Inn On The Cliff

Inn On The Cliff

Traveler (671)
Panorama of the Cliff House Suite at the Inn on the Cliff
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (516)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#3 of 46 hotels in St. George
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Inn on the Cliff is a luxury hotel situated on a cliff overlooking the quaint town of St. George, UT. Each boutique hotel room has its own private balcony with an unbeatable view of the city, 50-inch flat screen TV's, and access to a family-friendly outdoor pool with the same spectacular view. At Inn on the Cliff, you will come for the scenery, enjoy the experience, and stay for the rest.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Sun terrace
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

511 S. Tech Ridge Drive, St. George, UT 84770
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 50 out of 100
50
Saint George Municipal Airport
Cedar City Airport
49.8 mi
See all flights
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles1,380 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled atop a cliff, Inn On The Cliff offers guests an experience that many find memorable, with its boutique atmosphere and tasteful decor consistently earning praise. The cleanliness of the hotel and its well-kept facilities are often highlighted, as are the comfortable rooms boasting spectacular views of St George. While some guests have noted occasional noise and service issues, the attentive staff and personalized touches, including a room-delivered breakfast, generally contribute to the hotel's commendable reputation. Reviewers also recognize the excellent value and amenities like the pristine pool, enhancing the stay for many who visit.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Boutique
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Exceptional
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,380Review19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,158
  • 170
  • 38
  • 8
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MTAGRP wrote a review Oct 2020
Orland Park, Illinois13 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If every hotel could implement such masterful handling of Covid 19 restrictions the industry would be up and running by 1000%. Every staff member was masked, housekeeping was done on a per-request basis and the complimentary breakfast was delivered so quickly that the cinnamon sticky buns were still warm.
What's important to note is that every restriction accommodation that was made was done in such a way that it seemed effortless and the guest was not at all limited.
I can not compliment the staff highly enough for maintaining and implementing the concept of hospitality during this difficult time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms face east, have balconies and are wonderful for watching sun/moon rise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rich, Owner at Inn On The Cliff
Responded Jan 6, 2021
Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OCCPATraveler wrote a review May 2020
Paris, France10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Bed's are comfortable, the breakfast delivered to our room was great - just the type of breakfast we enjoy. Fresh OJ, yummy cinnamon bun, yogurt, cheese and in room keurig coffee.

You can tell that the rooms have been upgraded. The bed was very comfy. What I liked is that the sheets and coverlet are the kind that are easily laundered between guests. Shower was also fine, wifi too.

The attached restaurant is very nice, also with spectacular views and following solid customer protections for Covid.

The staff was super friendly and accommodating.

Location is great - we found St. George very easy to get around and so clean. Take in the historical downtown area and park and for a more outdoors treat Snow Canyon Park.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room was a king, first floor. Occasionally heard footsteps of the 2nd floor. If you are...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rich, Owner at Inn On The Cliff
Responded May 27, 2020
Thank you for staying at Inn on the Cliff. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Motherbuck wrote a review May 2020
Eagle, Idaho10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't say enough good things about this clean and comfy hotel. The rates are great, the views spectacular, and the staff very efficient and friendly. We originally booked 2 nights here, but decided to extend our stay for another night. Even though Covid-19 prevented daily room cleaning, the staff was quick to take care of any needs we had. Breakfast was served in our room every morning. The swimming pool and hot tub were cleaned every morning, and the restaurant was a wonderful experience in itself. We will definitely stay here again on our visit to the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All the rooms come with a great view. You can't go wrong.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rich, Owner at Inn On The Cliff
Responded May 27, 2020
Thank you very much. We really appreciate you staying with us and the great review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LukiLukeGO wrote a review Jan 2020
Basel, Switzerland312 contributions187 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I called and asked if they had any quiet rooms. I asked at least four times for a quiet room: no noise from other guests, no street noise, no noise of any kind.

This Inn is right next to a VERY busy and noisy street and I'm sure I heard several times some private planes flying by. Also the A/C is so lound that you can feel it vibrating. I had to turn mine off, but, while I was trying to sleep, I could still FEEL the A/C from the adjacent room. Not to mention: the room was really noisy!

Also, there was pretty much no storage space. In the bathroom several hooks for towels were never installed. There were no shelves in the bathroom to put normal bathroom stuff on. In the room, there was basically no space for clothes and other things out of a typical tourist suitcase. I had to spread out on the floor.

The fitness room could really use a few upgrades (even just two cheap machines - just anything).

I did not even try the breakfast, as I knew that I would have to buy more anyways, I just left to a restaurant where I knew that I will be satisfied afterwards.

There were several positives to my stay, however, when my non-refundable booking was based on a "quiet room" (both at booking and at check-in), I have no other choice than to give this place a terrible rating.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Expect really noisy rooms and bring some food for breakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel R, General Manager at Inn On The Cliff
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Hi, We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We are situated very high up the cliff from Bluff street which normally is not a noise concern for our guests. We are sorry that there were noise and storage issues for you. We will look into your suggestions as well. We wish you well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Spotbanana wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia148 contributions109 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Quite frankly, we were a little disappointed with our one night stay here. Despite all the rave reviews, we were underwhelmed with the room and the service. Yes, the hotel is situated in a great location above St George and the views are very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable and the heater, despite the noise, was effective for mid winter. The room, however, lacked some things that you might expect in this price range, especially for a “boutique” hotel. We looked for robes and slippers to relax in but couldn’t find them. I had to go to reception and wait around 10 minutes to get the in-room tea that was missing. The throw away plastic cups were tacky, and there weren’t any little extras like milk in the fridge. The bed was missing a bedside table on one side (I built mine with a chair and a couple of cushions). The artificial plants were nice but might have given way to more functional furniture.

My main gripe is that we weren’t able to order any room service dinner - the reason given was the restaurant was fully booked. The options? We weren’t given any advice. So a drive back into town to pick up some food to eat in the room was needed. Overall, this experience made us feel that this place is more a popular restaurant with an accomodation business on the side rather than a hotel making attempts to provide an outstanding guest experience. Would we return? No.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Check on restaurant and/or room service availability before confirming booking.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel R, Owner at Inn On The Cliff
Responded Jan 23, 2020
Thank you for staying with us, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We strive to give each of our guests a memorable hotel and restaurant experience. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions and assure you that our hotel and restaurant are equally important to us. We apologize that you weren't given the service that you deserved. We do hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in St. George as we would appreciate the opportunity to make it up to you. We wish you the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sara L wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. It was absolutely wonderful. Great location, view, amenities, and staff. Knowing about their no pet policy, we had called prior to ask about service animals/emotional support animals. They let us know that they were welcome. We also reminded them about this upon arrival and they said it would be no problem. We took extra precautions to put our own blankets down, and left the room very clean upon our departure. After we checked out, we received an additional charge to our credit card and called to inquire, at this point they explained that there is a standard $250 cleaning fee for all animals no matter what. This should have been brought up either on the original phone call, or upon check in.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not Service Animal friendly, look elsewhere if applicable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rich, Owner at Inn On The Cliff
Responded Jun 4, 2020
Thank you for staying at Inn on the Cliff. I'm happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I apologize if there was a lack of communicaton about our pet policies. I'd like to explain our position. We are not a pet friendly hotel. As stated on our registration sheet that you signed at check, we will impose up to a $250 cleaning/damage fee if upon check out there is any evidence of pets in the room. Although we do allow documented service pets, and yes we agreed to allow your emotional support pet, we still reserve the right to impose the cleaning fee if there is evidence of pets in the room that will require extensive cleaning to remove. We do not charge the fee "no matter what" for all service animals because the vast majority of the service animals that have stayed with us have left zero trace behind. We must still be able to guarantee a pet free room for all of our guests and give confidence to guests checking in that we are a pet free hotel. Even though we did allow you to bring your pet, upon your check out your room smelled strongly of pet odor. We had to have the carpets cleaned professionally and we spent extensive time cleaning and airing out the room in order to eliminate the smell. This is why we did charge you a partial fee of $100. I hope this at least clarifies our postion and gives you a better explanation. We wish you all the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OOA wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first stop on our west coast road trip. It is family owned business, boutique style inn with great attention to detail. Traveling during this COVID season can be stressful but rooms were extra clean beautiful view it was such a delight to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rich, Owner at Inn On The Cliff
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Thank you very much! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole R wrote a review Jul 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada9 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I love this place so much! The views of Red Cliffs are stunning; the rooms are impeccably clean, very comfortable and spacious, and modern/up to date; and *nearly* everyone on staff is exceptionally friendly and welcoming...there is one young woman on the staff who sours it all for everyone else (other reviews also reference her), but everyone else is just SO wonderful and the young woman at least still does her job (although she sure does seem unhappy about it).

This is my favorite place for a weekend getaway to St. George (from Vegas) and I even prefer it over any lodging options closer to Zion and prefer to just stay here and make the hour-long drive. It's just so clean and comfortable, and I've never experienced other guests to be loud or unruly. We always enjoy dining on the patio at the Cliffside Restaurant; the food is solid, service always great, and views are spectacular!

Do keep in mind this is a renovated motel, so yes, the AC units are noisy, and yes, if you're on the second floor there is no elevator as all rooms are accessed outdoors by stairs. To complain about this is....well, people need to understand what it is they're booking and not blame it on the property when they don't. Previous reviews sound like some folks think they booked at room at the Ritz Carlton and were surprised to find out it wasn't.

I also enjoy their boxed breakfast with yogurt parfait, a fresh-baked cinnamon roll, fresh-squeezed orange juice, a hardboiled egg, and a chunk of Tillamook cheddar. Just call the front desk and it's delivered to your room, and far better than 99% of the "continental breakfasts" at comparable properties.

I will keep coming back to the Inn on the Cliff again and again and recommending it to everyone. It's one of my favorite boutique stays, and a little slice of affordable "luxury." The location is also convenient to everything in St. George and parking is ample and free everywhere, so driving throughout the city is not an issue. 9/10 (but for that *one* person...)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Every room has a view of Red Cliffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rich, Owner at Inn On The Cliff
Responded Jul 19, 2022
Thank you very much. We really appreciate it!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ATA wrote a review Sep 2020
Tacoma, Washington29 contributions45 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed on 9/17/20 and 9/18/20 room 206. Room was large, comfortable and clean except the plastic foliage which needed to be cleaned as very dusty. The hotel was in a quiet location and had 2 good nights sleep, but had to turn off the air conditioner. They brought a simple breakfast to our room within 10 minutes of calling. The pool and hot tub were very nice and the pool was clean and no one was using it so it was nice to have to ourselves. Draw back #1 was that there was no place to have our suitcases up off the floor. Any hotel room that I have been in before would have either a place to set your suitcase on or a luggage stand to open and place your suitcase on up off the floor. This room did not have either. Draw back #2 The air conditioner was extremely noisy when it was on. We had to turn it off to be able to sleep, but did sleep well once off. Draw back #3 We could not get the TV to work it somehow seemed to continue to buffer to the internet. Draw back # 4 The plastic plants which seemed real looking were very dirty. If these things were taken care of we would stay at this place again. Cool location, great view of the town, valley and surrounding landscapes. It had a great restaurant next door too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rich, Owner at Inn On The Cliff
Responded Sep 29, 2020
Thank you for staying with us and for providing us feedback. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience and we do apologize for the few things that negatively impacted your stay. I would like to address the 4 items taht you have brought to our attention. #1 We do have luggage racks that are available upon request, I apologize that this was not communicated to you. #2 Our A/C units do a very good job at keeping the rooms comfortable, at times they can have a vibration noise that can be a nusance. We have gone into 206 and made the property adjustments to remedy the noise, so thank you for bringing it to our attention and wedo apologize that it happendedduring your stay. #3 I'm sorry you had some trouble with your TV, our front desk staff is trained to fix most issues that can arise with the TVs so next time please let us know so that we can help you get it fixed. #4 Lastly, I am really sorry that the plant was dusty, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and this is clearly below our standards. We have talked with houskeeping to remind them of this so that it doesn't get missed in the future. We hope you still were able to enjoy your time with us and hope you will give us another shot the next time you find yourself in St. George.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa H wrote a review Dec 2020
los angeles96 contributions103 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pit stop on our way to Bryce / Zion during Thanksgiving week. I booked the room through the inn's website and requested a 2nd floor room. Check-in was a breeze and to my surprise, I was offered 50% off upon check-in due to the grant given to them by the state of Utah! My stay was only $100!! The rooms are clean with a spectacular balcony view of the city and canyons. We got take out at Viva chicken and ate in our room due to Covid. We had complimentary in room breakfast delivered that included a hard boiled egg, orange juice, cinnamon bon, large yogurt with mixed fruit and cheddar cheese. It was so much food we had to get a takeout box so we can enjoy the rest of it inside Bryce Canyon! Comfy beds and pillows. Will definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rich, Owner at Inn On The Cliff
Responded Jan 6, 2021
Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. George area.
PRICE RANGE
$195 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesUtahSt. George
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INN ON THE CLIFF - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Inn On The Cliff
What are some of the property amenities at Inn On The Cliff?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Inn On The Cliff?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Inn On The Cliff?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn On The Cliff?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn On The Cliff?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Inn On The Cliff?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Inn On The Cliff have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All St. George HotelsSt. George Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. GeorgeHotels near Inn On The Cliff
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars