We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites San Marcos

Save
Share
600 Wonder World Dr, San Marcos, TX 78666-5945
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$113
Priceline$113
Hotels.com$113
FindHotel$113
eDreams$113
Trip.com$116
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (12)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Candlewood Suites San Marcos
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 34 hotels in San Marcos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
"Our place, your space!" Come enjoy a home away from home!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Salon
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
125Reviews2Q+A34Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 55
  • 40
  • 14
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
L C wrote a review Nov 2020
Kansas City, Kansas1229 contributions91 helpful votes
This was an interesting hotel, we wanted to like it but there were just small things that made us wonder. For example, the laundry facilities were free for guests but they either had guests who didn’t pick up after themselves or else there wasn’t a cleaning schedule to cleanup the laundry room as it was kind of dirty. The entrance to the hotel wasn’t something easily spotted as the sign was low and you would possibly miss the entrance to your right as you made sure you weren’t hit by merging traffic on your left. The rooms were fairly quiet even with the noisy birds outside. The elevator was not working one of the days we were there. We had to ask for a laundry hamper across 4 shift changes before we were provided one so that we had some place to put our laundry and to do our laundry. The staff were not overly friendly but were courteous and helpful. The location was good for what we needed but it was just a strange experience for what we have come to expect having stayed at multiple candlewood suites across the country.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Candlewood Suites San Marcos
Responded Dec 14, 2020
Hello 678lc, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always want you to feel at home whenever you stay with us and it seems that it didn't happen this time. I'm sorry to learn about your uneasiness due to the poor keeping of the laundry area, the bird's noise coming from the outside, and the inconsistent maintenance of the elevator. I shared your review with our local management along with your feedback about the hotel signage. We will ensure that all you've pointed out will be followed up with the involved department. We appreciate you choosing us for your lodging needs. I hope you'll consider us again in your future stays! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Miguel A wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Everything was bad, the staff was unfriendly, the dogs were too noisy everything was old and dirty,no towels in the bathroom the bedding accessories were worn out ,the hallways were durty, old carpet,
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Candlewood Suites San Marcos
Responded Sep 21, 2020
Hello I8014DUmiguela, Thanks for choosing to stay with us among your many lodging options. We also appreciate your candid remarks. I understand your dissatisfaction with both the condition of the bedding and the hallways cleanliness, along with the inadequate bathroom towels. I am also genuinely sorry to hear about the customer service and noise issues experienced. Providing you an elevated experience in any way possible is our everyday goal, and I will immediately convey your remarks to our hotel’s upper management for improvements on our amenities and services. I’ve also sent you a private message that should now be in your inbox discussing your stay further. Best, Kenneth F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
DSalak wrote a review Dec 2019
San Antonio, Texas7 contributions1 helpful vote
We checked in on Thanksgiving night.I am a rewards member. I made my reservation for two rooms, two nights on June 14, 2019. I added an extra night for one room on August 28, 2019. When we arrived, my husband checked us in only to find out we were assigned a fourth floor room and the elevator was broken. No prior notice of the broken elevator was provided to me by this property. True customer service would include a telephone call, “Ma'am we see you are scheduled to stay with us for three nights and our elevator is broken. There is a good chance you will be on the third or fourth floor. Would you like us to find you alternative accommodations for your stay?”. Perhaps someone in my party could not climb four flights of stairs; what would have happened then?! No accommodations were offered. The fact that I made my reservation five months ago accounted for nothing...the same call could have been made, “Ma'am we see you are scheduled to stay with us for three nights and our elevator is broken. If you can confirm your arrival we will place you on the first or second floor for the three nights you reserved.” We have a pet; so up and down four flights of stairs we trekked for potty breaks. And those potty breaks were in the designated "pet walking area" that was dirt, by the parking lot, with no dog bags for the dog poop container. The other area for potential walking was the weedy area in the front of the hotel across from the entrance. Not an ideal place for anyone to stay with a dog. And we found out on the first night, the only ice maker (besides the one turned to "off" in the room refrigerator) was located on the first floor....recall we are on the fourth floor! The beds were comfortable and the room set up was great. I was preparing brunch food for a wedding party on Saturday morning and it was ideal for that....except for the trek up and down four flights of stairs, so I could transport brunch. The night desk clerk tried to be helpful, but she had no authority to right the wrong or provide a discount other than she told me I would be called by the manager the next day, Friday. Did not happen. She also said we could move if other rooms opened up. We had already moved everything in and up four flights, we did not change to the 2nd floor room offered on Friday night. My other room was on the 3rd floor when my daughter checked into that room on Friday. Our friends were provided a first floor room when they checked in on Friday. It is not good management to leave your desk clerk to deal with disgruntled customers. That is particularly frustrating also, for not only the customers but the poor employee who has to be the face of this hotel and bear the brunt of the customers’ dissatisfaction. It is not good management to not respond to the email I sent on Thursday night. It is not good management to have NEVER called me as I requested on Thursday and Friday and Saturday!! I had one missed call (because my phone blocks those not in my contacts) but no message left. Yes, I was provided a discount on each room for each night of the stay, but the lack of customer service prior to the stay and lack of responsiveness by the Manager makes for an extremely dissatisfied customer who is unlikely to stay in a Candlewood Suites hotel again. You, Mr. Manager, have ruined this hotel brand for all other hotels with the same name. As an aside, the fact that we were also told this elevator has been broken for days further reinforces that contact should have been made with customers prior to their stay to ensure they could climb stairs---four flights of them! It having been broken for an extended amount of time was not a valid excuse for the lack of customer service with regard to customers planning a stay at this hotel for five months! Also when I advised the day desk manager of my frustration and was trying to relate this same information from above, she interrupted me; interrupting me when I am talking is not a good thing even when I am not frustrated. Interrupting me when I am already frustrated results in further frustration which I displayed, but not by yelling as she accused me of. My friends and family were in the lobby; they have heard me yell and my direct exchange with that manager was not a yell. Furthermore, if the General Manager had contacted me as requested, there would not have been a need for me to discuss the issue with her. Signed, still extremely frustrated over this situation that the manager did not handle!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not stay if you have a dog or if you cannot climb stairs
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, General Manager at Candlewood Suites San Marcos
Responded Dec 25, 2019
Hello DSalak, Thank you you're for diligently putting in the details of your experience. We are very happy to have hosted your stay, unfortunately, your experience has left a bad taste in your mouth. My response here would not be enough to answer all the concerns you raised. It is unfortunate that you received this level of customer service during your stay, I am sorry you had to endure that. Your concerns have definitely caught the attention of the Ownership. They have been alerted of it, along with the management of the Hotel, are working diligently to ensure that we do not allow our guests to experience this again. We want our guests to feel that the Candlewood suites as their home base while they are out traveling. Providing functionality and convenience in a relaxed and casual environment where you can truly feel free to make yourself at home. This is what we want you and our guests to experience when you come visit us. I hope you will give us another chance to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Hector P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Jrock wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Stayed there for one week while training in San Marcos. Only one elevator and it was broken, got stuck in it. Had to get room key rebooted on three different occasions. So after a long day of training and walking to my room on the third floor (remember no elevator), I had to walk back down the stairs to get key rebooted. I was told that my cell phone demagnetized my card even though I left my key in the car everyday. Room was cleaned twice that week but I was told that the hotel is not required to clean room daily. No breakfast, but I found the coffee after day three inside their convenience store, so there was sign specifically stating that the coffee was the only thing in that area for free. Room was pretty nice even with the really small television in the room. The location of the building itself is not ideal if you have to travel toward the Justice Center because a two mile drive may turn into a ten mile drive based on which way you try to drive to get there. I would not recommend this hotel. Definitely not children friendly, I did see plenty of contract workers from out of town on extended stays.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites San Marcos
Responded Nov 26, 2019
Hello jrock247007, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Candlewood Suites San Marcos, TX. We’re supposed to be your home base, and I’m sorry we failed to make you feel like it this time. On behalf of the hotel, I'm sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the elevator, the key and customer service. Not the experience we wanted you to have. We will address these concerns. I have shared your comment to the hotel's management and ownership for review and service improvement. I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Sincerely, Orlando Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Granajana wrote a review Mar 2019
7 contributions
Stayed here for one night. It is more of an extended stay place, but the price was good and the beds were very comfortable. The little Kitchen was very nice and I wish we had stayed there throughout our whole time in San Marcos.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$95 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasSan Marcos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Candlewood Suites San Marcos
Which popular attractions are close to Candlewood Suites San Marcos?
Nearby attractions include Texas Cinamas Starplex 12 (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Candlewood Suites San Marcos?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Candlewood Suites San Marcos?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Candlewood Suites San Marcos?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Candlewood Suites San Marcos?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Candlewood Suites San Marcos?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hays County BBQ, Chick-fil-A, and Prik Nam Pla.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Candlewood Suites San Marcos?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Candlewood Suites San Marcos?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Candlewood Suites San Marcos?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Candlewood Suites San Marcos offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Candlewood Suites San Marcos?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.