We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hollow Inn and Motel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hollow Inn and Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 120: English reviews
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was a little worried as I did not originally chose to stay here (problem with original reservation at a different place fell through), and I read other reviews. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised - you can tell they are really trying to improve the place. The room was clean and very spacious. Staff were very helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank CapeSprouts
CT
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Check in was a breeze, since we pre-paid. Received the key, was told breakfast times and wi-fi information. Room had 2 queen size beds, that were comfortable, refrig, microwave, coffee maker, 2 burner stove top, kitchen sink and cabinets. Small flat screen tv hung on the wall. Rug looked clean. Bathroom had no towel rack, just a hook high up... More 

Helpful?
Thank pigismom
Dunnville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived we were on motorcycle & we wanted a room where we could park the motorcycle close. To us, the staff went out of their way to accommodate us, they were so helpful & friendly. The room was very spacious & up to date. As a bonus the breakfast was delicious the next morning. We would stay again... More 

Helpful?
Thank normagreaves
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really liked this place! Our room was nice. There was a small kitchen area with cupboards, sink, microwave and mini fridge. WiFi connection was great. The gentleman at check-in was very friendly and helpful! The Inn was quiet and clean. I would definitely stay again!

Helpful?
2 Thank Kim M
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Kim M for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We are humbled by your kind words. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. - IJ Hollow Inn & Motel More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful hotel! Stayed in the main building. All updated, new, clean. Quaint. Friendly staff. Fabulous continental breakfast. Highly recommend. Will stay in this hotel again when we visit Vermont again. Lovely. Thank you for a wonderful hotel experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bambi S
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Bambi S for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We are humbled by your kind words. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. - IJ Hollow Inn & Motel More 

Guilford, Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

Our visit began with a friendly greeting by the gentleman at the desk. We were given a room--really a suite--in the inn section, in the same building as the reception desk. Besides a king sized bed, there was a separate sitting room with couch. The furnishings were all recently updated. For similar rooms I've often paid twice, and even thrice,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank eastmagicmountainman
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you eastmagicmountainman for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We are humbled by your kind words. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. - IJ Hollow Inn & Motel More 

East Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

We stayed at the Hollow Inn and Motel for 2 nights for my daughter's graduation from Norwich University. Our other daughter and son-in-law also stayed there. There are inside rooms in the inn, as well as outside rooms at the motel. Ours was a motel room. The room was huge! There was a living room when you walked in, with... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank luvus29
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you luvus29 for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We are really sorry for the inconvenience while checking out. Please stay with us again and we will like to offer 15% Off. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. - IJ Hollow Inn & Motel More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

We were looking for a place for the night and saw the reviews. The room was very large. Someone complained about the mattresses. They seemed fine to me. I tried to look at them but they were wrapped up in mattress covers so I gave up. The room was very clean. The building is older and some things were not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingdude2
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Travellingdude2 for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We always strive to provide best customer service in budget price. We are renovating very soon. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. - IJ Hollow Inn & Motel More 

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

This isn't the ritz, but it was good value. Free breakfast and free wifi. Very spacious rooms. Clean. Our TV didn't work, but we never asked about it so the remote might have just needed batteries. I had to pester them to get a confirmation email, but they responded after that.

Helpful?
1 Thank puffycoombes
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you puffycoombes for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We always strive to provide best customer service in budget price. We are renovating our property soon. You will have everything fixed during your next stay. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. - IJ Hollow Inn & Motel More 

clifton, tn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

Very accommodating friendly people. Breakfast is served st 6 am. There is s hot tub and pool. Rooms are larger than normal. Older establishment but a good place to stay. We were a large group and overall happy. I wish they served hot foods other than waffles.

Helpful?
3 Thank chaplain1
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you chaplain1 for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We always strive to provide best customer service in budget price. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. - IJ Hollow Inn & Motel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
16.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
4.3 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Hollow Inn Barre Montpelier Vermonts best choice for reasonably priced comfortable and clean accommodations with friendly hospitable service We have all of the amenities to make your stay in central Vermont charming relaxing and enjoyable Each room comes furnished with a TV VCR microwave refrigerator coffee maker iron ironing board and hairdryer and we also offer a nice selection of videos for your movie viewing pleasure Enjoy a fast connection with our Wireless High Speed Internet Access from your room ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hollow Inn and Motel

Address: 278 S Main St, Barre, VT 05641-4829
Location: United States > Vermont > Barre
Price Range: $81 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollow Inn and Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hollow Inn and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Barre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay