We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Tropic Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tropic Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Well for the money we spent I was disappointed the room was very 60's we had some shower tiles missing and they just had concrete over the area. The room was clean but was expecting a little more. And the TV was small .

Helpful?
Thank lizzyb99
Dawna F, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! We know the rooms are very outdated, we just took over the property the 1st of the year. We cut those tiles out of the showers so that the elderly people could step into the shower. Now that it is off season, we are going to be making lots of upgrades! We hope you stay with... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

When booking this place labor day weekend very last minute was a bit hesitant just because of the cost (super cheap). Especially on labor day weekend. So I took the chance instead of spending twice as much at the Best Western right down the road. King room was awesome nothing fancy but great, king bed had separate room, living room... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Dawna F, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We really take pride in the work our housekeepers provide! I'm really sorry about the parking situation! I'm not sure who told you we couldn't take care of it, but we surely could have! Some people don't like to abide by where we tell them to park, it is an issue we are working on.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One of the nicest , cleanest ,,, most beautiful places I have ever stayed !!!! Rooms were very clean and comfortable !!!! Breakfast was amazing !!!! Kim at the front desk was so super sweet , friendly and very helpful !!!! Kim made our stay very pleasurable !!! Def stay there again Beautiful awesome pool !!!!! Only one suggestion we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Billie H
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an last minute unexpected guest come with us and the management upgraded our room for an additional charge. Really enjoyed the stay and the room upgrade was a newly renovated quite location. I will try to remember this particular room in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Lydia D
Dawna F, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Glad you had a good time! More 

Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

The front desk attendant was very helpful when we extended our stay r/t family member crisis...will be staying her again in September ..the room was clean . The pools were wonderful....great location .. Y'all need a ice machine.. Will be staying here again in September

Helpful?
1 Thank Denisa W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

Rude. Terrible. Raised our rates AFTER we already had reserved. And they refused to honor our reservation. Found a much better place with nice people that work there SUZIE. I did cuss at her, but she deserved it. That and a lot more.

Helpful?
5 Thank Brenda S
Dawna F, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Brenda, I'm sorry we did an rate increase, and that you did not approve of that. Also, I'm sorry that you think we do bad business because of it. The new owners did a rate increase to make many upgrades and improvements to the property for our guests to have a better stay. We hope you can give Tropic Island... More 

Travelers are raving about these Port Aransas hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Worst customer service I have ever encountered. The "manager" should go to management classes because they do not know how to speak to customers. I hope the owners will reevaluate their staff and actually monitor their calls that they make. Awful awful awful. I can't write enough reviews to explain how horrible of an experience it was speaking with the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Katie A
Dawna F, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Katie, I'm sorry we did an rate increase, and that you did not approve of that. Also, I'm sorry that you think we do bad business because of it. The new owners did a rate increase to make many upgrades and improvements to the property for our guests to have a better stay. We hope you can give Tropic Island... More 

Pleasanton, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed many times. Usually due to the price amd good location. The price is now creeping higher. I have no real complaints. I do take issue with the fact that they changed the policy on cancellations. They now charge your card for one full night when you book and is not refundable at all of you have a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank flori-texan
Dawna F, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sir! Thank you for your review. We depend on reviews to make a better stay for our guests! We apologize about the bugs. This is an issue we have during the summer season. We have pest control here once a month to resolve this issue. Along with maintenance having spray on hand! We are surrounded by the palm trees... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

If you are looking to stay with cockroaches, this is the place for you! Live and dead ones in room. Live ones found in kitchen cabinets with the dishes. Very small rooms that you could barely walk to get to one side of the bed. If you are a big person, forget getting to the toilet. No room from sink... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mrdang22
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

I gave tropic island 5 stars due to getting what you'd expect to get for what you paid. We ended up spending $89usd/night during height of spring break season. Last minute. Far less than anything else we could find under the circumstances. The room had plenty of space but not huge and fancy. The beds were sleepable but that's about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jdwinslett
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.1 mi away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#14 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tropic Island Motel & RV Resort is located on 8 acres in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. City Marina and boat ramps 2 blocks away. Close to restaurants and ferry landing. We can accommodate you with motel and kitchen suites located on one side of the park and we also have approximately 150 RV sites available on the other side of the park. Our office is located between the Motel and RV park near the main road. Accommodations include Pool & Spa, BBQ Grills for Motel guest, Fish Cleaning house, Laundry on site, Boat Parking, Bath house for RV guest, Free Cable, WiFi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropic Island Resort

Address: 315 Cut Off Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4218
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Price Range: $88 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropic Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tropic Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay