We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6505
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$97
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
HolidayInn.com
$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com$97
Travelocity$97
Priceline
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (278)
360
Panoramas (23)
Room & Suite (251)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 03/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel
Updated 03/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 35 hotels in South Padre Island
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.7
Value
3.7
Welcome to our full-service Beach Resort at South Padre Island! Our beachfront hotel is in close proximity to the South Padre Island Convention Center, Cameron County Amphitheater-Event Center, SpaceX Launch Facility, and numerous local attractions and restaurants. We offer over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space to host corporate or social events, with largest rooftop, open air event venue accommodating up to 600 persons. We have three outdoor swimming pools: one adjacent to our Seaside Bar & Grill that's open daily for breakfast and dinner, and the other is a heated pool with a swim up bar open each weekend!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Water park offsite
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
699Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 291
  • 176
  • 98
  • 52
  • 82
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Patrick G wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This hotel is amazing! They have 3FT tall pools and it’s beach front. The have everything you need for the beach, let’s say your forgot a towel. They have them. If you want any type of popsicle ( sonic, SpongeBob , Batman) they have them! If your ever hungry there’s a TON of restaurants, A Mexican restaurant and a beach side restaurant. The employees are so nice! I recommend you stay here for your vacation to south padre!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christie Veyna, Marketing at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Patrick- Thank you very much for the perfect review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon at the Holiday Inn Resort SPI.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oceanlover1955 wrote a review Jul 2022
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee183 contributions32 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Absolutely gorgeous hotel Only thing they have no balconies on beach front which I think is weird Be sure to eat at the beach front restaurant awesome shrimp tacos Be sure to go to Yummies for breakfast The beach was very clean Be sure to get your own beach chairs The rental chairs were NASTY Would stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Eat breakfast at Yummies Buy your own beach chairs Rental chairs NASTY
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Christie Veyna, Marketing at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review. We loved having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob R wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We stayed in building which is dated. There was a kids church camp going on and the kids were out of hand. Up until 12 midnight each night, kids had gatherings on the 3rd floor where my family stayed. The elevators had issues and 1 never ran while we were there. Paid $150 deposit upon arrival and still haven't been refunded.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christie Veyna, Marketing at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Hi Rob- Sorry you were here when our elevator went down, thank goodness we have several. The $150 is an incidental hold not a charge and is always returned within 3-5 business days.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie Drake wrote a review Jul 2022
Dallas, Texas2 contributions2 helpful votes
OMG! I Absolutely Love our stay here!! Room was a Oceanview which made it that much more special...Upon entering the room I could tell it was very fresh and clean! The air was so cold that we decided all we needed was one. The Beach was Beautiful.. also nice and clean. The Mexican restaurant inside the was Good...nachos had me licking my fingers. The entire Staff was Amazing. Ill be BACK as soon as I can!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I will always choose the Oceanview
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Christie Veyna, Marketing at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Thank you so much for being our guest. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diana M wrote a review May 2022
Laredo, Texas5 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband & I needed time for us and decided to get away from town to enjoy the breezy wind and cool water. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort. I was amazed with the change/remodel they hace done. An open lobby with a nice bar with music. It has an easy way to the open water- beach. They open up a restaurant in the second bldg Sea 4 Ever - excellent BRUNCH with all the works including seafood and excellent service from Violeta. I also forgot the pool bar and great entertainment from the staff and the DJ. I highly recommend this IHG property. See you soon!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Christie Veyna, Marketing at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review. We loved having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shannon H wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This resort refused to honor my confirmed and paid for reservation that I booked in June of 2021 booked for May 2022 because the resort was purchased by Holiday Inn (one would think all confirmed reservations would have been brought up in their due deligence prior to purchase). I was not contacted until one week prior to our trip that they were canceling my reservation even though the lady told me they did honor previous reservations for other guests. Travel accommodations were already made and time requested off so here we are left to scramble to find somewhere last minute to stay. The person that contacted me made no offer of helping book a room with the Holiday Inn booking system and was overall very unhelpful. Extremely disappointing that such a large company would act with so little regard for paying guests.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Christie Veyna, Marketing at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel
Responded May 17, 2022
Shannon- you booked your room through Air B & B a platform we do not use as a Holiday Inn Resort. Please reach out to them for the resolution you are looking for.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tigerlight206 wrote a review Apr 2022
Texas121 contributions234 helpful votes
We stayed here when it was Schlitterbahn. It was nice for a couple of years but by 2019 it was a wreck due to poor maintenance and management. Now, as a Holiday Inn it isn’t much better than it was in 2019. The rooms have been only lightly (and very cheaply) renovated. Same carpet in rooms as Schlitterbahn. Same tiny bathrooms. Furniture was painted but otherwise same. Common areas aren’t very clean. Lots of finger smudges on glass and dirty carpet. Never saw anyone vacuuming or cleaning glass in 3 days. Warm pool is cloudy. Elevators are (still) extremely slow and creaky. Renovated public areas are ok. The lobby is the most impressive but that isn’t saying much. The layout is odd and confusing - turning the old lobby into a fitness center seems like a strange choice. The old Schlitterbahn indoor water park areas are a mess and an eyesore. Looks like an abandoned industrial complex abutting the facility. They also filled in the old lazy river ride which is a shame. The access point to the remaining outdoor water park is also closed and abandoned which forces a looooong walk to the park which is literally next door. Staff are OK but appear to be doing the bare minimum. Overall a big disappointment. We won’t return. Strongly prefer The Palms on South Padre.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel
Responded May 13, 2022
Hi Tigerlight206, We always try our best to deliver the smoothest experience possible. Thank you for letting us know about your impressions. We'll use them to improve our service and give you a better stay in your future travels. I apologize for the shortcomings. Thank you for choosing us for your accommodation. We can't wait to serve you again. I'm sure you'll love all the changes and improvements. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen M wrote a review Apr 2022
West Bloomfield, Michigan28 contributions8 helpful votes
The thing that was unusual about this hotel is that it is separated into 2 (maybe 3?) buildings--it would've been nice to have a map or your typical "this is our Hotel" book, in the room. . So you have to walk outside to get to your room, if you want a room with a view. That is great if it is nice out, but wouldn't want to do it in the rain, They offer normal amenities in the room (iron, hairdryer, Keurig, fridge, but this one had a microwave, which came in handy. 3 Swimming pools, one with a tiki bar. The walk to the ocean/beach is best if you're in the last building and that is the one with the views. We enjoyed Edwin, the bartender and he gave us some ideas. Outside kitchen was sorely lacking in many things and it actually became a joke between us and the workers. Their attitudes made it fun and comedic. Wish we would've gotten their names. Whenever we needed housekeeping "stuff", we just asked the person who was working it. That may not work for some people if they are not around when housekeeping is, but all 4 days it worked for us. I agree with usps22 in that it is a nice hotel with 3 pools, but not so "resortish". We, however, were there in April, and it was our understanding it gets really busy in the summer, so maybe it is different then. (We heard that the prices go up in the summer and March (Spring Break month). Never tried to verify that, though. There are washers and dryers, if clothes need to be washed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We had a wonderful view on the 2nd floor of the third building.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Imelda Cavazos wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
The gentleman at bar in lobbyJuan Hernandez was excellent with his customer service skills, in all aspects of his position in serving his customers, Very attentive to our needs! Orderly and cleanliness was at top notch!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
usps22 wrote a review Jan 2022
San Antonio, Tx2 contributions1 helpful vote
My family and I stayed here for 4 days during January. We have stayed before last year during the Covid pandemic, but this time it seems as if services are even more limited than before. First of all, they have removed the towel stand near the heated pool. So there are literally no towels. You have to walk to the very front of the hotel soaking wet to ask for towels, where on all 3 occasions were told they were out and had to call housekeeping to come down. Not sure why they are so against guests expecting to use a towel when at their pools. Also, they have an arcade room. Inside there are 4 large TVs setup for Xbox and Nintendo, and another large television for movies and TV. The arcade games couldn’t connect to the internet and when we asked the front desk no one knew how to do it. Also, the large TV which seemed fo be brand new, didn’t work either. The Taco Palenque restaurant inside the hotel closes at 7 pm for some odd reason. I guess there think that people don’t eat after 7, even on Friday and Saturday evenings. The only other option for food is to walk to the beachside bar restaurant near the beach, and it outdoor seating only. As far as the rooms, absolutely no room service is provided during your entire stay. I guess they are still using the Covid excuse. But we got no new towels or sheets or garbage picked up during our entire 4 days. On the bright side, the employees that did work there were nice about everything, it was just very limited on what you could do as this place that bills itself as a “resort”. It’s basically just a hotel with a pool.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel
Responded Feb 3, 2022
Hello usps22, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your experience. While I am glad you appreciate our staff's hospitality, your comment about the cleaning service, restaurant, arcade games, TV, and room service has caught my attention. What you described is definitely not the kind of experience we want any of our guests to have. We strive to offer the type of hospitality our guests value most where the essentials are done exceptionally well, but that did not happen on your visit. I am sorry for the letdown. I've discussed your sentiments with our management team, and I trust that they will make the necessary adjustments to improve the quality of our guests' experience. I hope to get another chance to host your next visit as we promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$94 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Beach Resort at S Padre Island, an IHG hotel
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastSouth Padre Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
216
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Largest Outdoor Sandcastle in the USA (0.6 miles), Isla Blanca Park (0.3 miles), and University of Texas - Pan American Coastal Studies Lab (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mahi Nic, Yummies Bistro, and Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Holiday Inn Resort South Padre Island-Beach Front, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.