We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sundance Mountain Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (717)
Room & Suite (181)
Dining (65)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 resort in Sundance
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Founded by Robert Redford in 1969, Sundance Mountain Resort is a year-round luxury mountain resort dedication to conservation, the arts, and community. We offer lodging accommodations ranging from a standard room to a four-bedroom home. We also have award-winning restaurants, shopping outlets, conference and catering services, and much more. Our Resort offers the following year-round activities: • Fly fishing • Art classes • Spa treatments • And more. We also offer the following seasonal activities: • Downhill skiing and snowboarding • Cross country skiing • Hiking and mountain biking • Horseback riding • Summer Theatre and Bluebird Cafe Concert Series • And more. "Sundance is an arts community, a recreational community, a community of people who appreciate the beauty of nature and feel the responsibility to preserve it... As you'll see, Sundance has many shapes, many moods, and many possibilities. Somewhere in our community awaits an experience which belongs to you and we are committed to helping you find it." -Robert Redford
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Ski rentals
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Ski school
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Ski In / Ski Out
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles818 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Sundance Mountain Resort is celebrated for its rich array of amenities, including outdoor activities, dining, and a spa, though there's mention of potential enhancements needed in the common areas. The resort's vibrant events and personal touches add to the atmosphere, yet parking can prove tricky during these times. Cleanliness generally receives accolades, especially for the well-maintained lodge rooms, despite some areas showing signs of wear. Opinions on value are divided, with notable concerns over the costliness of services and a rigid refund policy. Room experiences vary, with guests adoring the scenic views and comfort of some, while criticizing the outdatedness and discomfort of pull-out sofas in others. Service quality seems inconsistent, with commendations for staff professionalism weighed against reports of service delays.
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Comprehensive
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
818Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 544
  • 134
  • 65
  • 35
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Shera14 wrote a review Feb 2024
Brooklyn, New York15 contributions47 helpful votes
Our family had a wonderful winter experience at the Sundance Resort. We loved the ceramics/pottery class at the art studio, great dining, a very positive ski lesson for my 8 year old, flawless service and of course great snow! While the food is excellent, it can get very pricy. If we did it again, I would bring some breakfast groceries and take advantage of the kitchen in the cabin.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hammercollector wrote a review Feb 2024
Tulsa, Oklahoma80 contributions59 helpful votes
Sundance is a family oriented resort even though we were on a business meeting. The service was outstanding with the employees so friendly and service oriented. OMG! The food was delicious from the burgers and tater tots to the prime rib, even the buffets were delicious! I love the smaller intimate nature of the resort yet the ski runs seemed plentiful enough not to get bored. The lodge rooms are showing their age but were immaculate and they provide daily cleaning service. It was easy to get to from the Salt Lake City Airport. We go every year and always look forward to it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Friday and Saturday nights are busy because of night skiing. Parking is impossible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Susan S wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Silversmithing Class - Enjoyed the class. Brie was fantastic as an instructor. She took us through the jewelery making process, in a step by step process. Each step was explained, even told us what not to do :-). The property is incredibly beautiful, but parking is tough. We love our pendants, thank you Brie!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: be sure to arrive early, parking at Sundance is difficult.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Long F wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
My wife and I honeymooned here and came back yearly for our anniversary. We have been married 30 years now. We love the Mandan cottage suite as there is some privacy and a kitchenette. The first few years were spectacular. Service was great and the care and attention to detailed comfort was spot on. The reservation came with Sunday brunch which was spectacular! Then a price change came about pushing us to go elsewhere. Then another price change brought us back. But sadly the service lacked and the changes that were made to dining and services were bothersome. Had to call several times to ask for more fire wood as they would not bring enough each time they arrived. The room would come with a basket of goodies and some beverages but unbeknownst to us if used you paid a healthy sum upon checking out. I guess they make a nice decoration. Then a price change again, forcing us out. The last stay was a gift from our children pooling their monies to give their parents a nice anniversary. Haven’t been able to stay for many years now. It saddens us that we cannot go back and enjoy the cabin every year. Is it too much to ask to make it affordable?
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Nov 13, 2023
Thank you for being long time fans of Sundance Mountain Resort, and the place you choose to celebrate your anniversary each year! We are saddened to hear that price increases have affected you and that you are no longer able to celebrate with us as you previously have. We offer various lodging and dining deals on occasion through our website, and newsletters. If you are interested in keeping up to date on discounts, we would encourage you to visit our website to sign up for our newsletter. You may sign up by scrolling down to the bottom of the home page and entering your email address next to the Subscribe button. We are appreciative of you taking the time to share your concerns and feedback with us. Your review will be shared with the appropriate team members to ensure they are aware of how our guests are feeling and how changes may affect them. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael M wrote a review Nov 2023
Telluride, Colorado3 contributions
My wife and I had an amazing time in Sundance. Our room was spectacular with beautiful views and all of the comforts of home. Service was friendly and professional through our stay. Can’t wait to come back to explore the area more.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Nov 13, 2023
We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your time at Sundance Mountain Resort! We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TC C wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
We stayed in one of the Mountain Suites which was very expensive. Upon showering I saw that there was mold in the floor edges as well as in the ceiling of the shower. I reported it to the front desk upon leaving.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Nov 3, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and bring this to our attention. We are saddened to hear about this but we are appreciative of you reporting this to the Front Desk so that they may follow up on this issue with our housekeeping team. If there is anything you'd like to discuss further, please reach out to Colby Hollowell, Front Office Manager. Colby can be reached at ColbyH@sundanceresort.com. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ken Carlson wrote a review Oct 2023
Dallas, Texas2 contributions
The lemon ricotta pancakes served for breakfast at the Foundry Grill are amazing! I (Jill ) am typically not a pancake person .. but these sounded interesting and did not disappoint! I ate them without syrup or butter 3 mornings in a row. Shout out to the chef for a strange sounding but super tasty recipe!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Oct 18, 2023
Jill, it is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the Lemon Ricotta Pancakes in the Foundry Grill! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
voirdire wrote a review Sep 2023
USA9 contributions18 helpful votes
We have hosted a senior business leader seminar here once a year for 7 to 8 years. Each year something goes wrong .. .this year no internet and no electricity. We were told no electricity in meeting room, but not lodging rooms. Participants were kind and accommodating, but staff were not very responsive. This lack of response has happened almost every year. Maybe they are too busy to care about service for the 20 to 40 people we bring?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Sep 28, 2023
We thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. recognize and regret that communication was unclear and did not reach all the intended guests. In an effort to make up for this, your groups lodging was discounted. We felt this was an appropriate response and this was communicated and implemented during the groups visit, and in a timely fashion. Our Catering and Conference Service team would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns more personally. Please reach out to Colette Bird, Director of Catering & Conference Services, at your earliest convenience. Colette can be reached at CBird@sundanceresort.com. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elsie C wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
Some of the staff was rude and didn’t communicate or care. On the chair lift up, they just ignored you and didn’t acknowledge you. One person was reading a book and didn’t even say a word. The course was way too scary and they made it seem like it was easy to do but it was very high and going over a canyon and we were afraid of going across it. No refund was given a complete waste of money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Sep 11, 2023
Elise, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your feedback with us. We are saddened to hear about your experience as a guest, and how you were treated by our employees. Your review will be shared with our Lift Operations Manager to ensure employees are offering a higher level of customer service for our future guests. Regarding the actual lift ride, we apologize for any discomfort that you may have experienced. The lift is high above the ground and may not be an enjoyable experience for those uncomfortable with heights. We do not offer refunds based on this, but appreciate your sharing your feedback for future guests who may feel similarly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debbie Ankiel wrote a review Sep 2023
Vero Beach, Florida15 contributions4 helpful votes
So, where do I begin? We have visited Sundance on many occasions, only during ski season and generally had a wonderful time. We decided to go in September to get another view of what it may be like to hike, bike, and spend some time with friends. It was a complete disaster. Let's start with the management, or lack there of should I say. 1. First of all, for anyone who has ever stayed there it is not cheap, They had concerts every night on the property, which is great, only problem is as a guest spending money on dinners, etc. we had NOWHERE to park. They did not care. 2. Secondly, it was a full moon which led to lift rides to the top of the mountain to view, which is also great. Problem, nowhere to park and absolutely no one who could even explain or try and understand as a paying guest you should have designated parking. 3. People who were not staying there were coming in in droves and they were securing parking for them but not guests. This I found absurd. 4. You frequent the only three restaurants on the property. Nowhere else to eat. One night, the bartender forgot to bring a drink to one of our friends, but wait it gets better, he forgot to bring his meal as well. After trying to explain to him to just take it off the bill, he brought it out 20 minutes later looking like one of those spray painted dessert trays they pass around a restaurant just to show you the choices of the night. Then, with the words I heard approximately 5,000 times while I was there, he said, "No worries, I will take it off your bill. OH, thank you! 5. Went to breakfast one morning and they were out of napkins, How do you run out of napkins? 6. I understand it is hard to find workers, I get it and they were lost because there was not one manager that I could find anywhere. It was almost comical, but again, No worries.LOL! 7. We had a lot of great experiences there but I would not in good faith recommend it anymore. It was really sad that a place with such high potential and such a good reputation could just deteriorate like that. But again, NO Worries! We won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Think twice.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundance Mountain Resort, General Manager at Sundance Mountain Resort
Responded Sep 6, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that you left your visit feeling frustrated and let down. We understand how many of these frustrations would have led to you feeling this way. Your review will be shared with the appropriate managers to ensure they are aware of these concerns, and so that these issues can be addressed. We hope this will lead to a better guest experience for our future guests. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review and for giving us the opportunity to improve. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sundance area.
PRICE RANGE
$331 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sundance hotel sundance
LOCATION
United StatesUtahWasatch RangeSundance
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUNDANCE MOUNTAIN RESORT - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Utah)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sundance Mountain Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sundance Mountain Resort?
Nearby attractions include Provo Canyon (5.3 miles), Bridal Veil Falls (3.2 miles), and Stewart Falls (1.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sundance Mountain Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Foundry Grill, The Tree Room, and Owl Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Sundance Mountain Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.06 miles away from the center of Sundance.
Are pets allowed at Sundance Mountain Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sundance Mountain Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Sundance Mountain Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Sundance Mountain Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.