We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8841 N Alpine Loop Rd, Sundance, UT 84604-5538
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$409
View deal
Expedia.com
$409
View deal
Travelocity
$409
View deal
Hotels.com$409
Priceline$409
Agoda.com$432
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (689)
Room & Suite (109)
Dining (65)

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Founded by Robert Redford in 1969, Sundance Mountain Resort is a year-round luxury mountain resort dedication to conservation, the arts, and community. We offer lodging accommodations ranging from a standard room to a four-bedroom home. We also have award-winning restaurants, shopping outlets, conference and catering services, and much more. Our Resort offers the following year-round activities: • Fly fishing • Art classes • Spa treatments • And more. We also offer the following seasonal activities: • Downhill skiing and snowboarding • Cross country skiing • Hiking and mountain biking • Horseback riding • Summer Theatre and Bluebird Cafe Concert Series • And more. "Sundance is an arts community, a recreational community, a community of people who appreciate the beauty of nature and feel the responsibility to preserve it... As you'll see, Sundance has many shapes, many moods, and many possibilities. Somewhere in our community awaits an experience which belongs to you and we are committed to helping you find it." -Robert Redford
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Ski rentals
Ski school
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Ski In / Ski Out
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
787Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 527
  • 132
  • 61
  • 30
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jennifer B wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I wrote a review last year that I was disappointed, but we did come back for our annual trip to try again. I noticed some positive changes. There is an ac unit- it won't turn on, but it's there. All the staff I met were friendly and nice. It did feel like a battle of wills to get enough fire wood up in here. We started with a near empty stack so I immediately asked for more and they brought an arm full of logs. Now it was 8pm and housekeeping isn't available late so I wanted to be sure I had enough so I asked for more (the firewood holder wasn't even half full yet) and they brought, one more arm full. I tried to make it work, but I was struggling to get the logs to stay lit and they had run out of firestarters. I eventually had to call them to start the fire for me. He got it lit and brought more wood and we were fine. The next day we ran out of wood so I called for more. 3 hours later I called back and they said again they would send someone. These guys came carrying half the amount I requested and my for had died so I needed firestarters, but they were still out. These guys were very nice and personable and I explained my wood request to be set for the night and not have to keep calling, and they totally delivered. They brought more than enough wood for the night and morning and created some kindling for me since the firestarters were gone. Excellent. That was great until we were getting low the next afternoon, knowing it can take time I called ahead to request a good amount of wood. 3 hours later my fire was dying and I was out of wood with no firestarters so I called back. They sent someone, who again just brought a small amount of wood. I talked to this guy and explained and he was again very nice and came back 30 minutes later with enough wood for the night and I've got a crackling fire I am enjoying right now. The wood fire is pretty much my favorite feature here at Sundance. It's the 1 thing I don't get anywhere else and I wait all year for it, so it's important to me. I just hate having to to keep calling and waiting around. I missed other activities because I was waiting for the wood and I knew they wouldn't deliver 4 buckets as I specifically requested on the phone because I had watched 2 buckets not be enough so I had to be there to explain when they inevitably brought the wrong amount. Eventually I got the wood, I just wish it didn't have to be such a fight. I don't care that you didn't clean my room or take me up the mountain. I didn't even try to use the shuttle services. I like the little nature trail to and from the rooms. Just give me my eternal flame and I can be such an easy guest to please. I don't enjoy nagging. Just give me what I asked for in a reasonable time so I don't have to ask again, and then again when they bring the wrong thing. Please oh please. I don't know if they are getting trained to not bring enough wood or what. They used to have big giants buckets they would drop off outside my door and that's great. I don't even need you to load it in. If I knew where the wood shed was I would get it myself. Anyways, enough about that, I just have strong feelings. I feel like the bathroom has been remodeled. I don't remember a travertine floor before and I like it. It stayed warmer with the floor heaters. I love the hot tub, love looking at the beautiful mountains. They are covered in snow in a perfectly picturesque way, but all the roads are clear. It's great. The food at the Foundry Grill was excellent. I am so so happy to have a full breakfast back! Oh noise though, we had someone move into the room above us today and it is loud!!! There is like a family party up there and we can hear every footstep. So that's kind of a bummer. You would think they'd have better noise insulation at a fancy resort. They left us tarts for coming back and I do appreciate that. The lemon tart is amazing and I bought another one today. They also offered us a free later check out tomorrow for being preferred members. I am very very excited about that. It is getting late and I get to sleep in tomorrow because I have a late check out. So that is all for now. See ya next year.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Jennifer, it is wonderful to hear all that you enjoy about Sundance! We are happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your requests in a timely manner, and that you were able to enjoy your fire during your stay. We agree, it is a wonderful! We look forward to welcoming you back next year. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geoffrey S wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Unreasonable cancellation policy. 50% of full cost of a two night stay was non-refundable even though cancellation was 3 days in advance. In these days of COVID it’s simply not acceptable to be so inflexible, particularly at a resort where cancellations are easily re-booked
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Geoffrey, we are sorry to hear that you were not able to visit and that our cancellation policy disappointed you. We hope to welcome you to the Resort in the future. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Its all beautiful the mountain etc, and as always its the people that make an experience or not and my experience here is that the staff are all "phoning it in". Its not that they do anything wrong, its that I was treated as "a person to process". My rating of 3 is because its a very average high end resort, not a place I would return to when looking for a high end resort.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
David, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is disappointing to hear that you left feeling this way. Of course our intention is to provide guests with the best experience possible, and we are sorry that did not happen for you. Your feedback is very valuable and we would like to learn more about your recent visit. Please reach out to Kurt Berman, our VP of Hospitality, at your earliest convenience. Kurt can be reached at KurtB@sundanceresort.com. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iris M wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
First and foremost I’ll go on record that I do not EVER write reviews! However I believe this story warrants a reader’s eye! Took a private driver up to Sundance to have brunch at the Foundry Grill by a friends recommendation. We arrived 15 minutes before closing. Several tables were available. Met by Brynn, the hostess! Sorry! We are closing you didn’t have a reservation! Can’t seat you! After trying to explain we made a special trip up from park city… very curt..unbending! Wouldn’t even try to accommodate us! My husband went to the open kitchen, spoke to chef Alex… AMAZING man… and chef!! … He got us a table!! When Brynn was told to seat us, she was quite unhappy and cocked an even worse attitude! I’ve never been treated like that a any restaurant! Made me VERY uneasy! Our waitress Ashley and Alex apologized…. For her!! we understand everywhere is short staffed these days , but they were eager to serve and feed us!! We had a delicious brunch!!! Called the manager Jeff and told him this story!!! He seemed very uninterested in the experience! I don’t about them!!! If it wasn’t for Ashley our waitress and Chef Alex… I would TOTALLY not recommend this place! Just make sure you make a reservation!!! And good luck if your hostess is Brynn!! She needs a lesson in good manners and how to greet people in her job position!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Iris, we are appreciative of you taking the time to share this feedback with us. We are saddened to hear that your Sundance experience was not what you, or we, had hoped that it would be. It is my understanding that we had a full restaurant at the time of your arrival, and not enough servers to seat you and provide your group with our usual standard of service. Unfortunately, there was a difference in opinion between staff which led to the confusion of whether your group could or could not be seated. We are delighted that we were able to squeeze your group in, and that you enjoyed dining with us. Your feedback has been shared with our Director of Dining and VP of Hospitality, so it can be used at a training opportunity for our Foundry Grill staff. If there is anything you'd like to discuss further, please reach out to Kurt Berman, our VP of Hospitality. Kurt can be reached at KurtB@sundanceresort.com and would be happy to assist.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vwilliv wrote a review Oct 2022
12 contributions2 helpful votes
Sundance is a tradition every October and we love going there. We love the amazing beauty and the solitude, The cabins are so rustic but charming and so peaceful. This is our 9th year going and Sundance is of our favorite places ever. The Foundry Grill has fabulous food and ambiance as well.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Make a reservation for The Foundry Grill before going. It's a great place to eat but can get...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Oct 21, 2022
It is great to hear all that you enjoy about Sundance! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C wrote a review Oct 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada2 contributions
The lodge is very very tired. Rooms are very tired and need a remodel. Photos online look a lot better than it is. A lot of the furniture was broken. DirectTV, but TVs don't stream. Our shower didn't work right. One bathroom in the entire place, and you had to run stairs to go to it. Didn't have two keys at check-in. No clear direction on how to get to your lodge-we spent a bit of time searching for it. Went to the Owl Bar and wanted to eat outside, no propane in the heaters. For the price, I wouldn't stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Place needs a gut remodel and update
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Oct 19, 2022
Jeffrey, we are sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. This is of course disappointing for us to hear, but we are appreciative of your feedback. Please reach out to Kurt Berman, our VP of Hospitality, at your earliest convenience so we can learn more about your stay. Kurt can be reached at KurtB@sundanceresort.com. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ken H wrote a review Oct 2022
Starkville, Mississippi21 contributions5 helpful votes
The accommodations we were provided were absolutely awful. Tiny room, made even smaller by the presence of a portable A/C unit. Small deck was separated from the room by about a foot. Deck was also tilted at about a 20% angle. Owl Bar and the Tree Room Restaurant were very good though. Just. It the type accommodation we expected from such a nice place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Oct 10, 2022
Ken, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed dining with us but are saddened to hear that you left the Resort feeling disappointed. We appreciate you leaving us with this feedback and would like to learn more about your experience. Please reach out to our VP of Hospitality, Kurt Berman. Kurt can be reached at KurtB@sundanceresort.com and would be happy to assist. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oli5alive wrote a review Oct 2022
Lehi, Utah1 contribution
One year ago today, 10/02/2021, my two sons, girlfriend, and her two daughters enjoyed a beautiful afternoon on the horses at Sundance, led by two of the best guides we have ever had. Our ride was from the stables to the Stewart Falls viewpoint and back... the weather was great and the views, horses and guides were just perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better experience that day at Sundance. If you are looking for a fun, romantic or just plain beautiful experience alone, with a loved one or loved ones, you can't go wrong by choosing this horse riding experience!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Oct 3, 2022
We are delighted to hear how much your family enjoyed horseback riding at Sundance! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
happysoul1111 wrote a review Sep 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada13 contributions7 helpful votes
The resort is lovely, and I’ve been wanting for years to come here. My disappointment is in the noise factor of many of the rooms, which is a deal breaker for me, especially when you come here as a respite from the busyness of life and all you hear are cars and motorcycles whizzing by in a continual parade while you’re sitting on the deck of your room. The view of the trees has a steady stream of cars in the background. Understandably that detracts from the peace and tranquility I had hoped to experience during my stay. So make sure you know the location of your room when you make a reservation. The trails are beautiful, the food is good, but to not be able to comfortably sit in your room with the windows open or on the deck to enjoy the outdoors without your head rattling cancels out all the good that is here and is the one takeaway I will have from my stay, unfortunately. I requested to be moved and was even wiling to upgrade, but nothing was available. Also, if you want a fireplace in your room, as I specifically did and paid more for it, be sure to confirm it can even be used. Another disappointment was being informed there were fire restrictions in place for a few more days, yet there was no mention of this on the website or on arrival. The restrictions are understandable, but the fireplace was a major selling point in my booking that specific room. The resort needed to be more forthcoming that yes, there is a fireplace, but no, you can’t use it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway if you’re sensitive to noise or want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Oct 3, 2022
We are appreciative of the time you took to leave us with this valuable feedback. It is disappointing to hear that the noise took away from your experience, and that you were not able to enjoy your fireplace. If there is anything you would like to discuss further, please reach out to Kurt Berman, our VP of Hospitality. Kurt can be reached at KurtB@sundanceresort.com and would be happy to learn more about your experience to see where improvements can be made. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laurel k wrote a review Sep 2022
Normal, Illinois51 contributions7 helpful votes
If you are only into skiing for the challenge & taking yourself to the limits, then Sundance is not for you. I am a senior skier & am into the "dance" of skiing, so Sundance was the perfect place for me. It is small, not crowded, quiet & beautiful. It has wooden board walks, buildings built to resemble the old West, fire pits surrounded by wooden benches. I loved the "feeling" of the place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Room Tip: Sundance is a ski resort, not a hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Sep 13, 2022
Laurel, we are so glad to hear that you enjoy visiting the Resort in the winter! We hope to welcome you back to enjoy the summer season in the future. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$312 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sundance hotel sundance
LOCATION
United StatesUtahWasatch RangeSundance
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUNDANCE MOUNTAIN RESORT - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews (Utah)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sundance Mountain Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sundance Mountain Resort?
Nearby attractions include Provo Canyon (0.2 miles), Bridal Veil Falls (3.2 miles), and Stewart Falls (1.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sundance Mountain Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Foundry Grill, The Tree Room at Sundance, and Owl Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Sundance Mountain Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sundance Mountain Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sundance Mountain Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.06 miles away from the center of Sundance.
Are pets allowed at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sundance Mountain Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sundance Mountain Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.