We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Mountain Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Black Mountain Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
MA
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place was awful. Each room smelled like smoke. The bathroom was dirty and seriously outdated. Staff was rude. Complementary breakfast was gross. There are many people that actually live at this hotel and the all have dogs that bark. Its very sketchy. Like a pay by the hour motel.It was not advertised this way and also it was wayyyy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heatherAMA
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Our sincerest apologies that your stay with us was not enjoyable. We have completed several upgrades since your stay and are in the process of more currently. Our entire property is non smoking and we work hard to maintain and enforce the non smoking laws in Vermont. We have painted ceilings, washed and painted walls and trim to keep things...

Belchertown, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

A last minute plan brought us to a one night visit to this quaint and enjoyable inn. The room was very clean and "roomy", the staff was friendly and very helpful, and the breakfast was excellent (very complete and fresh). We will definitely return whenever we are in that area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grandma1993
Poland, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent just one night at the Black Mountain Inn on a recent fall trip to New England. We stayed since we wanted to visit a local restaurant our family had gone to in the summer. The Black Mountain Inn was clean, but dated and taking the luggage up to the second floor without an elevator was an issue. Front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DLThomas59
Whitman, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed one night for a business road trip. The room was very clean and rather updated. The staff is super friendly and breakfast was pretty good too. I will come again if I need to stay in the area again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eventgallb
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would like to say that this place has felt as much like home for the last 2 weeks as any place could possibly be. Anything our family needed including accommodations for my service animal were made. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. I am a little sad we have to move on and will not be staying any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
New York
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Stayed one night with two small dogs. Room was clean and quiet, but don't expect any state of the art amenities. No elevator to second floor. Breakfast was simple but very nice. Plenty of parking. There was a pool but it was closed for the winter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_pugs
Franklin, Massachusetts
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Recently spent one night at the Black Mt Inn for a local event. It is a motel style building and we, fortunately, had a room on the 2nd floor. While this is likely not the most luxurious place to stay in the area, it was great for a brief stay on a budget. The room was very reasonably prices compared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatelynE15
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Our second-floor room was clean, quiet and did not smell like smoke. Though walking past the first floor rooms, the smell of smoke was considerable. Breakfast was waffles, cereal, bagels and breads and cereals and hard boiled eggs. Nothing special but perfectly passable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Bathroom was clean but could use some updating. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our motel and support. We are a small, independant and locally run property. We are not a cookie cutter experience:our building, property grounds and guest rooms have a unique charm and charachter. We work hard to update our guest rooms and provide a continental breakfast with care and variety. Our guest rooms are non...

Bucks
Reviewed October 20, 2016

This is a 2 storey motel type of building, with parking in front of each room, if you are on the 1st level. There is no lift for the second floor. The room was spacious enough but was quite dated and in need of an upgrade. Everything was clean and it did work. Breakfast was fairly basic but each day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woggsy
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Motels are exterior corridor lodging facilties, where unless in year round temperate climates, elevators are not practical. We agree our guest rooms are on the large side, especially compared to many of the new hotels with their elevators! We have recently upgraded the guestrooms extensively to include carpet, seating, furniture and bedding. The curtains will...

Asbury Park, NJ
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We recently spent two nights at the Black Mountain Inn. The room we chose was the hot tub room. I would avoid that in the future because the smell of the chlorine was enough to make you choke. Forgetting the chlorine though it was a fine and affordable hotel. The rooms haven't been updated in a while, but they offered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank APJrzGrrl
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have spoke to the spa service company about the chlorine smell from the hot tub, and they have made necessary adjustments. Thank you for letting us know that the smell was too intense. Otherwise, we are so happy to hear that you had a fine stay! We do have a variety of pillow types...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Brattleboro
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 11 in Brattleboro
507 reviews
2.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 11 in Brattleboro
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just yards from Interstate 91, Route 5 and 9 intersection, we are in the heart of the tri state area and gateway to beautiful Vermont. Our rooms have been renovated recently and are well equipped with microwave, refridgerators,free wifi,32 inch LED TV's with several great channels including HBO and Cinamax. We also feauture Evergreen rooms-with water and air filtration. Our continental breakfast is also free and includes bagels and cream cheese, fresh fruit,and hard boiled eggs. We are an outstanding value and strive to provide our guests clean and comfortable rooms with thought and care. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Mountain Inn

Address: 959 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-9048 (Formerly America's Best Inn Brattleboro)
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Price Range: $57 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Black Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brattleboro Best Inn
Best Inn Brattleboro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Black Mountain Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Black Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A ground-floor room made things easier for my husband who is legally blind.”
 of 5 bubbles Grandma1993, 1 week ago | Read review
“Check the room before you move in. I switched rooms with no problem at all.”
 of 5 bubbles Traveling_pugs, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for second floor. It seems cleaner.”
 of 5 bubbles 867jennifern, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“avoid the hot tub room”
 of 5 bubbles APJrzGrrl, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“Inspect the room first!”
 of 5 bubbles 892frank1951, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay