We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8841 N Alpine Loop Rd, Sundance, UT 84604-5538
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$291
View deal
Hotels.com
$310
View deal
Trip.com
$283
View deal
Travelocity$310
Booking.com$339
Priceline$339
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (655)
Room & Suite (109)
Dining (65)

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Founded by Robert Redford in 1969, Sundance Mountain Resort is a year-round luxury mountain resort dedication to conservation, the arts, and community. We offer lodging accommodations ranging from a standard room to a four-bedroom home. We also have award-winning restaurants, shopping outlets, conference and catering services, and much more. Our Resort offers the following year-round activities: • Fly fishing • Art classes • Spa treatments • And more. We also offer the following seasonal activities: • Downhill skiing and snowboarding • Cross country skiing • Hiking and mountain biking • Horseback riding • Summer Theatre and Bluebird Cafe Concert Series • And more. "Sundance is an arts community, a recreational community, a community of people who appreciate the beauty of nature and feel the responsibility to preserve it... As you'll see, Sundance has many shapes, many moods, and many possibilities. Somewhere in our community awaits an experience which belongs to you and we are committed to helping you find it." -Robert Redford
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Ski rentals
Ski school
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Ski In / Ski Out
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
779Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 526
  • 131
  • 60
  • 27
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
oli5alive wrote a review Yesterday
Lehi, Utah1 contribution
One year ago today, 10/02/2021, my two sons, girlfriend, and her two daughters enjoyed a beautiful afternoon on the horses at Sundance, led by two of the best guides we have ever had. Our ride was from the stables to the Stewart Falls viewpoint and back... the weather was great and the views, horses and guides were just perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better experience that day at Sundance. If you are looking for a fun, romantic or just plain beautiful experience alone, with a loved one or loved ones, you can't go wrong by choosing this horse riding experience!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
happysoul1111 wrote a review Sep 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada13 contributions7 helpful votes
The resort is lovely, and I’ve been wanting for years to come here. My disappointment is in the noise factor of many of the rooms, which is a deal breaker for me, especially when you come here as a respite from the busyness of life and all you hear are cars and motorcycles whizzing by in a continual parade while you’re sitting on the deck of your room. The view of the trees has a steady stream of cars in the background. Understandably that detracts from the peace and tranquility I had hoped to experience during my stay. So make sure you know the location of your room when you make a reservation. The trails are beautiful, the food is good, but to not be able to comfortably sit in your room with the windows open or on the deck to enjoy the outdoors without your head rattling cancels out all the good that is here and is the one takeaway I will have from my stay, unfortunately. I requested to be moved and was even wiling to upgrade, but nothing was available. Also, if you want a fireplace in your room, as I specifically did and paid more for it, be sure to confirm it can even be used. Another disappointment was being informed there were fire restrictions in place for a few more days, yet there was no mention of this on the website or on arrival. The restrictions are understandable, but the fireplace was a major selling point in my booking that specific room. The resort needed to be more forthcoming that yes, there is a fireplace, but no, you can’t use it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway if you’re sensitive to noise or want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
laurel k wrote a review Sep 2022
Normal, Illinois51 contributions7 helpful votes
If you are only into skiing for the challenge & taking yourself to the limits, then Sundance is not for you. I am a senior skier & am into the "dance" of skiing, so Sundance was the perfect place for me. It is small, not crowded, quiet & beautiful. It has wooden board walks, buildings built to resemble the old West, fire pits surrounded by wooden benches. I loved the "feeling" of the place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Room Tip: Sundance is a ski resort, not a hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Laurel, we are so glad to hear that you enjoy visiting the Resort in the winter! We hope to welcome you back to enjoy the summer season in the future. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MSB wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
What can I say? This was one of my favorite parts of our trip to Utah. The scenery was gorgeous, the mountain horses were wonderful, and our guide, Damon, was great. Note to Sundance Stables: He's a keeper. If you have a chance to take this ride, then do it! You won't regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your trail ride! We are appreciative of you taking the time to leave a review and highlight your guide. We hope you will join us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beth P wrote a review Sep 2022
Houston, Texas12 contributions3 helpful votes
Both the guides were knowledgeable and super helpful. The trail was cool and the scenery was breathtaking! Sundance is so picturesque and the mountains are stunning. I especially loved the Aspen trees. Stewart falls was an added pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Beth, it is wonderful to hear about your recent horseback riding experience! We are so glad that you enjoyed your guides and the scenery. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pam W wrote a review Aug 2022
14 contributions1 helpful vote
I am so glad I took the several bad reviews with a grain of salt. As a business owner, I know well the challenges of getting back to normal after the last two years. Our experience at Sundance was everything I had hoped it would be and more. The food was absolutely incredible. The service was excellent. Everyone we came in contact with made sure each experience was above and beyond. It was a great respite, only wish we could have stayed longer. Looking forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Be sure to check if your room/cabin has a loft. That didn’t work so well for us. But didnt think...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Pam, we are delighted to hear that you left feeling impressed! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We can't wait to welcome you back for your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J B wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
It was a great family activity. Gorgeous horses and views. Lauren was a fabulous guide. My 8 and 11 year old loved it as well; we would definitely do it again and would recommend to others for sure. It was a terrific morning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Aug 26, 2022
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your guided trail ride to Stewart Falls! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laurie M wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
I was visiting family in Midway and drove to Sundance to see resort and go horseback riding. Had a wonderful 2 hour trail ride to Steward Falls with Loreen / Ivy. There was a total of 6 guest plus 2 guides, one leading and other at end. The experience level of riders varied from first time to experienced. It was leisurely pace, no trotting, galloping, etc… We started in corral with introduction about how to get on / off, stop and start and make a turn. There were steps in corral to help us mount the horse. The guides were friendly and informative. The scenery was unbelievable. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Laurie, it is wonderful to hear about your experience with the Sundance Stables! We are so glad that you enjoyed your day with Loreen and Ivy. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruben M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The ride itself was really nice. The only down side is the long line after which makes it so you can only get one once the whole night. They should stop overselling tickets to make it more enjoyable. In the photo you can see the line, it got longer than that.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Aug 11, 2022
We are appreciative of you taking the time to leave a review about your Full Moon Lift Ride experience. The tickets are good for one Full Moon Lift Ride, as each guest is intended to do it once during the evening. We hope this helps to clear up any confusion, and thank you for sharing your feedback. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ktb wrote a review Aug 2022
Elko, Nevada4 contributions1 helpful vote
I have always loved Sundance. But this last experience has left me wondering if I’ll ever go back. We had a bunch of family there and we grabbed a bunch of food from the deli to eat at their outside tables. Knowing The Owl was a bar, I went in alone to order some nachos to take out and eat with the family, literally 10 feet in front of the bar. I was told they can’t do that and I would have to sit inside to get the nachos. I asked if I ordered them, had them served, could I then walk out with them and was told no. So I started to leave. A patron at the bar made a rude comment about how this was a bar and I shouldn’t be wanting to bring kids in. I clarified with him that I wasn’t trying to bring kids in, but asking if I could take food out, a simple plate of nachos. He told me I was rude and to leave. I was leaving, until he made a rude comment. I asked the manager if she was ok with him treating another customer this way and she said it’s probably best I leave as this is getting heated. I couldn’t believe she didn’t say to him that he didn’t need to treat another customer this way. I never asked to take alcohol out or to bring my kids in. I’m not an idiot. And when I was told I could take nachos out front to eat, I was leaving. I have never been treated so poorly in public by another customer and was blown away when management told me I needed to leave. I did give him a few choice words and left. It literally ruined the entire trip. Let me be clear, I was frustrated with the policy, but accepted it. What upset me is the behavior of the other customer and the lack of management addressing it. Also, my son and I did the zip line. The zip line is amazing and the views breathtaking. However, the harnesses were horribly uncomfortable. They made it impossible to zip line in a seated position and prevented by ability to see the views. They basically put you in a laying down position and all you see is the sky. Other patrons were saying the same thing. The staff at the zip line were wonderful! Truly exceptional! One even said that they get a lot of complaints about the harness. I’ve done many other zip lines and never had this issue with the harnesses. Disappointing since I think the actual zip line here is one of the most amazing available!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Aug 11, 2022
Kim, we are appreciative of your feedback. We apologize for any confusion surrounding our policies in the Owl Bar. The Owl Bar does not offer takeout or serve the front area. We do offer room service to our lodging guests staying with us at Sundance Mountain Resort. We are sorry to hear that you were displeased with how the situation was handled. If there is anything you would like to discuss further, please reach out to our Owl Bar Manager, Laurie Falk. Laurie can be reached at LaurieF@sundanceresort.com and would be happy to assist. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the ZipTour aside from the harness. Your feedback will be passed along to our ZipTour Manager. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$321 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sundance hotel sundance
LOCATION
United StatesUtahWasatch RangeSundance
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sundance Mountain Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sundance Mountain Resort?
Nearby attractions include Provo Canyon (0.2 miles), Bridal Veil Falls (3.2 miles), and Stewart Falls (1.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sundance Mountain Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Foundry Grill, The Tree Room at Sundance, and Owl Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Does Sundance Mountain Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sundance Mountain Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sundance Mountain Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.06 miles away from the center of Sundance.
Are pets allowed at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sundance Mountain Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sundance Mountain Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.