We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a cozy B&B to stay at for the night while we explored Northern Vermont over the course of two days. Maplecroft was just what we had hoped for. From the moment you check in, Dan is a welcoming host, and Barney the dog is excited to meet you. We stayed in the George...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilyTravels81
Norwich, Vermont
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Maplecroft B&B is a lovely Victorian house with sweeping front porch. The owners, Dan and Yasunari, have thought through everything and made it all just right. Included is an excellent breakfast at a shared table (I found most congenial co-guests). The B&B is located a short walk from the main intersection of Barre. The downtown has undergone a vigorous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterBrink
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Being from Barre originally, I was pleasantly surprise on the location and the beauty of this home. I have found my place to stay when i return to Barre to visit family. There is a lot of history for me in this location, as i went to high school next door and i was born across the street! I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RRV65
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Maplecroft is an Interesting home with delicious food, and welcoming hosts. It's right in downtown Barre within walking distance to restaurants. I particularly liked the books about Barre available to guests. Great welcome to Barre Vermont.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KSH1370
Manchester
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Yasunari and Dan have created a very comfortable place to stay. They were both welcoming and obviously enjoy being hosts. I found the Tower room comfortable and nicely appointed with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom, 10' down the hall, was modern and roomy. It would have been nice to find a bath robe in the room to facilitate the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TLM1940
Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Maplecroft. Overall, the hosts are very nice. Dan is the main contact throughout your stay. We were welcomed in a warm and friendly manner and had a chat before being shown to our room. The house is old and, as it still retains a lot of the original parts, gives it an air of 'time...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lizand30
maplecroft, Owner at Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Since you obviously felt so strongly about the one issue of not getting your room serviced the second day, I would like to make a few comments surrounding it. Unlike other types of commercial establishements, small B&B's like ours tend to be very personal in our business operation by nature. After all, it is our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Its a nice B&B with good breakfast but an unfair cancellation policy. We booked for 3 nights but cancelled the last night 48 hours before the night in question yet they still charged us the full rate for the last night. Although their policy states cancellation times relative to arrival date, a normal person would assume that applies to cancelling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve L
maplecroft, Owner at Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We appreciated your comment you made during the breakfast that it was the best sourdough bread you ever had "including one month in Paris". We understand your frustration but our cancellation policy is industry standard, not unusual or unfair. It is stated clearly in your reservation confirmation that "if you cancel ANY PART of your...

moraga
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I drove through Barre during a New England tour because my mother was born there and her father had worked there as a stone mason. Dan was very helpful in our casual genealogy search, directing us to the local Granite Association, which lead to our contacting a distant relative. Yasunari's breakfast was elegant and delicious, and his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William R
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed September 14, 2012

It is a beautiful place - old victorian building, each room has its own style, new clean stylish bathrooms, great breakfast and wonderful owner, who lets everybody enjoy his piano play in the evenings. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
New Jersey
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had booked the Tower Room for a Friday and Sunday night. It was an unusually warm and humid Friday which made the second floor room quite uncomfortable, We opened the windows, but the traffic was quite loud. We borrowed a fan from the hallway around midnight. It was disappointing to see a window airconditioner in the closet, which sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vcwallflowers
maplecroft, Owner at Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you had an uncomfortable night of sleep. Typical overnight temperature this time of year in Vermont is in the 50's and we had had several nights when it got down to mid 40's. So, we had just taken down the air conditioners that are least tightly fitting in our old windows...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
466 reviews
6.0 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
0.2 mi away
Firehouse Inn
Firehouse Inn
#2 of 4 in Barre
36 reviews
5.6 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast

Address: 70 Washington St, Barre, VT 05641-4209
Location: United States > Vermont > Barre
Price Range: $129 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Minneapolis
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose the apartment for maximum occupancy and privacy. A good value for 3 or 4 people. Other rooms are charming and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles mollys180, Feb 5, 2017 | Read review
“The suite is spacious and comfortable. Pay a little more, but it is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeN823, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“We liked out room, first one on your left on second floor. Can't remember the name. Did not see the other rooms but it's a large house.”
 of 5 bubbles Townie-TRIP, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
“Tower Room is great!”
 of 5 bubbles NewEnglandDavid, Aug 14, 2016 | Read review
“The Tower Room where we stayed was large and comfortable with an air conditioner, a ceiling fan and a claw foot tub.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciagQ7323JH, Jul 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question