We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cottages at Seashell Village

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Cottages at Seashell Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Cottages at Seashell Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Texas
Reviewed August 4, 2006

This was my second stay at the cottages. We returned to Gulf Beach because it was so quaint, had lush & relaxing courtyards. The cottages were what I expected, but the court yards, outside furniture (what was left of it) and lawns were neglected. The court yard used to have inviting shade, nice lighting at night & numerous tables and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smill08
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed July 31, 2006

My, how things can change in one year...and not for "the better". The Gulf Beach Cottages has a new owership and with that, propery priorities have apparently changed too. The outside sitting area where we use to love to hang out and enjoy the breeze is now un-mowed and covered with tall weeds. It use to draw us outside with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank beachlovingfamily
Austin, TX
Reviewed July 30, 2006

We wanted to stay in a more affordable place, where we could enjoy the surroundings, be close to the water, local restaurants, yet feel at home when it was time to rest our heads. We were pleasantly surprised by the cool A/C (cooled our room enough although we stayed in the smaller room w/o a kitchen), and it was clean....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JYDMorrison
Central Texas
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Gulf Beach Cottages # 11 in Port Aransas is island history in a nutshell. They are among the first cottages built on the island and are small and quaint but could use some TLC. The beds and bedding were nice and clean but the cottage had several things that need attention. The plumbing in the shower is anique with some...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kayziewazie
A TripAdvisor Member
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2006

We rented two cabins because we were going to take some of our employees with us. Cabin 15 & 12. Cabin 15 is the cabin I stayed in. In was open floor plan. Very clean. And the bed was so nice it felt like home. I also got a lot of use out of the littel private deck off the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Las Cruces
Reviewed November 23, 2005

We (along with two little dogs) stayed there in November and found it a very pleasant, reasonable place. Near the beach, great little restaurant next door. Cabins are vintage 50's style but updated and very very clean. Kitchen had every possible cooking utensil, rooms nicely decorated, each cottage with a different theme. New owners (own the lodge next door)were very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GJWJN
A TripAdvisor Member
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2005

Loved the 60's style. Clean linen and great hosts. Will return in the future. Close to the sand.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2005

Just came back from our two week stay at the Gulf Beach Cottages. This was my first meeting with the new owners. We have stayed at Gulf Beach for the last thirty years. The new owners were very friendly and accommodating in every way. They always ask if they can help make your stay more enjoyable, even letting you borrow...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Pflugerville/Austin
1 review
6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2005

When making reservations to come down to Port A, I carefully looked through the reviews listed. I found these Cottages and was impressed by the reviews. My husband and 3 yr old came down, and I was so pleasently suprised. The reviews listed were accurate. The Gulf Beach Cottages were not only homey, but Clean. Very Clean. I told my...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston
1 review
3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2005

We have been staying at Gulf Beach Cottages for over 20 years and three owners. Unfortunately this year the owners neglected to tell us that the annual dinner we have in their courtyard must be moved somewhere else. They told us after we arrived and made no attempt to assist us in finding other accomidations for the dinner. As there...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. We were not aware that you were planning an annual dinner in the courtyard. This event was not prearranged with us, we only learned of your plans through casual conversation after your arrival. As caretakers, we feel a strong responsibility to ensure each guest is happy and comfortable. To do this,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Double Barr Cottages
Double Barr Cottages
#36 of 42 in Port Aransas
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Palm Inn
Blue Palm Inn
#31 of 42 in Port Aransas
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Cottages at Seashell Village

Address: 506 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5747 (Formerly Gulf Beach Cottages)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Price Range: $40 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Cottages At Seashell Village Hotel Port Aransas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Cottages at Seashell Village staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Cottages at Seashell Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed in cottage 2 and loved it!”
ErinB926, Mar 24, 2013 | Read review
“Any Room there would be Great They are just wonderful people there!!!”
  • Second floor left Loved it!!
TammyeH, Jul 7, 2012 | Read review
“Security lights were a problem in Cottage #2”
  • Inside Cottage #2
  • Inside Cottage #2
  • Inside Cottage #2
Vis78759, Jan 29, 2012 | Read review
“There are everything from small cottages to luxery suites to full apartments. We've tried each and never been disappointed!”
mikee13a, Aug 1, 2011 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question