotless The beds were comfortable and all the amenities you could want were provided. Pool was clean and lovely sun trap. The owner/manager was so accommodating- she provided everything we needed and that includes a fantastic breakfas

Helpful?
1 Thank JenandPatrick
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us such a great review! We take pride in our cleanliness and comfort and work around the clock to be sure that every amenity within our price point that can be provided is. Our outdoor pool is well maintained and clean surrounded by beautiful flowers and lawn, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed soaking... More 

Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

The motel is family owned and very personable. a Lil Outdated, but clean! and the air conditioner in our room was new and kept our room very cool. Self service breakfast was included but the owner is so so sweet so made all our waffles for us and had home baked muffins as well as other breakfast items, Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank robbuck61
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a sweet review! We are a small, independant and local family run property that really and truly care about our guests, and we are so glad to hear that it shows. We are constantly doing upgrades here in terms of paint, new furniture, new carpet, flat screen TV's, and tasteful... More 

Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

We stayed at the Black Mountain Inn with four other families. We were attending the Green River music Festival and it happened to be a rainy weekend so we spent more time at the hotel then usual. Property is dated, a little musty. New carpets in the rooms. The beds are small. Bathrooms have been updated, but are tiny with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette L
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and insight. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We know that large groups have different needs than our common travellers. We try to think of all the needs that a group like yours may need. We do provide board games, puzzles and playing cards in the breakfast room... More 

Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

I wasn't sure what to expect when I walked in. The woman at the front desk was very friendly. My room was on the 2nd floor - don't think they have an elevator. This is motel where entrance to rooms is on outside. Floor on second level was creaky but a surprise when I opened the door. Immediately inside was... More 

Helpful?
Thank WeChooseTravel
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. Customer service here is paramount and we make certain that all our guests are welcomed in a friendly and sincere manner. We strive to provide a level of customer service that is atypical in our price range. You are correct, no elevators here, our building has exterior access where you can park... More 

Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

we stayed overnight for a function in Keene. the front desk woman was very friendly and helpful. the breakfast offered hard boiled eggs, make your own waffles, muffins, cereal, bagels, juice , coffee and she( i forgot her name) was on hand if you needed anything. the pool looked clean and inviting but we did not have time to use... More 

Helpful?
Thank yankeefan13
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you would return when your travels bring you back to Vermont, as you found a clean, comfortable room at a good value! Our rooms are well appointed, clean and the breakfast is full of variety. As you noticed, we are in the midst of several upgrades including furniture, bedding,... More 

Billerica, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

We stayed at the motel a couple of weeks ago. It is very outdated, room smelled musty, floor was creaky and it was very noisy. The pool was in need of repairs. Many tiles were missing and there was even a broken one on the ground next to the steps that could have cut someone. There were several rowdy teen... More 

Helpful?
Thank ReneHou
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are disappointed that you did not have a positive experience, but some of the issues you experienced were not completely in our control. We are an older property and you will find some creaks in the floor boards, it is part of the way the wood in an older building settles. The carpet, however... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brattleboro hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 11 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just yards from Interstate 91, Route 5 and 9 intersection, we are in the heart of the tri state area and gateway to beautiful Vermont. Our rooms have been renovated recently and are well equipped with microwave, refridgerators,free wifi,32 inch LED TV's with several great channels including HBO and Cinamax. We also feauture Evergreen rooms-with water and air filtration. Our continental breakfast is also free and includes bagels and cream cheese, fresh fruit,and hard boiled eggs. We are an outstanding value and strive to provide our guests clean and comfortable rooms with thought and care. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Mountain Inn

Address: 959 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-9048 (Formerly America's Best Inn Brattleboro)
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Price Range: $65 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Black Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brattleboro Best Inn
Best Inn Brattleboro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay