We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

San Juan Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
San Juan Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

635 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 374: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really liked this place. The off-season winter rate was very fair, the room was very clean and quiet. Of course, in mid-November it was practically empty. Bed and shower were great, and that's what we wanted. There wasn't a fridge, and it didn't look like there was any air conditioning, only a fan. Not sure how hot it gets... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
On Da Road
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The SW decor was very nice & inviting. There was no fridge, coffee maker & the wifi took 5+ minutes to load a page. There was a hairdryer .. this is a desert environment .. who needs a hairdryer.. who doesn't need coffee or tea?! The lock on the door was broken. There was a very small patch to take... More 

Helpful?
Thank On_Da_Road1
Julie P, General Manager at San Juan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have free coffee in our lobby, sorry you did not use it. As for price, we start our room rates at this time of year at $ 64.00 for a single and $66.00 for a double. We think this is a very competitive price since every other motel in Mexican Hat is now... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mexican Hat hotels

Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best part of the hotel was the location on the river and close to Monument Valley and Valley of the Gods. Staff At the hotel and the restaurant were friendly. Unfortunately the rooms are early seventies-style and need updating urgently. The rooms was clean, so no complaints there. Make sure that your room is not directly next to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mas6807
Julie P, General Manager at San Juan Inn, responded to this review

I am not sure which room you were in? Our economy double is next to the stairs, this must be were you stayed. I am sorry for this, I always ask motels I stay in to keep me away from the ice machines! Sometime I have to pay more though. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was kind of refreshing lunch break on our long way from Page Arizona to Moab Utah.You can feel America's 60 's atmosphere here with the remote desert views and the brown waters of the San Juan river.Strongly recommend to stop for an hour of tasty food and special calm break on the road.Do not forget to stop and get... More 

Helpful?
Thank gutmanhaim
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in one of the small yurts, and it was adorable. Very clean and charming, and their is a skylight in the middle so you sleep with the moon shining in. It was quite cold when we went, and they had the perfect heater inside. Keep in mind the bathroom is not closed in from the bedroom. The main... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney305
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2016

This is an older motel that is just north of the bridge over the San Juan river. The rooms are out of sight from the road, around the corner, and sit under a rock cliff overlooking the river. The rooms are small, but clean and well maintained, and I thought somewhat charming. Mirrors, lights, and other things are arranged so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eric H
Julie P, General Manager at San Juan Inn, responded to this review

First of all, thank you for your review. Yes, we have been investing in the latest user end equipment for several years in a row, but without fiber optic cable, we must rely on satellite. We have several different levels of rooms at the Inn. It sounds like you were in one of the units built in the 1940s. There... More 

Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016

If you are visiting Monument Valley and/or Goosenecks State Park and want a more affordable room option the San Juan Inn is a decent choice. A bit older and tired but OK for the price. On site restaurant is one of the few in the area and the food is decent. A good place to try beef stew with Indian... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grim B
Chester Basin, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2016

I stayed two nights in a double queen room upstairs at The San Juan Inn about 1 week ago, I liked it very much. My room was very spacious and loved the Navajo quilt and other accessories. The bed was very comfortable. Wifi worked well in the early morning and throughout the day, later at night it was a no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank blondie091
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

Motel was simple and basic. Location was wonderfully dreamy, between cliffs and right next to the river. The staff was courteous and very nice and kind. There is a grill bar on site with great food and very low prices. The price was very modest.

Helpful?
Thank Ilan D
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2016

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel! We booked a two bedroom unit, actually there was only a wall separating the rooms but it served our purpose. For $100 night it was a very good value as we only needed one night but wished we could've stayed 2 nights or more. Arrived 11pm the night before as we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank yam1976
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

365 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (358)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexican Hat
21.0 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
2,416 reviews
18.6 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
19.3 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
157 reviews
19.8 mi away
La Posada Pintada
La Posada Pintada
#1 of 1 in Bluff
181 reviews
18.8 mi away
Mokee Motel
Mokee Motel
#1 of 3 in Bluff
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The San Juan Inn is nestled along the cliffs of the San Juan River 20 miles north of Monument Valley Tribal Park. All rooms face the river, with the upper rooms having a view of the river. The lower rooms have direct access to the patios overlooking the river and its' colorful redrock cliffs. The Olde Bridge Grille, which is located on property, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner from 7 am-9pm daily. This Grille is a Native Navajo run enterprise. The motel office is located in the historic trading post. We pride ourselves for buying our Navajo rugs directly from the weaver. Having a well stocked grocery store, general store and curio shop, we run the trading post pretty much as it was in the early 1900s. Come join us! The Navajo people are shy but welcoming, the beauty of the land unsurpassed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about San Juan Inn

Address: Hwy 163 and the San Juan River, P.O. Box 310276, Mexican Hat, UT 84531
Location: United States > Utah > Mexican Hat
Price Range: $109 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Juan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your San Juan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Mexican Hat
San Juan Monument Valley
San Juan Inn Mexican Hat, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from San Juan Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Wheaton, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from San Juan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Top floor is best in my opinion”
 of 5 bubbles blondie091, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“bottom floor if you dont want to haul luggage up the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles yam1976, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“2-bedroom units have an air conditioner in only one room, so one side will be a bit warmer than the other.”
 of 5 bubbles R4626XYjamesh, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay there just ate in the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 2Winstones, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
“Second floor rooms may have a better view during the sunrise and sunset”
  • Comfortable rooms
 of 5 bubbles 2WanderingSouls, Aug 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay