We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark

Traveler (14)
Room & Suite (14)
Pool & Beach (6)

About

#7 of 13 hotels in West Valley City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Brand new in Summer of 2009, the Holiday Inn Express in West Valley City, Utah is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off I-215 and just south of I-80, our contemporary designed property is surrounded by majestic mountains and within walking distance to a variety of restaurants and entertainment. Our hotel is minutes from downtown Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City International Airport, Temple Square, USANA Amphitheatre, Rocky Mountain Raceway, Valley Fair Mall, E-Center (home of the Utah Grizzlies), Utah Olympic Oval, Hale Centre Theatre, Hogle Zoo, Energy Solutions Arena (home of the Utah Jazz), and the new Gateway Mall. We are a short drive from many premier ski resorts such as Snowbird, Alta, Brighton, Solitude, Park City Mountain Resort, Deer Valley and The Canyons. You will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary breakfast buffet featuring a variety of hot items, business center, fitness room, meeting space, wired and wireless, high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy our 3 story water park featuring 3 pools including a zero entry wading pool, a 183 foot water slide, heated whirlpool, party room, arcade, concession area, and a wet and wild jungle gym. We are confident that your stay in West Valley City will be a memorable experience and you ll have mountains of fun, so Stay Smart!
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Tennis Court
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Save More on Your Rate
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
37Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
6Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
138Reviews
4Q+A
27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 49
  • 48
  • 20
  • 11
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Spent one night at this Holiday Inn in May 2019. Nice hotel, friendly staff, clean comfortable room and bed. We were on the top floor so noise was minimal. We also always run the room fan to drown out any noise that does come from streets or people. Breakfast room was good sized, breakfast was good and well stocked. Others have listed the things on the breakfast buffet, so I won't repeat the list. There should be something here for everyone. This hotel met our needs and we would stay here again if we were in the area. There was a movie theater a mile or so away in a shopping center, so that might be of interest to some. Had a good experience here and would stay again.
Read more
Do not stay here if you are attracted by having the idea of a "waterpark" on site. The chlorination smell is overwhelming - even down the halls of the hotel. The bigger disappointment is the temperature of the water. It was unsafe and way too cold. Kids everywhere had lips turning blue and were shivering. The overall room of the pool was also too cold. Finally, the slide had huge lines and limited hours. The breakfast was nice and well appointed, especially the automatic pancake maker. The bathroom was nice and very modern. There is a large, frameless, glass shower (but no tub) in the bathroom. The room was modern and clean. Average size and accommodations. Overall I was disappointed because the pool was unusable to us.
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear thehippoguy, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations regarding our pool. We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, we will use your comments to coach our team in order to provide a better experience in the future. I sincerely apologize for the experience. I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Again, thank you for sharing your comments! Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
The room was nice and clean and the pool was fun. Our biggest complaint was that they were out of everything. We wanted hot chocolate, they were out. We needed pool towels, they were out. We needed another blanket, they were out. We wanted orange juice with breakfast, they were out. There were other breakfast items that were out as well. They also stopped serving breakfast about 15 minutes before the time they were supposed to and stopped bringing out food about 30 minutes before breakfast was over so we got what was left over and weren't even finished with breakfast before they were cleaning up. The kids did like the poo but it is smaller than it appears in pictures. Great for an overnight visit. Close to a mall and restaurants.
Read more
Response from Chrisko1937, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark
Responded Apr 16, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at breakfast. It is not our intent to mishandle such situations and we regret your experience was not more positive. Again, thank you for your input.
Read more
My husband had an appointment in Salt Lake City on a Monday so we decided since we were going to make the drive out there, that we might as well make a weekend trip out of it. We originally booked our room for two night, but by the end of our stay we decided to stay one more night. Why? Because my three year old son absolutely loved the little water park! He actually ran around the little play area with some other young boys and had a blast. It was safe and clean, there are no lifeguards on duty (I think that is for the better so parents do not just drop their kids off and leave), they do provide simple yet effective life jackets. There is a really tall winding slide for the bigger kids and adults to ride down, and two other pools that offer 3' and 5' depths to swim around in. The rooms were nice and spacious, we were in a 2 Queen room. They provide breakfast up (until 10 am on some days), which was great because it was an hour ahead time change for us. They have really good egg white omelettes, bacon, sausage, pancakes, and DELICIOUS Cinnabon cinnamon rolls! That was the highlight of the buffet breakfast for me. The staff was very courteous and helpful when I inquired about our room charges upon checkout. I was just verifying that the had applied our military discount, which the had already done so. Also, their entrance has a weird off the street turn in, however their location could not be more perfect. The hotel is so close to a mall with a movie theater and bowling alley, endless restaurants to choose from and quick access to the freeway. I will definitely be coming back to this hotel.
Read more
Response from Chrisko1937, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark
Responded Apr 16, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments about our services and facilities. We hope you will come and stay with us again in the not so distant future.
Read more
We stayed here for two nights after plans to head to West Yellowstone were cancelled due to weather. It’s in a handy location, located just off the I-215. The hotel was pretty full with young families during our stay Check- In - was quick & easy as we had prepaid the room - front reception staff were friendly and cheerful on arrival - the public areas were clean and tidy Room - we were put on the first floor, close to the pool - our room was quiet and we didn’t hear any noise from those heading to the pool - our room was a good size (twin queen room) - impeccably clean - stocked with all the expected amenities (shower/bath products; coffee making; fridge etc) - beds were amazingly comfortable! We all slept like well - pillows were soft and comfortable also - ample linen supplied in our bathroom Breakfast - complimentary - consisted of pancakes; fresh fruits; breads; bagels; oatmeal; cereals; cheese omelettes; white omelettes; turkey sausage; tea/coffee/hot chocolate; selection of juices; all the spreads & condiments; yoghurts etc - the breakfast room was packed in the mornings for breakfast Parking - free - on-site - self-parking - can be tight at night Wifi - free - great connectivity - we experienced zero drop outs Pools - has pools/slides etc - our daughter only used the main pool once, as the slides weren’t open Check-Out - easy, quick! We had a very pleasant stay, as we have come to expect with Holiday Inn.
Read more
Response from Chrisko1937, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark
Responded Feb 25, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey. We appreciate your comments.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel and suites west valley city - waterpark
LOCATION
United StatesUtahWasatch RangeWest Valley City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing