We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

San Juan Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
San Juan Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 378: English reviews
Moab, Utah
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

While traveling through the area with my dog, I made it to Bluff Utah at sunset and intended to stay in Bluff. Unfortunately there was only one hotel open and they adamantly said no pets. So I was happy to find the San Juan Inn about 25 miles down the road that allowed my dog for a $15 pet fee....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dacia B
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a really nice little motel that was very clean. The restaurant was good and the people were very friendly. Don't miss eating at The Swinging Steak. Mexican hat is very tiny with a few motels and a gas station. It's beautiful but if you go in July it is very hot. At ten in the evening it's still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keegansmom02
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a nice place! Cozy rooms, very clean. Warm and quiet, perfect for a very cold day. The view is amazing! The restaurant offers good, home made food. Server at the restaurant was extremely friendly and fast! Front desk agent not that friendly though. Loved this place, very charming!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelica H
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Basic simple and a great base to explore Monument Valley and other points of interest in south-eastern Utah. It is basic - a room and a bed but nicely maintained room in general. Some, not so nicely maintained. Ask to see the room before accepting it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoxandRay
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

We really liked this place. The off-season winter rate was very fair, the room was very clean and quiet. Of course, in mid-November it was practically empty. Bed and shower were great, and that's what we wanted. There wasn't a fridge, and it didn't look like there was any air conditioning, only a fan. Not sure how hot it gets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
On Da Road
Reviewed November 7, 2016

The SW decor was very nice & inviting. There was no fridge, coffee maker & the wifi took 5+ minutes to load a page. There was a hairdryer .. this is a desert environment .. who needs a hairdryer.. who doesn't need coffee or tea?! The lock on the door was broken. There was a very small patch to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank On_Da_Road1
Julie P, General Manager at San Juan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have free coffee in our lobby, sorry you did not use it. As for price, we start our room rates at this time of year at $ 64.00 for a single and $66.00 for a double. We think this is a very competitive price since every other motel in Mexican Hat is now...

Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

The best part of the hotel was the location on the river and close to Monument Valley and Valley of the Gods. Staff At the hotel and the restaurant were friendly. Unfortunately the rooms are early seventies-style and need updating urgently. The rooms was clean, so no complaints there. Make sure that your room is not directly next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mas6807
Julie P, General Manager at San Juan Inn, responded to this review

I am not sure which room you were in? Our economy double is next to the stairs, this must be were you stayed. I am sorry for this, I always ask motels I stay in to keep me away from the ice machines! Sometime I have to pay more though.

Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

This was kind of refreshing lunch break on our long way from Page Arizona to Moab Utah.You can feel America's 60 's atmosphere here with the remote desert views and the brown waters of the San Juan river.Strongly recommend to stop for an hour of tasty food and special calm break on the road.Do not forget to stop and get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gutmanhaim
Miami, Florida
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the small yurts, and it was adorable. Very clean and charming, and their is a skylight in the middle so you sleep with the moon shining in. It was quite cold when we went, and they had the perfect heater inside. Keep in mind the bathroom is not closed in from the bedroom. The main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Courtney305
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed October 21, 2016

This is an older motel that is just north of the bridge over the San Juan river. The rooms are out of sight from the road, around the corner, and sit under a rock cliff overlooking the river. The rooms are small, but clean and well maintained, and I thought somewhat charming. Mirrors, lights, and other things are arranged so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
Julie P, General Manager at San Juan Inn, responded to this review

First of all, thank you for your review. Yes, we have been investing in the latest user end equipment for several years in a row, but without fiber optic cable, we must rely on satellite. We have several different levels of rooms at the Inn. It sounds like you were in one of the units built in the 1940s. There...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

367 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (360)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexican Hat
18.6 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
21.0 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
2,460 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Mokee Motel
Mokee Motel
#1 of 3 in Bluff
89 reviews
19.8 mi away
La Posada Pintada
La Posada Pintada
#1 of 1 in Bluff
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The San Juan Inn is nestled along the cliffs of the San Juan River 20 miles north of Monument Valley Tribal Park. All rooms face the river, with the upper rooms having a view of the river. The lower rooms have direct access to the patios overlooking the river and its' colorful redrock cliffs. The Olde Bridge Grille, which is located on property, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner from 7 am-9pm daily. This Grille is a Native Navajo run enterprise. The motel office is located in the historic trading post. We pride ourselves for buying our Navajo rugs directly from the weaver. Having a well stocked grocery store, general store and curio shop, we run the trading post pretty much as it was in the early 1900s. Come join us! The Navajo people are shy but welcoming, the beauty of the land unsurpassed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about San Juan Inn

Address: Hwy 163 and the San Juan River, P.O. Box 310276, Mexican Hat, UT 84531
Location: United States > Utah > Mexican Hat
Price Range: $98 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Juan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Mexican Hat
San Juan Monument Valley
San Juan Inn Mexican Hat, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from San Juan Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Wheaton, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from San Juan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“No elevator so if you can't do steps make sure and request a first floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles Keegansmom02, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Look at the room before accepting it. Some are updated, other, not so much.”
 of 5 bubbles RoxandRay, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Top floor is best in my opinion”
 of 5 bubbles blondie091, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“bottom floor if you dont want to haul luggage up the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles yam1976, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“2-bedroom units have an air conditioner in only one room, so one side will be a bit warmer than the other.”
 of 5 bubbles R4626XYjamesh, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question